Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Riverside Campsite Malham Cove > Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cfurn 16 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay here during the heatwave. Don't understand why some people have said the owners weren't friendly. Cars were allowed next to tents as the ground was dry. Toilets and showers were beautifully clean and we found the time allowed for the shower (1 token) was plenty, but make sure you're ready to jump in as soon as you put your money into the meter, because the shower starts straight away! The site is peaceful, in a beautiful setting, with lovely, interesting walks available. There are 2 pubs and 3 cafes a short walk away. The food in the Buck Inn was delicious with generous portions, although a bit pricey. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue n phil 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 1 night stay at this campsite and have to say, I wish I had read all the negative views before I booked. Like most people who visit ukcampsite website we are seasoned campers looking for somewhere new and interesting to stay, with great views and lovely walks to look forward to.

You will certainly get this when you arrive but that's where the positives end. We received an unfriendly welcome from people that really shouldnt be in the hospitality business.

My partner went to the farmhouse and asked for 2 shower tokens and was asked why he wanted 2. After receiving a lecture about not putting 1 token in after the other he explained that 1 was for his partner.

The shower block was shared which I found uncomfortable to say the least. The pot washing area was next to the ladies loos, which was not pleasant or hygienic.

There was no hand dryer or towel in the toilets so you had to make do with wiping your hands on your trousers when washed. There were signs all over the campsite telling you not to do this or that. It became quite daunting to read them all and take them all in.

You couldn't talk or have your lights on after 11pm!. This was more like a weekend in a jail than a relaxing break and I would definitely advise anyone not to visit.

We certainly wont be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annamc 1 review from this member

 This is one of the best campsites I have ever stayed at.

The owners are friendly and polite - despite reading several reviews that suggested people didn't receive a friendly welcome - it was quite to the contrary.

And, as for the signs around the toilets and washing areas - that's why it is so clean and spotless - immaculate facilities. And I'm really picky about that kind of thing.

This is a working farm and it is in a wonderful location. The owners are busy all day around the farm or the campsite and Mrs Moon stopped to chat each day.

If you want a beautiful location, next to a babbling brook, a stone's throw from Malham centre and a short walk from the Cove, you couldn't ask for more.

Pubs are a 5/10 minute walk away and Malham centre is beautiful and charming. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Col n saz 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Riverside campsite. Was originally only doing an overnight but the weather was so nice and such a lovely little site that we stayed all week.

The owners were lovely, she was always around to help.

Toilet block, showers and washing facilities are well kept n clean, the 1 Pound shower token for 7ish mins is plenty of time for 2 people (recommend knowing the other person before trying this though). Fantasic walks around the area and a couple of pubs 5 mins walk. The Lister Arms does cracking food.

Plenty of rules n signs around but that's prob why its a neat little site. Defo returning in a few weeks. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spam and Beans 2 reviews from this member

 I like rules. I like people to shut up at 11 pm so my kids can get a good nights kip.

You get that here. Lovely location with the Cove and Tarn a stroll away. Would highly recommend for familys or hikers passing through on the Pennine way.

Good points.

1) Location - next to a babbling brook. Views of Malham Cove, great centre for exploring the dales.

2) Rules - no noise after 11pm.

3) Lovely down to earth owners.

4) No riff raff on site. No gangs of drinking yobs.

5) Well kept grass.

6) Clean showers and toilets, yes you do have to be quick in the shower.

Bad point.

1) Midges in droves. No one sat out after sun set. An over sight on my part. Do not forget your midge coils.

All in all I would recommend a visit. I shall be returning in the winter. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BunsterBrown 1 review from this member

 Positives: Easy to find. Stunning views. Local walks close by. Lovely pub within walking distance. No cars in the field (but close enough to unload/pack with ease). Extremely clean toilet block with good quality loo roll (a first!).

Large field for kids to play in. Not too busy. Good farm shop a short drive away. Friendly owners. Despite heavy rain the field wasn't a quagmire. Very quiet. Good washing up facilities.

Negatives: 1 token for very poor 6 minute shower. The water was either very hot or very cold (not great for kids).

Lots of rules posted in shower / toilet / washing up areas (insulting for seasoned campers but having been there as a group of DoE students arrived for one night we saw the need for the signs!)

Overall we'd recommend this sight and would stay here again. It's what camping is about. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B3nharris 1 review from this member

 A stunning location and a well kept campsite - spotless showers (I found the 7min or so plenty long enough) and toilets.

There are lots (and lots) of rules on signs all over the campsite. A bit overbearing but also quite funny in their own way. None of the rules were particularly over-zealous.

The owners were a bit brusque and (despite booking ahead) when we arrived there was a quite unfriendly sign saying the site was full and warning anyone else off trying to park (that's a bonus - no cars in camping field). We ignored this but some friends didn't and had a fruitless search at 9pm for another site before kipping in their van.

Close to village with a couple of good pubs. Would use again if I was in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DandCRhodes 2 reviews from this member

 Visited last year & loved this site. Nice friendly welcome from Mrs Moon who was happy to stop & chat any time.

Decent pot washing area & nice clean loos & showers.

The field is right next to a path which leads to Malham Cove and only a short walk from Gordale Scar. 5 minute walk to pub in village which also has a tiny shop for essentials.

All quiet at night which was great, no loud mouths.

Pitched near the little stream where the cows came down to drink from the field opposite.

Would like to return again sometime. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazza42 18 reviews from this member

 This site is what I would describe as a 'proper' campsite. It has everything you could ever want - beautiful views, brilliant walks straight from the campsite, good pubs in the village, very quiet, ducks, a stream, clean facilities & pleasant owners.

There is no EHU, no shop, no extra frills of any kind, unless you count the flowers in the toilets. Heaven.

I know lots of people mention the notices & rules, but there aren't that many & it helps to let you know what kind of place it is.

There is a small caravan next to the farmhouse which it appears you can rent out if you don't have a tent.

It was extremely wet when we visited, but the field was fine, even though a stream runs right through the site. Cars are not allowed on half of the field which must help keep the ground in good condition.

We're just trying to work out when we can come back as two nights wasn't nearly enough. I would say it's a perfect site for just relaxing or a base for outdoor activities. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: B6MFD 1 review from this member

 We have just returned after 3 nights of wet camping at this site.

The setting is ideal for local walks, local pubs, getting to other nearby villages etc. And has a really pleasant feel to it.

There is a little stream running through the site, we camped next to it and it was very relaxing.

The lady who dealt with us was very friendly and chatty and let us take our car (little Suzuki sj) onto the field despite there being signs saying no cars on field due to it being wet.

The site was very quite, probably down to the rain, but I like a nice quite site so suited me fine.

The facilities were kept nice and clean and smelt nice and fresh,

The showers have a chaining area in which I found useful, don't forget to get a token for the shower! I did, then realised when I tried turning it on (naked)!

I didn't take my BBQ because I had read on a review that they were not allowed, this wasn't true, BBQ's are allowed but fires are not, as long as you are sensible with the BBQ and don't pile wood on it there will be no issues. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite Malham Cove?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57566 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement