Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Godmanchester > Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park > Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 54 Reviews
                7/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 1320 7 reviews from this member

 We booked in at short notice as my wife's parents were stopping a few miles away in there caravan and the site they were on was fully booked.

The site itself lovely, surrounded by trees and right beside the river and marina. The problem is that it is virtually underneath the A14 and the traffic noise is very disturbing.

The facilities were not particularly clean. Although there was the usual mop and bucket to clean up after yourself in the showers I got the feeling that was the most cleaning they got, and my wife isn't that keen on sharing her shower with spiders and moths ! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stoppercoach 2 reviews from this member

 This was the 2nd visit my wife and I have made to this site.We absolutely love it. The small tent field is elevated and looks over the river.

There is nothing better than sitting outside the tent with a glass of wine and a bbq on the go,watching the sun set behind the river.

The owners are very pleasant and helpful and try to keep everyone happy.

Traffic noise is noticeable but there is no way it will put me off this site. I would sign a petition to move the A14 but don't think it will help!

There are no facilities for children as such but it is a beautiful place to be.

Showers are always clean and tidy and a mop and bucket are left so you can have a quick clean up when you have finished,takes about 30 seconds to leave them tidy for the next person.

Showers are token operated at 25p a time.Water is always hot and you should only need 1 token per shower.I did not begrudge paying for showers.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back again. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susanj 18 reviews from this member

 This site has one of the loveliest positions of a campsite, and one of the least lovely!

How can that be?

The site is alongside the river and the riverside pitches are wonderful-great views, I agree with everything people have already said. However the other end of the site is almost under the A14 and the road is not only very audible, but very visible. It is elevated and so you can see the traffic thundering along.

Tranquil it isn't.

I was disappointed, as I think previous reviewers underestimate the effect of the road. The noise didn't keep us awake, but it was just generally very intrusive.

Having said that, the location is very convenient for walking into Huntingdon-good shops and places to eat.

The owners were very helpful and kind. The site is very well kept and there are nice little touches.

There seemed to be quite a few 'seasonal' pitches.

I think so long as you aware of the effect of the road, you won't be disapponted, as the riverside position is quite lovely. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pearl Dunne 7 reviews from this member

 I can only endorse what the previous reviewer wrote. It is an ideal location. Only a few minutes walk from the town and lots of fabulous walks in the area.The A14,although close, did not bother me one bit and I am a very light sleeper.

The site itself is very well kept, spotlessly clean facilities and the owners extremely nice and obliging.

I am looking forward to visiting again and I suspect I will have to book well in advance as great sites like this are vary rare. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 I'm sat in my deck chair still at this site as I write this review, helped by the WiFi they have here. The location by the river is stunning and last night we sat on a picnic bench over looking the river with a take away from the local Thai Restaurant which was awesome.

OK as others have said you get the noise from the A14 up above but you get used to it. I don't want to leave tomorrow. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kavanagh 7 reviews from this member

 Very friendly couple who own the site, clean facilities, well kept site. Our tent was pitched in a small area in between the river and the marina, amongst the trees. A beautiful setting,

Only one downside, the noise from the A14 which was pretty constant as the road was very close by. But after a couple of beers we soon got used to it, and luckily we had brought our ear plugs!

The village of Godmanchester is within walking distance where you'll find a small convenience store and a few pubs. Lovely walk around the river. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madaboutmybike 4 reviews from this member

 I had two great nights here. We travelled up on motorbike, a very warm reception from the owner and showed us a choice of pitches.

As we started to put up the tent, it looked like we had left pegs at home, I had a chat with the owner and he promptly went to his shed and sorted enough out to get me out of trouble.

Strangely enough, we found (missing pegs) but that's camping on a bike, sharing weight load ect.

Toilets, showers superb, well kept site, lovely and clean.

Yes was some road noise but you get used to it.

Easy walks into Huntingdon and Godmanchester, and several pubs to choose from if you wish.

Would I go back, yes I would and will hopefully get there this year, if not next, highly recommend 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Bostons 1 review from this member

 Our first time at this site and we had a great time, its small and friendly and we had a nice welcome and help to position our caravan. Easy walks into Huntingdon and Godmanchester and on site right next to river with lovely views. I did find it noisy at night with traffic from A14 but am a light sleeper so that was expected really and we plan another visit as we were impressed with this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 21wetstuff 1 review from this member

 Our first time here, easy to find just off the A14. No queues just a nice size site and not overcrowded, with pleasantly relaxing atmosphere including fantastic river views.

Polite and welcoming owners with clean toilets / showers and tidy facilities. With a slipway to launch the inflatable! 5 min walk to Huntingdon with high street shops, restaurants etc. We'll definitely be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules134 4 reviews from this member

 This site is situated in a beautiful area with lots of shops near by. Some lovely walks through the nearby country park and along the waterways which my kids loved.

Site itself is very clean and well maintained. There is no playground for the children and little room to kick a football around luckily for us it was quiet so had a little bit more room to explore.

The toilets are clean and plenty of them, two showers for each sex and again they were well maintained and last long enough using a token to have a decent shower. The owners were polite and helpful and informed us that they had to leave the site for the day so we could retrieve ice packs and get shower tokens.

The only thing that spoilt it was the noise from the A14, the traffic going over the fly over echoed down the camp site and never stops all night. The plus to this is you cant hear anyone else in the tents near to you! Unfortunately this has stopped us from returning this year and have booked elsewhere. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Godmanchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44376 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement