Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Marsden > Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) Reviews

Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)
Manchester Road
Standedge
Marsden
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HD7 6NL
Tel: 01484 844419
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10 hardstand for caravan plus camping
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy ellis 8 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site situated about a 5 minute drive out of Marsden, with stunning views of the surrounding hills.

In recent years its appears that the amenities have been much improved with a well kept separate toilet shower/bath (50p) area from the pub. The disabled facilities are first rate (but no shower seat / low level mirror) and a real credit to such a small site.

The pitches are well drained and reasonable level but note this is a slightly exposed site on the moors. So, if like me and, using a large tent then delta's are a must for the main lines.

As for road noise? Yes its there but is not that intrusive in my honest opinion. Next door there is a sheep farm, and if people don't close the gate the sheep stray in! It was amusing watching the lambs trying to make friends with my two white dogs who where most perplexed!

The pub sells excellent food at reasonable prices, the fillet steak Du Barry is a must! This is a lovely country pub, with a really good atmosphere provided by the locals, and the karaoke on the Saturday was good entertainment. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at this site. The weather was wonderful (which helped). The site is on top of the Yorkshire moors and I think it would be a bit bleak if it were raining.

The site is small about nine pitches, there are new showers and toilets separate from the pub now, 2 showers and a bath with shower over, 3 toilets, there is a 50 pence charge for showers which some may think is a bit much but as we only paid 15 a night we didn't think it would break the bank! There is a play area with swings and a slide.

Take a walk up the big hill at the side of the site, part of the Marsden Moor Heritage Trail, the views from the top were fantastic although it was very windy, we also watched people rock climbing and para-gliding from the hill.

The Pennine Way is not very far away and there were a lot of walkers using the pub as a base to start from. Marsden village is about 1.5 miles away and Holmfirth, famous for 'Last of the Summer Wine' 9 miles away, we ate at 'Sid's Cafe' and enjoyed the food.

Back to the site. We ate in the Pub on Saturday Night, unfortunately we hadn't booked and had to wait 45 minutes for our order to be taken and then another 40 mins to get our starters. They did apologise. The reason they hadn't mentioned about booking to us is that most of the people who use the campsite don't eat it the Pub, so be advised book!

On saying that when we did get the food it was out of this world and the Turkish Menu is well worth a try. I had the mixed kebab, wonderful. We then had a few songs on the karaoke. Children are welcome. As it is a Free House there are plenty of beers, esp. ciders some very strong! The staff are all very pleasant.

We had a very relaxing weekend and would go again. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Missmoneypenny 15 reviews from this member

 We booked last minute here and the landlord arrived to help us getting settled as it was dark and wet and not easy to get into. It's a small site with small pitches. It's not ideal for motorhomes as it's a bit of way out of Mardsen if you want to park up and not use your van but it's got lovely views.

The electric kept tripping so we ended up using our gas heating and hot water.

We went into the pub to eat. It had a big log fire but no people for a while.There was a massive menu- not always a good sign. We had an Izgara- Turkish meats and it was okay though the salad was rather sad and past it's best.

The friendly landlord and landlady sat with us and chatted- motorhome owners themselves and talked about plans to extend the site.

There was some road noise but as the night became clear and cold, the stars were fabulous.

We were woken very early by the bin lorry and the traffic noise. Then I got annoyed - having paid 15 for overnight and 32 for food and drink,that I couldn't have a shower as it wasn't working. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhinoatcas 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived on friday lunch quite breezy and the sky looked menacing so we quickly pitched our tent up next to the EHU available to us. The site is small their were about 3 caravans and 3 campervans no tents only ours and my 2 daughters tents we were told to pitch anywhere as a couple had cancelled.

We were given a code for the toilet outside door as the site was adjoined to the carriage house pub. So after pub hours they locked the inside pub door to the toilets so we campers could only access the toilet area. This meant that during the pub opening time we the campers had to share the 1 gents, 1 ladies and 1 showers with the pub customers.

There was 1 pot wash sink which was blocked for one day before the owner cleared it, the water for some reason kept running out even to the outside drinking water tap ( the owner said to someone it will be back on shortly cos he had been down the road to prime the water (not sure what he meant but it did run out)

The showers were 1 a time but only worked for 2 of us 6 (with hot water that is) even though the owner kept taking 1 a time off us. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keeleyroh 4 reviews from this member

 Just come back from an Easter weekend stay.

Good points -

* owners are nice and friendly as are the staff

* lovely food and great Saturday karaoke evening

* Very clean site

* Would defo go back again for a weekend visit.

Not bad points but little niggles

* Only 2 toilets and these were shared with the pub visitors - Also the toilets didn't flush if you were a 2nd visitor to the toilet straight after someone else.

* 1 Charge for a shower, this is the first site I have stayed at where they have charged for use of a shower.I think as paying for camping this should be in with the price.

* Short of a playing field for children.For lads who like to play footie.

* Only 6amp elec hook up so it kept blowing if we plugged more than one electrical item in - but was advised this is being changed shortly to 12amp so shouldnt be a problem then.

OVERALL - A very enjoyable and pleasant stay and lovely views. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Posh n Rough 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping experience, and we stayed fairly local to 'test-run' our new tent.

First the positives:

The site was nice & small, so only a quick hop, skip & a jump to the loos (which were cleaned daily). The car was parked on a hardstanding, so no problems with sinking in the mud. Electric hook-up & water was readily available. As was a very clean & deep sink area. Although we didn't use it - the children's play area looked nice. The pub was fab - with a good mix of locals & campers; the food excellent & Saturday night karaoke a fun evening. But the main point was the warm welcome - ALL the staff were friendly & helpful.

Second the negatives:

It being my first outing; I forgot to take cutlery, pump for the airbed. It rained constantly. (I could go on). But I think it would be unfair to blame my inadequacies on the campsite !

In general I would recommend this site. The area is beautiful. Simon (the landlord) has big plans for expansion & improvement over the winter (including a new toilet block for those who were disappointed with the existing one) - so we'll definitely be making a return visit in the near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a two night stay here and what others have said is true about the toilets and so forth, plus we had a dog and there is nowhere for them to go. But we enjoyed our stay, even though it rained on the Saturday night.
The owners are really nice and friendly, with no rush off on the day we were leaving. All in all it is a nice site if a little noisy with the road 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ronkicka 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights here. The pub was lively which was fab, had a great night in there Sat night and a short stumble back to the van!

No probs with electric, but the surface it a bit tricky to get a good balance on :(
A62 very busy most of the time, but the only down side for me was the toilets sharing them with the pub is not great. 2 ladies loos between a very busy pub at the weekend and up to maybe 30 campers wasnt my idea of good facilities, the 1 shower is in the disabled loo only used it because I had no choice. It was clean but I think some more facilities are needed to make it worth the 15 a night price tag. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Al21an 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights at this site, situated at the back of the pub, good size pitches with 6 amp electric hook up, only problem was when another tourer plugged into the same electric point, our power went off, so we had to plug into a different supply.

Everyone on site was very friendly, really enjoyed our stay. Only problems were, the A62, where the site is situated seems to be a haven for boy racers, and also no access to the children's play area from the site itself. Only access is from the pub car park. Toilets and shower were spotless, would probably stay there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Micky1975 2 reviews from this member

 This site in my opinion is a little hidden gem.

Situated on the main A62 form Huddersfield to Manchester.

We spent 2 nights here at a cost of 15.00 a night including electric hook up and worth every penny just for the views alone. The site is all hard-standing for caravans with plenty of space for the car as well, water points and EHU (6amp).

The toilet/showers were cleaned daily, only down side is there were only 1 shower, but you cannot have it all !. There is a under cover sink area for pot washing, and a waste disposal area.

This is a nice secure site with CCTV, coded gates and a key coded door to the shower/toilet area.

The play area is a nice size for the little ones.

Excellent food served in the pub/restaurant and a fantastic pint of stella. With real friendly hosts Bev & Simon. The pub also does packed lunch's for the walkers etc. And if your singer there is a karaoke on a Saturday night.

The village of Marsden is such a pretty little place, with everything you need and its only about a mile and a half away from the campsite, rail links running from marsden if you fancy venturing further a field. There some lovely walks round this area, from the pennine way to a nice pleasant walk along the towpath of the Huddersfield narrow canal. Make sue you visit the standedge tunnel, the highest, longest and deepest canal in Britain, such a fantastic attraction.

We are looking forward to returning to this site sometime very soon. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marsden      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement