Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 Two big fields right next to the lake, with good toilet blocks. We didn't use the showers.

We camped 6 metres from the waters edge. Great views, but not fantastic, due to smaller hills around us, and houses and a marina on the opposite bank. Check out Low Wray campsite and Rydal Hall for better views. The grass was freshly mowed, with plenty of picnic tables. Traffic noise was minimal except for other campers. On our Monday night in June we had about twenty tents in two big fields as company. Finding level ground is easy except in high season, I would think. The ground seemed a little tough for the pegs, but nothing to worry about. It looked well drained, too. We didn't check out the playground. See their very good website for prices; £16 for the two of us on a weekday in June.

Oh, the toilets were fine, with toilet paper and liquid soap, plenty of cold water, but little more than a trickle of hot water.

We liked it here, but didn't find the views quite exciting enough to beat the competition! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peterbaker1970 1 review from this member

 Went to this site on the Sunday after the half term week. Most people had gone home then so as you can choose where you like to pitch, I managed to get a place right on the shoreline of the lake. The views are fantastic, the lake in front of you and surrounded by mountains. The wildlife is also spectacular, one night we had 2 swans and their 7 cygnets in our tent trying to eat our bread(my son Jack locked himself in the bedroom), the next night we sat out and watched otters hunting for fish 20 yards out in the lake and then later on a couple of deers walked along the shoreline literally in front of us.

The campsite facilities are plentiful and clean, 6 male showers and at least 6 toilets plus urinals. The site was lovely and clean and whenever I walked through the site one or two of the staff were always cleaning one place or another.

You can also have a small fire as long as you have a fire pit as long as you buy a bag of logs from them(£4) which is a bonus for them cold nights when you are camping.

There is a park there for the kids and there is also a nice walk along the lake to Pooley Bridge about 20 minutes away where there is a couple of small shops and 3 good pubs.

I will definitely recommend this campsite however I do have one gripe which is the cost, for me and my son for one night on the Sunday was £19 and the other nights £14, this is for tent only with no electric. A gazebo if you were unfortunate enough to catch a shower was another £4 a night and when one of my friends came to stop with us for one night in my tent we were charged another £4 for him and £4 for his car.

All of these costs plus logs for the fire resulted in an expensive few days away. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Redciderman 1 review from this member

 We visited beginning of May and stayed in one of the tepee's was very pleased there was plenty of room and was comfortable, having a futon to sit/sleep on made a big difference the only one negative with the futon after a couple of nights you could feel the wooden slats mind you we are not light weights!. You couldn't get a better position right on the lake side with fantastic views looking all the way down to the Helvellyn range wonderful. I cannot find fault with the site and the owners are lovely so friendly you felt right at home. The site is on a working farm but saying that there wasn't any disturbance and it is very quiet on a night, there is a lane at the front of the site but this is only for local traffic so there isn't any traffic noise on a night. There is a good well defined lakeside path up-to Pooley Bridge within easy walking distance it takes around 15 mins. We ate out a couple of nights at the Crown would definitely recommend good value for money and there is a huge beer garden which runs down to the river. The only thing that spoilt our stay was the weather, we did have a couple of good days but you are in the lakes so the weather wasn't much of a surprise and it didn't stop us from walking. All in all a really good holiday and would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vilma 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights with our medium length motorhome - agree with all the comments re great location, helpful and friendly staff, loos & showers adequate. On the Saturday the model aircraft were flying and the path to Pooley Bridge was popular for visits to the good selection of tourist shops, café and 4 very good pubs with real ale and good food.

Our only criticisms would be of the small minority of fellow campers and motorhomers who walked across occupied pitches and parked too close for fire safety - even in the marked and numbered pitch areas. As we left, the motorhome service area was blocked by a car whose occupants had used their car to visit the loos/showers - the site rules specifically request campers not to use cars to move about the site

Probably will not visit again 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keebabs 1 review from this member

 Visited the site mid week of the May half term week and found it not too busy with a choice of spaces. With kids we stayed in the family field at the top of the hill. Great views of surrounding countryside. The showers and toilets were good. The shop is reasonable and there is an on-site van and also a hot drinks vending machine in the laundry area. There is a lovely walk to Pooley Bridge by the lake.

The only problem was the noise on the site on one of the nights where there was 2 parties going. One party had the same piece of music on a loop being played loudly until 11. 30. I was awoken by the noise and so I complained in the morning in the shop and was told they would look into it. It would be useful if they checked the site at 10 pm, have a number to ring in the event of problems and emphasise on arrival the rules. Having a sign up is not enough.

Great site but not if there are inconsiderate fellow campers. If the site make efforts to deal with noise then I will visit again otherwise no 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: WestieTwm 7 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site, which, I suppose, immediately tells you what we think of the site.

On our initial visit we camped on the family field but when we arrived we were told that our pitch had been double booked. However, this wasn't an issue as we were shown to a different pitch and the site owners immediately provided us a hookup for electricity. As it turned out our 'temporary' pitch was better for us as the original pitch (pitches 1-8 on their map) were a little short for our trailer tent.

On our second visit we stayed on the Manchester field where there were no such space issues.

On arrival I checked in and was given a map of the site and the lady explained where all the facilities were. This made getting settled very easy.

The site itself is in a fantastic location, gently sloping down to Ullswater with the beginnings of the High Street Fells immediately behind. It is a gentle lakeside walk to Pooley Bridge which is serviced with shops, tearooms and three pubs. I couldn't tell which of the three pubs was our favourite as we enjoyed them all. Also found in Pooley Bridge is the steamer jetty which will allow you to take the steamer down the lake to Glenridding at the other end.

This site is also ideal for those who enjoy water sports as there is very easy access to the lake to launch whatever vessel you are using. I took my kayak and had a thoroughly enjoyable paddle down to Glenridding and back.

On site there is a small shop selling the essentials and at the weekend there was a burger van which we used a couple of times for breakfast. There is also a laundry but we never used this.

There are a couple of toilet facilities and a shower block. The showers were clean and warm and plentiful. Probably my only criticism of them is that the button that you press to start the shower is beside the cubicle door so you had to go around the curtain to start the shower again. There were two toilet blocks that I used. One was the block near the camp reception. The times I used this I had no complaints. The other block was a portacabin. This was slightly grubby first thing in the morning but it was cleaned well daily and there was never a shortage of toilet paper. Paper was provided to dry your hands with and on a couple of occasions this had run out. However, it was a fairly busy weekend so this was not surprising.

The Manchester field that we were on got noisy a couple of times but this was a busy time of year at the weekends so you have to expect some noise.

All in all we had a lovely stay and we will be undoubtedly be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purps68 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour of the NW.

The site was absolutely crammed (in some places), we had a lovely pitch with a fantastic view of Lake Ullswater. The scenery is breathtaking.

It was one of the more expensive sites we stayed at, the showers were pretty good and free with free hairdryers.

There is everything you could want on site, Laundry, shop, Coffee Machine, great dishwashing facilities etc.

Unfortunately in the field we camped the toilet block was a portaloo cabin. There was no facilities to dry hands apart from some loo roll that was put out for the purpose. By the mornings the toilet block was full of dead insects.

And even after a member of staff visiting it was still in a pretty dirty state and I had to clean the toilet myself before using it.

We would camp here again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RAJHoy 2 reviews from this member

 Great location on the edge of Ullswater with good walking and watersports on the door step. Although it was a big site the facilities were more than adequate and kept clean at all times of the day. The children's playground, although small, was in good condition and the shop was well stocked with friendly staff.

We camped in the family field but we backed onto a group field, a lesson learnt not too do, as a young party were quite noisy.

Although we did not take advantage of their facilities this would be a great place to get on the water from.  


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Eddiecott 2 reviews from this member

 Having not camped since 1970s I thought oh god what have I done. We arrived early as we set of from Hampshire we arrived about 7 in the morn and I was so shocked to see so many tents I thought that's it go home. I am so glad I never as I was told by my two neighbours that its always like that over weekend. They allowed us to put our tent up in all I can describe as oh my god how beautiful the setting was. The owner arrived shortly after and what a friendly chap he was, giving great info. In fact all the staff were great. Facilities are good but like typical Brits you get the minority who don't care about others ie not cleaning their sinks or wash areas or dog mess, ah well. Toilet blocks clean and fresh. Wash areas clean ( apart from the minority ) and no noisy groups, apart from inconsiderate people blasting their car stereos, but again the owner is on top of it. There was not one day we were never greeted by him or his staff. A big thanks to them. Will I go again, yes. I can understand why the gentlemen who been going since 76 has. Its perfect. Myself my partner and my dog loved it 10/10. One minor fault, freezer not strong enough for amount of peoples cool blocks. Also please please don't be like site down the road. You got it all 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Evofylde 5 reviews from this member

 Visited this site in Easter during the cold snap and there was us and 3 other campers. This time we arrived at the start of July during the heat wave and there was us and at least 400-500 others.

It was packed!

We booked ahead, but just a few days ahead. No EMHU as we had before, but just a case of turning up and first come/first served. We went with one other family who had a motorhome. There was no space beside any of the lakeside spots, not surprisingly! They must have been the first to go! But we found space in the next field up. The fields are kept amazingly well with the grass cut perfectly and we had a flat pitch and we camped right next to each other.

The site was rammed! So busy, but strangely we were surprised that no one was on top of each other. Everyone had pitched a nice distance from each other, with everyone respecting each others space. Virtually everyone were families or couples and I never really had any complain about noise or bad behaviour. None at all.

We were a decent distance from the showers/washing up facilities but there is a good sizes portacabin in the field and bins. There were clean and more than adequate.

We used the shower/washing up facilities in the mornings and evenings and I can safely say, that despite the fact we guessed there were 400-500 pitches in use on the site, we never queued once. Maybe we just got luckily.

The best thing about the site was the location. Wow! We spent all of Friday in the lake. We walked about 5mins up the lake to a nice spot and canoed and paddle board all day. Perfect. Kids loved it and the views are just to die for.

So, having now visited this site twice - once, with no more than 20 campers on the site, and two, with probably at least 2000 on the site - we will defo go again! It really was just perfect.

We will visit again. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement