Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henlow Bridge Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Bedfordshire > Henlow Village > Henlow Bridge Lakes > Reviews

Henlow Bridge Lakes
Bridge End Road
Henlow
Henlow Village
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
SG16 6LN
Tel: 01462 812645
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200 pitches. 6 Lodges. 6 Cabins. 3 Pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 49 keith 1 review from this member

 Hi stayed here for 6 nights, lovely site plenty of walking and public transport near by. Facilities are good and clean but the showers are push button type and no control on temp. Negative points they clean the toilets at 8 o'clock, there are 2 cockerels on site that try to out do each other crowing at 4 o'clock in the morning and people are driving about at 5/6 o'clock in the morning (suspect of to work) on noisy road tracks. Be aware post code and sat nav don't mix 


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave VdC 1 review from this member

 Very quiet this time of year. Water and power on most pitches. All plots marked out. Excellent facilities, well maintained and clean. Very helpful staff. Good walks and nature reserves from site. Large fishing lakes if you are into that. Will visit again. 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pilgrim730 10 reviews from this member

 We've been here half a dozen times now as its fairly local, and it just seems to get better and better. The staff are REALLY helpful and friendly, the facilities are constantly improving, we noticed some lodges being built for the summer season. If you are looking for a sure bet, top notch site for camping, Caravaning, Motorhoming etc, treat yourselves this is a Gem 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moth1964 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Henlow Bridge Lakes, and we shall be returning again. This is the best site we have been to. The staff are accommodating and very helpful. We had problems the first time with our caravan awning, and were given sound advice. On the second visit, during some nasty weather the caravan developed a leak in one window and the staff had just the product to fix it. In fact we have used the tape elsewhere since we returned home.

The facilities are clean and tidy, we never had to wait for the showers, and the washing up area is spacious and very clean.

We took our two dogs with us and they loved the walks round the fishing lakes. There are plenty of places to walk, including a safe walk into Henlow.

Being a couple whose children are grown up we tend to go out of season, so cannot comment about the summer holidays, child friendliness etc, although walking round the site there does seem plenty for children to do.

As other reviewers have mentioned it is possible to hear the road, and the occasional train, but it didn't bother us.

Also, it is worth having a look on street view on Google maps before you arrive so that you know exactly where the entrance is, it is very easy to miss, as we did the first time we visited. Not a severe problem as there are roundabouts at each end of the main road, just annoying.

All in all an excellent site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Timpaul63 4 reviews from this member

 This really is an outstanding site for which I give an overall 10 star rating, the staff are very friendly, the facilities are excellent and are really well thought out. This has got to be one of the cleanest sites you will ever visit, the toilets, showers, laundry and dish washing were exceptional. The shop is well stocked and there is a wealth of local info readily available. The site itself, lakes and walks are clearly well managed and offer hours of activities without even leaving the site. The nearby pubs in Henlow are very inviting and are only a short walk away. Access is only 4 miles from the A1 and an easy drive from the M1 directly off the A507. The only point to be aware of is that the turning off the A507 is via a fairly narrow one way system and depending on the direction from which you are coming you may have to travel down to the next roundabout to double back but at least the signage is good. I can't emphasise enough though as to how well run the site is, well done, I can see why you have trip advisor awards. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bretts 7 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to Henlow Bridge, our grandaughter loved it so much that she asked to come back. This site has a large capacity but is well divided up into various 'fields' so doesn't seem too overwhelming. The pitches are very generous and have hook-ups and their own water supply. It has plenty of loo and shower facilities which are kept very clean and the water is always hot. There is a disabled loo and shower room, baby room and wifi in the main shower block. Washing up room/laundry. Plenty of waste disposal facilities.

There is a small shop which sells food basics and a lot of fishing and camping extras plus bait, as the site is based around two large fishing lakes and several smaller lagoons for beginners, disabled and children. We felt that the shop perhaps could extend the amount of food it offers, but it is not far to a large Tesco in Baldock or into Hitchin.

The big attraction for a family is the children's playground. This is in the middle of the main tenting area and has lots of equipment for all ages. Most of the children would seem to be happy to spend all day there so going out is less of an issue! The train station is just outside the camp and is a direct line to London for sightseeing. The two fishing lakes and river walk are very pleasant and plenty of space for children to ride their bikes, tracks are all gravelled. There are nice walks direct from the site.

They hire out fire pits/bbqs and deliver them to your tent or van. In the summer school holidays there is entertainment almost all day on Saturday but this means that it can be quite busy at weekends. A van caters on Friday and Saturday with home cooked food and there are plans to have a cafe on site for next year.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, this year we had one incident with some 'noisy neighbours' on our last night and this was swiftly dealt with!

The only down side to this site is that the surroundings are not particularly quiet. It is by the side of a busy main road with a lot of lorry traffic in the day, plus the adjacent railway line and some aircraft noise from Luton. However, this dies down a lot at night and didn't bother us or our grandaughter but may not suit a light sleeper.

We have to return next summer because our grandaughter's friend, (who came for the day at an extra cost of just 3 as a visitor)has asked to come again next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crowdpleaser 3 reviews from this member

 Had a really great long weekend at Henlow Bridge Lakes. I phoned to book and spoke to a really friendly staff member who took the time to look for a good pitch for us due to us needing to be close to toilet facilities. Deposit paid and were told we could pay remainder when we arrived, very nice in this day and age!

Check in was easy on the day. Unfortunately, we arrived in pouring rain. Undetered we set to putting our tent up which was on a good sized pitch G50, overlooking the small fishing lakes. Grass pitch with EHU and water point, very handy.

Our pitch backed directly onto the kids play area and both our kids, promptly put shorts, wellies and raincoats on and hit the play area. Over the weekend, they made lots of friends and the play area became a congregation place. Its noisy up until 9. 30ish and then silence, no problems for us!

Toilets and showers were kept very clean. There are mops provided to clean the floor after showering and the facilities seem to be being checked very regulary. There are 3 blocks on site plus those on the roundel which are opened when events are on. Never had to queue at all and felt quite happy with my 2 kids making their own way over there.

Really nice dishwashing room with laundry facilities as well and seemed fairy reasonable charges although we didn't use them.

The site lays on some activities over the school holiday Saturdays. We enjoyed a game of Petanque with several other families in the morning and our kids loved the bouncy castles at the roundel. In the late afternoon a children's disco with games was on, our kids enjoyed this. The evening brings live music and what sounded like kareoke or a disco. To be honest, this was the only let down of the entertainment. We were back at our tent in another field and it was very loud with people really yelling. We are in no way adverse to a bit of noise but this was still going at 10. 30 and was akin to a Haven nightclub.

The staff also put on tractor rides on Saturday and Sunday with an activity of 'Find Bango', the site's duck mascot around the site. This was thoroughly enjoyed by us all and lots of others.

There are a few animals on site, chickens, a rabbit and a birds. Plus 2 very noisy cockerels! My 6 year old loved going to say hello to them!

There was catering on both friday and saturday nights and also breakfast items on saturday and sunday morning. We had chicken tikka masala on saturday night and it was really tasty. However, it took ages and ages to be ready, we waited nearly 40 minutes from ordering to getting it.

There are fishing lakes on site which we didn't use but lots were using them and looked to be having some success.

Onsite shop is small but stocks most essentials although I did have to make a trip to nearby Morrisons on the Friday. An easy 10 minute drive.

In conclusion, this is a really nice friendly site, we have booked to return in September as its only 50 minutes from home and we had such a good time. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pilgrim730 10 reviews from this member

 We've just visited this site for the first time and have been delighted. Booking the site was easy, when we got there the staff were really helpful so we were up and running very quickly. Although its not highlighted, there are food wagons on site during the evenings and of a very good quality. The Ablution blocks are first class. The level, hard standing pitch was with mains and water, so all good. I did a bit of course fishing which I haven't done in years, and that was good. Road noise was mentioned in other reviews, but we didn't notice it, so hay ho. We are new to Motor homing and this was our sixth weekend break and it was without doubt our best weekend yet. A big Thank you to all the staff and we will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenhog280271 1 review from this member

 This is an amazing campsite and great fun supplying activities and entertainment for all the family! Myself and my family would definitely recommend this campsite. It really is our ideal campsite. The entertainment was amazing. We loved The Roundel the fire pit is a fantastic idea. The tractor and trailer rides were a real hit with the children. Great value for money we thought. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family Man Camping 5 reviews from this member

 It was school half term in May and the weather was changeable, we were looking to get away with the kids without travelling too many miles from home. Having not visited this site before, previous reviews on this website spoke highly of the site. We decided to stay Wednesday to Friday, I phoned this site the day before and asked if they had availability for 3 pitches as we were travelling with friends. The lady on the telephone was very helpful, she managed to locate 3 pitches together which were secured with a 20 percent deposit. The following day we arrived just after 1pm greeted by a friendly gentleman at the gate. He had details of our booking and directed us to our pitch allowing us to get pitched before settling the bill.

The reception / shop sells most of the usual items including alcohol and fishing accessories for those wishing to make use of their fishing lakes and nearby river; newspapers can also be ordered for the following day. The site itself is lovely and flat, for the kids there is a small section of birds to view, a decent play area to make new friends and sports pitch with goal posts. Our nearest toilet block was modern with signs above wash basins reminding guest to respect others by keeping the place clean which seemed to work well. The showers are free although my water was a little on the cool side, each shower room has its own basin too plus a squeegee mop to keep the floor clean and dry.

Our pitch was a good size, having 3 together gave us the flexibility of using the space as we chose including the use of an event shelter. We also deciding to hire a fire pit on the first night, it was about 6 o'clock when we enquired and wondered if we had missed the opportunity but the staff were very accommodating, the fire pit and logs were promptly delivered to our pitch. We had a lovely evening around the fire using approximately half of the logs, additional logs can be purchased if required. Traffic from the main road could be seen and heard but it didn't bother us. Noise from fellow guests was also minimal and I think we all slept well.

This is a great site, aerial images from Google do not do it justice as its being slowly developed over time, for example there is now The Roundel which is a large covered communal area including fire pit and stage for organised events. We hope to return again one day, if not this year maybe next when I believe there will also be (according to the downloadable site map) a new Tea room / Clubhouse building. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henlow Bridge Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henlow Village      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3727 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement