Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site > Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2023 to 31/10/2023
           01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 132 Reviews
                10/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MikeandSam 30 reviews from this member

 We are happy to return to this site again and again!

A lovely, level site with generous pitches, great views, wonderful hosts, a wide range of facilities in a fantastic location and at really reasonable rates.

Even when the site is fully booked it never feels crowded and it's always spotless thanks to Lesley and Ralph's attentiveness to their visitors.

We've stayed four times this year and we keep finding new places to walk, ride and visit in this beautiful part of Scotland.

We would recommend this site for families and couples, backpackers, vanners, cyclists and anyone who appreciates the time and care that is put into managing Drumroamin.

Lots of beaches, forest walking and cycling in all directions. Supermarkets nearby in Newton Stewart. Good pub food at Garlieston.

Ideal base for mtb at Kirroughtree and Glentrool. (7 stanes) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 683 reviews from this member

 Would agree totally with the previous reviews, this site is as near to perfect as we have found.

We arrived to a super friendly welcome from the owner, were offered our choice of available pitches and shown around the facilities.

All the pitches on grass, but its very firm and well cut with no clippings left. Good large pitch with electric and super views down towards the bay.

The loos and showers were immaculate, enormous shower cubicles with more hooks for hanging things than we have ever seen - brilliant.

Being a couple of miles down a lane its so peaceful, no traffic noise at all. Some lovely walks including a marked footpath over the fields.

There is plenty to see and do in the area, Wigtown is a must for book lovers, the small harbour there has a great walk along side the estuary.

One of our favourite sites and we will be coming back for a longer stay to explore the area more fully. And at £20 per night with electric and showers it is an absolute bargain. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevin Tappenden 1 review from this member

 We have just spent a great week at Drumroamin camping with our 3 dogs. The site is extremely well kept with all of the facilities being meticulously clean. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with recommendations for walks for the dogs and dog friendly local pubs, all. Of which we tested.

The location was beautiful with views across Wigtown Bay and the site was very quiet and peaceful.

In our opinion if Carlsberg did campsites..... 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MikeandSam 30 reviews from this member

 Just perfect.

Quiet, spotlessly clean and beautifully managed; Ralph and Lesley are perfect hosts running an excellent campsite.

Spacious flat pitches.

We keep coming back. This was our third visit in a year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 216 reviews from this member

 May possibly be perfect, for us at least.

Newcomers are shown around - the washrooms are pristine! You get a 10m grass pitch & can do what you want - tail in, nose in, lengthwise, awning or not. All in the £20 EHU price, dog not extra.

Add all the tracks from the site for dog walking or biking. And views of silvery Wigtown Bay. And dark skies. And complete silence at night. And easily (for us) a week's worth of places to visit within less than an hour's drive. Free Wi-fi but a donation is requested.

Easy booking on their website. We booked for 3 nights & stayed for 5 - "pay when you go" is the lovely relaxed attitude of the owner, who lives on site & is always around. Oh, departure by 2:00 pm - unheard of. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Anni Telford 1 review from this member

 Lesley Shell is a wonderful hostess who really canít do enough for you.

The site is flat and has wonderful views over Wigtown Bay and the hills of the SouthernUplands.

The facilities, showers, toilets, laundry area, BBQ area etc are modern and immaculate.

There is a club room with a pool table, great walks on beach and in forest just minutes from the site and excellent pubs and tourist attractions close by.

I can not recommend the site and the hostess enough. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mearsfamily 5 reviews from this member

 One of the best small campsites that I have used. I was the only one there in our T5 California campervan. Pitches all grass but I was offered the use of the gravel near the reception. I chose a grass pitch however and had no trouble getting on or off the pitch, even after it had snowed an inch overnight. It cost £15 for the night. Facilities excellent plus a games room/lounge. Slightly elevated position looking out over Wigtown Bay estuary. Many geese flying over dawn and dusk.

The lady running the site was lovely. She is still an active camper and as such, has used her experience to give the best of what she has experienced and none of the things that annoy you. A proper gem of a campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jehpesto 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful, spacious, level site with extremely friendly & helpful owner. Stayed 2 nights and it was great. Spotless loos and showers, plenty of hooks too! Washing machine, iron and ironing board and free use of freezer (I didn't but could have) Also a large TV and pool room, with seating, wifi and loads of magazines.

For vans it has a good drive over grey waste water drain and there is EHU for those who want it (I didn't) plus plenty of bins and recycling and a chemical loo disposal point. Really great value for £12. (only giving 9 out of 10 for location as it is a bit of a way down a narrow lane and can be a bit tricky to pass other cars if you meet on the narrowest bits) 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjwurtz 8 reviews from this member

 A little gem. Well maintened, with spotless facilities and a wonderful view all around, all this in a very quiet area. Butcher and fishmonger visit the site each week.

Add to this the proximity of Wigtown and all its booksellers + the really interesting historic places all around and you will regret to leave.

We stayed there after and during a exceptionally rainy period, so there was some places soaked, but less than feared. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pyper 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site down a farm track, flat and well drained. Met by Lesley who gave us a tour of the facilities and offered us a choice of pitches, we picked one next to the hedge (it was rather windy). We were there three nights and it rained the whole of the second day but the site did not turn into something resembling a ploughed field. This is how a camp site should be run, no deposit and pay when you leave. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Stewart      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 01/02 to 04/02
Held in Feb 2024, caravans, motorhomes, campervans, holiday homes, lodges, tents, boats and accessories all in one destination. Find out more!

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5510 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement