Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pennine View Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandyl01 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night on way back from holiday in Scotland. We thought the midges in Scotland were bad (luckily the main holiday was on the Outer Hebrides and they weren't a problem there) but they were very bad here! There was a heatwave though which was probably why.

The site is very good, the showers adn toilets are well maintained and very clean, I had the best shower of the holiday there and they are free. It is a smallish site and the tents are at one end but the walk to the shower and toilet block is only a minute or two. There weren't too many people staying but I wasn't impressed with the people staying in the large tents who came back at 1.30 am and talked loudly for another half an hour!

The security is good with a combination lock on the shower and toilet block and car barriers at the entrance and exit.

We ate in the town (can't remember the name of the pub) and had good food. The pub across the road has changed hands recently and he wasn't doing food, hopefully it will be up and running soon as it looked nice inside.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robin54 18 reviews from this member

Just come back from a very pleasant weekend couldn't fault anything the facilities were kept spotless (and a bank holiday weekend). A small play area were our grandchildren spent most of their time. Lots of lovely walks in the area along the old railway line.
Had our Sunday lunch in the pub across the road, excellent value for money. We will be returning in the near future

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jumbo1287 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this sight recently, (beginning of September)it is a pleasant, well run site close enough to the local shops (10 to 15 minutes walk) away, situated in a lovely part of Cumbria –and handy for the Lakes and Yorkshire dales which are only a short drive away

There are several walks from the site with some interesting views along the river and on fairly easy terrain. Yes…we did see the parrots that fly over the site and can be seen daily on the way to the shops on the rooftops. It is a site where lots of people return time and again.

The toilet and shower blocks are clean and well maintained. (with piped music) as are the grounds of the site. There is a pub across from the site entrance for the occasional meals.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angler43 1 review from this member

We stayed at Pennine View for the first time this weekend. It is a small, friendly and extremely well kept site. The toilet block was splotlessly clean with ample facilities (two showers in both mens and the womens) with private washing facilites and piped music. A pleasant 10/15 minute stroll into Kirby Stephen where you will find everything you need. There is a pub within 100 yards of the site entrance where we had an excellent meal. We will definitely be visiting Pennine View again.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buttwilk 9 reviews from this member

Have stayed at this site many times and have found it great. People that run it are really friendly and work hard. Showers and toilets are really clean and hot. We have made many friends since we first used it and will be using it for many years to come

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley + Steve 10 reviews from this member

Nice site, basic facilities (toilets, showers- 2 in ladies) but kept really clean, hot water, nice hand soap, hair dryer 20p or plug your own in. Toilets heated with advantage of a radio playing. Nice big hardstanding pitches and a small tent field, small play area.

Quite a walk in Kirkby Stephen 10-15 mins partly down hill, but a lovely town with all you need. We had a Chinese take away from Panda Takeaway (we wont go there again).

We had a lovely ride on the train from Kirkby Stephen Station about a mile and half away, through to Skipton the scenery was lovely and well worth the £13.60 fare.

Beautiful area, lovely site, well worth another visit.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevexess 9 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site over August bank holiday, the site was very busy, full in fact. It is a very well kept site, good size pitches mostly hard standing, easy access onto and around the site.

Toilet block is a little dated but exceptionally well kept,plenty of room in the showers, hot water every time. Very clean.

The only thing in my opinion that lets this site down is the lack of facilities, there are just not enough showers, loos & washing up facilities for the number of pitches. If this site were on the continent it would be a 1 star, as a couple of washing up sinks & a couple of showers means a lot of queueing at busy times.

Great pub just opposite the entrance to the site,

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony allen 3 reviews from this member

This site is very tidy ,well laid out. It is about 3/4 mile outside Kirkby Stephen and has a pub 100 yds away! The owners were very helpful and the pitches are flat and a good size. The showers are great, not new, but pressurised hot water, not electric.
The site is quiet and is sheltered as it is in an old railway yard suurounded by trees. 
I would recommend this site and it is in a good central position for the Lakes / Northumberland. Kirkby Stephen has a few pubs, a few cafes, a couple of bistro-type restaurants (The Mulberry Bush does a good feed and is owned by a nice bloke!) There are a few antique shops and an unusual shop called the Church Gallery, on two floors, which sells everything: art, postcards, ceramics and is well worth a visit.  ENJOY!

Reviewer: Riverdene53 6 reviews from this member

July 2005
This site is excellent - it`s peaceful great for kids. Spotlessly clean 20mins from M6 Tebay services so great for touring Durham, Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. No noise after 10 owner on site so this is guaranteed. One of the best and not too commercial. Close to Kirby Stephen for food, pub over road from site, coast to coast chippy in town is fab

Reviewer: Kilmory26 5 reviews from this member

July 2005
We visited this site for a weekend in July. The site is small and clean with a mixture of hard standing, grass or half and half pitches - all of which are large.

We were placed opposite the tent field, which having been a tent owner up until this season, I personally would have been unhappy with. It was very full, the pitches are not clearly marked and this area is next to the road so more noise. The view from here is the caravan storage area.

The toilet block is fairly clean although the showers are in demand at busy times.

There are fabulous walks from the site. Although the site has no dog walk, don't let this put you off. There are several lovely walks with dog bins directly from the site. The views are great and there is even a stream with mini water falls for them to swim in. Take your walking shoes if you intend to explore, as some of the walks are a little more adventurous.

There is no shop on site but the village is walking distance away. It was very hot when we went and there were many flies. Take the insect repellent!

Our stay was spoiled by inconsiderate others and we can't blame the site for that. If we were to go again, we would ask for a pitch to the left of reception, far away from the road and tent field. It was much quieter down that end - more what we were looking for.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019