Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 72 Reviews
                7/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonica 4 reviews from this member

 I have been camping at this site for the past 12 years and it is always a delight. Very close to the beach and dunes. Close to the creek and crabbing, within walking distance of the town. It is a very basic site with very basic facilities - and as such is expensive. However I am more than happy to pay over the odds for the fantastic location and atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jojok 1 review from this member

 We returned this year mainly due to the fantastic location (just over the beach road and you are on the sand-dunes) but thought it was worth mentioning that it was a much better experience than last year.

The booking-in was very efficient (few problems last year) and also the facilities have had a lick of paint (and new shower curtains!) making it a bit brighter and cleaner. No problems with hot water, and no queues for toilets or showers, etc.

The kids (5 and 8 yrs) loved the crabbing at the nearby harbour, and the best fish and chips from there too - opens 5-630pm - get there early to avoid queuing.

We didn't need to use our car as the town is 15-20 mins walk away, lots of lovely shops and cafes, plus the pier, amusements and miniature golf. We will be back again! 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Becciliz 1 review from this member

 I have been coming to this campsite for the last 17 years, almost exactly, as was taken here on my 5th birthday and shall be returning for my 22nd next week, this time with my kids!

Admittedly in the last 17 years not much has changed at all, pretty much nothing in fact and it is exactly as I remember it. Some might call it outdated but I have to disagree.

Whilst the shower and toilet block isn't brand new- it's at least 17 years old, its not in bad repair, and never has been, its maintained by the council and always kept clean. Staff never fail to be friendly and there is a huge waiting list for static caravan owners which speaks for itself.

Personally, I use a tent, and whilst the change from a flat rate to the strange per person set up has become a little confusing, its not ridiculously priced. It's approximately 15.50 a night if I recall, including 2 adults, then you pay extra for children / adults if there are more parties than 2. Pup tents are a reasonable 3.20 a night.

The beach is literally across the road from the site and the town is a reasonable 5 minute walk. You get a great panoramic view from the site, and there is a big field and a model boat lake next to the site- great for kids!

Overall, I've visited the site for years and am likely to continue doing so. Its not the BEST ever site I've been to, but its good, and in a great location for visiting southwold- which is my favourite town in the world! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poplarkin 1 review from this member

 Maybe it was the weather being perfect and that I had a group of good mates camping with me but had a lovely time at this campsite. The facilities were up to scratch nothing amazing but no queueing and did the job well.

There was no fuss, the pitches were a nice size, though maybe a little holey. There were ten of us and we pitched up our tents in a little commune with no fuss.

It's walking distance to Southwold town, a stone throw away from the beach and there's a great estuary next to the camp site with a fantastic and interesting fishing harbour along it, where you can pick up some lovely fresh fish for your bbq.

We all loved it and our planning our next trip soon 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pinkgnome 4 reviews from this member

 I've been visiting this campsite every 1st may bank holiday with a group of friends for the past 10 years and it's a great site/location to come to.

Normally I have been charged a flat fee for the pitch but now they are enforcing a frankly ludicrous pricing menu. They charge 15.50 for the pitch and 2 adults. Then lots of extras on top. So for example, because I have a small camper and a small tent I pay 3.80 extra a night for the tent. What difference is there to a unit say of a family car and family tent? Surely if your set up fits into the marked pitch that's okay? You also have to pay extra for children. Fair enough to pay extra for use of facilities but why did my friend, a single mum with one child still have to pay extra for the child? I explained that as the flat fee covered for 2 adults surely that covered as well for her, but no they have to stick to the guidelines!  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsGillespie84 7 reviews from this member

 Due to terrible weather our planned camping break was cancelled. This site was one of the only ones that apparently wasn't water logged.

Perfect location to visit Southwold and Walberswick and a few good pubs within staggering distance.

Facilities weren't great, mainly due to people wearing muddy boots in the showers. It is a pretty open pitch so not much shelter from the noisy kids next door but it is right off the beach.

Owners very welcoming, we paid per night because the weather was so bad. Have seen the place in the height of summer and it is packed! Ideal location. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Havvanwiltravel 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed for up to a week each year, with my husband and have never encountered any problems at all with this location. The toilets are a bit lacking in finesse maybe, but they have always worked. The showers are some of the best my husband has come across, he says.

Probably the reason that year on year we return to Southwold is because we always visit the site in October(once in June) and there are very few units on site, hence no queueing.

Southwold itself never disappoints, the town is charming,the different walks into town or out to the villages make each day fresh. We have tried most of the fish and chip establishments and our favourite is Mark's,in the town.Eat out round the corner on a bench overlooking the common,or eat in.Also they will happily fry the fish without batter!

So go to Southwold, out of season,and give yourself a treat. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camflax 1 review from this member

 Lovely location, our second visit. Pitches are quite uneven and the shower blocks are a bit run down, but the showers are nice and hot. Check when you book that you not pitched next to weekend revellers and group bookings, if you want some peace and quiet! It seems popular for people who just book for the weekend and we found that they can be a little inconsiderate to families. This wouldn't put me off going again, but I would check when booking as there is no security on site so if you had a complaint out of office hours there is no-one to report it to.

Best fish and chips and pint in the Lord Nelson! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bunnyrabbit 2 reviews from this member

 We've been visiting this site for 15 years and nothing much changes.

The location is superb, as noted by many other reviewers, and if you walk away from Southwold, across the Blyth River, using the peak time Ferry (row boat) or bridge further up, you'll find Walberswick with its picture postcard cottages and chocolate box gardens. Don't stop at the Bell pub though (heaving at weekends and a long wait for food generally), if you walk further into Walberswick you'll find the Anchor with it's occasional beer festivals and music in the evenings.

Of course beer lovers will know that Southwold is the home of Adnams beer and there's a very good value brewery tour which you'll need to book in advance at weekends or in the holidays.

Back to the campsite. The hot water regularly runs out if they forget to order gas, the loos stop flushing in the mornings sometimes as the tank doesn't hold enough water so you have to wait an hour or so for it to fill back up.

The beach is heavenly and you can hire beach huts by the day which can be lovely if you want to visit the beach in town and the weather is nice, but not that nice.

We visit 2/3 time every year and will always love it here. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules22 3 reviews from this member

 We visited July this year and agree with previous reviews. The location is great, on the beach, easy walk to Southwold and fab fish and chip available at the harbour.

But.The toilet facilities are dreadful. Overused and inadequate for the size of site. Inadequate water pressure made toilets unflushable and showers pointless. Please can someone put some investment into this site and solve what are simple problems to put right. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement