Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bureside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Bureside Holiday Park Reviews

Bureside Holiday Park
Boundary Farm
Oby
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3BW
Tel: 07587771314  or  07587771317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 31/10/2020 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 31/10/2020 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scrappy52 1 review from this member

 We have been to Bureside 7 years in a row, this year we are going again in Sept. It is a peaceful site, based on the Broads, once pitched no-one bothers you, the staff are friendly as is the owner. The showers are old fashioned but brilliant. Ideal for fishing and walking.

Good base to visit the Broads, plenty of good food pubs in the area. There is a pub within walking distance which does meals. Ideal location for visiting Great Yarmouth, Norwich 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandreed 18 reviews from this member

 Just had a last minute couple of nights away at Bureside where the owners were happy to try and accommodate us despite being rather full as the school holidays start!

Site is tucked out of the way and is very basic but it 'does what it says on the tin!'.

Showers (3 male/3 female) are warm and clean and there are plenty of toilets and basins. Although the facilities and you must provide your own soap/hand drying they are clean and never out of loo roll!

Shops aren't exactly on the doorstep but:

Acle (~ 3 miles) has a small Budgens and a few smaller independent stores such as butchers and Newsagents.

Potter Heigham (~3-4miles) has Lathams which has a bit of everything including Groceries, Gardening, Household and Fishing!

Further afield are Caister and Great Yarmouth both within 10 miles and with bigger supermarkets and greater choice.

Lovely walks frkm the site and amazing sunsets can be watched over the river. Plenty of wildlife too including hares, deer, geese and owls!

Fab site, we'll be back with our canoe! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 3madboyz 14 reviews from this member

 Had not heard of this site before but glad we went :-)

This is one site that definitely has location, location, location! It is literally on the Norfolk broads (one of my favourite places in this country) and even has it's own private boat dyke, where you can take out your own boat or dinghy.

The pitches are really spacious and have ample room for all the extra gear that some campers (us included) take, there are standpipes near every pitch which came in handy in the scorching weather! We were pitched on the first field as we had hook up,

However if you can brave not having EHU for a weekend, I would advise a pitch on the second field as there were some lovely pitches on there. Pitching on the second field is a further trek from the facilities but we heard the owner saying that they are building a new block on the second field and then sprucing up the main facilities (they are a little dated but quite clean and spacious and did the job!)

There is a smallish play area for the kids and the swimming pool was a great escape from the heat (and a bit of a novelty for us as we have never been to a site with a pool before)

There are some lovely walks around the site and there is a pub just down the footpath that leads past the river.

This site is ideal as a base to explore Norfolk as it is close to everything that the county has to offer.

It would probably be best to do a shop before you arrive as they only really sell ice creams and drinks on site. Apparently there is a fruit and veg van that visits the site a couple of times a week that I thought was a nice touch.

All in all I would definitely recommend this site, it is well looked after, has lovely surroundings and is for the most part a quiet rural site. The only negative (as others have said) was the lazy people who had to drive their cars to the toilet block early in the morning and late at night!

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: STATICA 1 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed bank holiday weekend and was impressed.

Without a website currently we took pot luck, looked at several reviews, some good some not but took a chance. Bank holiday weekend for 63 with 2 children and the dog, awnings are free. Possibly the cheapest we've paid for a bank holiday.

There was plenty of room between pitches considering it was fully booked it still felt spacious.

The toilet/shower blocks were old but clean, plenty of toilets. Plenty of hot water in the evenings but you need to time it right in the mornings.

If I was to criticise the block could do with modernising and definitely requires more showers. Nevertheless it was sufficient.

Being parents of 2 aged 10 to 13 they found it a little boring at times as weather was wet.

Swimming pool was a good size and well heated and maintained with changing facilities. 2 per person for the whole day.

The play area was small but kept the younger ones entertained.

The older kids had a games room with table tennis and a pool table.

For dog walkers there was an abundance of public footpaths in the area, over rolling fields, by the river, where you could see the young fouls and horses roaming and grazing freely.

A ten minute walk from the site puts you in the middle of the village where you can visit

The Lion pub who are very welcoming with well priced food and a small arcade for the kids, as well as small shop for those forgotten provisions.

There is also a gift shop which sells newspapers and ice creams called 'Ramblers'

Hired a boat from Potter Heigham and took a trip up the river.

The local village of Acle has an excellent chinese takeaway should you get fedup with barbecue. Acle also has a Budgens Supermarket which you will find handy as the larger supermarkets are situated in Norwich or Gt Yarmouth.

With this being rural try and do your food shop before you go.

At night the site becomes quiet after 9PM.

Not wanting to be a total killjoy but they ought to think about a separate area for ball games as our caravan got hit several times.

Overall would definitely return and felt it was excellent value for a bank holiday 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GDay 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from yet another great 2 weeks at bureside Holiday Park.

Here are just a few things we like about it

1. Swimming pools clean,warm,good size for kids of all ages.
2. Showers always as hot as you like, Also good washing machine/dryer.
3. Plenty of playing area for kids (and adults alike).
4. Great walks on the broads/surrounding area.
5. Good fishing either on the broads or in the very large well maintained fish pond (big carp)
6. Very nice helpful staff on the site ( Thanks Charlie/Don)
7. Well spaced pitches so not cramped up like some site I have been to.
8. Very easy access to Norwich,Great Yarmouth, Wroxham,Cromer, great base camp for anywere in Norfolk.
9. A nice Pub about 10 min walk away for food,drink,amusments and a little shop for the basics. There is main shopping in Acle about 10 mins in car.
10. There is a kids games room on site with pool,table tenis, plus a snooker room.

This is just to give you an idea of what is there on site.

So to sum it up if your looking for a campsite with hot showers,loads of space,swimming,great walks,fishing,in a great part of Norfolk this is ideal.

But if your looking for a camp with club house,amusements,and things to spend loads of money on this is not the one for you.

Some people say the site is dated and needs to be updated ie toilet block is a bit old fair comment but the toilets flush the showers are never cold and there are plenty of sinks and they all do what they need to plus it's always clean.

In my opinion this is a great site and one that is well worth a visit it's not expensive and you get a lot more than most sites that charge the earth. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jinny54 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a very relaxing long weekend with relatives who haven't been camping for years. Hopefully they will join us again next year. A lovely secluded site, great for long walks along the river, or just sitting watching the boats on the broads. Only down side was 3 showers in each of mens & ladies toilet blocks, hence long queues in the mornings. Also no soap dispensers provided in the toilet block, which in the present climate (swine flu) really needs to be addressed. But we will probably return next year, as there are still lots of places we have'nt visited yet. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richibeno 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from here, a nice rural site,with an inlet on to the broads, the toilets and showers are dated and not a lot of room in the showers,but you will get by,nice swimming pool well kept pitches,but ours was rock hard and had to use hard ground pegs and even some of these bent
overall had a nice weekend here and took a boat out up the road 16 pound for an hour, and yarmouth is only 20 mins away the kids also had a play area with slide and swings and a massive sand pit, we paid 18 pound a night well worth it 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jnall1965 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Bureside in August of 2009. We had a fantastic time, the weather was brilliant we could not have asked for it to be any better.

The pitch we were allocated was very big for our tent and pup tent and gazebo.

The toilets were very clean and the showers very hot.

This was the third year running we had stayed here and we will be back next year.

It is ideal if you want peace and quiet 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angiecbeavis 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the campsite which is in the middle of nowhere down a virtually single file track and were quite apprehensive! The pathway to reception was signposted, but was a long way away from the entrance, which all seemed a little strange. However, the staff were very friendly and laid back, he booked me in and said that we should drive through the first field and park anywhere in the second field (it seems that first field had the electric hook ups, the second field was for the unserviced pitches).

The second field was huge and very well spaced out. Even though it was a weekend in August, there was still plenty of room for many, many more tents!

A few families played football outside our tent, as there was a huge open space, which our 2 children loved to watch and would have joined in if they were older - the dog enjoyed it too and did join in! However, they stopped playing about 8.30/9pm and the site was more or less silent after that.

There was only one toilet and shower block for the whole park which was near the entrance, by the serviced pitches, however, it was not too far a walk for us as we decided to pitch just inside the second field. However, I can only assume that if you were in the far corner of the second field you would be taking your own toilet facilities/potty with you (there was one family in that corner who drove to the toilets each time!)

The toilet block was very basic, but warm and never too busy. There were 3 showers in the ladies and I never had to queue plus there were about 12 toilets. I would echo the comments of the other reviewers who said that there is only one hook in the showers, so you can't put your towel and clothes on the hooks. I found that putting my things in carrier bags and leaving them on the floor worked well! There are a lot of spiders - just don't look up - but with a little sweeep by the cleaners they would all be eradicated.

There is a swimming pool and small play area, and I also saw a games room but we did not use those facilities, so cannot comment on them.

We visited Great Yarmouth which is about 15 mins away.

If you want a site in the heart of the action with lots of entertainment into the evening this is not the site for you. However, if you just want to spend time as a family, relaxing and enjoying each others company it is an ideal site for you. We loved it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimbobble 2 reviews from this member

 Nice big site with plenty of room for the children to play. The toilets and showers were old but were well kept and regularly cleaned.

They have a good swimming pool area with changing rooms and a games room.

The site itself was nicely out of the way, very quiet and peaceful. It has it's own private mooring and launching place, ideal as we took our kayaks.

The reception sold a few items, the nearest shop was a short walk away. For something like a supermarket then a car journey is required.

I can't think of anything to fault the site and would definitely return. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bureside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bureside Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bureside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bureside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5359 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020