Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: RLcampers6 3 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site several times as the special deal price was outstanding. The park is split into 2 sites, with the camping and touring being on the other side of the road and a very long way from the pool, beach etc. The touring site has several toilet and shower blocks, and the water was always warm when we showered in the morning, though by evening it was cool. There is a small shop on site and a small children's play area. We have never experienced any problems with the pitches. The main shop is quite good and not too expensive. The indoor pool is lovely, and the outdoor is great when the weather is warm, . They are very hot on numbers though, and several times we had to wait before we were allowed to go in, though that's a safety thing and is good. The beach access is very steep and I found that a bit frightening when pushing a buggy. Can be difficult to get pitched in a group and we had to wait around for ages, queuing onto the road before we could get on to the site. They had someone showing people to their pitches, one at a time. If they just labelled pitches and gave you a map it would be quicker. We will try somewhere else out next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferrariboy 1 review from this member

 This was not our first visit to the Isle of Wight as for a family with twin 5 year olds, there is lots to see and do on the island and we are never at a loss for things to do.

We were recommended by a family member who went to the site when it was a little less busy and they gave us rave reviews.

The site was welcoming and very efficient at showing us to our pitch and the motorized site guide helped me onto the ample sized super pitch, (that we had been upgraded to without prior notice, thank you !).

Venturing down to the Culver Club on the first night, after the security guard had frisked us and demanded our passes, as he did with remorseless over over the week, we were disappointed at the 45 minute wait for the over priced hotdogs and chicken burgers, although the entertainment provided for the children by Bear, Lucy and Scratch was excellent.

The playground is small but adequate and well kept.

The toilet and shower block was consistently unclean at all times of the day, not just at peak times, we never saw a cleaner throughout our whole stay, apart from the broom left in the shower cubicles to sweep as you go.

The indoor pool was pretty good with an entertaining slide - not sure why it was only open for 1 visit in the week, and the much anticipated sauna was out of action due to someone popping paper in the heater and nearly causing a fire ( So 1 of the 3 lifegaurds told me !) again, the only issue was the unclean changing areas that were to be avoided at all costs.

Up to the Nab Bar we went one glorious afternoon for a dip in the spacious outdoor pool, plenty of tables and chairs, another play area, and a small crazy golf area - very nice ! One concern, not enough staff to service the large number of residents on site and most of the ice creams and slush puppies were unavailable !

Overall, a nice place to stay, just a little more attention to customer service neded, this could be a FANTASTIC site and one worth returning to time and time again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woodsey69 3 reviews from this member

 We read the reveiws of this site and had mixed feelings about our visit however decided to holiday here all the same

Good points

Shower and toilets facilities were fine there was always hot water and plenty of space in cubicles toilet paper always available,

The pitch was of reasonable size,

The kids enjoyed a good sized swimming pool,

Plenty of hot water for washing up,

Laundry services available,

Basics always in stock in the shop,

Free wifi was a bonus which worked fine,

Play park was small but well kept,

Bad points

Stricter curfew needed

We didn't appreciate our neighbours playing a bango and singing till 2~3 a. M.

Despite complaints to office this happened regular.

Most dogs running freely and fouling despite signs saying 'leashes at all times'

Busy road on a bend to cross to get to pool, beach and other amenities  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as we had noticed that many of the mainland campsites had increased their prices this year, capitalising on the fact that more people were holidaying in the UK this year, while Whitecliff Bay was offering two weeks for 6 people for 399 including the ferry crossing, which we felt was very reasonable.

The ferry was great, and the kids really felt like we were going abroad, and the view as you go in to Cowes is spectacular! The campsite itself is only hour from the docks, which means no bored kids on long car rides once you dock. As stated in other reviews, the touring section is on one side of a fairly busy road, and the statics and chalets are on the other side, along with the swimming pools, the Culver Club and the Nab Bar.

We were pitched right at the bottom of the second field, close to the toilet blocks. This was fine, until a couple of days later when others started to arrive, and it then became apparent that the legal 3m between units was not going to be adhered. The tent next to us was so close that his guy ropes were touching our awning.

Fortunately, he too realised that this was unacceptable and arranged to be moved. I appreciate that this is a busy time of year, but the 3m mimimun is there for a reason (fire prevention) but this did not seem to bother the staff on site.

On a bright note, the toilet blocks were never closed for cleaning, very handy when you have small children who cannot hold on! On the downside, this did mean that they were filthy.

A quick wipe with a dirty mop is not sufficient for that number of people using them. There were used tampons and nappies on the floor, spider webs everywhere, toilet roll everywhere and was generally disgusting. The toilet block nearer Reception was better but too far to walk if you are in the bottom field.

The entertainment was all based at the Culver Club, over a busy road and up a steep hill. The entertainment was very average, although the kids enjoyed it. The Nab Bar (restaurant and bar area) is even further up another steep hill and is definitely for the able bodied only!

This is also where the indoor and outdoor swimming pools are based. The indoor pool is very small, outdated (peeling paint and rust everywhere), but has a good indoor slide which anyone over 1m can use. The outdoor pool is much bigger, but again was very tired and the water was suspiciously murky, and while we did not use this one I was told that it was freezing!

Outside the Nab Bar is the crazy golf. This is free you just had over your pass and you are given clubs and balls. This is also where the path down to the beach leaves the campsite. Again, this is very steep, but worth it when you get to the bottom as the beach is beautiful, with great rock pools at one end.

On a definite up side, the Isle of Wight is amazing. There is so much to do, and all of the attractions we visited were exceptionally well staffed and thought out. Carisbrook Castle was a particular favourite for the kids as they really get them involved, acting out plays and dressing up.

Would we go back to the Isle of Wight definitely! Would we go back to Whitecliff Bay definitely not! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sbilts 5 reviews from this member

 Everything has pretty much been covered in previous reviews here so all we can add are a few extra comments and observations. The toilets were a bit of a mess as previously mentioned but that was sorted after the first few days.

Its a huge site and was pretty crowded but we had a lot of space around us due to a booking error which plonked us right in the middle of a block of pitches that had been reserved for a Rally booked 12months in advance.

The warden pretty much insisted we park the van facing outward to be able to drive off easily in the event of a fire. This meant that we would be on grass and the awning would have to be pitched on limestone chips which are kind of hard to drive pegs into.

The 3 ton van sank into the grass during our 2 week stay because of this bad decision. We ran out of Calor Gas 3 days before we were due to leave and they had none on the site and made no effort to get any.

Same happened with the decent bottled beer (Thank God for the nearby Propeller Inn a place I can highly recommend) The Culver Club Bar area smelled strongly of sick each time we went in and the entertainment was mostly naff the Nab Bar was a bit 'Blah'too.

The outdoor pools seemed ok and the Beach and surrounding area are great for walks (our dog loved it). Aside from the negative stuff we had a good time and thought it was good value(399 for 2 weeks inclusive of Ferry from Southampton).

We found drinks etc to be a bit overpriced but felt that was the same throughout the I.O.W.

We decided to Camp here as it seemed to offer lots for our 3 kids to do but we ended up not using much of the stuff (The Free WIFI was very handy though)

My lads are keen Basketball players and there was a Basketball area but they were not allowed to use it for various reasons and it was hardly ever open.

Those noisy little buggies are annoying but necessary in such a large site I suppose. On reflection there are a couple of very basic sites adjacent that were much cheaper and we may have been better off on one of those. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chriswolf 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and to the Isle of Wight. We had read the previous reviews of this site and really made our choice of holiday from them.

Initial view is fairly good. The site is split into 2 areas split by a road. The main site closest to the beach is for the statics and chalets. This area also includes the club, pub and pools area and has the access to the beach.

The camping area is split into 2 fields one closer to the road. Reception was ok and we were shown to our pitch at the lower end of the first field. We have a large tent so pitch size was ok.

Our main gripe is usually with the shower toilet blocks on British sites. As the site was really full to capacity we were expecting the toilets to be busy. At the start of our week we did find them struggling to keep the showers and toilets clean. By the middle of the week they had improved noticeably. So much so we felt someone must have complained.

The showers were hot and well equipped with a bench changing area. As usual its the disgusting habits of some campers which spoil the cleanliness. Children using them as play areas doesn't help. I do feel sometimes for what the cleaners have to put up with. We havent seen any better in Britain to be fair. They are adequate just judge your times to use showers when they have been cleaned.

We used the pub restaurant a couple of times and have no complaints. Prices reasonable and service good. We only went in the Culver Club one night but as we are 4 adults now its not really for us but kids entertainment seemed to go down very well.

It is a bit of a walk and you have to cross the road to get to them. Too much for young children on their own. The weather was good so we never used the pools but they were clean and very popular. The beach is ok clean and quiet. Be aware the walk down is very very steep. How people manage with buggies I don't know. Ryde and Sandown are very close by with lovely beaches and supermarkets and shops.

The site was very busy but no complaints here for any loud or unruly behaviour.

We also visited a couple of pubs close by, the Propeller inn for a drink, very nice reception from staff, the Lud Ryde where we had excellent service and the food was great and lastly the Bugle Inn, again a very popular pub, however had to wait quite a while for our food order which was average, and watch out if you're eating as a family as it was quite costly, our meal came to 65 for 4 and this was just main course + 2 sides and 1 round of drinks!

All in all our general impression of the site was good and we would think about returning. The price was very good including the ferry which was included. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hookedoncamping 2 reviews from this member

 I took my son here for a few days at the end of the holidays. I chose it for its location on the beach and for the activities they promised for the kids.

The beach is beautiful and it's worth going here just for that. We were put in an overflow field which was OK, emptier than the main campsite. The toilet blocks were always out of toilet roll. The showers were so poor I couldn't use them in the block nearest to us. One evening I wanted to give my son a shower and there was a used sanitary towel on the floor. Whilst I recognise this is due to the other people staying on the campsite I think the park have to clean more often to allow for the mess being left. The toilet roll dispensers allowed one sheet to come at a time and if it broke off wrong no more could be obtained even if there was some left. By the morning none of the toilets had toilet roll available.

A family were letting their kids scream loudly till quite late at night. Families let their children make a lot of noise from 5am. I know there will be a certain amount of noise on a campsite but the amount made by these families was inconsiderate and the campsite staff did nothing to stop it.

I will say again how lovely the beach is. Sandy with a gentle slope and small waves (it wasn't windy, we were lucky) at high and low tide.

There were very few activities for the kids when I was there compared with what was promised. The indoor pool is very very outdated, I didn't go in there as a result. Same with the softplay, it had pools of water all over the floor from the swimming pool (at least I hope it was water!). The outdoor pool looked better but we stuck with the beach.

The staff promised me that they would help me put the tent up if I struggled but when I got there I was told they weren't allowed to help me. They also said there were hairdryer points in the toilets. There aren't. There are plugs for electric toothbrushes (the 2 pin ones) but nothing else. There are 2 sockets in the tent you can lounge around in with people doing their hair in there or charging phones.

Having said all that we had a lovely few days of quality time away. I wouldn't go back there though 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SterlingJob 2 reviews from this member

 Got a cheap deal at the end of august 145 for the pitch and ferry crossing. On arrival the reception/shop area was empty with no notices up - looked like it was closing, a member of staff pointed us towards someone sat outside at a patio table (who we walked past on the way in and said nothing) who was booking people in. The booking info in the pack they gave us was incorrect. We were pointed to our pitch and left to get on with it. We had a 'super' pitch which consisted of a drinking water tap that took 10-15 mins to fill a 25 litre container, no light on the hook up post, no lid on the waste water drain which smelt of stagnant water every now and then and a door/flap that was supposed to be attached to the charging post on the floor. After we removed all the rubbish we pitched up - luckily we had a good pitch out of the way of the generally overcrowded park. The bins were overflowing and weren't emptied for another 3 days! Mens showers were ok but not cleaned properly, the womens were dirty and disgusting. There was a mop and bucket to rinse out your shower but that was like a bucket of mud with the mop covered in matted hair! Only one hand dryer that didn't work. The brochure said fully stocked shop so we didn't take too much, but when we arrived we noticed it was closed! and all the shelves empty! it did open on the wednesday but with very little over priced stock. The park in general looked very tired and unloved. We won't visit again or recommend this park to any one. They seemed more concerned with selling you a static caravan. Oh and touring section was over a fairly busy road on a bend from the rest of the parks facilities. We didn't pay much but even that small amount it wasn't worth the money. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorraine P 4 reviews from this member

 A party of nine of us visited this site late July early august - the pitches which we were given were uneven and holes everywhere -

Toilet blocks and showers needed cleaning more often - and most of the time there was no toilet paper in the loos -

The club was good and excellent entertainment - but we had to cross the road to get to any of the facilities -

The beach was nice as was the swimming pool - but again they were in the other park which was a half a mile walk -

All the staff were polite - reception was in the shop and every time I went to the shop there was someone in reception complaining about something -

I can honestly say we will not be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The_sub_mariner 3 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival we were duly presented with a map showing our pitch location, which we promptly found had a caravan parked in it. The warden directed us around the site until we found a position tucked between a dusty road and 2 caravans. Following a discussion with our neighbour about being within the required 3m space to their van, I proceeded to erect the tent on what must have once been a road as I must have bent the best part of a dozen pegs on stones. Not a good start.

In truth, all the pitches seemed far too close together, although it was the Bank Holiday week.

Showers were fabulous if a bit run down, and the rest of the wash-room facilities were fine (4 for laundry).

Evening entertainment on the site was excellent, esp. The in-house staff.

Not a quiet site for sure with noise going on well into the night.

Indoor pool quite small and busy, and the slide was put out of commission when we went for maintenance!

Not a lot of 'open space' for kids to play, although my son enjoyed the small play area.

All in all, it is a mixed bag as it is trying to be a large site, but not really pulling it off.

The camping area was certainly a disappointment, and it is doubtful we will return. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57839 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement