Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Loctitekid 4 reviews from this member

This is a small, friendly campsite.

It is near the Thames River, with pleasant walks along the tow paths.

Amenities are acceptable; clean, with all facilities.

It is a bit expensive at GBP25. 00 a night, and no credit cards. Cash in advance only.

The sites are well-maintained and level. Sadly there is no demarcation between them.

Good, free Wi-Fi. Secure, but only just adequate signal strength.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trish24 1 review from this member

Firstly I would just like to say, what a lovely, safe and secure family site we found at Amerden. We visited for 7 nights in a tent to use primarily as a base for visiting South of England attractions as we recently purchased Merlin annual passes and wanted to make the most of them.

On arrival we were greeted by very friendly wardens who showed us to our pitch and explained where everything was. A lovely welcome when you have just spent five hours in a boiling hot car, a true breath of fresh air!

Our pitch was a good size with ehu, a wooden picnic bench and wire basket to put a barbeque on. It is a very picturesque site with plenty of fruit trees and the pitches evenly spaced out not crammed together.

There is a small but adequate playground on site, toilet and shower block which is the cleanest I have seen on a campsite. No charge for showers, I think it was 20p for the hairdryer. Plenty of facilities for the size of the site. Covered washing up facilities also a washing machine, dryer and hand washing sink all available. Washer and dryer at a small cost. There is also a vending machine which went down very well with our three kids but also with us as it was stocked with sweets, crisps and drinks etc at normal pocket money prices. A great point of this site is the camp kitchen which holds two freezers, two fridges and a microwave which are very handy for keeping items cool and 're-freezing ice blocks. We could also borrow their ice blocks whilst ours froze which was very helpful.

The site is in a great location, five minutes away from the M4 junction. We visited Legoland, Thorpe Park, Windsor, Chessington World of Adventures and Central London on our trip, all within reasonable distance. Taplow station is about 1. 5 miles away and they do a great deal for travel into the capital. It cost us 27 pounds for two adults plus a pound per child which included return rail travel (off peak) and London travelcard which we used all day on the underground.

As has been mentioned previously, yes the site is bordering the M4 and there are frequent planes overhead, however we found we were used to it so quickly. Out of the seven nights we stayed not one of us had a bad night's sleep. We will definitely definitely return. The wardens were so friendly and helpful and this is truly a very family friendly secure site, where children of different nationalities all play together, one that we felt very safe at, didn't want to leave and would have no hesitation in recommending.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deedeeuk 3 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip with our first ever tent! A real family adventure. We booked a two night break.

Chose this location because we were travelling for business in London and a quick visit to Legoland. Brilliant location for Legoland as only about 15 minutes away.

Site is beautiful, clean and has fabulous facilities. Beautifully clean showers and toilets and plenty of them. Washing machines, vending machines and free use of fridges and freezers as well as loaner icepacks free to use while yours refreeze!

Staff were helpful and friendly. Booking was fairly easy with a phone call and a couple of emails.

There is a large Sainsbury's five minutes from the site so easy to get any supplies you may need. Lovely country lanes for walking and easy to find.

I had read the reviews of 'M4 at bottom of the field' and it sounded like it was a little distance away as described as a 'dull roar' and 'background noise'.

I'm a very sound sleeper and even I had trouble sleeping with the noise. In a caravan I think it would be fine, or if your tent is on the top field near the gate, however we were in the bottom field, close to the M4 and the noise is constant and loud.

Second night I finally climbed in our van to sleep on the backseat as I couldn't take it any more.

As I said, in a caravan it will probably be fine as the noise lessened to a dull roar when I was in the van, but I can't recommend for tents.

Beautiful campsite - great facilities - shame about the location!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rickym34 27 reviews from this member

We decided to use this site as it is easily located not far from Legoland, which we were going to, and we are very pleased we did. The wardens gave us a great welcome, and could not have been more helpful during our stay - very friendly. We also saw the owners who were lovely too. Great site with excellent shower and toilet facilities. We knew from other reviews and looking at Google maps that the site is near to the M4 but you do not hear it that much and you get accustomed to it. There were lots of really friendly campers/caravanners on site, so we had some great chats, plus the children were off to the climbing frame play area often with other children.

It is only a couple of minutes walk down the lane to Bray Lock, where you can sit and watch the boats use the lock, or go for a walk along the river.

There is a Sainsbury's only 5 minutes away in the car, and the M4 exit is quite close too.

Great facilities to make your stay pleasant: covered area and big sinks for Washing up; washing machine; dryer; rotary clothes dryer; communal microwave and fridge and little summer house to eat in - ideal if you are in a little tent; Ice blocks frozen for you on request. Make sure you have cash or cheque to pay for your stay, as they do not have a Card machine.

Really pleased we found this site and we will definitely be back. Thanks for making us feel so welcome.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ballentine crew 2 reviews from this member

Really friendly staff and clean site. Central open space for kids to play and a small play area too.

Right next to river Thames. Can easily cycle to Windsor with our kids, 4 and 7 yrs. Easy access to maidenhead too via towpath- found fab restaurant on the river with sunny garden!

Yes, there is noise from the M4, but its dull and constant, so you get used to it!

Great value for money considering its location.

Would recommend and will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KatMat 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our trip to Wentworth to watch the PGA golf. It was a perfect location for this, with only a 25 minute drive to the course.

Finding the site online it looked a good choice, and it didn't disappoint.

On arrival the owner was friendly and helpful guiding us to our plot, of which we had a choice, a nice touch. Facilities wise very good, clean tidy and well presented. One pro and one con though, in the gents block it could do with a little more shelving for wash bags etc. But a big pro was the extra ice packs available from the freezer if you had none of your own, or yours were re-freezing, very helpful.

Location wise this is perfect for many local places, but we found the lovely walk along the Thames a must, just a short 2 minute stroll from the site and your on the river bank, Bray is stunning, we had a lot of house envy!

All in all a very nice, friendly campsite with a homely vibe. The only real downside for us, especially my partner who is a light sleeper, the M4 is right at the bottom of the site which meant there was continuous noise.

But this wouldn't detract from us returning in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MaggieandPete 2 reviews from this member

Well laid out site, excellent, clean and well maintained shower block. Excellent dish washing and laundry area. Fridges for backpackers

Well situated by the Thames, great for walking or cycling into nearby Maidenhead or Windsor. Lovely walks along the river or round Dorney lakes.

Close to mainline station for travel into London.

Very close to the M4 so constant traffic noise, but it's so constant you can soon ignore it

We will use it again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

We had another visit to Amerden over the Easter holidays and we weren’t disappointed. The site continues to be super with lovely facilities. Our only complaint would be that the central heating wasn’t on in the toilet block even though it was unseasonably cold for April.

As well as the customary visits to Legoland, on this trip we went into London for the day and had a great time. The station at Taplow is just a few minutes drive from the site and parking there is plentiful and fairly cheap (under £5 for the day). The train cost about £28 for 2 adults and 1 child including unlimited tube travel in London (train arrives at Paddington Station). We used our Tesco vouchers for the London Bus tour which was fab.

It was my birthday while we were away and we enjoyed a lovely meal at the local Harvester pub which is about a 5 minute drive from the site (opposite the petrol station).

We also had a lovely walk along the River Thames from the site which is great – there are some super houses along the river towards Dorney Reach and there are often rowing clubs practising.

All in all, a lovely stay once more and we will definitely return to Amerden.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joflo2 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site as a base for legoland, (about 20 mins away).

We had beautiful weather, the owners met us and showed a number of options to pitch and we picked one near the small but perfectly formed children's play area. Out kids were entertained whilst we pitched.

The site was lovely, yes there is noise from M4 as other reviewers have said but again we soon got used to it, and it definitely would not put us off returning.

The facilities, showers and toilets were fabulous, clean and warm, the best we've seen on our 2 previous and 2 subsequent camping trips.

I would recommend the site and would definitely return.

We also were ale to stay until mid afternoon on our last night as there was no one coming onto the pitch which made our last day a relaxing day spent around the site instead of the rush to pack to clear off early.

The wash up area was well stocked with washing up liquid and was clean as we're all the facilities. There was also fridges for use, although we didn't use them on this occasion.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Doverover 23 reviews from this member

Only stayed for one night as a stopover but very impressed. Nice showers/toilets etc. Flat level ground, picnic tables about, lovelly walk beside river, sat and watched lock operation for some time which for some reason we found fascinating but the sun was shining and the boats were varied.

Easy access from the M4 and a supermarket just down the road.

Only saw the owner for a few minutes but he was very helpful.

I think everybody accepted that the noise from the adjacent M4 was quite loud but it was a constant noise and therefore just seemed to fade into the background, it certainly didn't stop us sleeping.

We would certainly use this site again and would recommend it to our Daughters family for a visit to Legoland with the grandchildren.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019