Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Dennydenny 2 reviews from this member

Visited beginning of September and stayed in their bunkhouse- they are actually bunk rooms, with use of small communal kitchen. (you have cookers-50p. Small lockers for non-perishables. Fridge. Sink. Bit dark in there- not good to sit and eat in, but good otherwise)

Bunkrooms are warm, with heating coming on each morning and evening. Infact it got a bit too warm in the rooms- not something you can usually say when camping as we usually do!

Each room has its own toilet, and you use the showers on the campsite- which are fabulous.

Rooms are clean, beds good- easy peasy.

Location is amazing! soup bowl of mountains all around-near to brotherswater lake- just brilliant.

Brothers water inn is on site and is great- food and drink selection is good, and staff are great. Dogs welcome which makes big difference (to us dog owners!)

Campfield does flood- I mean instantly that it rains. Camp around the edge, or in the top field- don't be put off, its so lovely. Proper lakeland in a proper campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Imetz 1 review from this member

Just returned after a rather wet bank holiday weekend, what a fantastic site!

Staff were very friendly and helpful explaining the best places to camp. We noticed a couple who didn't listen and ended up with a puddle in their tent whilst we were nice and dry!

The toilets and showers were spotless and heated, definitely essential with the wonderful British summer. There were also a couple of tumble driers, very handy for drying towels and our walking gear after a day on the fells.

The pubs were great, we had proper real ales and the quiz machine in the Barn End Bar kept the kids amused. The food was also nice and hearty, I would recommend the steak and ale pie.

It was fantastic to walk straight from the site so no need to pay for expensive car parks. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seetheworld 4 reviews from this member

Positives:

Brilliant location for Lake District walking and sightseeing,

Great pub and food on site if you need it.

Staff quite helpful on the whole.

Negatives:

Stayed here with a tent but it was difficult to find a pitch due to the waterlogged flooding of the grassed areas. Had to bail out a couple of times during the stay.

Every night we had to remove all food from the tents and load it into the car following the campsites staff strong advisory warnings regarding their badger problem. Apparently, they do break in and wreck your tent if they can smell your food.

Definitely one of the more expensive sites in the area, with averagely good facilities.

Probably wouldn't return with a tent due to the badger issue.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gc51591 3 reviews from this member

My second time I have visited over a bank holiday weekend and it was really enjoyable.

The ground can be quite stone filled in places but its easy enough to find a decent pitch the majority of the camp-site is flat. Location is fantastic though being at the bottom of valley the wind channels through the site, ensure you are pegged down sufficiently.

Facilities are good, not great a little tired in places, the water runs cold at busy times, mainly due to the number of showers, toilets and sinks, this could be improved but shower at different times, the showers and toilets are closed 12-2 every day for cleaning which can be inconvenient, I suspect its done to let the water hot water recharge before the evening usage. The shop stocks all the usual and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The inn at the entrance is a good place to eat, food is not cheap but its good quality and a good selection of real ale too.

Have already booked to return, cant wait.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Andywham 2 reviews from this member

One night stay for two people in a small VW campervan. Didn't require hook up, or hard standing and had no awning or other 'peripherals'. 25.60, which I regard as expensive!

Facilities decidedly mediocre. Toilet block rather 'dog-eared', closed from 12 - 2pm for cleaning but still not clean. Water lukewarm, lights in wash-up room faulty.

Site itself prone to flooding and we were warned off certain areas as it was raining when we arrived.

Overall a rather poor, seriously overpriced site, which doesn't even begin to compare with Scotgate at Braithwaite (nr Keswick), which has hugely better facilities and is 25% cheaper.

Will I be back? Highly unlikely.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sktaylor 1 review from this member

First time at Sykeside, and Lakes! stunning location right in the heart of the mountains!

Shower facilities basic, but ok. Water was always hot enough, with power points for hair dryers etc. The on site Inn was lovely and warm, and all the food I had there was excellent, delicious Lamb Henry!

Laundry facilities, freezer for ice packs and basic shop, all available on site

Local wildlife can be quite vocal from early on, and it was lambing season when I went!

Overall, a very good site in a great location, for exploring the lakes!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OneHorsePower 5 reviews from this member

This was my first attempt at camping since I was a child so I thought very long and hard over which campsite to stay at and after reading the reviews I decided on Sykeside Camping Park - and what a fantastic decision that was!

I stayed for 3 nights (with the dog) over the May bank holiday weekend and I was not sure about being in the Lake District over the bank holiday but the campsite was incredibly quiet which was surprising but suited me!

The campsite is in a fantastic location at the bottom of the Kirkstone Pass set between wonderful mountain scenery. I did numerous walks direct from the camp site and 5 minutes up the road is Patterdale/Glenridding where there are also numerous walks to do from there. Walkers heaven which was right up my street!

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. There was a small shop on site which sold your basics such as milk, cheese and tinned items and also small amount of camping essentials. They also put the weather up for the following day - very handy for walkers. There were two pubs on site - although I cannot comment on the food as I did not use them but one was open for breakfast which I though was a great idea. You do not get any form of mobile signal here and I had to resort to the old fashioned pay phone - but this did not bother me and is just what happens when you are in the lake district!

The toilet/shower block was heated and clean and could get my hair dryer plugged in! Showers were lovely and hot and no extra charge. There is ample space under cover to do your dishes and machines for laundry. They also gad a freezer for ice packs which I though was a great idea. There was plenty of flat space to pitch my tent and managed to get my tent pegs into the ground without difficulty. Campsite was very quiet over night and no problem with noise the full 3 nights I stayed

I did have lovely early morning walk up calls at 6. 30am from the farmer based behind the campsite feeding his sheep/cows in the next door fields!

My only negative is I did find this site rather expensive - but then I am new to camping and not sure what the going rate is! I found 20 for one adult, one tent, one dog and one car per night rather on the expensive side (and over a bank holiday) But I suppose you get what you pay for and this campsite was well worth the money.

Overall a lovely location and a fantastic gem of a campsite and I would not hesitate to return here. As for my first camping adventure it has not put me off and instead left me with the camping bug and planning the next one.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Spent the Easter weekend at this excellent campsite. It was very busy so facilities were pushed but, overall, they held out well.

Pitches for motorhomes all have electricity and there is a large camping area. There are two pubs on site, both offering decent food and hospitality.

Ambleside is a few miles, over the Kirkstone Pass (stop for a pint, great pub) or you can walk over the fells as get the bus back.

Patterdale is a couple of miles in the other direction, an ideal starting point for some of the best walks in the Lakes.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Imburkie 4 reviews from this member

What a fantastic location this site occupies, surrounded by the most beautiful landscape and fells you could wish for and not a bit of light to spoil the view of the stars at night, magical it was.

The member of staff that dealt with my booking was most helpful and informative.

Toilet and shower block were spotless. This is a site I would definitely revisit but not sure if it would be at, 'high season', as I have come to the conclusion that, that's the time to wild camp due to excesive noise from fair weather walkers!

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

This is an excellent campsite - it's location and facilities are excellent and the site's staff are friendly and helpful.

The campsite is set behind the Brotherswater Inn, which is just at the foot of the Kirkstone Pass, about 2 miles from Patterdale. The pub serves excellent ales and the food is very good.

The place is surrounded by impressive mountain scenery with high fells, such as High Streer, Fairfield and Hart Crag accessible on foot.

Facilities are excellent - motorhome pitches all have electricity and there are plenty of hot showers.

An excellent site!

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2517 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019