Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Crystal Palace > Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crystal Palace Parade
Crystal Palace
London   (Browse area)
SE19 1UF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/01 To 16/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carlight 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for just one night to celebrate my birthday and wedding anniversary.
The wardens were very friendly and asked if we would prefer grass or hard-standing. As it was raining, we opted for the latter.
Walk out of the site on to the main road and turn left. Catch the No.3 bus straight into Oxford Circus.
Very picturesque site with mature plants and spotlessly clean everywhere.
Plenty of different nationalities on site including Americans who were camping whilst we were there.
Highly recommended if visiting London. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snowbird 7 reviews from this member

 Very impressed with this site, it's a lovely little oasis! Well planted trees, shrubs and flowers make this a really attractive place and hard to believe you are camping in a major city. Both the wardens and assistant wardens were very friendly, efficient and cheerfully helpful.
 
Loos & showers superb, really clean, lots of hot water and the block itself is heated. These facilities are locked though and on arrival you'll be given keys. We've never encountered this before but we think it's quite sensible as it's a city location and gives peace of mind that you'll not find anyone in there that shouldn't be there.
 
Even though the site is very close to main roads, apart from the occassional emergency service siren which you could hear clearly, the traffic noise was just a sort of background hum which we could only properly hear when in the awning. The predominant noise was birds of the feathered variety, nesting in the trees all round this site, and the metal variety making for their 'nest' at Heathrow! Because of the location, the code operated barriers to get vehicles both in and out of the site gave further peace of mind.
 
The best thing was the very easy access into central London without using a car. The reception sells day travelcards for bus, tube & rail, good value at £5.70.  Bus stop is 5 mins or so walk and if you are going to see a late finish show, the bus runs all through the night. You can go all the way to Oxford Circus on the bus, but we found it quicker to get off en-route at the nearest tube station (Brixton, 20 mins) then take the tube the rest of the way.
 
Our only moans would be that some of the grass pitches are small so if you want a grass pitch and have a large van and/or large car or awning, let them know when you book. The reception sells fresh milk, biscuits, a few sweets and that's it. The petrol station round the corner does have bread but not much else. The nearest proper shop is a good drive away. As we were staying for several days we found this was a bit of a pain as it meant either making a seperate trip in the car to get fresh foodstuffs or picking this up while out for the day and carrying it around the city attractions if using public transport. There is however a small Sainsburys and Iceland next to the tube station and bus stop at Brixton, so we got into the habit of calling in there before catching the bus back to the site. 
 
Also If you have children, be aware there is no playground or play equipment. The site is not anti-kids though and the wardens were really friendly towards our 4 year old granddaughter. They even organised an egg decorating competion for the children on Easter Sunday!
 
Site fees are higher than we've normally paid for a good class site but when compared to cost of staying in a London hotel, it's good value for money. We will definatly be returning to the site in the future. 


Date of Visit: December 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Used this site for a break in London over the New Year Period.
 
Access from the West was simple and towing through London not as bad as expected, stick to bus routes and you'll be ok!
 
Site is well placed for travel into the city, the No 3 bus takes you all the way in from outside the site gate or if the going is slow as far as the Tube in Brixton.  Day ticket for family of 4 cost us £11.40.
 
Wardens are one of the friendliest and most helpful bunch of people I have ever come across.
 
Site is well laid out, and although the facilities are looking a little tired they are spotless and perfectly adequate.
 
Pitches are not huge, but hey this is London we are talking about!
 
This site does exactly what it says on the tin! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lohr500 8 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights at this site.
Very helpful & friendly wardens who were able to give us lots of advise on travelling into town.
The site itself was very busy with lots of overseas visitors. Pitches are quite close together with little privacy. Facilities were showing their age, but were kept clean & tidy by the staff.
The site is enclosed by a tall barbed wire topped wall & sits adjacent to Crystal Palace park. We couldn't find any playground in the park though & the park looked pretty shabby.
 
The main attraction of this site is as a base for exploring London. That being said it is an hour's bus ride to get to Trafalgar Square, or a half hour by train. The train station is 15-20 mins. Walk away though, so little to be gained by taking the train into town. On our last day we drove to the station although I was worried about leaving the car on the side streets close to the station. Not the best of areas. The novelty of 2 hours on a bus each day to get in & out of town soon wore off with our 3 & 5 year olds.
 
There is a Tesco Express just down from the train station where you can stock up on provisions.
 
Would we go back again? Probably not. I wonder if a better option may be to find a more rural site North of the City & close to a main line station. 


Date of Visit: December 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Msmo 5 reviews from this member

 We had the misfortune to be homeless for 4 weeks over the Xmas period due to builders and we stayed at Crystal palace in out motor home.
The wardens were fantastic, the site is very well run and we were surprised at how very quiet it is. It's the perfect place for visitors to London as the transport links are excellent and it's close to shops.

 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Browneaves 4 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant site for families if you want to spend your time in London. Regular buses go everywhere from just outside the camp site, including a direct link to the centre. The place is spotless and the owners are very friendly. A wide choice of cafes and restaurants in short walking distance. The park at Crystal Palace has had a lot of money invested in it + is a good place for a walk round. It has the famous dinosaurs amonst other attractions

It is (+ cannot be) perfect. On weekends there is not a lot of room, and it can be noisy with a main road just beyond a tall wall. Amazingly at night, it is also noisy from roosting birds incluing owls. It is not a place for sitting outside your tent on a warm summer evening - but with so many attractions nearby, why should you want to?

Thoroughly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Keithmajor 14 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for its convenience to Central London and were not disappointed. The area for tents is quite small and we were able to select a pitch away from the main wall, and therefore the traffic.

Staff friendly and facilities very clean. I recommend this site. 


Reviewer: Citydweller 1 review from this member

 June 2004
We had one night at this site as a tryout for our new tent. The wardens (new this season) could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Some of the grass was sloped and the only flat area left was next to the wall with a busy road on the other side. However we were not disturbed by the noise. All facilities were wonderfully clean etc. No marked pitches.  


Reviewer: Lynne H. 12 reviews from this member

 March 2003, Oct 2003 + May 2004
Our 3rd stay at this very good Caravan Club site. We've always had a friendly welcome and excellent service from the wardens and they are always able to help with sorting out transport passes and routes to the sights.
It's position right at the base of the Crystal Palace Mast is fab if you want good TV reception, we got by with a 4" piece of wire coathanger hanging out of the telly aerial socket the first visit!
Yes it's in the middle of town, and yes it can be a bit noisy at times due to the traffic and if the travelling fairground is in the park, but please don't let that put you off.
As for road access, we've never had a problem coming in on the South Circular A205 on a Thursday (they actually kept the office open to receive us until 20:30 so we could pitch on site not late arrivals!) or Friday evening or the Saturday midday. And we have a 23' caravan on the back of our Volvo 760.
The site itself offers the usual high standard facilities and these are kept spotlessly clean by the Wardens, the grounds are also well maintained.
The regular buses into Picadilly (no.3, every 8/9mins except Sunday - every 12mins!!!) go through Brixton where you can catch the tube if you prefer, and there's even a night service (N3, think it's every 20mins) which takes about 38mins from the centre of Theatreland, so great if you're going up to see a show.
Nothing available to buy onsite, but there's a very good 24hr garage just across the road that has most things and Brixton has everything (Sainsburys, Iceland and M+S just outside the Tube station).
We like this site, prefer it to Abbey Wood actually, but not sure why.
We will be using this site again, but it's always best to phone in advance - especially for BH's etc., as we had to go on to Abbey Wood when we were unable to stay here for the whole BH weekend.
I know we'll be using this site again - hope to meet you there! 


Reviewer: Cynthia

 September 2002
I as well as several members of my family have stayed at the Crystal Palace Campground in the past and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. However, this has COMPLETELY changed with what I assume is new ownership. My recent visit with some friends was one of our most negative memories of our entire trip to the UK. It was our first night in London and we had set up our tent but asked if we could leave our luggage with the owners. No problem, they said, just be back by 8. We enjoyed our day to return to the campground at about 3 minutes to 8 to the owners locking up the office. (We would have been there earlier had we been more familiar with London's busses.) We asked if we could get our bags but they simply REFUSED. We begged. They maintained that we could not get them. Had we gotten them out of bed I might have been able to appreciate their refusal but it was just as they were starting to lock up that we arrived. Now, without my bag I was fine but they not only had our bags but our SLEEPING BAGS as well. And believe me, it was a cold night. We ended up having to beg some blankets from fellow campers. Who, I might add, were also amazed at the cruelty of the owners.  


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crystal Palace      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement