Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ty Coch Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Glamorgan > South Glam > Ty Coch Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Ty Coch Camping And Caravanning
Ty Coch Farm
Peterstone Wentlooge
Cardiff
South Glam
Glamorgan   (Browse area)
CF3 2TU
Tel: 07983 615984
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachelmmdaly1 1 review from this member

We have just spent 2 fantastic nights at this campsite. We felt very welcomed by the owners and found the facilities to be fantastic. The showers and toilets were very clean and seemed to be cleaned very regularly. There is a kitchen which had a toaster, a microwave and a hairdryer as well as tea and coffee for campers use.

With Cardiff and Newport so close there were a great number of things for us to do. There is an information board with the public transport times for Cardiff and Newport and numbers for local taxis.

Despite the fact that Cardiff and Newport are such a short drive away it felt as if we were away from it all - it was fantastic! So quiet and relaxing.

This was a fantastic experience and we wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cybercamperat 9 reviews from this member

Lovely location with nicely spaced pitches. Good spot for visiting Cardiff and locality. Friendly and kind owners.

Facilities are eclectic but clean and the showers very good. The campers kitchen is a nice touch.

Good Orange mobile phone signal.

Sadly this was only a one-night stop-off enroute home but we hope to return as there was such a relaxing feel to the site and so much to do in the area.

Blissful escapism in lovely countryside with the option of Cardiff and it's super theatres, shopping etc just down the road!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Katy Davis 1 review from this member

We have just come back from a weekend stay here in order to watch our son compete in Cardiff in rugby and athletics. We loved this campsite, so friendly and so easy to access Cardiff. Most importantly facilities were excellent, free hot water, lovely clean loos and sinks and little kitchen with microwave and toaster and iron all included. Big trampoline for the kids to play on and oodles of space, really good value hook up and prices per person. Fabulous will visit again

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hafenmeister 4 reviews from this member

A lovely little site with clean facilities. For the site owners nothing is too much trouble. There is an iron, cooking hobs, and ice-block freezing facilities, as well as a wealth of (relevant) information about the surrounding area. The price was very reasonable.

It's a very quiet location on the coast road between Newport and Cardiff and the incredible view across the Bristol Channel is only a few minutes' walk away. There is a large Asda store a couple of miles away, and the main bus route to Cardiff is a few minutes by car. There are a couple of pubs within reasonable distance.

I highly recommend the site; I'll certainly be going back!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: SUNSEEKER9 4 reviews from this member

We have returned from a fantastic weekend in the Khaki glamping tent. The weather was not particularly warm and was definitely rainy so the wood-burning stove in the tent was well used. An electric heater was provided as well in case you didn't want to use the stove! The double bed, made up with comfy pillows and duvet (linen provided) was a real luxury. The fairy lights/electric lamps added to the atmosphere and, due to the heavy canvas, were completely invisible from outside the tent. Two full-sized folding beds were great for the children and there was still room for two armchairs. The thoughtful addition of complimentary juice, tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, electric kettle and fruit in the fruit bowl were really unexpected but most welcome. The owners were lovely and obviously work hard to make their campers comfortable. The site is small and sheltered with an abundance of wild birds- we saw swans, ducks, pigeons, numerous small birds and a lone hen!

We visited the Dr Who Experience in Cardiff Bay (took about 15-20 mins to get there on quiet road), St Fagans (museum)and Tredega House (very close-National Trust property). Had a good meal in the neighbouring village at The Six Bells pub. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzybee 2 reviews from this member

Had a super 2 nights, pitches all nice and level, showers good, toilets clean and quiet. Not a big site at all which suited us.

Cardiff not far away. Offered us some milk upon arrival. Can borrow cutlery, cups and plates, ironing board and iron.

No hot water in the toilets except one. No playground but plenty of space. Would go back again.

Nice sound of sheep in the distance. Owners offered me help with the tent, facilities a short walk past the caravans.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raggleswoodlucy 9 reviews from this member

We used Ty Coch campsite as a base for camping as we were in Wales to watch Northampton Saints play Leinster in the Heinekan cup final at the Millenium stadium, Cardiff.

For anybody visiting the Millenium stadium or Cardiff in general, we drove in to Cardiff which took 10-15 mins and parked for 10 hrs on street parking for 3.50 or so. This was a 10 min walk to the stadium and city centre.

It's a small and fantastically friendly place, which was well used by other rugby fans and others who were touring. Being such a small site meant there was no trouble with large roudy groups. The site is level and well kept and the facilities are more than reasonable for the 12 a night we paid.

Follow the directions from the website and you won't get lost.

Maria and Nigel were really helpful and friendly, what's more it was our first time under canvas. What a great place!

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeyd 9 reviews from this member

We just had a great weekend at Ty Coch lovely quiet site half way between Newport and Cardiff.

Very friendly, we could also pick our pitch; there is some hard standing, which is great if there it happens to be one of those rare occasions of a drop of rain in Wales. The new showers are piping hot and clean. The old toilet block is still in use but not heated which we did not find a problem the dishwashing area has a kettle for hot water and lots of surface space for drying up.

There are some pubs with good food a few minutes drive away or the golf club next door (we did not visit).

Ty Coch is easy to get to and no narrow lanes if you follow their directions very easy journey from the M4 but you could drive past the entrance unless you take the last bit slowly.

It is run by friendly people who obviously care about what they do we look forward to returning. A very nice touch is the relaxed check out Maria said we could leave when we wanted to what a relaxing end to a relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper63 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site for the Ryder Cup. I totally agree with all the comments above. The owners (Nigel & Maria) could not be more helpful yet not intrusive or interfering. They go the extra mile with regard to small considerate touches - all our pitches were labelled with our names prior to our arrival. We had some horrendous weather whilst there but the site quickly dried out. If you have dogs there are plenty of walks around to stretch those legs. I would highly recommend this site for anybody looking for a quite, clean CS. Special thanks to Maria and Nigel for making our time so enjoyable.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Qsbuilder 19 reviews from this member

This is a C&CC only certificated site. When following the directions and after turning left at the T-junction, past the Golf Course, it's easy to miss the entrance. Look out for a wide entrance on the left with a little red sign-written skip displaying 'Castleton Turf'. The caravan site entrance is now 100 metres on the right, immediately past a row of overhanging trees which hide the farmhouse from view. There are no narrow country lanes and access is excellent even with the larger units.

The caravan site is under constant improvement. There are two WC unisex cubicles each with own wash basin in part of a timber barn, and also a separate dish wash area. A kettle is provided to heat up dishwashing water, but the sink and drainer is as new. The barn may look dilapidated, but the toilets are very clean and well maintained with plenty of toilet paper and soap. An information area provides details of local attractions and there are a selection of books to borrow and read

There is one shower at present which is situated in the annexe of the house which will eventually become a self-contained holiday flat. This is a domestic power shower with a third WC and wash basin adjacent. There is plenty of really hot water, no annoying push buttons, and it is probably one of the best showers on ANY site that I have used. There are nice touches such as a choice of shampoos for guests to use. Again, this area is spotlessly clean and is like being in a B&B.

Outside, Nigel (the owner) is constructing a row of additional showers for future use.

There are five hardstandings with EHU's although levelling will still be required. There is plenty of space between units which can be seen on their website. Other facilities include a chemical waste point, tap for cleaning the cassette, and a separate drinking water tap with a short length of blue food-grade hose attached. Excellent - unlike many sites which just use a length of green hosepipe

The fees for the peak season including 2 adults are 12 per night. Now I have paid 11 per night last year (2009) in CL's with no other facilities than just a water tap and a manhole cover for a chemical waste disposal point, both several hundred metres away from my pitch.

The location is set behind the farmhouse and although the road is not busy, any traffic noise is very subdued. There are nearby footpaths to reach the edge of the Bristol Channel overlooking Weston-super-Mare, and a coastal path to walk along. And for shopping, there is a large Asda only about 3 miles or 10 minutes drive away which is really convenient. Cardiff and Newport city centres are only about 15-20 minutes away by car.

In conclusion I would highly recommend this CS, in particular for its cleanliness, excellent value for money and peaceful rural location yet near to all amenities.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near South Glam      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Glamorgan

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020