Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Edinburgh Road
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1TU
Tel: 01368 865956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jack11 1 review from this member

 Echo everything that has been said in previous reviews. From the warm and friendly welcome when we arrived till our holiday finished it was just the perfect holiday.

Staff were so helpful and cheerful. Site location is perfect for lots of nice walks, set in the coastal country side which our dog really enjoyed.

The grounds and amenities are well looked after, which is a credit to the people who work there.

A new shower block is being built for next year which will only make the site even better.

This site is definitely going top of our list. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheMairs 1 review from this member

 What can we add to reviews that has not already been said about this fantastic little site?

The welcome we received from Mary was the friendliest I have ever had, after she explained that they have had non stop torrential rain for five days before our visit she advised us to go and check the pitches to make sure we were happy with the ground (not many sites offer this and are too quick to get your money) once we were satisfied we got the full ''what's on and what to do'' list which came in very handy during our stay!

The site itself offers a first for us! We found a microwave in the wash up room which came in handy for first time camping scrambled eggs! All staff, maintenance and cleaners all very friendly and always willing to help, especially Mary!

As others have said the toilets do need upgrading but not a great issue for us as they were clean and well kept on our stay!

The West barns pub is a 10 minute stroll and they are more than helpful, even when you turn up late they will cook you up anything on the menu which I must say is great value for money when your group has six or more kids to feed! A big thank you to Katie, Jackie and Joe!

The town itself, a 20 minute walk, has a great swimming pool, play area and a bustling harbour with seals being the main attraction!

East links park is a must, a lot of people may think that 10 per head is a little expensive but what a great day out! (advise to take a cool box with a packed lunch as the menu is a bit costly in the cafe)

To try and give you an idea of how we rate this site we were told that there is other sites in this area, I don't have to tell you we won't even check them as this site is second to none, we look forward to a quick return! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tomahawx 5 reviews from this member

 First of all, I will repeat the views of other campers by praising the happy and helpful Mary at reception. A wee gem (as we say in Scotland).

The site is in a good location, only two miles from the centre of Dunbar and only two minutes through the trees to the beach. In the local village of West Barns there is one pub, but it is pretty mediocre. They welcome children and love horse racing fans (it's on their TV 24hrs a day!)

The weekend we spent there was in absolutely atrocious weather, raining for well over 24hrs non-stop. Even still, the site stayed pretty dry with very few puddles or muddy areas.

Facilities are of a reasonable standard, but slightly under provided for the size of site. They have imminent plans to build a new facility block right beside the existing building in 2011.

That would put the site into the 4-star rating.

There is no shop/cafe or bar. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morag0802 3 reviews from this member

 One of my favourite sites. Our friends were in a large tent, it was great that they could accommodate us all in the one area.

Although I would agree there are not enough showers, there are plans to increase the facilities with an additional block being build for 2012 season.

For those walkers the John Muir walk is a must follow the coast right round to North Berwick and onwards to Prestonpans / Musselborough area. Or like us go down to the beach with the kids and watch the surfers do their bit.

All in all a fab location and site. Enjoy. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tracy h 1 review from this member

 We found this campsite on this website, uk campsites, we have been camping for years and wow, what a find, it was lovely, we had a fantastic welcome from Mary, she gave us loads of information and was so friendly, it was obvious she loves her job and is a credit to the campsite.

The campsite was well spaced out, we had a sheltered pitch near the loos. There were only 2 showers but this was never a problem and they were always clean. The campsite is very well laid out and very clean, large open areas for the kids to play, plus lovely play areas.

The beach is just a 5 min walk away and it is just gorgeous. Dunbar is a very short drive away (it was raining so we were being lazy and going in the car!) and its lovely, a great little centre with lots of variety of shops. There is an asda too, or co-ops for food.

There is a fantastic walled garden park with a cafe in dunbar near the swimming pool, it really is fantastic for children of all ages, you could spend hours there. The swimming pool looks great too and we took our 3 year old in the soft play area which was great to pass a little time on a rainy day.

Lots to do in the area, we will definitely be back to this lovely campsite, we were so impressed, I can't wait to return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heatherk1 1 review from this member

 Just returned home from an Easter weekend break at Belhaven. We were made very welcome by the receptionist and shown to our pitch promptly. Nothing was too much trouble. I was impressed by the polite, helpful staff.

The park is well maintained and the pitches very clean and tidy. The park has good designated areas for caravans, and tents alike. The play areas for children again are very good. The walking in this area is second to none. The large clean beach is great for everyone.

The only criticism I feel I can make is the toilet block. There is only one for the whole site which can get very busy at peak times. It was only cleaned once a day that I could see and this was not enough. If it was attended more often it would be much cleaner and user friendly. What a let down for such a fabulous park.

I look forward to returning to this park in the future and hope that the toilets are upgraded by then. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ad1983 3 reviews from this member

 Visited with my parents over bank holiday weekend and was my first time away in a motorhome.

Except the terrible bank holiday weather it was a great experience and I loved the site. It didn't feel overcrowded at all, the pitches are well spaced out and the toilets and showers were clean and maintained. The only downside is the hard ground with made it near impossible to peg in the awning.

The best part of this site is the location. There is a good dog walk and after a short walk through the statics you come to a small lake that leads to a walk around the nature reserve. This coupled with the fantastic beach made it a great weekend if you want peace and quiet with good walks.

We also took the car into Edinburgh in about 45 minutes. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weather2010 1 review from this member

 We're local to the area, so it was a gamble to take the journey aspect of camping away from the kids but we're delighted we did. This a truly lovely site, with excellent & friendly staff. The site is well maintained, facilities well located and clean. The kids loved the open areas and tree lined pitches - great for exploring, but still easy to keep an eye on them. The site felt very safe and the roads within the site were quiet, great for little ones. Apart from a visit from an overly inquisitive fox it was a very quiet night. The lagoon and walk to the beach were nice family activities, and perfect with a nice sunset to watch. Great base to be in for East Lothian activities. Good to have bus stop straight outside for trips to Edinburgh or Dunbar. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fath52 2 reviews from this member

 We did not book in advance with this site, just stumbled apon it on the way past.

We went in to the reception area to see if we could stay, as we had been on the road for hours. Well what can I say!

Greeted with the same reception that we imagined the Queen would be greeted.(in fact we saw 2 corgis on a lead as we came in lol!). In all the years that we have been touring, this was the best welcome that we have ever had, and one of the best kept parks that we have been on, all that traffic on the grass, and the grass would make my golf course keeper jealous! The toilet block was small, but the housekeeping staff beavered away to keep it spotless, which was no easy task as it had been raining.

And so near the beach! We heard the sea when it all went quiet at 10.15pm, and only the sound of a distant ambulance jolted us from our dreamlike state. This park is the bees knees, and we will be back, it is a credit to the staff who look after it( but we will book well in advance next time) as we now see why people come here, and a lot of the fellow visitors had been here on return visits several times this year alone!

Try the Westbarns pub 5 minutes walking along the street, fab food and a big welcome, and no plates to wash after, and a small shop which sells rolls, milk etc and everything you could need for your stay, even bottled gas! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manj 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for a few nights - we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful warden. The site is situated in a lovely part of the country and is in an ideal location for touring the area. Very close to a lovely beach which both humans and dogs loved ! Only complaint was the toilet block - inadequate for the number of visitors and there was water everywhere, as usual, a lot of the responsibility lies with messy caravanners/campers ! 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement