Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandwich Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sandwich > Sandwich Leisure Park Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 187
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matt94 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed and Sandwich on August bank holiday for 3 nights in our touring caravan

This site is laid out well and flat, the toilet and shower block is very modern,

We paid 90 for the weekend, which is the usual price for a bank holiday weekend but this site has no shop, club or pool, so in this case the price was high.

There was a marquee and on Saturday night with a small bar supplied by a local pub there was also a singer who was very good, but it was freezing in the marquee due to our typical August bank holiday weather, wet, windy and cold.

We found the receptionist very rude and blunt, which was not a nice welcome, but reading other peoples comments she may having been having a bad day.

But overall a clean site but basic and expensive for what you get. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindaha 5 reviews from this member

 Initial impressions were good, big pitches, clean site. Reception was 'okay' in a cant be bothered but we will get around to seeing you sometime soon. The toilets seemed to be the youth club in the evenings with courting teenagers screeching at each other as you passed by them to get in. Didn't mind the train noise, or even the old man who kept shuffling around with his trousers around his ankles ! ?, but the absolutely worst thing ever was a HUGE party of a parent/ teacher group of families who were all still going strong at 3am in the morning, with small children running around the tents with torches and noisy guns, whilst their parents carried on drinking. What a night that was. No policing by any sort of security made for a very long night which ended up with some of them fighting amongst themselves. On a plus point we did have a bit of a giggle at the 'decorated caravans' with all of the fairy lights and ornaments outside. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: E300462 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 night stay at this site. Site is easy to find and arrival and booking in process was easy and welcome.

Site is flat, well laid out with plenty of space between pitches. The are quite a few high hedge pitches which gives you good protection from any bad weather situations.

Toilets are new, clean and modern and campsite is clean and tidy. The site offers a fridge and freezer area and also a microwave for fast food heating etc.

The site is situated next to a railway line which has trains running regularly through the day and evenings. We heard a couple over night pass. There are about 15 pitches hard against the railway line fencing so avoid these if you can.

Site is well placed for the town of Sandwich there is a good co op superstore within 5 min walk from site. Town has good fast food outlets and has a wide range of pubs all within 5/10mins walk from campsite. We went to one recommended by owners for evening meal called the Kings Arms. Its is on the expensive side but the food was excellent.

Overall its a site we will return too in the future

Overall its a site we will go back to. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atkinsx2 9 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this campsite and again we were of the opinion that if you don't like it here, you will never like camping! Plus points include:

Large, marked pitches, mostly separated by shrubs. There are some pitches where you can book 2 side by side to effectively create 1 super pitch. Though they seem not to attract the large loud groups you might expect with this facility.

Clean shower rooms, with enough units

Fire pits (raised BBQs) allowed

Children's activity at one end rather than in the middle, so you could avoid it by pitching at the other end! They even kindly warned us a family of 'lots of kids' were booked for later & on which pitch, so we could choose accordingly (cue lots of couples at the other end of the field!)

Sandwich itself - lovely seafood restaurant by the Quayside.

The only bad thing was that they allowed a new entry in on Sunday morning at 8. 15am, who promptly woke everyone up whilst setting up his caravan. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Choplee 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second time at this site, as it's close to home and with a group of 7 pitches we can get all together. No real issues with the overall site.

The shower block is clean, but feel with the water pressure being so bad in the showers that you have to spend 3 times longer in the shower. There is only about 5 showers in the mens, so tailbacks are going to be regular coupled with the bad water pressure.

This site is not a cheap site, but for a night or 2 has not put us off.

They have been updating areas of the site, so be warned of building work. The play area seems to work well for the kids and the surrounding pub's, takeaways, shops and attractions are very close with sandwich being a friendly place to visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richie63 2 reviews from this member

 Have been using this site for a few years now, and we loved it as our weekend getaway site.

We love the town and the surrounding areas. Unfortunately we have noticed more and more that the site is becoming overrun with big group bookings, which invariably leads to lots of noise which too often runs into late at night, and the 11 o clock 'quiet' isn't enforced.

Apart from that, the pitches are excellent and I believe most of them are equiped with electric hook up and some have there own water to.

The modern shower and toilets are always kept clean and tidy. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: John FR87 1 review from this member

 The booking was easy, all done by email. What a pleasure it was, very well laid out, clean and quite.

We hired one of their static mobile homes which was also very clean, it had linen, tea towels, loo rolls and cleaning stuff, and the layout inside was by far the best we have ever seen, having spent many holidays in Haven and Key Camp caravans where you have to walk side ways around the bed, this had a proper amount of space and included an adjoining shower room with toilet, plus a second bed room, we even had a television, it was like a breath of fresh air.

Sandwich itself is a lovely town with many good places to eat and drink and a good selection of take aways.

Would I recommend this site, Yes, will I be going to stay there again,Yes, well done Jill for making our stay so enjoyable, and good luck for the season ahead. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beaney 1 review from this member

 First time visiting this site - recommended by friends.

Disappointed by the problems booking in - not all staff gave friendly welcome and it took an hour to sort out their mix up before eventually being directed to the correct pitch (apparently they had recently changed their pitch numbers but the person covering reception (as the person who books in new arrivals was late in) didn't know, gave us a map of the site that was out of date and asked us to look for our pitch, only for us to find that pitch number didn't exist!), although someone did eventually apologize via our friends, but not to us in person.

Once eventually pitched had lovely weekend, apart from trains and road noise (that didn't worry us) site was peaceful and relaxing. Toilet/shower block clean and easily accessible but water pressure very low in showers.

Pitches spacious for our unit and segregated from adjoining pitches by hedges/fencing,and had its own electric, fresh water and waste water points.

Sandwich town centre short walk away with lovely pubs (George and Dragon well recommended for its good food and hospitality). Only downside to town is it is not wheelchair friendly and would not have got around without the help of my husband and our friend helping lift the wheelchair up and down curbs, over shop thresholds etc. But locals seemed friendly and helpful and the local supermarket was more than adequate for our needs.

All in all enjoyed the visit and would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ZoeMcd 5 reviews from this member

 We camped at this site over the August bank holiday and the site was very very busy owing to the bank holiday and festival in Sandwich.

We loved this site and will go back. This is a family site and had lots of children. For a couple with no kids looking for a quiet weekend, I would not recommend. Pitches are allocated, but they are really nice pitches, a good size and you are allocated your own space which I liked.

The shower and toilet block was very clean at all times, which given the amount of people at the site was a miracle. The first morning all the hot water was gone in the ladies block by 9am but this was rectified and did not happen for the rest of the weekend.

The play area is fabulous and kids are able to cycle and skate around the site. Sandwich itself is walking distance as is the local supermarket which is a reasonable size.

The only down side was the noise levels. Also the site has some good rules in place, but no one enforces these rules and families were noisy till quite late. This wasn't a problem to us as our kids still go to sleep but I imagine this could be a problem to some.

Overall this is a fabulous family site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stoke_family 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed here. On arrival staff give good directions to pitch location and always seemed friendly.

The pitches are easily found with a numbered post next to them that also provides power hook up and water. Although not massive pitches they give plenty of space for our 6 person tent and the car.

There is some building work going on and we were pitched pretty much right next to it, although the work never started before 9am and was never excessively loud, with the occasional digger moving up and down.

As for noise there is a railway line nearby, and at night you can here the trains, although they only seldom pass and didn't hear any late into the night.

The shower block is very good. Never had to que, plenty of hot water and the majority of the time kept clean, the only time we saw any mess was following a very heavy down pour with a bit of grass in a few of the shower cubicles.

As previously stated, we had one night where the rain was very heavy for over 4 hours, the site coped really well, no flooding and the pitch drained well with no surface water.

There is a kids playground although our teenage lads a bit old for it so cant comment.

The campsite is located in a very nice village, about half way between dover and margate. We are English Heritage members and definitely get our money worth whislt staying at the site as there are lots of castles nearby, visit Dover castle if your into your history (although bit expensive if your not a EH member).

This is a site we have used before and would definitely use again. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandwich Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandwich Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sandwich Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement