Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Roadway Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Little Roadway Farm > Reviews

Little Roadway Farm
Georgeham Rd
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HL
Tel: 01271 870313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinkez 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at this site, although the weather was being a typical British summer!

The owners were very helpful when our tent let in a little more rain than it should have! and when we asked them what they could do for us, ie refund they said they couldn't offer a refund, which I fully understand but they could let us come and stay another time to use up the days that we hadn't. They also gave us the opportunity to either stay in a caravan or flat, but because we had already packed everything up and our 2 year old was very grumpy we decided to go home and we will be back again hopefully before the year is out.

All in all a lovely site very helpful staff and the animals are great for children my little boy loves the pigs!

Will certainly be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redgecko 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in july and the weather was mercifully kind. Nice and close to Woolacombe. Large site with nice even pitches, some with electric hook up. The shop was very handy with lots of useful things to buy. Showers and toilets generally good but could use a little improvement-the shower area was quite crowded in the womens due to us ladies having to shower the kids too! The floor in here was often rather dirty and strewn with grass. I think the drainage area could do with some improvements too, I didn't like other people's shower water on my feet. Adequate washing up area also under cover. Wetsuit washing is a shower-would be better as as tap-it can be quite difficult to hold a suit up to a shower head without your arms aching! One of the best things about the site is the children's play area-absolutely great as perfectly central and safe. The kids were out into the evening with parents being able to relax knowing they were safe.

It was nice to be able to walk around the site and visit the llamas (or were they alpacas?).

I agree with another poster who said avoid being close to the lane which can be rather noisy. This site takes dogs on leads which is fine when owners abide by that but all too often dogs were an absolute nuisance by running around off the lead. Site owner PLEASE take note.

We'll definitely be back this year. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz_isabella 1 review from this member

 This is the second time I've stayed at this campsite, although it was the first time I had used tents there.

I found the facilities excellent - good shower block, plenty of hot water, very clean. The shop is well stocked and the staff friendly.

The site is large enough that people don't end up on top of one another, even when it is very busy.

The surrounding areas are really gorgeous, and it's well located for a drive down to the beach, although there is some good hiking in the area.

My only word of caution is that because the site is set against a hill, it is very windy on occasion. It might be an idea to take a windbreak if possible. I'm rather hoping that the owners will grow some more hedges! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawsondp 3 reviews from this member

 Again another fantastic holiday for the whole family!

What a transformation. There's now an adventure park for the children In the middle of the field - very safe - this meant I could see my little girl from the caravan. MORE electric hook ups - fantastic.

Again - really helpful staff who also look out for the safety of all.

Now the boys have met some girls I won't be going abroad - were booking Oct, Easter and summer asap! (now I've got my own surfboard it's the ideal place to be).  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave71 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Little Roadway Farm, which was unfortunately spoiled slightly by the typical British Summer.

Little Roadway Farm is situated approximately 3/4 miles from the stunning north devon resort of Woolacombe. It is situated adjacent to what we believed to be a quiet country lane, which turned out to be quite different. I would suggest you avoid camping near the road especially the entrance.

The site is quite large and spacious with no dedicated pitches for non electric and as the owners are not on site for the majority of the day they are very relaxed in where you pitch. There were approx 100 units on site when we arrived and there was still plenty of room.

The majority of pitches are fairly level.

The site has one of the best site shops we have ever encountered, selling everything from eggs to tents with the addition of a take away serving a wide range of meals. Shop open 9am to 11am and 6pm to 9 pm

The toilet and shower facilities are the biggest let down and could seriously do with some investment. There are 2 separate blocks, one with toilets only which has no hot water and the main block with the showers is basic. There are only 3 showers for the males and 5 for the females. The showerblock was closed for 2 hours per day for cleaning (11am to 1pm) which during busy periods is not enough. Wet suit wash and washing up facilities are basic but functional.

Groups were allowed during our stay and although they were respectful of the 11pm quiet rule many were returning to the site between 2 and 3am with numerous vehicles coming and going.

Woolacombe is ideally situated for a wide range of interests with the fantastic shopping of Barnstaple only 30 minutes away. Exeter is about 1 1/2 hours. Exmoor zoo - 30 minutes. Ilfracombe with pleanty of bars Restaurants and shops - 15 minutes.

Parking in Woolacombe will cost you 5/6 for a day and 2 for the evening.

Little Roadway is one of the cheaper sites in the area as and has a fair rate considering the facilities. We paid 18 per night for 2 adults and 2 children with large tent and gazebo. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flopsy28 1 review from this member

 Visited Little Roadway for a week in the school summer holidays.

We had a nice big pitch in the green field, only slightly sloping but we survived. The site is in an excellent position just down the road from Woolacombe beach, but with young children we decided not to chance the big hill and drove down each day. Car parking at Woolacombe was 6.00 per day, a bit pricey but if you stay all day as we did it didn't seem too bad.

The staff were very helpful and the takeaway was really well priced and the food not too bad. The only negative we would say was the toilets and showers, often there was no soap and no hand drying facilities. This was such a shame as it really let down the site down.

We would go back though but only for a couple of days rather than a week. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katie boo 1 review from this member

 Great site except the toilet block!. Shop had everything you could want and the pitches were fairly level. Lots of space even over a busy bank holiday. Gorgeous views and the walk into Woolacombe isnt to bad.

Only 5 showers and 4 loos in the ladies and 3 showers in the mens. Cold water every time I had a shower and queues in the morning. There was a soap dispenser but it was not filled up the whole time we were there and there were no hand dryers!

The only other problem we had was the entrance to the field. Due to the lovely rain we had had all week the gateway to the field was really muddy and the car got stuck! It was better after the first night though!

Over all it was a good location but the toilet block is a put off. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raggedkiss 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday.

The staff were really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the field for pre-booked sites with electric hookup. Lovely big pitch sizes. Our field was a really generous size so loads of space for the kids to play. Well cared for ground that wasn't stony or damp.

The campsite shop was fantastic - one of the best we've come across as yet. All the basics plus camping, beach and play gear and also the takeaway (they do yummy breakfasts too!).

There is a games room with snooker and ping pong and my eldest son was chuffed that they had a TV so he could watch the formula one while we pitched the tent. There is a little play train but I wouldn't recommend for little ones as was right next to the entrance road and on very rough ground.

The toilets and showers were basic but adequate.Can imagine they would be very busy in high season as were only 4 showers each.

Unfortunately the ramp on the entrance is incredibly harsh as the ground has eroded away - I actually caught the bottom of our car on it - they really need to sort this.

The walk down to Woolacombe Beach is an absolute killer - I would suggest driving if you have small children as it is very hard going and there was a lot of traffic. Woolacombe is a lovely village and has a gorgeous sand beach.

There are loads of beaches and great places to visit in the area which is why we chose Little Roadway. Ilfracombe has a lot to offer. Also nearby Saunton, Croyde, etc.

Overall just some minor niggles but we would be happy to stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bambipoppins 1 review from this member

 After looking around at all other campsites in the area Little Roadway came out as the only site willing to take groups, young people ( a minimum age of 16) and it was about half the price of everywhere else, 6 per person to be exact.

After reading the reviews on this site, I must admit I was a little dubious about what I was about to get myself into however with all of the above mentioned it was already in my good books.

On arrival at the site, the friendly and somewhat jovial staff directed me to my pitch in the yellow field. The staff were friendly and the pitch system was a good idea, with three different fields or zones to separate groups, caravans, families and couples, making a much more enjoyable experience for all. The reception did have some rather odd opening hours, making arrivals and paying a little difficult.

There were two toilet blocks, one with showers which I was somewhat nervous about having read this site prior however was pleasantly surprised. Although not exactly Buckingham palace, the toilets were clean and any problems did seem to be rectified by the next day. There were now hooks on the shower doors, as well as an ample supply of toilet paper. The showers themselves were lovely and warm although each press of the button lasted a disappointingly short time span. They were however perfectly clean and usable bar some expected sand / mud, easily rectified with a pair of shower flip flops! !

There was also a wetsuit washing area, which I didn't use and a washing up area which was adequate though some what dirty the one time I used it though this may have been cleaned later on, still I would advise taking your own bowl. There was also a small games room with two table based games which remained open at all hours and the reception was also a shop as well as takeaway, reasonably priced though we didn't actually buy any hot food.

The camp site itself was fairly easy to find, although the walk down and up the hill to Woolacombe itself was a bit of a killer, though we did happen to find the friendly locals on a few occasions who were more than happy to offer a lift. And on the plus side the views on the hill were stunning.

The overall area was also lovely, with the beautiful beaches and several food outlets as well as decent but somewhat pricey bus links.

Fully Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawsondp 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time last August - the weather was pretty bad and we were in a tent. This year we have upgraded to a caravan and have had the best time.

I am a single parent and have 3 children, 13, 11 and 5 - my nephew came with us (13) - the facilities are good - running hot water at no extra cost, toilets and showers open 24/7, the new toilet block means there are no queues. These facilities were clean and adequate.

The staff/owners are outstanding - they helped us part-ex and upgrade our caravan, advised on the best places to purchase equipment, etc, I have never met a more helpful couple - ty for making out stay so gr8!

The boys made good use of the games room (snooker and table tennis) in the evening, there was plenty of room for flying kites, riding bikes, and our cats even found a new home in the hay barn! My little girl had lots of new friends around the camp site, which is very safe.

We have booked for electric hook up next year already - a brilliant experience, very helpful and a really safe site for a young family (as well I believe for the younger generation too with the different colour fields on the site).

I highly recommend the site, a small drive to Woolacombe centre, Croyd, Ilfracome, Braunton and Barnstaple within very easy reach.

CU next year guys and ty again! xoxo 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Little Roadway Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Roadway Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Roadway Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement