Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cartmel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Cartmel Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cartmel Park
Wells House Farm
Cartmel
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Touring Closed From 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ric03 3 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping trip alone (well, with my dog) so I was a little nervous. I didn't need to be. The owners were both very nice and friendly, approachable and I felt relaxed to come and go and do my thing which is what I wanted. There are a list of rules to follow which are mainly common sense (keeping the dog on the lead, kids not making too much noise etc.)

The site is easy to find. Once in Cartmel, I simply drove around until I saw the sign -- it's only a small village and the green entrance gate to the campsite is located near to a bus stop and playground on the approach to the Priory (if you find the Spar, take the road between that and the Pig and Whistle pub, take the left at the bus stop and the site is in your right).

The site itself consists of two largish camping fields and an area filled with nice statics. There are nice clean toilets with free hot showers. There are lots of trees surrounding the camp-site road and around the fields; and cows in the fields next door give the site a lovely country feel.

Pricewise. 13 for smaller tents, 15 for larger tents (not sure about hookup) and 1 for my dog. I'd advise you to email. The site got back to me very quickly with prices and were very helpful. I arrived on a Thursday (outside of school hols) and the place was virtually empty -- though it was almost full by Friday night (no noise, everybody was nice and quiet).

Cartmel itself is a beautiful little village complete with nice little gift shops and quaint pubs (The Pig and Whistle was the friendliest I found).

Locationwise. Grange over Sands is a lovely seaside town (stunning views across Morecambe Bay as you're coming in from Cartmel) and is only a couple of miles away. There is a bigger Spar and a Co-Op here. There is also a stunning stretch of beach and coastline at Humphrey Head a couple of miles on from Grange. Back from the site, Windemere is about 30 mins and Ambleside 40 mins (both at a canter). Keswick took just over an hour.

So, all in all, my first camping experience was a positive experience. The site is ideal if you fancy a quiet Lakeland holiday with a bit of a seaside holiday mixed in. Will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackieuk 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Not all singing dancing site but everything you could need. Free showers, toilets and washup clean and lots of hot water. Childrens play area just outside of site and centre of Cartmel village 2 mins walk. Pubs and priory and few shops in lovely Cartmel. Spar nearby for any essentials. Ideal base for visiting rest of lakes.

Quiet and relaxing site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maria2710 3 reviews from this member

 We had a good pitch with EHU right by the toilet / shower block, which were lovely and clean never ran out of soap or loo roll. 6 toilets in the ladies 6 wash basins and 2 showers which were free.

2 mins walk into the lovely village of Carmel, 4 pubs to choose from we had a lovely meal in the Royal Oak on the Friday night.

Saturday we went on the steam train from Haversthwaite to Lakeside then on the boat up to Bowness.

Not very clear on where to book in and we nearly missed the site entrance, could do with more signs.

A fab site and will be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JTC45 2 reviews from this member

 Myself, the other half and 16 month old son came here on our first ever camping trip for 2 nights over the last BH in May.

We chose this site based on other reviews and the proximity to the racecourse.

We found it lovely. Tents based over 2 fields, pitched around the edges with space in the middle for children (and adults) to run around in.

Toilets and showers were very clean at all times. There was a small wait for the showers one morning, but they were free so can't complain.

We seemed to be in the lowest area of the field but didn't have any problems on the night/day it rained.

Local pubs, shops and racecourse all within walking distance, and you can order produce from the owners too for the following day.

Also an excellent base for the South Lakes in general if you are venturing further afield.

We would recommend Holker Hall, a short drive up the road, the restaurant/tea shop sells lovely cakes! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tangofox 7 reviews from this member

 We arrived a day before the first May Bank Holiday for a four night stay, and had our choice of pitches on the two fields which were well tended and in lovely condition. The owners were very helpful and friendly, which is always a good start!

After setting our tent up we went to look for a suitable dog walk for our active mutt and found a selection of superb walks, near the racecourse, through woods, lanes and fields.

The village of Cartmel is within a 2 minute walk of the campsite and is blessed with four decent pubs along with several restaurants, including a Michelin Star one. For the self-caterers, like ourselves, the village Spar provided everything we needed. Lots of choice, including local venison products, eggs, fresh bread, milk, papers, beer, wine and lots of bits and pieces that you always seem to forget when you pack.

The on-site toilet and shower facilities were excellent; spotlessly clean with loads of free hot water.

For families with young children there is a very well stocked and exciting play area just before the entrance to the campsite, which incidentally, is a very good landmark for finding the entrance to the site!

Within a short drive there are numerous attractions such as Windermere, Grange-over-Sands, South Lakes zoo near Ulverston, Kendal, Newby Bridge, along with all the popular Lake District destinations.

This is one destination that we can highly recommend and that we will definitely be returning to! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zeddman 2 reviews from this member

 Me and the daughter went here on my Kawasaki motorbike and found a nice, clean, tidy camp site. Cartmel itself is just down the the bottom of the path and is a nice friendly place.

There are pubs and the spar shop is nearby. If you need something more, like a chinese takeaway like we did on first night, Grange-Over-Sands isn't very far to go to.

Access to the lakes is very good, due to the good location. Yes I definitely know I will be back 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middy 1 review from this member

 Just got back from two nights at this campsite and loved it. Everyone was friendly and two campers even helped us to put our tent up, there was also an added bonus of someone trying to set themselves alight with a gas cannister on the first night (we thought he was trying out some new disco moves)!

When we arrived the first thing we noticed was how well maintained the site was and how clean and tidy it seemed. The first field was home to static caravans and the shower block / toilets.

The tents had their own two fields next to the caravans and there was plenty of space, we chose the second field as this was not as busy. Electric hook ups are available in the first field.

There were two showers in the mens block and also plenty of toilets and sinks that were well maintained and also always had plenty of toilet roll available. My girlfriend thinks that the only thing missing is an electric point for her hair straighteners.

There are 4 pubs in the village within a five minute walk and we found the best beer garden to be in the Royal Oak as there were plenty of tables outside overlooking the stream that ran by it which also had good bar meals.

There is also a good children's playground right outside the campsite and a Spar shop about a 5 minute walk away which stocks plenty of things.

Please note that you will struggle to get an early Sunday paper in Cartmel as the Spar seems to be the only shop we saw that sold them and this did not open until 9.30 am.

On Friday night at the campsite the Priory bells seemed to ring for ages(It must be bell ringing practice night) and then rang on the hour through the night.

All in all we had a great stay at this campsite and would definitely recommend this site.

We cannot wait to visit again and hope the weather is as excellent as on the trip we have just had. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hessie 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights at this campsite and it was just what we wanted - a quiet, clean site; well cared for, with a lovely atmosphere. Friendly owner, who we only saw when booking in. There are 2 camping fields, one has a few electric hook ups. We camped in the far field, which was well served with a tap at the gate and bins-including recycling bins. The toilet blocks were excellent, as were the washing up facilities.

Only minutes from the village centre, yet with the feeling of being in the middle of the country, it was in an excellent position. The grass was kept short in the well drained field. Tent pegs went in easily and stayed in! Great place to explore South Lakes.

Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrea and Mark 1 review from this member

 Nice quiet and well kept campsite. The first field has some electric hook-ups and is completely flat and the second field has an extremely slight incline. The remainder of the park has static caravans.
The campsite itself was lovely and can not be beaten for location to beautiful Cartmel Village which was 2 mins walk away. Also Lakeside is ten mins drive and Bowness probably 30 mins.
Toilet/shower block could have done with a coat of paint and a clean but I have been in worse. There are four pubs in Cartmel, a few village shops, the racecourse and the lovely Priory.
We found the campsite a little difficult to find but here is the easy way - from M6 drive along A590 turn right at the Cartmel sign, drive straight into Cartmel, at the Pig & Whistle pub turn right, drive down that road to a T junction and turn left, past small children's playground on your right and you will see a gate which has a sign on it saying 'Keep clear - access needed all times' - that is the campsite there. There is a sign saying Cartmel Camping site however it is dark green and hidden away in the hedgerow so you really won't spot it if driving past in the car.
Overall nice campsite and because of it's location we would stay here again 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt doesnt bounce 1 review from this member

 Took my Mrs on her first ever camping experience here after reading previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. Owners were both very very nice and helpful. Camped in the back field on a (very) gentle slope as we were one of the last to arrive. Suffered from major tent envy as we were in a borrowed pop up.

Our criteria for site selection were good toilets & showers (for her) and good site atmosphere and within a stagger to good pubs (for him). All boxes were duly ticked;

The showers and toilets were very clean and free - no queues even on busy bank holiday weekend if you are canny when you go.

There were big family groups and groups of friends with tents pitched together which led to a nice atmosphere, it seemed by the cars (some v. Expensive) that it wasn't your average boozey groups that frequent the site. Young kids would run around and tire themselves out in the small park just outside the site then seemed to go to bed handy so the adults would be sat around firepits or patio heaters chatting and getting pleasantly sloshed. (The lady of the site popped round late in the evening of our first day just to see if everything was OK, which I thought was nice). I get the feeling there are plenty of regulars by the incredibly well equipped tents.

The 4 cartmel pubs are a couple of minutes stroll, all dog friendly. Good food and good beer, can't ask for much more. We were lucky that the races were on so a couple of wins paid for the entire weekend - only downside was the pubs were a bit rowdy due to the race-goers so although I'd go back for the races again, I'd spend that night on the site drinking vino under the stars.

All in all, I'd heartily recommend the site for social campers and small groups due to the excellent facilities and location. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4164 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020