Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moonstone 9 reviews from this member

 A vast site in a vast location, Baysbrown Farm campsite is a fantastic place to camp and use as a base to explore the surrounding area. Spread out over many fields the campsite is situated in the Great Langdale Valley so the views from anywhere on the site are simply stunning.

The excellent facilities are located next to the farmhouse, recycling barn and slightly sloping upper camping fields. The lower fields are level, but the price you pay for a level pitch is a long walk to your morning shower. Having said that the lower fields remain very popular with campers as they command amazing views right up the valley towards the Langdales.

The campsite owners are very welcoming, as are the free range chickens and the adopted neighbourhood cat! Baysbrown is a working farm and is therefore not a bells and whistles type of site, so if that's what you're looking for then I suggest you look elsewhere.

This wasn't our first visit and it'll definitely not be our last. A little slice of Cumbrian heaven. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Markpye 5 reviews from this member

 Splendid site in a breathtaking setting. Has the site fees (very reasonble) prominently displayed. I wish more sites would do this.

Toilet/shower block and pot wash spotless at all times.

On my last visit Duke of Edinburgh participants from Northern Ireland were rowdy well after my bedtime - and I was disturbed by a football hitting my unit at 11pm. However this is not the fault of the site and previous backpacking parties I have encountered at the site have been impeccably behaved.

Only negative is no hooks for sink users - so leave your shirt in the tent and put your towel on the floor (it's clean remember!) whilst you wash - or in the puddles on the counter.

The rival campsite in Great Langdale (National Trust) has introduced restrictive arrival and 'leave by' times which means that it is not possible to arrive early and take to the fells - nor is that possible on the day of departure unless you pay for an extra night. Having been my favourite site nationally (I like Great Langdale) for many years I now find the National Trust site unsuitable for my needs.

Full marks for flexibility to Baysbrown. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naisy 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have been here in the two years, when we were last in the Lakes.

We stayed in the lower field again and although there were people coming and going they didn't cause any problems.

There are quite a lot of students doing D of E but usually only staying one night.

It is a long way to the facilities from the lower field but you just have to be more organised and have a water carrier.

The walks are great around there whether doing high level, low level or medium level, so something for everyone.

Lot of towns nearby to visit if don't fancy walking. Windermere is driving distance and has the fantastic supermarket, Booths.

Its a great base for everything with great views of the Langdales. Stickle Barn is walking distance on the footpath, has standard hardy pub food, idea for filling up after a long cold walk, but I found it overpriced for the overcooked scampi and chips.

Its a great, atmospheric place, however, and live music upstairs on Saturdays. Wainwrights down the other way is better inside than ouside and great atmosphere, charity quiz nights on Thursdays. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aolszewska 1 review from this member

 Just a short 3 night stay over the half term holidays. This site is ideal. Set in spectacular surroundings in the Langdale Valley you are surrounded by awesome views.

Facilities are basic but immaculately clean which is no mean feat when the rain comes and the site is muddy. No complaints whatsoever. You are staying on a working farm so be prepared for the cheeky chickens to come and have a nosey at your setup if you camp in the upper fields near the farm.

Lots of room for the children to run about and a rope swing in the woods which was hugely popular. There are lots of easy walks directly from the site and a small river and stream to paddle and play in as well.

There is a delightful off-road footpath to the local coop in Chapel Stile. This shop has everything you might need. We got waterproof over trousers for the kids there. The local meat products are tasty and well worth a try.

Overall a brilliant no-frills site that is ideal for family camping. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coastwalker 46 reviews from this member

 Good site. Would use again. Clean and well kept toilet/shower block, but we could do with a water tap in the lower fields- it's a fair walk up to the farm. Lower fields fine if you like a bit of space to yourself. A bit more crowded nearer the farm. Evidence of vehicles struggling to move out in recent wet weather, so caution if it's been wet.

Very pleasant owners.

The village shop/cafe is useful for most supplies.

The surroundings are stunning. Great walks to suit all tastes. Don't go up Crinkle Crags when covered in cloud- it's a challenge even with a compass. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentaddict7 18 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site, it had all we were looking for, peace and quiet, wonderful views and scenery, great walks, and very reasonable cost!

We arrived the day after the August Bank holiday, so were hoping that the site had emptied out a bit, and we were not disappointed, there were only a few tents on the site, but to be honest it would take a lot for this site to be overcrowded, there is so much space!

The site is a working farm with a barn converted for toilets and showers, washing up facilities and a drinking water tap, and that is it, plain and simple.

There had been a lot of heavy rain, so the ground was very boggy in many areas, you choose where you pitch once you have paid at the farmhouse (we paid £31 for three nights!)

We chose to pitch at the bottom of the site, near the river, which was a lovely spot, but it was a long trek to the facilities, the only downside, but not a huge problem. Another reviewer suggested portaloos for the lower part of the site, but this would spoil the lovely open views in my opinion.

There are notices around asking for quiet after 10pm, this was adhered to, very peaceful at all times.

The site is dog friendly, although you need to keep the dog tethered or on a lead as there is livestock around all the time, but we did see many dogs off lead, not that this caused any problems when we were there, our dog loved his long walks, in fact seems to love camping anyway!

The facilities were spacious, plentiful and kept spotlessly clean, which was all the more remarkable given the muddy conditions, I cannot fault them at all.

There are absolutely lovely walks to be had directly from the site, we walked across the hills to Dungeon Ghyll, and I heartily recommend the Hikers Bar at the Old Dungeon Ghyll, as well as the scrumpy!

The food was hearty, delicious and reasonable, just the thing after a long walk.

There is also a Co-op about five minutes pleasant walk (away from main roads) and a cafe above, where a lovely cooked breakfast can be had in very clean and attractive surroundings with good service as well. We did look at the menu for the Wainwrights Inn, but it seemed overpriced, as well as seeming a bit overdeveloped rather than a good old fashioned local pub, which is what we prefer.

Ambleside is the nearest bigger town, we found this a really nice place, not crowded when we were there, and all you might need was there.

We will definitely return to this site, perfect for a few days to relax, walk and enjoy the stunning Langdale Pikes. I could say we would hope for better weather next time (we had some horrendous rain) but seriously, this is the Lake District, you don't come for tropical weather do you? The rain in no way detracted from our enjoyment of our stay.

10 out of 10 on all counts bar one (I marked child friendliness at 9/10 because of the river at the bottom of the site, care would need to be taken) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howellsey 4 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site! It's a big site on a farm with multiple pitches and beautiful views towards the Langdale Pikes.

The size of the site means that you don't feel you are on top of other campers and if you want a bit of seclusion it is pretty easy to find!

The facilities are basic but satisfactory, the showers and toilet blocks are well kept and clean.

The butty van at the weekend is popular and consequently it can take an age to get breakfast, recommend a trangia and a cool box to overcome this.

There are plenty of walks from the site and it is dog friendly, so if you're not keen on canines it's worth remembering!

Highly recommended site overall though! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crainneag 10 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site beside the village of Chapel Stile in Cumbria. The site is accessed via a humpback bridge across the River Rothey then a track leads up to the farmhouse where you book in.

The site is split over 5 fields, two level ones at the bottom and the remaining ones on gentle slopes with many flat areas.

The single toilet block is adjacent to the house at the top of the site, a fair trek if you choose to pitch in the lower fields, the sinks are mounted high but at 6'1' that was no challenge to me. There are adequate facilities in the block including free showers heated by solar panels. We paid £5 per person per night plus £2. 50 per day for parking.

The site is designated as a family campsite and may refuse groups of more than 3 of the same gender. They request no noise or barbecues after 10:30 and no music at any time. We found it to be very peaceful throughout our stay.

There are three pubs within easy waling distance and a café next to the Co-op grocery not far from he entrance to the site.

There are several walks from the site and maps of two low level ones can be bought, if you are more adventurous, and suitably equipped, there are higher level walks. Whether you take advantage of these or not, the views from the site are spectacular and shouldn't be missed.

I would thoroughly recommend visiting. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yakky 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 6 nights at this lovely site, perfect location to explore the langdale area and beyond, campsite is basic but has everything you need.

We pitched in 1 of the lower fields which were reasonable flat, and well drained, the showers and toilet facilities are a little walk away at the farm, which during the heavy rain and at night became a bit of a chore, really could do with at least a portable loo in the lower areas.

Will definitely visit again, and hope for better weather.

2 adults and 2 dogs.

Didn't have kids with us so not scored the child friendly bit 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: -mojo- 2 reviews from this member

 Like the last review, we stayed over the Jubilee holiday weekend and, though it was incredibly busy, they were very helpful and still managed to fit us in.

They seem to take a fair bit of care about what sort of groups they accept, so we had no incidents of excessive noise after 11, and with mainly families there the kids quickly found new friends to play with.

It's a really scenic location - great for walking and there's also some good scrambling and rock climbing close by. The village is also really nice, and the village shop was extremely well stocked (perhaps a little expensive, but it's a co-operative, so I don't really care about that).

The toilet/wash block facilities were clean and well maintained. They were occasionally overwhelmed by the numbers, so queues for the showers at peak times, but that's not too surprising on a summer Bank Holiday weekend!

A couple of constructive (hopefully) suggestions: There seems to be only one place to get water on the whole site! There really should be a drinking water tap at the other end of the site.

Also, the hot water supply had trouble keeping up in the showers, which would run cold more often than hot when I tried. It should be simple to fit slightly more restricted heads on the showers to reduce that problem. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window