Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandwich Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
                8/10 from 126 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinsx2 9 reviews from this member

Second visit to this campsite and again we were of the opinion that if you don't like it here, you will never like camping! Plus points include:

Large, marked pitches, mostly separated by shrubs. There are some pitches where you can book 2 side by side to effectively create 1 super pitch. Though they seem not to attract the large loud groups you might expect with this facility.

Clean shower rooms, with enough units

Fire pits (raised BBQs) allowed

Children's activity at one end rather than in the middle, so you could avoid it by pitching at the other end! They even kindly warned us a family of 'lots of kids' were booked for later & on which pitch, so we could choose accordingly (cue lots of couples at the other end of the field!)

Sandwich itself - lovely seafood restaurant by the Quayside.

The only bad thing was that they allowed a new entry in on Sunday morning at 8. 15am, who promptly woke everyone up whilst setting up his caravan.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Choplee 2 reviews from this member

This was our second time at this site, as it's close to home and with a group of 7 pitches we can get all together. No real issues with the overall site.

The shower block is clean, but feel with the water pressure being so bad in the showers that you have to spend 3 times longer in the shower. There is only about 5 showers in the mens, so tailbacks are going to be regular coupled with the bad water pressure.

This site is not a cheap site, but for a night or 2 has not put us off.

They have been updating areas of the site, so be warned of building work. The play area seems to work well for the kids and the surrounding pub's, takeaways, shops and attractions are very close with sandwich being a friendly place to visit.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richie63 2 reviews from this member

Have been using this site for a few years now, and we loved it as our weekend getaway site.

We love the town and the surrounding areas. Unfortunately we have noticed more and more that the site is becoming overrun with big group bookings, which invariably leads to lots of noise which too often runs into late at night, and the 11 o clock 'quiet' isn't enforced.

Apart from that, the pitches are excellent and I believe most of them are equiped with electric hook up and some have there own water to.

The modern shower and toilets are always kept clean and tidy.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: John FR87 1 review from this member

The booking was easy, all done by email. What a pleasure it was, very well laid out, clean and quite.

We hired one of their static mobile homes which was also very clean, it had linen, tea towels, loo rolls and cleaning stuff, and the layout inside was by far the best we have ever seen, having spent many holidays in Haven and Key Camp caravans where you have to walk side ways around the bed, this had a proper amount of space and included an adjoining shower room with toilet, plus a second bed room, we even had a television, it was like a breath of fresh air.

Sandwich itself is a lovely town with many good places to eat and drink and a good selection of take aways.

Would I recommend this site, Yes, will I be going to stay there again,Yes, well done Jill for making our stay so enjoyable, and good luck for the season ahead.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beaney 1 review from this member

First time visiting this site - recommended by friends.

Disappointed by the problems booking in - not all staff gave friendly welcome and it took an hour to sort out their mix up before eventually being directed to the correct pitch (apparently they had recently changed their pitch numbers but the person covering reception (as the person who books in new arrivals was late in) didn't know, gave us a map of the site that was out of date and asked us to look for our pitch, only for us to find that pitch number didn't exist!), although someone did eventually apologize via our friends, but not to us in person.

Once eventually pitched had lovely weekend, apart from trains and road noise (that didn't worry us) site was peaceful and relaxing. Toilet/shower block clean and easily accessible but water pressure very low in showers.

Pitches spacious for our unit and segregated from adjoining pitches by hedges/fencing,and had its own electric, fresh water and waste water points.

Sandwich town centre short walk away with lovely pubs (George and Dragon well recommended for its good food and hospitality). Only downside to town is it is not wheelchair friendly and would not have got around without the help of my husband and our friend helping lift the wheelchair up and down curbs, over shop thresholds etc. But locals seemed friendly and helpful and the local supermarket was more than adequate for our needs.

All in all enjoyed the visit and would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZoeMcd 5 reviews from this member

We camped at this site over the August bank holiday and the site was very very busy owing to the bank holiday and festival in Sandwich.

We loved this site and will go back. This is a family site and had lots of children. For a couple with no kids looking for a quiet weekend, I would not recommend. Pitches are allocated, but they are really nice pitches, a good size and you are allocated your own space which I liked.

The shower and toilet block was very clean at all times, which given the amount of people at the site was a miracle. The first morning all the hot water was gone in the ladies block by 9am but this was rectified and did not happen for the rest of the weekend.

The play area is fabulous and kids are able to cycle and skate around the site. Sandwich itself is walking distance as is the local supermarket which is a reasonable size.

The only down side was the noise levels. Also the site has some good rules in place, but no one enforces these rules and families were noisy till quite late. This wasn't a problem to us as our kids still go to sleep but I imagine this could be a problem to some.

Overall this is a fabulous family site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stoke_family 2 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed here. On arrival staff give good directions to pitch location and always seemed friendly.

The pitches are easily found with a numbered post next to them that also provides power hook up and water. Although not massive pitches they give plenty of space for our 6 person tent and the car.

There is some building work going on and we were pitched pretty much right next to it, although the work never started before 9am and was never excessively loud, with the occasional digger moving up and down.

As for noise there is a railway line nearby, and at night you can here the trains, although they only seldom pass and didn't hear any late into the night.

The shower block is very good. Never had to que, plenty of hot water and the majority of the time kept clean, the only time we saw any mess was following a very heavy down pour with a bit of grass in a few of the shower cubicles.

As previously stated, we had one night where the rain was very heavy for over 4 hours, the site coped really well, no flooding and the pitch drained well with no surface water.

There is a kids playground although our teenage lads a bit old for it so cant comment.

The campsite is located in a very nice village, about half way between dover and margate. We are English Heritage members and definitely get our money worth whislt staying at the site as there are lots of castles nearby, visit Dover castle if your into your history (although bit expensive if your not a EH member).

This is a site we have used before and would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kerrymac 3 reviews from this member

Very lovely site. We stayed with 2 children to use as a base for touring south of England. Village of Sandwich if very quaint although the approach through the village is a bit hairy if towing a large van. Onsite facilities were very good, clean and well serviced. Play area sufficient though my kids a little too old for it. Staff friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J k camping 2 reviews from this member

First time using this site and probably the last. Nobody took us to our pitch when we arrived. Drove around looking for the correct pitch number and asking other campers for directions. We told our children to go the correct way around the camp on their bikes as it is 'One Way' - only to find a buggy being driven by a member of staff not only over the 10mph limit but also the wrong way on more than one occasion!

This campsite is very noisy with lots of building work being carried out which should be done out of season. It is very close to the railway and you can also hear lots of traffic at night. Apart from the purpose built play area there is no room for family activities.There is a 'recreation area' marked out on the site map, however this was in use for tent pitches and a double decker bus.

Views from our caravan were non existent and so we went out every day to make the most of our stay.The toilets/ shower block are very clean every time we used them. It would be nice to have a shower that had continuous water rather than a button that needed pushing every 25 seconds.More water pressure and a temperature control needed.

We would definitely go to Sandwich town again. It is beautiful with some quaint streets and very friendly locals. Went to Fowlmeade park with the children-'Fantastic'.Lots of places to visit around Sandwich.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bulldogx2 2 reviews from this member

This site came recommended and the first time we had used it.

The toilet blocks are always well cleaned and checked including the showers (although low pressure and you have to keep pressing the button to make the water come out). It is within walking distance of Sandwich which is a lovely little town and we used it most days to buy milk and bread and ice creams as these basic essentials are not sold on site.

There is a very good playing area for under 12's but no field or large area for playing football, cricket, frisbee etc, this was definitely a downside for our family.

The 'one way' system only seems to apply to customers as more than once the staff flaunted these rules which are made very clear to customers on arrival. The 10mph limit should really be lowered to 5mph and ideally right of way given to pedestrians not cars as there are always people walking about to and fro and children riding bikes (as children would).

This site would suit you if you were only staying briefly visiting nearby towns etc, as we felt it was quite cramped and not a place that you would set up camp and stay for the whole week without having to leave.

Unfortunately, at our time of visit, there was building works being undertaken (not sure that at the height of season why it had to be done), from 8am if not before, you can hear the jcbs, etc start work.

Also, we felt a bit overlooked by the nearby houses, in our camping experience we have only had fields surrounding us, so this is something to be mindful of and the fact that a railway line runs along side too!

Lots of places to visit which we felt we had to, to escape the site FowleMead Park near Sholden, (about 5 minutes away) you pay 1.00 to park all day and there is a fantastic play area for all kids ages, a bmx track area, lots of long and short walks and bike trails, you could spend the day there, so take a pack up.

Deal nearby and Broadstairs which is definitely worth a visit.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3204 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019