Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Victor58 2 reviews from this member

Spent 7 nights at this site, we were more than a little disappointed when we were told we had arrive too early an hour!

And I could not have the pitch yet because he wanted to cut the grass?

Anyway they eventually changed there minds and let us on.

Very nice looking site, but road was very noisy.

Site calls it self riverside, but actually the river is across the very busy road, and shipping my fishing gear was a bit of a risky job.

NO I would not stay again, clean and well presented, but not a good holiday. Just being honest :-(

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Admat2212 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely beautiful and peaceful site. The owners, Vanessa and Steve, are extremely helpful and polite. Steve offered his hand at looking at our car when it broke down.

The site is well kept and just so quite. The pitch was huge for our tent and I found mixing tourers/campervans/tent together a really nice mix. You can opt for hook up if you wish.

The shower block is clean and tidy with an electric socket for those who wish to use tongs / straighteners / hairdryers. Vanessa even said you could charge your mobile on it if you wished.

The site also has a freezer and fridge for campers to make use of.

The site is just off the small village of Littleport. A short walk will take you into the village.

I would definitely return if in the area again. Thank You

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Safrane 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely site!

Our lives seem to revolve around children so we tend to choose adults only sites and this is now one near the top of our list.

The site is well laid out with easy access from the road, a word of warning though, the road is long and straight so there is a tendency for traffic to be quite fast so beware when entering or leaving with your unit!

We were shown to our pitch which was spacious and fortunately for us along side a hedge which sheltered us from any wind from the direction of the river. They asked if I was ok at backing our caravan and I explained that I had a very bad neck so would prefer not to if possible, she immediately changed us to another pitch that I could drive straight onto. Thanks. Some have said in other reviews that the owner is abrupt. I think she just does not do small talk easily, but once you do get talking to her she is absolutely fine and her husband is as nice as pie and very helpful.

There are also comments about having too many rules and regulations, another camper also mentioned this during our visit. I do not think there are too many. You could argue that there may be too many copies of them dotted about! but these sensible rules make the site what it is. Beautiful and cared for!

True, the toilet block is not the most modern we have been in, but it is clean and very tidy, the showers are not the biggest either but are perfectly adequate. (I do wish however they would get rid of those horrible mats in the showers, they really hurt your feet!)A very minor moan about an otherwise very nice site. We will return.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Julieannturner 1 review from this member

We have just come back from a wonderful weekend camping at the riverside campsite at Littleport near Ely. We had originally been booked into another campsite in the area that was awful and on a bank holiday weekend we didn't think we would find any vacancies but we struck gold with this campsite. We were on a lovely pitch in the corner with field views either side. The campsite is beautifully maintained and the facilities are kept clean all the time. It is a very quiet site as it Is adults only. We would definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ralphybaby 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Riverside! Check in was easy and guided to our pitching area and was given a choice of where to pitch. First impressions of the site: very clean and tidy, excellent flat grass and pitches are not too jammed together. We were shown where the nearest electric hookups are but we did not require, but great if we did. The toilet shower block was good, again clean and tidy the only mess made by other campers! The showers have free hot water, with good spray the only minor problem is the changing part of the cubicle is small but we are camping so all part of the fun! The washing up facilities are great and water and bins are located all around the site.

Locally is a pub 2 mins walk, The Swan on the River. We had a lunch one day here and the food was good, bit pricey on drinks but it is a prime location on the riverbank and a popular. Not many pubs in Littleport as it seems a quiet sort of place, loads of shops closed on Saturday afternoon for some reason. There are takeaways, and local Co-Op in the town. Some other campers had takeaway delivered to the site.

The river is across the road from the site and we walked the stretch into Ely, about 5 miles to the edge of Ely the a mile or more to the centre. This is a lovely walk but do take a drink etc as there is no shops on the route for till you hit Ely. We got the train back to Littleport which takes 5 mins and cost 3. 50 per person.

The Cathedral in Ely is spectacular and a much recommended place to visit.

All in all a lovely stay was had and personally we would say a great place for a visit.

Thanks Riverside!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bea27 13 reviews from this member

Excellent site in quiet location although you can hear trains running nearby but not intrusive at all. Facilities good, although being quite tall I personally found the shower head in the ladies showers (2 for the whole site) rather low and there is no room for adjustment upwards. Also the mats you step out of the shower onto are plastic or hard rubber outdoor mats and the most uncomfortable things I have ever tried to stand on in bare feet! As I always carry a non-slip mat anyway for the shower I used that on top which was much better. Good washing-up facilities with plenty of hot water so made good use of that. Lovely walk to nearby Littleport which has all the amenities you could possibly need and the Swan on the River Public House, which is a stones throw away, serves great food with excellent service. Good location for visiting Ely and Cambridge. All in all would use this site again and would recommend to anyone needing a quiet relaxing Adults Only location.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 81 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend. Our second visit to this site the last being in 2010. Owners so welcoming & friendly. Beautifully kept site. Facilities were clean & lots of free hot water. Thoughtful touches like the fridge freezer, books & games available really appreciated.

Ely is the nearest big town & they had a Farmers Market which we enjoyed. Had a lovely Sunday roast in the pub just up the road in Littleport. Nice view of the river.

The train does whistle but it really didn't bother us & it stops at night. Road noise obvious but again it just stopped being noticed. Neither of theses things would put us off going again. Really like this site.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiec28 15 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site during mid March.

I had read previous mixed reviews with mention of unfriendly owners and cold bathrooms but if visiting a site with mixed reviews we will always try and give benefit of doubt to good reviews.

On arrival the lady owner was abrupt and unwelcoming but efficient. The campsite is well kept, grass being perfect. It had been very wet and the grass sodden in places as there had also been snow a week before and we were told that her husband (much more friendly) would tow our van on with their 4x4 so we would not damage the grass. They positioned it and we were allowed to bring our car on site to unload, but after that car had to be parked on the site car park.

Back to park, it is a quiet park and where we were parked near toilet block at the back of the site we heard little road noise, regarding trains and jets mentioned by previous reviewer we didn't hear or see any jets but train did sound horn occasionally but didn't disturb us.

There are a number of statics around perimeter and a number of seasonal van around none of which caused any problems with noise as mentioned by previous reviewer. To be honest there were only about four vans occupied the whole time we were there.

To the bathrooms, this is the only thing that lets the site down. They are old fashioned with 2 showers, about 6 toilets and 5 sinks. Always clean and tidy water nice and hot but freezing as no heating.

Site is well positioned for Ely and Littleport and about 30min easy drive to Cambridge. Pretty and quiet site let down by unfriendly welcome and very cold toilet block

Management response: The customer arrived at 8.40am, despite being told no arrival before noon. They wanted to leave their car with caravan attached in the car park, blocking the entrance for other customers. They were annoyed by our rules, saying we should make an exception for them. They could not be pleased, and were determined to leave a bad review.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Watsit35 4 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. We stayed here for Valentine and were given the fenced off hardstanding pitch as it had been snowing. So peaceful here and we had the chickens visiting us every morning and wandering around our caravan freely. The owners were really nice too. We purchased a nice used caravan step and a brand new TV aerial from the owner :-)

Surrounding area is lovely and the walk to the local pub just across the road was really nice (although the road was quite busy at times).

Recommended this site 100%

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Richardpowell99 1 review from this member

What a lovely new year spent at this camp site. Couple were very very friendly, lovely shower block. Even took the trouble to sort our awning after it blew over when we were out for the day. Well worth a stay.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2647 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019