Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
                9/10 from 116 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmbee007 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with friendly staff. Pitched on the shore edge of the site with wonderful views to Pladda & Ailsa Craig. The proximity to the beach & a breeze seemed to keep the midgies at bay. Pub next door where there was food & free wifi available. The on-site shop had a limited range of food at a reasonable price.

If weather is poor, there is a small area to do your cooking and a small TV room with a book exchange. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 51 reviews from this member

 Three motorbikes and three small tents staying on a Thursday night in mid-May. Just a superb location on the shore with wonderful views. Not troubled by midges at all. Friendly and helpful owner. If weather is poor, there is a small place to do your cooking and a small TV room. Also a hotel with a welcoming bar next door.

Not a complete free for all when it came to pitching which was helpful as not a massive sight. Cars cannot park next to tents but fine with the bikes. Smaller tents get to pitch close to the shore. Nice soft turf.

Facilities very good; modern, clean and spot on. Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 38 reviews from this member

 A fantastic location. Helpful owners. Can't complain about facilities which were clean and ok, but only 3 star really.

Hotel next door, dog friendly, good food, acceptable (keg only) beer. The location is so good and it was really hot weather so there was no real need to explore. Have been to Arran before and many good walks, and 1 mountain to climb. Castles to visit etc, but this time it was to blistering hot to do anything. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greyhoundstar 10 reviews from this member

 Visited this site first week in May, lovely clean well kept site with plenty space for everyone as tent owners are asked to park their cars at reception not outside the tents. The site has beautiful views across to Pladda Island and Ailsa Craig beyond. You cannot miss the seals as every night they sit out on the rocks relaxing, highlight for us was on our last morning and last walk on the beach seeing an otter at close range sitting out on the shore eating a fish and then rolling around in full view, excellent oh and having a hotel/pub 20 meters away came in handy. Site facilities were very good a credit to Maurice and his daughter. Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ragdoll64 2 reviews from this member

 What an idyllic setting this wee camp site is situated in - the views over the Firth to Pladda island(?) and Ailsa Craig are just beautiful. A warm welcome on arrival from Maurice who showed us where to park for best views was much appreciated. Toilet blocks, although older were regularly cleaned and well appointed. Reception includes all your basic needs and is kept well stocked. Practically adjacent is a welcoming hotel, good food and great atmosphere. This is a well kept, dog and child friendly site in beautiful surroundings and the icing on the cake is watching the seals and the otter sunbathing and playing in the water. Great holiday. Thanks 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

 Despite bad weather we had a lovely stop here. The views are brilliant and so is the wildlife. I had three good sightings of otters and numerous ones of seals. Also had a sparrowhawk fly into a bush next to our caravan. Great to sit and watch the gannets diving in quite close to shore. The exposed location means tents and awnings can suffer a little in high winds. The remnants of hurricane Bertha passed over Scotland when we stopped. My wife had the same problem as mentioned in the previous review about the water temperature in the shower block. The 4 extra showers in another building were a better bet for her. The shower blocks are a little dated but cleaned each day. All the staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful. Hotel next door very handy for a drink, took advice and did not eat here. Generally a quiet site apart from one noisy family packing up their tent early one morning. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maloptera 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed both in this campsite and in Lochranza campsite in the north of the island. Both have pros and cons, but the major pro of this campsite is that it did lack midges as claimed. The views were outstanding too. The beach adjacent to the campsite itself was not great for swimming but there was a very nice sandy area with the sand extending into the water ideal for swimming just a short walk to the left. The facilities were good but I did find the showers in the female toilet block to be far too hot, almost scalding. After the first time, I reported this to reception and was thanked for pointing it out, but the next day it was just as hot. There is a set of showers outside the toilet blocks and these allow you to control the temperature yourself, while some of them even allow you to keep the water on as long as you want to, I would definitely recommend using those in preference. Also, some of the toilets had often run out of toilet paper in the morning. The undercover BBQ area and dayroom are a lifesaver in wet weather, but the information provided was confined to a collection of leaflets, with some extras in the form of bus timetables and useful numbers. One of the highlights was definitely the crabs and lobsters that were sometimes available in reception: delicious and great value. Dining out options are limited to the hotel next door, which is certainly convenient but maybe not very good value for money (we dined there once). Kildonan shore is great for wildlife watching and Whiting Bay is not that far away. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Quinster1973 5 reviews from this member

 This year we downsized on our car so we were delighted to see that Seal Shore has added some camping pods. We stayed in one for 4 nights, Ailsa is situated looking across to Pladda - perfect.

I agree with the previous reviewer, there ARE midges. I've been going to seal shore for 4 years now and I've seen one midge each year I've been. I killed one this year so their numbers are down to 3. Try camping next to Loch Lomond and then you'll know what midges are.

The midges are as rare as the owner's moods. He's always been helpful, accommodating and a very hard worker. His charity work in the off season tells you what a stalwart he is.

Maybe people in a bad mood find him in a bad mood?

Anyhow, the site is perfect in location, facilities and management. Again this year Maurice took the boat out and brought in the biggest crab I've ever seen. I washed it down with a beautiful Arran lobster.

He's such a kind guy he even took me out in the boat last year, bit of a risk seeing as he didn't even know me.

The camping pods are a great addition however in the hottest weather they may be too hot as they are so well insulated. They are soundproof too - the double glazing keeps out all noise. Some suggested improvements would be: a work surface at the front left to save leaving food/wine on the floor and possibly another long bench/sleeping surface on the front right. Similar to WigWam designs.

The quality of the pods is fantastic, we're thinking of returning in the autumn possibly to try them again.

We had a trip up to Lochranza this year for the first time Kildonan wins hands down on campsite location and on the midgeometer.

Well done guys - keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2011cvjc 2 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say another fantastic holiday at seal shore !

A fantastic warm welcome as always by Maurice and Theresa.

Beautiful weather, the children had a fantastic time playing on the beach crabbing etc, the beach is very clean and safe for the children which is one reason we go back every year !

Maurice took me out fishing again this year which was a real treat catching mackerel lobsters crabs basically my staple diet while I am at seal shore and very cheap as well !

The facilities are spotless clean and a fantastic camp site !

The views from our pitch were amazing views directly over to pladda island I can sit there all day relaxing as time goes by so peaceful !

See you again next year ! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Seal Shore on the second half of our holiday on Arran.

It is truly a great site in a fantastic rural location, the sunsets over Pladda with Ailsa Craig in the background had to be seen to be believed.

Site is well looked after with good facilities and lots of hot water for the showers. Owner was welcoming and friendly.

Although it was busy when we were there it was very peaceful and quite laid back - and once again these views.

Client group was a good mix of tents, caravans, campervans and motorhomes. Some of the folk we spoke to are regular visitors coming back every year.

We had a hard standing pitch with ECU and the price was on a par with most other sites we've stayed on, including some club sites so in our opinion it represents good value especially given its stunning location (did I mention the views?).

We weren't bothered by midges at all in total contrast to the north end so the midge net and skin so soft were fortunately redundant.

The beach, especially with the tide out is superb dog walking territory.

One of the highlights was watching a family of otters swimming just off shore.

Constructive criticism - very minor - but it could do with a sign visible to folk coming from the North of the island.

Arran is a beautiful island and the Seal Shore site complements it brilliantly. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2302 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement