Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nunnington Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > West Wittering > Nunnington Farm Camping Site > Reviews

Nunnington Farm Camping Site
Rockwood Road
West Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8LZ
Tel: 01243 514013
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torituppence 1 review from this member

 First time camping in 16 years and this time with a husband and three children. Was amazed at the site, whilst big and full, the facilities were spotless and any time of day. We also have a dog and she also had fantastic facilities (its just a shame not everyone clears up after their animals!).

As already said the site was full, however by half 10 at night the site was quiet and stayed that way until nearly 8 the following morning. The staff were friendly and helpful and with out question we would go there again.

Locations wise, we were a short walk to west Witterings, worth doing so you don't get stung for parking and there were a couple of good shops with fresh goods only minutes away from the campsite.

A successful first trip away. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kings0409 3 reviews from this member

 We visited Nunnington Farm at the end of July.

PROS

The site is extremely clean, the toilet block had baby baths in which was great as we have a young baby. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The site is around a 15 minute walk from a sandy beach & there is a local shop just near the site entrance.

The site also has a farm on it which was great for my nieces.

CONS

The playpark is at the entrance of the campsite & isn't close enough for you to see the children & so they couldn't go & play on there own.

I would recommend this site for couples & families with very young children. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gibgibo 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a family camping weekend at Nunnington Farm and let me tell you what a pleasure it was.

Facilities are immaculate and the rubbish was collected everyday by three blokes in a tractor. There is a big field where the kids can play with two goals set up for them, the site could do with a climbing frame or something similar to keep the children entertained, overall the site is very safe for children.

West wittering beach is about a 15 minutes’ walk away, the beach is a beautiful sandy beach (food and parking is expensive ), the village is about 5 minutes walk and has a couple of pubs a couple of shops and an excellent butchers(which we used for our BBQ’s).

Overall the site is perfect my only qualm is that even though no group bookings are aloud it seemed that their were a few groups on-site with pitches reserved by them for late arrivals.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jwsiharris 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at Nunnington over the May bank holiday. We were there to try out our new folding camper. Weather not great, very blustery but this campsite still ticks all the boxes. Well organised, cleanliness excellent, great petting zoo, good sports field.

Quite a chilled site and no problem with late night noise. Walking distance of good beach (if it ever gets warm enough) and also shops and a good pub that does ok food and is very child friendly.

We've been here before when it was very hot and even then the bins are emptied often and the facilities are cleaned frequently.

You can't book though so as it was a bank holiday other half went down on the Friday morning to put up the camper and we got there at about 5pm later on Friday. By then it was full and they were turning people away.

Only thing I think they could do is add some sort of children's play equipment. Blanche and Betty are my daughter's favourites - two lovely shetland ponies. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Villimum 1 review from this member

 For our first family camping trip I was pleasantly surprised. I must admit that I was a little apprehensive about camping with two young children but we had a lovely time.

Campsite and facilities were spotless and showers were lovely, hot and powerful. Small raised bath for children which is good for kiddies who haven't got used to showers yet. Would have preferred for it to be lower down as my 18m daughter was a bit scared but that's not a biggy.

Petting zoo was lovely with donkeys (which you may hear occasionally), cute shetland ponies, goats, duck & pigs. My 5yr old son loved it!

We had a pitch overlooking the play field which was nice just to sit and watch the kids playing. The play field consists of just two metal goals, just would of been nice to have a play frame/ swings as well.

We took a walk one day down to the beach, it takes about half an hour which is slightly too long for little legs, so we took note of the parking cost(£2. 50) and took the car down there the next day only to find that the cost had gone up to £3. 50 and we didn't have enough change with us so had to change a £20 note before we went in (you need the coins to put in the barrier). Just be mindful that if you want to take the car that the price changes depending on the time and the season/weather so take plenty of change (can be up to £7 I think).

Overall big thumbs up for Nunnington Farm! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hells9369 1 review from this member

 We have just returned home from a fantastic 5 night stay at Nunnington Farm. We arrived on the first day the park opened for the season. The toilets were very clean, the showers were not only hot but also very clean as was the whole campsite. With dustbins emptied on a regular basis. You wouldn't of known that it was the first day of their season.

We took our dog with us, there was lots of dogs on the site and 99.9% were well behaved. There was the odd one not on a lead or barking but it wasn't all the time.

Because the weather was so hot we walked to the West Wittering beach a couple of days it saved time queing and £5.50 for parking. Food at the beach is expensive. By Good Friday the campsite was full to capacity but it didn't effect the cleanliness of the site at all and by 10pm the site was quiet. Recommend this site to anyone wanting a relaxing time would even recommend it to William and Kate for a restful break. But get there early on a bank holiday to avoid disappointment. Just wish you could book 24 hours in advance to know you had a pitch when you arrive. A few more facilities on site for children would be nice. Definitely going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Savvycamper 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite on the august bank holiday weekend. It is smaller than some with around 100 pitches. I had called in advance to find out availability but was told they don't take bookings so you have to take your chances.

They recommended we turn up between 12 and 3 pm as there may be pitches free during that time. We arrived at 2 pm on the friday afternoon. They accommodated us straight away and we got a lovely pitch in the tent field with electric hook up for £24 per night. Unfortunately friends of ours who were coming the next day couldn't get in but that could be down to the fact that it was bank holiday weekend.

The atmosphere at this site is great. It is definitely a family site and my children were able to cycle around safely and quickly made friends with other children. The facilities were great. Toilet blocks very close by and cold water tap even nearer.

There are several toilet blocks which are spotlessly clean. The showers are piping hot. In busy times ie first thing they can get busy but I didn't have to wait long. There is also a childs bath if your children, like mine don't like a shower.

There are washing up and laundry facilities around the side which again were spotless. You can borrow ice blocks for your cool box first thing in the morning and after 4 pm for 30p + a returnable deposit of £2 per block.

The site was quiet by around 10.30 however some people do get up and make noise incredibly early (around 6 am) but I wasn't disturbed as I had my ear plugs in.

The petting farm was lovely. My children visited it several times and there was even soap and a sink to wash your hands when you left. There is a nice playing field behind the tent field where the children were playing games. There is also a small play park for children at the road entrance to Nunnington Farm.

The shops at West Wittering are about a 3 minute walk. There is a lovely butchers and a convenience store selling freshly baked bread and pastries. A short drive to East Wittering down the road will provide you with banks, tesco express and the usual amenities.

We used the beach on two days. The first time we walked. It is quite a long walk and with two small children and it took a while (much complaining from my youngest). The car park at the beach is £7 a day which is quite pricey but on the second day we felt it was worth it for convenience.

A word of advice, leave before the crowds as there is only one road from West Wittering to the beach and it gets busy, you find yourself in a traffic jam queuing to get back to the main road. The beach is lovely and there are nice clean loos and a cafe for ice creams etc. The beach does get packed though, everyone seems to pile in there when the weather is good.

As far as the campsite is concerned we would definitely go back. It has a lovely vibe and it is well maintained. The loos are cleaned obviously very regularly and we saw the bins behind the pitches being emptied every day. My only issue which is not the campsite's fault was that there were loads and I mean loads of wasps. Thankfully none of my brood were stung but the family in the next tent were all individually stung. We set up a jar with honey and water and put holes in the top as a deterrent/trap but we did have to eat breakfast in our tent each morning with it zipped up. At night when it cools off they disappear.

All in all a very lovely visit to a great campsite! We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Boobaby 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Nunnington Farm. We arrived at midday expecting to have to wait for a vacant pitch with EHU but were pleasantly surprised to be checked in immediately with a choice of 4 different pitches. All pitches are very clearly marked out and spacious.

The site owners insist on a car-tent-car-tent layout which works brilliantly and ensures a little extra privacy. The site is spotlessly clean with plenty of waste disposal areas. Toilets and showers are plentiful and again are spotlessly clean. The tent area is all grass and pitches nice and flat. For children there is a large playing field and a 'pet park'.

West Witterings Beach, a large sandy beach, is just 5 minutes drive or 20 minutes walk from the campsite (if you want to avoid the £5/6 daily parking charge). There are also some lovely pubs in the area. Its worth taking bicycles if you can squeeze them in as there are some great cycle paths too!

For provisions my recommendation would be stocking up at the large Tesco in Chichester, however just 5 minutes from the campsite you will find a couple of very well stocked convenience/beach stores (one has an in-store bakery) and a butchers.

All in all we had a fabulous time and are hoping to return next month. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cleanerlady1 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean shower block and toilets. Campsite close to the beautiful West Wittering beach.

Good Field for Kids to kick a ball round and a play area in the park next door.

Handy for the Salterns way cycle route from Wittering to Chichester lovely off road flat cycle ride.

Good shops Tesco and Coop tessiers butchers at the end of the road sells lovely meat for a barbeque and will keep it for you to pick up at the end of the day. Lots of Pubs close by serving food.

East Wittering is also close by and has even more Pubs.

Very quite during the day and at night so we all slept well.

Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joyjoy100 2 reviews from this member

 Having phoned numerous sites to try and book a pitch, we finally decided to try Nunnington Farm as we did not have to book. Decided to phone the day before to ask it we would need two pitches (we are 7.1 meters long). The owner said as we were only just over, one pitch would be fine. He recommended that we come between 12 and 3 to ensure that we got a pitch. Turned up at 1 o clock, and were allocated our pitch with electric hook-up straight away. (Just a shame it was on the end of a line of caravans, right next to the intersection of the road). Pitch was not the biggest, but we are very big. Just about managed to get the tent within pitch boundaries, had to park car touching the guy ropes of the tent.

The toilet/shower and washing up facilities were great, never any waiting. Toilets always clean and tidy, showers large and with unlimited hot water. Washing up room, unlimited hot water.

Kids loved the animals on the farm, just across the lane, came back wanting to have chickens at home ! Playing field was adequate, although very busy. We used the playing field and kids park just down the lane.

There is no shop on site, but two shops are located just 2 or 3 minutes walk down the lane, selling whatever you need, at 'normal' prices.

Went to West Wittering Beach for the day, £5 parking charge (all day), but kids really enjoyed it, then onto East Wittering, where there is more of a 'town centre' (tesco express, co-op, fishmonger), and lots of other small shops.

Having had a busy day, we expected the site to be a bit noisy until late, well we were surprised to find the site was quiet by 10.30pm and still quiet until 8.00 am.

All in all, not a bad site, pitch was rather small for us, but not having to book, more than made up for that. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nunnington Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nunnington Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Nunnington Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near West Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement