Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Highland Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort Augustus > Loch Ness Highland Resort Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
                8/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fe9427 11 reviews from this member

 Really good, hadn't booked too much in advance, and was told if no one in reception to just pitch up anywhere until the reception was open. Which is great if you are arriving but worth bearing in mind if you are moving your van for the day. Leave something behind to show that the pitch it taken

Hard standing pitches are massive, felt lost in it! but would be great if you had an awning as you would have plenty room still even after the awning was up.

Good quality showers and toilet block.

Site easy to find.

Lovely site to see the stars.

Staff friendly and approachable

Would recommend and use again 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Richardbatchelor 3 reviews from this member

 Having just stopped at a very overcrowded site at Loch Ness, and left early, this site was a breath of fresh air. The friendly staff and freedom is what we love. Pitch anywhere you like we were told, just let us know.

The facilities were great, everything you need and all clean. We loved that you can walk in to Fort Augustus in 5 mins and watch the boat go through the locks.

We loved this site if we are back in the area we will be stopping here. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Texastom 7 reviews from this member

 I can only apologise for not leaving this review earlier, myself and good lady only spent 3 nights there but could have stayed for ages.

A cracking site with everything you need.

I was puzzled about other campers who obviously don't ask questions, they didn't know that you get very good Wi-Fi and in my case very good TV reception and excellent views.

Lot's of bikers use this site but they are so good, well organised and quiet. Plus you get to see some fantastic bikes from all over the world.

The village is really so good, so much to see and do, good shops, butcher, pubs and restaurants.

Last but not least the staff - very friendly, very helpful, not in your face but there if you need them.

Highly recommended!

Tom & Hilary 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hilary C 31 reviews from this member

 A very nice site with a drive over drain to empty grey waste and hard standing pitches with electric hook up. When we arrived a pitch had been reserved for us but we were told if we didn't like it to go wherever we fancied which we did. The toilets/showers were spotless, the wash-up facilities are outside under a canopy, no other facilities on site but within walking distance of Fort Augustus and pub, fish and chip shop, local shop and post office. Friendly helpful staff, Wi-Fi not good. Did not see any child facilities but plenty of space to run around when we were there but the site wasn't busy. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drummsman 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on the first night of a Highlands tour so we didn't have anything to compare it to. The site is convenient for Fort Augustus which is within easy walking distance. There is a convenience store, pubs and restaurants plus a takeaway in the village. Also a staircase lock which lowers the Caledonian Canal down to the level of Loch Ness. This is quite interesting in its own right. The site itself was well maintained with a clean modern toilet block. It is essentially a large grass field with pitches around the edge. It did have a bit of a soulless feel to it though. There were a couple of unattractive bunkhouses which you passed on the way to the camping field. It certainly served its purpose for a one night stay on the way to more interesting parts of the Highlands. However I wouldn't like to spend a week there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dailaffin49 1 review from this member

 Using the Great Glen Canoe trail in our sea kayaks we were getting good at wild camping. Consternation when just before Fort Augusta we were told the camping area beside the locks was closed.

We were sent on to the commercial site which when towing boats on trailers wasn't easy. Caused traffic problems on the bridge. But no one seemed bothered.

At first the 8 seemed rather steep but to find a shelter to dry kit, cook food and sit and read was just brilliant. Rain lashed, winds gusted and kit dried under the generous eaves.

At night the grass was soft and well drained despite the downpours and a request to leave the car for a couple of days whilst we finished the paddle was regarded as quite usual.

The shower / toilet room was 5 star, clean, warm and most welcome. As much hot as you could want and washing up sinks outside.

Money well spent

I paid the same amount for a field in Pembrokeshire with no showers and a cold toilet. Wild camping is ok but this was class.

And I personally think a per head fee is fair. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dalexg 1 review from this member

 The site is now well sign posted so should be easier to find. The pitches are plenty big enough for big units and awning. Water and power at each pitch. Clean toilets. I find this a very quiet site.

The village has two shops which have most things one might need. Very relaxing sitting by the canal. Good pubs, chip shop and eating places in the center. I have visited this sight several times and would recommend it for a chilled out weekend. EHU seemed a bit steep at 4 quid compared to one fifty or two quid at other sites. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 The site is fairly new (taking over from another site a little further out the road to Fortwilliam).

It's a short stroll into the town of Fort Augustus, which is a pleasant enough place to visit. There's not much in it, but activity around the flight of locks is interesting, and certainly not the sort of thing you'll find in the middle of many towns.

The site has about 40 hard-standing pitches with electric around the outside of a large field, with plenty of space in the middle for more touring units.

It also has a separate field for tents for walkers and cyclists, and as it turnedout canoe-ists!

It also houses a hostel, the the site caters well for a range of tourists.

Very plush facilities, though the tiled floor looks like it could be very slippery when wet. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frecklechops 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to this site. Struggled finding the site to begin with. As previously mentioned, the sign does not say 'Cumberland's campsite' so we ended up having to drive a mile or so to turn round and then ask a local.

Lovely little site. The reception was closed so we found a pitch and got set up (we had our pick of the pitches as there was only 1 other tent there).

Toilet block is very nice, new and clean. There were only 3 showers though, which I can see being a bit of a problem when the campsite is full.

We went into town (a 5 minute walk) and had a mooch around. Watched a boat being taken up the locks. Coincidentally it was a fishing boat from Pittenweem, only a few miles or so up the coast from our home town! Fort Augustus is pretty much just a tourist town though, so be prepared for lots of them!

When we came back the reception was open and we paid our fee. To be honest, at first we thought they had charged us incorrectly. 16 a night for 2 people in a 2/3 man tent seems a bit excessive. Especially considering the time of year. We did end up spending 2 nights at this campsite, costing us 32 in total. I don't think we would return because of this. Usually campsites charge by tent size not per person. By this theory, if there had been 3 of us in the tent it would have cost us 24 for a night! Something doesn't seem right there!

Apart from that it is a lovely site. Perhaps as it is new they will iron out some of the problems and re-evaluate the pricing. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tamaraw 2 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here on the way home and was not impressed!

Firstly, there are no signs for Cumberlands on the main road! It would be helpful if the site was properly signposted and/or some mention was made on the website that it's attached to Stravaiger's Lodge.

The lady who got us checked in at reception was friendly enough - when I asked how close our allocated pitch was to the toilet block (I was travelling with someone with limited mobility) she moved us to (and these were her exact words) 'pitch 28 or 29 - whichever one you think is best'.

We initially chose pitch 29 (a grass pitch with EHU) as it was the closest to the toilets, only to be chased off by the man who rides around in the golf buggy! He didn't want our campervan on the grass (fair enough, but we were told to pick our pitch) and then made a point of watching my every manoeuvre while I moved. Not amused and did not appreciate being made to feel as if I was breaking the rules.

The regular 'patrols' by the guy in the golf buggy are a tad excessive in my opinion.

The pitches are level and a good size but the campsite is essentially just a big field and totally lacks atmosphere.

The toilet block was clean.

We paid 3 for wifi that didn't work - reception was awful and made it completely worthless.

The site is handy for walking into Fort Augustus and there are a few ok-ish restaurants nearby.

It's a nice site but overpriced.  


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Highland Resort?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort Augustus      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4105 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement