Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alfredthebutler 1 review from this member

 Holme Farm is easy to find and the site is well kept. Pitches are laid out in a clear grid formation. Parking is limited. Holme Farm is well placed for walkers attempting Peny Ghent.

But -The noise from the reception tent kept us awake until 2. 00 a.m.
However it did mean I got to see the beautiful cloudless sky and even a shooting star. As is customary I made a wish, but not for me, I wished for better toilets and showers and a little more consideration, from the owner and his chums, for the paying customers. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Han_02 1 review from this member

 The first thing about this campsite is the cost. Its very cheap ( £2. 50 per person and £2. 00 per tent) and dogs are free. I went with my partner and our dog. We arrived on friday night and I must say the layout of the site is lovely.

The owner has made paths around the site by cutting the grass which helps if its wet! Plenty of bins around and good toilets/ washing area for dishes. Though other reviews have moaned about the toilets for what you are paying they are basic but clean.

Its located between two pubs, both pubs accept dogs. Also perfect for walking whether it be hill walking or valley walking. Farmer was very welcoming and we did not hear any loud music at all from his tent.

Downside :(

This as I have said was a lovely campsite and perfectly located unfortunately it is loud. I think it did not help that we went at the weekend and the campsite was very busy.

Brilliant campsite 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hookhai 1 review from this member

 This is my second time camping - the first being Glastonbury last year. I have to say that Glastonbury was quieter. The site was a busy weekend and full with walkers who seemed determined to party through the night - take earplugs you will need them

The toilet block is crude but planning permission has been sought this year to upgrade them. At the moment the public toilets 200 yards away are cleaner but have no shower.

These points aside it would not prevent me from returning as it is a handy reasonably priced site in a great locations for walks, pubs etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Captain Camper 2 reviews from this member

 I was intrigued by previous reviews so thought I would give here a go. To be honest, I was a little disappointed. Not at the campsite, but at the fact that it wasn't anywhere near as raucous as I was anticipating.

Chris the owner was great. An older chap who was very polite and slightly eccentric. The campsite is very 'cosy' and you do need to carry your kit from the car park to the campsite. This wasn't much of a problem for us as we arrived early so selected a spot close to the car park. It may be a bit more of a problem during busy patches.

The pitch was flat, but some were not so flat around us. The views were stunning though, but be prepared for a midge attack. We ended up buying repellent in Settle as they were a problem.

The toilets are old, but are clean with plenty toilet roll. Nothing to dry your hands with though after washing. The showers cost £1. 00 and aren't very nice, quite damp, but warm enough.

The campsite had a festival atmosphere on the evening with groups of people gathering for conversations, playing guitars, with the distant sound of Chris's mad marquee music, which was fun. A very social campsite indeed.

If you like caravan and camping sites where you have space and tranquillity. Forget it. If you are a free spirit, up for a laugh and meeting lots of interesting people, it's spot on.

2 pubs in the village - I would recommend the crown for it's good ales. The pen y gent cafe is nice too and doesn't rip you off. Also the train is available to settle but very infrequent, so check timetables. All in all, a great time, I'll definitely be back. 9. 50 a night for 2 of us. Bargain 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Burrowsclan 1 review from this member

 This site is brilliant for basic campers, child friendly. The other reviews must not camp very often.

Chris was a brilliant host, toilets could do with an upgrade, but were always clean.

At £10 per night for a family of 5 plus dogs I could not fault it.

Also fishing was recommended by one of our party, not that he brought any back.

Its very busy I recommend you book.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iggy13 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site this is with a wonderful owner, yes its a little basic but ideal for the 2 local pubs and peny-gent.

We have been 3 times now and I love everything about the place, cheap and friendly and even had a drink with the farmer Chris in his marquee, always a friendly chap is chris and I would recommend this site to anyone.

The only downside is 1 shower but I am lead to believe that will be sorted out soon.  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampNorth 1 review from this member

 I am writing this review as a keen camper having stayed at Holme farm with my partner and our cocker spaniel, the site was full consisting of mixed groups, from 21st birthday parties to school groups, to families & couple's. Anyway here are my thoughts.

We have just returned from this site and were almost put off by the bad reviews. Even en-route we discussed other sites. I was glad we gave it a go, the pitches are very well kept and clearly marked by neatly cut grass with walkways also cut to identify boundaries. Plenty of bins located around the site mean it is kept very tidy. From reading the previous views I anticipated arriving to something more suited to Glastonbury, this is not the case. Overall it is a basic but ideal location given the real reason people visit here, the walks.

We arrived at around 5pm on Friday afternoon and were able to choose pretty much anywhere in the main field to set up. There are 3 fields in use, the main one (largest) being best for use of the toilets and wash room. The toilets were basic but adequate, each block has a shower which I didn't use and chose to wash at our tent. The shower cost £1, the toilets were well stocked with toilet roll & hand wash. The wash room consists of 2 basins but only one has a hot water supply, despite the site being full I never had to wait when using the wash room. The car park is directly next to the main field and although I had been use to parking next to the tent this wasn't an issue with it only being a 30 second walk to the car which could be seen from the tents.

The comments on the owner, his eccentricity and music are pretty accurate. The music, while not to my own taste, was kept to a very acceptable level and was turned off before 9pm.

The most popular route for the 3 peaks starts directly opposite the site, literally cross the road and the public pathway begins for the accent up Peny-y-Ghent.

We visited the pub which again couldn't be any closer, 1 minute walk from the site. Prices here were very reasonable too. Nice friendly atmosphere full of people discussing the following days planned walk. We didn't eat but the food looked and smelt great.

In summary I would say if you are looking for a base for the 3 peaks then look no further. If like us you want a safe place to pitch a tent for a couple of days with the use of basic facilities then you can't complain with what Holme farm is all about.

Please don't be put off by some off the negative reviews which paint the site in a very negative unjust light. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 10 reviews from this member

 Hard to be objective after a very disappointing stay.

Location

Farm site, the only option if you're walking the 'standard' 3 Peaks route, and close to a number of long distance footpaths, so has a bit of a captive audience. Can often be very busy. Stunning location. Gently sloping with some interesting corners. Grass mowed to indicate where pitches (suitable for small tents) are. However the norm seems to be pitch where you like. No attention / guidance given for spacing which was minimal in places during our stay. Cars allowed in adjacent carpark. Tight for space if full.

Facilities

Dated toilet facilities could do with a good service (toilet / shower floors constantly soaking with 'something'). A thorough clean, and maybe even a lick of paint and a few more lights wouldn't go amiss. I suspect this is all on hold due to planning application to extend / enhance the facilities (and number of pitches). Showers a pound, though we declined, as did several others we spoke to while doing the 3 Peaks. Showers are dark, have standing water, nowhere to put your clothes adequately etc. 3 small handwash basins in gents with cold supply only. Good loo roll supplied. 'Caught' a lady having a wash in the dishwashing area one morning, and sympathised with her. Washing up liquid supplied free as is hot water in here, but watch the wiring for the hot water 'system'. Rubbish seemed to build up around bins in field during our stay. Fire point took some searching out.

Value for Money

Adequate

Customer Service

Hmmm. Gregarious owner. Remonstrate with him at your peril, for blasting amplified music* and singing* from the rather bizarre private marquee he occupies on the site. The entertainment* went on until midnight** and was not what I would expect on a site located in a National Park and that is almost 'Hobsons Choice' for several walking / outdoor challenges. If I was of a sensitive disposition I would not have slept due to the ensuing harassment from the owner. Full refund given on later written demand.

*Old-time 'favourites' accompanied by piano/organ, microphone and amplifier and the occasional 'Hi-De-Hi' and 'Hello Campers'. Didn't count any number that slurred beyond 1/2 way through the second verse! Groans, 'shut up will yer' and simulated dog howls from the camping field went unnoticed.

**Approx time of the last message left on my mobile phone by owner trying to track me down to 'discuss' and 'judge' my complaint.

Child friendliness

Could easily be gem. We went to get some peace and quiet, watch the spring lambs playing in the field next door, get some serious exercise and a couple of good nights sleep. Fell short despite being located by the copse, as far as physically possible from the 'marquee'.

Overall

Check out the other reviews. Check if there is to be a party on while you stay. If the toilets received a fraction of the attention they deserve from the income from occupancy, value for money would be adequate. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbieharrold 1 review from this member

 This is the second time I have stayed at Holme Farm whilst walking the 3 peaks. Itís a great place to start the walk with the cafe just seconds away, if you want to check in and out. Its good value as Chris could really take advantage of the location and bump up the price.

As it was a bank holiday weekend it was very busy and we didnít arrive until late. Thankfully the area is well lit, it was getting dark but we still managed to get our tent up.

The site facilities are basic but there is everything you need, I have stayed at worse when walking the coast to coast route. They are well stocked with toilet paper and soap. The shower costs a £1.00

It can be noisy at times, but I have never had trouble sleeping through it, especially after the 26 mile walk, I donít think anything could stop me sleeping, but my friend who is a light sleeper simply took ear plugs with her so nothing would wake her.

The crown has amazing home cooked food, just what is needed after a long walk, the only thing is once you sit down you donít want to move again.

Iím giving Chris and Kath 5 Stars for their customer service! On the last day just before setting off home, I nipped into the toilets and stupidly left my purse in there, and by the time I realised I was half way home. When I switched on my mobile I already had a phone call from the campsite saying it had been handed in and could I pick it up from the marquee! I am very grateful to the person who found it and handed it in and would like to say a massive THANK YOU!

As I was already home it would have been a long drive back, although a journey I would have had to have made to get my purse back. Luckily for me Kath was able to take some money out of my purse and send it recorded delivery. She sent it straight away on Tuesday morning and I received it on the Wednesday. She kept in contact with me the whole time informing me of when she was posting it etcÖ and I let her know when I had received it the next day.

I am very lucky that it was found and I got it back. I want to say a big THANK YOU to the campsite for going out of their way in order to get it back to me.

I will be staying there again soon, once I forget how tough the walk is and decide to try and beat my time again. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kit the Great 1 review from this member

 Great spot for a cheap place to pitch up. I've stayed here many times over the years, yes it is noisy at times (especially on the weekend) but can't say I've ever had a really negative experience.

Chris is a gent and somewhat of a legend between my friends and I, but as others have said he does love his 'super sounds of the seventies' at odd hours.

Toilet blocks are a bit dated, but hey adds a bit of interest counting the dead spiders in the rafters. Shower costs a quid but given the pitch fee's I cant complain.

Lovely area, two pubs in the village. Avoid the Golden Lion but the Crown is great for a pint and a bite. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55631 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement