Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Reraig Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Kyle Of Lochalsh > Reraig Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Reraig Caravan And Camping Site
Balmacara
Kyle Of Lochalsh
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV40 8DH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 41 to 48                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tomtait 10 reviews from this member

 A very well run site. All facilities are clean and tidy and each pitch is well set out to ensure privacy.

The owner is very helpful and check-in is a very informal process.

There is a shop and Hotel within 5 minutes walk which makes the site handy for most essentials! Showers take 10p pieces and you will need a minimum of two per shower.

The views are good and the noise from the main road is not too bad. My only negative is the owner's refusal to offer a telephone booking facility so arriving early is recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 199 reviews from this member

 Do arrive in good time to get a pitch - the site was full by early evening when we were there. Low-key check-in, friendly. A bit noisy beside the main road, but it's a beautiful location. National Trust for Scotland woodland gardens at Lochalsh are within walking / cycling distance along the shore. No designated dog walk - go off site up the lane; adequate for our one night, but might not be enough for longer stays. Site popular with canoe / kayak groups. As for midges, we swear by what the Forestry workers use: Avon Skin So Soft moisturiser spray; one application lasts about an hour, use a misting technique. Midges are a small price to pay for such scenery. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve+Ali 20 reviews from this member

 Great site, well kept, friendly staff, great shower and washing facilities, what more can I say?

The only downside was the dryer in the laundry, it just ate money! One wash load took 7 times to dry at 70p a go. I think they really need to replace that dryer. Man people I spoke to, said the same thing.

Other than that, a wonderful site and I will return, but do my washing somewhere else. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jhsw 3 reviews from this member

 Agree with the other reviews. My wife and I stayed here June/July on tour of the highlands, we enjoyed our stay, it was very quiet and peaceful, very much needed when on tour.
The site was spotless and well kept, grass well groomed through out the site, grass a bit sodden when we stayed(Not surprising as it was the worst month that year for rain).
Toilet block very clean, water very hot, shop 2 minutes away from site, owner very helpful and friendly.
Very refreshing to find a site that you can't pre-book, good news for tourers. Intended staying again on way home, tour cut short by rain(could'nt see where driving).

Touring again this year hope to stay here again if we can get in, be disapointed if can't but not surprised as it is a great little site.

Very highly recomended. 


Reviewer: Cjhowell 8 reviews from this member

 August 2005
I agree with the other posts. We liked this site very much. It is an immaculately kept small site with some spaces reserved for motorhomes, a range of sites for caravans with electric hook up and some dedicated areas for tents. Toilet block and all facilities very clean and tidy. Showers cost 10p for 2 mins. Spindrier but no other laundry facility. No play area. Plenty of hot water for dishwashing. You cannot book in advance but there was plenty of space even in the week before the English August bank holiday. Very reasonable tariff. Convenient shop just a couple of minutes walk from the site. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Don M 9 reviews from this member

 June 2003
Although I haven't visited Reraig in 2004 I have used the site as a stop over on the way to the Outer Hebrides via Uig,Skye for four years. Always immaculately clean toilet/ shower block. Adjacent to the site are a post office/shop/off licence and the Balmacara Hotel which isn't particularly spectacular but as other reviewers have already mentioned, it is very friendly and grateful for the support of the touring fraternity.

A walk of about half a mile up the hill next to the site leads to some houses and a signposted walk (left) over the top to Balmacara Square, (about a mile over the top of heather and gorse). Don't forget to add your stone to the cairn on your way.Great views over the loch away to the Skye bridge, so take your camera.You can return to Reraig about a mile via the road past the war memorial (on the left) keeping the loch on your right.

A short trip to the Kyle and Skye bridge and also the picturesque village of Plockton. (Best seen when the tide is in)

Ceud mile failte 


Reviewer: Ajax 4 reviews from this member

 July 2003
I would agree with all the above, a comfortably sized, clean, excellent site. Suggest a flamethrower rather than yeast tablets though - those midges are truely vicious!! 


Reviewer: Keir Gordon

 Excellent site and facilities, owner very friendly, prices very reasonable and a superb location.

Good Celtic band in the pub when we were there.

Dale Addison adds

Good facilities at best possible price. Best campsite in the area. No band at pub when we were there but there was a dog that likes a good game of pool! I suggest you take yeast tablets to help fend off the dreaded midges though! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 48     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Reraig Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Reraig Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Reraig Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kyle Of Lochalsh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement