Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beeches Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow > Beeches Farm Campsite > Reviews

Beeches Farm Campsite
Miss Graces Lane
Tidenham Chase
Chepstow
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP16 7JR
Tel: 07791 540016
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 10/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thegreen2583 1 review from this member

 What a great camp site! Me, my partner and 3 year old had a great time here. The site is well maintained and spacious and the staff are friendly and helpful. The showers, washrooms and toilets are kept clean. Perfectly adequate. It was pretty much full on our visit but didn't feel over crowded. The fire bowls are a great idea made out of old alloys. We visited perry grove train and tree top adventure. Our 3 yr old absolutely loved it! Spent the whole day there. I would definitely stay at beeches again.

As all the other reviews the sat nav does take you there but just keep going down the lane. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celtic1 13 reviews from this member

 This Campsite is in a beautiful location. With some spectacular views.

You can walk to Tintern and Offa's dyke from the site. So no need to use your car, if walking is what you are after.

It is an extremely popular site. Especially with groups of families. So camping on your own or with just your own family may prove daunting.

There are no dog bins on site. So you would have to put dog waste in the general rubbish bins. Although the campsite itself is very dog friendly.

The staff are friendly and helpful and I believe you do get value for money.

However. And I could not believe this. The showers are. Wait for it. 1 for 4 minutes! What a rip off! The showers are fairly clean and the water is hot. The shower heads are huge. So you get a lovely warm deluge of water. But honestly. 1 for 4 mins! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnneyw 12 reviews from this member

 This is a top site with views over the Wye Valley that stop you in your tracks. Amazing sunsets and looking down at the mist filled valley in the morning is worth the early rise.

The pitches are largely based around clever raised fire pits made from recycled lorry hubs suitable for open fires. The 'Stonehenge' pitch has a number of large flat boulders round the firepit that many people can sit on. They even sell firewood from the office.

The site is bordered on one side by the Offa's Dyke footpath with the Devil's Pulpit viewpoint just about a mile south and Tintern Abbey is down in the valley.

The site is on a farm and there are a couple of enclosures around the site with a number of pigs and piglets running around.

The staff are great, the facilities most satisfactory. Going again? Try stopping me! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amyjoyjoy 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a wonderful break at Beeches Farm Campsite!

The site was quite empty when we arrived on Thursday but it did fill up at the weekend, this isn't a problem though as each pitch has plenty of room and it only adds to the atmosphere!

The facilities are all very nice but the best thing about this site has to be the owner, the views and the beautiful spot (not to mention the cheeky little pig).

We found everything we needed within walking distance. The Brockweir Inn comes highly recommended and is only a three field walk down the hill. You certainly walk off your pint coming back but its definitely doable!

My boyfriend and I walked to the Brockweir Village shop as well which has everything you need foodwise including a cafe selling fabulous cakes and a great play area for kids.

If you like walking and climbing there is masses to do direct from the campsite and when we fancied a night out we easily got a taxi from the campsite into Chepstow for 15.

The one and only improvement I would make to this site is a plug in the bathroom as at the moment there is no way of drying your hair, which in this weather is quite cold! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gappy1973 4 reviews from this member

 What a really nice campsite. Terry and his wife was very friendly and accommodating, even helping me light the fire in the fire pits.

The site itself is great and, although busy, it never felt like it as the site is on different levels or separated by hedges/trees. The views are amazing, especially with all the different weather fronts.

The showers were always hot and 4 mins was plenty. We never had to queue, but we always took showers at less busy times. Plenty of washing up areas and the fridge/freezer was especially useful. The site sells fire wood and fresh eggs which was lovely.

The road could be a little better signposted as it does feel you are either trespassing or going the wrong way. Thankfully, another review on here helped. Basically when you turn into Miss Grace's Lane, ignore the satnav and just keep going, just over a mile I think and it will just appear in front of you.

Overall a lovely campsite and wouldn't hesitate to return 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robohogg 3 reviews from this member

 We've visited quite a few campsites across the UK in the last year or two, and this is one of the best. Terry, the Australian guy running the arrivals office (and everything else from what I can see) is fantastic, very friendly, and helpful, great sense of humour, and is always around somewhere if you need anything.

The site itself is beautiful too, great view looking over part of the Wye River Valley. The river itself, and the town of Tintern are only a short walk away. There are some great firepits scattered across the site, and there enough villages and town within a few miles that you should be able to resupply easily enough.

Also, the toilet block is brilliant, warm, dry, cleaned very regularly, hot and cold water, showers, an outside bootwash, and somewhere to wash your camping cookware and cutlery. All in all, a fantastic experience.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone who enjoys camping in a beautiful location, with no major hassle, and we will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suelay 1 review from this member

 Facilities were very basic but clean. 2 toilets, 2 basins, 2 showers in the ladies and the same in gents. Two indoor washing up sinks & 2 outdoor. Chemical disposal. Limited electric hookup available, 3 per night. Fabulous views over Wye valley.

The main reason people come here is because of the camp fires. The site provide metal 'fire pits' which they ask you not to move but are actually portable. (I guess they like to control the number of black patches they have on their field). Best to bring your own dry firewood though. The fires at dusk gave a lovely atmosphere against the view of the hills. We had a fire pit to ourselves right in front of our tent, but there isnt enough for one for every tent. Some of the pits are very large and set within stone circles which gives a lovely communal feel to the site.

You certainly get plenty of space for your money - there's no packing in rows of tents like you get with more commercial sites.

They had trouble keeping the cut grass off the floor in the toilet block. I suggested they provide a sweeping brush so that us campers could help with this task.

The kids enjoyed feeding the piglets which were 'allowed' to escape and run around the campsite from time to time much to the children's amusement!

The site manager (a lovely Aussie chap) was laid back and very helpful. He had no issue with us packing up at tea-time on our departure day. He even helped us take our tent down in the pouring rain!

Would definitely go again in better weather.

I would imagine there are lovely walks from the campsite but don't expect anything else within walking distance. For trips out, take a drive to Chepstow, or visit the impressive camping shop in Raglan Garden Centre, or a 50 min drive to Gloucester - lovely town centre and good shopping.

Only thing I would say is it was rather pricey given the basic facilities. We paid 20 per night (2 adults @6 and 2 children @4) plus electric hookup so a total of 23 per night. Perhaps it is worth it for being allowed to have a campfire, the amount of space, and the view.

Additional info about the showers - these must have been upgraded since last year, as they now cost 1 for 4 minutes but you do get a really excellent shower.

I agree with the previous suggestions - better signage is needed, or a clear map. SatNav will get you half way along Miss Grace's lane but then you need to just keep on going straight even though it doesn't look right as it's just a gravel road.

A basic play park facility would be fabulous to keep children amused while the grown ups enjoy the view, beer and campfire.

But having said that - too many improvements might spoil it as it might get too popular! At the moment it is one of those well-kept secrets. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gary404 11 reviews from this member

 Have just spent 3 lovely days at this site and its true what they say about the view.

We where greeted by a lady who told us the rules and regs about the site after she saw we had a dog. We were told that our dog had to be on a lead and clean its mess at all times, this ok but when the owners dogs are running around not on a lead, unsupervised no one to clear up its mess I found that a bit hard to swallow.

The site is in parts is very hilly but the limited hook up, s were ok. The washing block was very clean and looked like it had been redecorated for the new season.

The surrounding areas are as stunning as the view on the campsite, Tintern abbey is a must to see.

Would I go back, yes I would 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nitamb 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a blissful 3 days at this site,

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful,

This site is in a beautiful place, the views down the Wye valley are wonderful

The facilities are clean and well maintained

The site is peaceful and lived up to all promises of being dog friendly,

If you do go make sure you have everything you need, the shop is not within walking distance but is not too far in the car. There is a local shop in Brockweir, the nearest village about 3 miles away,

The pub there is well worth a visit, in fact the village is lovely to wander around,

Plenty of nice walks Offers dyke is very close.

The owners told me they might have a shop by next year, but if they don't change anything I would still recommend this site to real campers who enjoy being outside in beautiful surroundings. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vic Flange 4 reviews from this member

 This is a great camp site for my sort of camping, pitching up, getting a fire going, opening a beer and cooking some bangers. It's quite lively but certainly not rowdy. And it's so big, that there is plenty of space. Most people there seemed to be in their 30/40s. We camped right up in the corner and our kids had a great time playing in the woods.

The only thing I wasn't happy about was a very big dog running around off the lead, that's a big no for me with kids about. And the showers were a bit rubbish to use although very clean.  


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Beeches Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beeches Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Beeches Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chepstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement