Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennine View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Pennine View Caravan Park Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jake99 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed August Bank holiday.

Weather very wet but it did not stop our enjoyment of the site. Owner/staff exceptionally helpful. We ran out of gas and it was no problem. Barrier system in and out and separate Adult Only area. Small children's play area. Toilet block, combination lock to get in, well kept, warm and even a radio playing. Even though the site was completely full no problem with the electric from the hook ups. T.V. Reception quite poor and learnt to line the aerial up the houses aerials just in view. Slight noise from the main road mainly motorbikes, but not enough to cause a problem.

Lovely walks from the bottom of the site via the River, The Devils Eye (a swirling waterfall, Dippers on the rocks (my husband saw an otter crossing the lane when walking the dog one morning) or the Viaduct walk opened in 2005, with lovely views and joins the site to the village.

Chinese takeaway in Kirby good but only took cash. Lovely quaint village, old fashioned shops, local butchers, bakers but spar and co-op too.

Good base to travel both directions into the Lake District (which was even wetter) or towards Skipton. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trappsy 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from the park having spent 9 nights there, nothing at all to complain about except the weather, excellent facilities, and probably the best kept site I've been on. Good walks from the site and, Kirby Stephen with good pubs and takeaways 10 minute walk away. The Croglin Castle hotel just at the site entrance is under new management, bit rough around the edges but good beer and friendly staff, and the food is excellent, Huge portions so save yourself if you intend going. We do intend to visit the site again but gonna reserve a bit of sun next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aasd 6 reviews from this member

 Just back from fri-sat nights bank hol weekend, very nice site, not very well sign posted so take care as we missed it(twice).

Facilities were very good,this is not a complaint but 2 showers is maybe not enough for so many tents, also caravanners use the showers which means there maybe queuing, showers are very powerful and hot and free, pub over the road is ok(convenient)but a little untidy! but at £4.70 for a Guinness and half of lager its a bit pricey, workmens club 10mins down the road its £3.40 for the same round, also kirkby stephen has lots of pubs a lot cheaper than the one near the site.

All in all a good site would go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clancy 3 reviews from this member

 We camped here for a weekend. The facilities are as previous reviewers have described, that is clean, but inadequate for the size of the site.

It is handy for the town, and the whole area is extremely good for walking.

Our main impression however was that the site is grossly overpriced, especially given the inadequate number of showers. Also, the staff member at reception was probably the least welcoming at any campsite that we have visited and distinctly unhelpful.= 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wigwamsue 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here. Very good location for walking into Kirkby Stephen. Owner not at all friendly, when told it was £18 per night for 2 adults, & one dog in a tent, I stressed we did not require ehu and was just told abruptly 'its all the same price'. Strange. We were given a code to use to access the toilet block. What a fuss! Stayed at sites with better facilities than this and never had that nonsense. I had to let people in when it failed to open first time and people kindly had to let me in too!

When asking if there was a designated dog walk, was told to exit the site, walk 300-400 yards up the road to the public footpath, bit much for £18 per night.

Probably the main problem was that the site was lit with only what can be described as floodlights! We enjoy sitting outside the tent in the evening with a glass of wine, watching the night fall before retiring. Not so here, lighting did not even dim, making it hard to tell through the night whether it was morning or not! Oh take mozzy spray too. People in the village very friendly though. Good pub food & dog friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kim anders 1 review from this member

 My mum and Dad were regulars in their caravan at this campsite and have made some fantastic friends here. Mum still has a fantastic time when she visits. Myself and my friends (7 of us) have been camping here and every time we have had a blast!

Facilities are spotless and Colin and Sheila and their daughter are always at hand to help.

It is in a lovely spot that is near to places to visit for a fabulous day out and is close to several nice pubs for a few drinks on the night.

Overall it is a lovely campsite to stay on! I would recommend it a thousand times over! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The_Chases 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on our first trip out with the caravan. We had a scary trip up due to the ECU on the car being faulty. The stress just slipped away when we arrived. Our fellow 'vanners' jumped to help us sort our van with it being our first time which made our trip really nice.

Very well organised site. Washroom, showers are free and immaculate with piped music and heated.

Pub just a few yards away and the town just a 5 minute drive away.

Nice little walk down the lane to take the dogs with a little river running through it.

Lovely areas to visit walking or driving. Go you wont be disappointed.

Nice site. Would go again 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandyl01 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night on way back from holiday in Scotland. We thought the midges in Scotland were bad (luckily the main holiday was on the Outer Hebrides and they weren't a problem there) but they were very bad here! There was a heatwave though which was probably why.

The site is very good, the showers adn toilets are well maintained and very clean, I had the best shower of the holiday there and they are free. It is a smallish site and the tents are at one end but the walk to the shower and toilet block is only a minute or two. There weren't too many people staying but I wasn't impressed with the people staying in the large tents who came back at 1.30 am and talked loudly for another half an hour!

The security is good with a combination lock on the shower and toilet block and car barriers at the entrance and exit.

We ate in the town (can't remember the name of the pub) and had good food. The pub across the road has changed hands recently and he wasn't doing food, hopefully it will be up and running soon as it looked nice inside. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robin54 18 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a very pleasant weekend couldn't fault anything the facilities were kept spotless (and a bank holiday weekend). A small play area were our grandchildren spent most of their time. Lots of lovely walks in the area along the old railway line.
Had our Sunday lunch in the pub across the road, excellent value for money. We will be returning in the near future 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jumbo1287 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this sight recently, (beginning of September)it is a pleasant, well run site close enough to the local shops (10 to 15 minutes walk) away, situated in a lovely part of Cumbria –and handy for the Lakes and Yorkshire dales which are only a short drive away

There are several walks from the site with some interesting views along the river and on fairly easy terrain. Yes…we did see the parrots that fly over the site and can be seen daily on the way to the shops on the rooftops. It is a site where lots of people return time and again.

The toilet and shower blocks are clean and well maintained. (with piped music) as are the grounds of the site. There is a pub across from the site entrance for the occasional meals. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennine View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennine View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennine View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement