Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shane walker 3 reviews from this member

Just had 2 night at Crows nest for the August bank holiday. We arrived Saturday and were directed to the bottom field which was fine but the walk to the toilet block and other site amenities meant a 10 minute walk up hill. A portable toilet block would have been better considering the amount of people on the field. When I booked the non electric camp field looks lovely with its sea views etc so very disappointed.

Overall the shop was well stocked, the showers toilets very clean and the entertainment in the club very good.

Would I come back no. Sorry very disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hannahwil 2 reviews from this member

Disgraceful! We booked the bank holiday weekend in this 'family' park with our 17month old baby. First impressions were great. That was until we experienced Crows Nest by night. Horrendous. Screaming, shouting, swearing and chanting is not what we envisaged in the middle of our first night. We left after the first night of riots and were refused a refund and the owner said he couldn't remove the guilty parties as he would remove innocent people too. So unfortunately my innocent family was forced to leave and lost 60. NOT FOR FAMILIES, only badly behaved groups who ruin it for everyone else and are allowed to get away with it by the incompetent management.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracyannewood 1 review from this member

First camping holiday with our children here, and a very enjoyable one. Booked a grass only pitch and was allowed to choose pitch with no size restrictions. Got there quite early and was able to get a great pitch with fantastic sea views. Facilities were great, clean and plenty of them, didn't have to queue once for toilet or shower. Nice little park, fish and chip shop and well stocked shop. Small pool with water slide was ok, however, only one small changing room for women, with no cubicles, no storage and no lock on door. Very enjoyable first camping trip and had fantastic days out to Filey and Scarborough. My one gripe about this place was the noise, as a mother with small children, I was expecting noise, but sleeping at this place was like being at a festival, large groups drinking, laughing, shouting and playing music out of their cars very loudly until 1 o clock in the morning, was unacceptable.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Billysailing 1 review from this member

Arrived around 7 pm and directed to pitch by friendly member of staff. Smallish pitches for standard size but site not busy so didn't matter. Great park near tent area which grandson loved.

Site well kept with good facilities. Fish and chips were very good from on site shop but ring and check opening hours if your relying on chippy for supper as its not open every day.

On site shop well stocked by friendly helpful staff and not too pricey. Swimming pool okay and good that you get pass out for day once you have paid your 2. 00. Changing area for pool really quite dire and needs smart ending up. Female lifeguard also responsible for looking after clothes and taking money, not a friendly sort but maybe she was having an off day for some reason.

Will go back which has to be ultimate test although the cheeky 2. 00 charge for booking even with electron card is a bit much.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bongo Bonnetts 3 reviews from this member

The site was easy to find. Staff were welcoming on arrival. We were allocated a tiny pitch very close to all the facilities. (The website did warn us no tents above 6m). It was very busy, but this wasn't a problem.

We had electricity on pitch, there were taps between 4 pitches. Toilet block was clean and smart. (As was the entire site)The bar and shop were great- didn't use the swimming pool or takeaway.

Would stay again.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hallmarkz 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Crows Nest as our very first camping trip, we had electric hookup and were pitched at pitch number 17 which isnt far from the shower/toilet blocks and right next to the park which was great as the kids could play while we put the tent up, the park was very good with plenty there and all in good condition too.

The toilet/shower blocks were very clean and serviced regularly, there are plenty of toilets and showers so no need for queuing, there are also two family rooms, although I didn't use them myself.

I liked how the pitch was separated by fences and you have plenty of space. As others have mentioned there is a bit of a slope on these pitches, there were a few times that we slipped as we were entering the tent due to the slope, which was a little annoying but it wouldn't put us off returning.

We never made it to the pool and the fish and chip shop was closed on the days we were there as its only open on weekends, so I cant comment on those, but the shop was well stocked and we managed to purchase everything we needed.

My only gripe would be that on our first night at around 9pm a group of noisy children decided to go play in the park, I do expect noise being next to a park but certainly not at 9pm and having young children and a baby sleeping, I did feel it was a little inconsiderate. Although this only happened the first night and wasn't the fault of the park owners.

Overall a nice place to stay, we will be happy to return in future.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djh1066 4 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite because of the pictures on their own website and reality was just as beautiful. We camped on a Monday in school term and had a choice where to pitch (we were pleased about this as the field as many slopes on it). There was easy access to a walking path along the cliff tops, and many facilities on site. We could only hand our icepacks in between 8:30am-10:30am for freezing Mon-Thurs but no-one told us this, so we ended up without a coolbox for 24hours. The shower blocks/toilets were very clean and looked liked a hotel room, I was informed they were refurbished last year. The toilet roll was even nice! We left on a Saturday but there were many tents up by this time. The other campers started arriving from Friday afternoon for the weekend. We had a peaceful break and chose not to use the bar etc. Plenty to see in the locality too but you will need a car, however there is a bus stop directly outside the campsite, but it is quite a walk to reach the main road because of their long driveway. I would definitely go back again!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teddiesue 8 reviews from this member

Overnight stay at this site, which was the first trip out in our caravan, so we were novices at it! The entrance to the site is very spacious to park up whilst you go to check in. The pitch we were on was hard standing and grass for an awning and EHU. We were pitched very close to the toilet block which had the usual toilets, showers, wash up, water and chemical disposal.

The grass had slightly over grown the Tarmac of the hard standing which made it difficult to peg the awning out in places, and the site grass had recently been cut and the cuttings were left on the ground, the draw back with this was that grass was trodden into our caravan and throughout the toilets and showers.

There was on site entertainment which we didn't use because of having two dogs with us, but any noise from there didn't disturb us as it was far enough away from the pitches. Superb fish and chip shop on the site, something which I would like to see on more sites, and a well stocked shop.

They also had an enclosed area to walk dogs.

There was lovely views across countryside from the reception area and was placed nicely off the road. The paths and main are were well lit.

All in all a pleasant stay

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wifeofstan 6 reviews from this member

Beautiful site with either sea views, or views of the countryside. It's handy for both Scarborough and Filey, either with our without a car, as the bus stops are at the end of the drive. It's very well maintained, and the facilities are spotless. Plenty of toilets and showers and despite it being almost full, we didn't have to queue. The on site pub is ok with live entertainment in one side and a quieter bar on the other. The chippy closes early though but the quality of the food was outstanding for a chippy. You can exit the site at the top onto the cliff edge. There are routes down to the beach. If you turn right, you end up in the Blue Dolphin site, don't be fooled into thinking you can walk back through it, you can't. It's all fenced off so you have to walk to the bottom and along the road. There was a child play area, and a fenced off dog walking area which was huge. We would use this site again without hesitation, despite being charged 2 for paying by debit card! (A bit of cheeky money grabbing by the owner) But that's the only negative this site has to offer.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheKingCat 3 reviews from this member

I have seen very few reviews by Trailer Tent owners on lots of different sites, so rather than complaining about this I thought I would write one.

What can we say about Crow's Nest. Other than Fantastic.

We booked pretty last minute as we had to visit a friend in Scarborough who had received some bad news that week.

We enquired about arriving a little early and checking out a little late and Crow's Nest were more than accommodating (it was a quiet weekend on the site).

We arrived and were directed to the camping/touring field and given a site map, and told to choose any free pitch with hookup,

The camping/touring field is on a slope, so be aware of that, but nothing we couldn't manage with adjusting the jockey wheel. And there are plenty of flatter pitches but minus the view.

The view is spectacular!

The toilet block is massive, plenty of toilets and showers to choose from. Push button showers, but they do last a good 30 seconds between pushes. The showers were hot and had enough room to dry off in afterwards.

Shop was fairly well stocked and reasonably priced.

Cant comment on the entertainment/bar etc as they weren't yet open for the season when we visited.

The site is about a 15 minute drive from Scarborough centre, and there appeared to be a bus service operating from just outside the site entrance.

We would definitely like to stay again, this time for longer than just one night.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5253 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019