Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
                8/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garfields 1 review from this member

We would give this site 10/10 as its got good facilities ie clean toilets and showers and the site is tidy however please note this site accepts large groups of schools. On the last three days of our holiday a grammar school turned up to camp in one of the lower fields. Which we wouldn't have minded only that they left the toilets and showers in a disgusting mess it was hard to find a clean toilet to use and luckily I found the one and only reasonably clean shower out four that I felt okay to use. There was toilet paper trailed all over the floor, clothes left around the sinks, talcum powder all over the shower floor I could go on. There is a sign on the toilet/shower block door that clearly states D of E groups should use the portacabin toilet and shower facilities but they totally ignored this. My Husband said the mens blocks were equally as bad. I cannot believe that these children were left unsupervised around the site as they were hanging around everywhere including the laundry room they clearly had nothing to do and were bored. I very much doubt we will return simply for the fact that this site accepts large groups of schools. We don't feel this is the campsites fault but the supervisors of the school groups should have had more control over the children and made sure they were using the correct facilities. The plus points is it is in a good location to Bakewell, and the views from the site are beautiful.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozenge 3 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip and we were really pleased with this lovely site.

The loos and showers were immaculate at all times, and the kids loved the playground and space to play.

The shop was well stocked and all staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful.

We were on a field with electric hookup for tents and had plenty of space to pitch and park alongside with space still for the children to play.

There was good pot washing facilities too.

There were additional toilet blocks for the D of E students but frankly these were as good as or better than most sites we've subsequently visited.

The surrounding area is stunning and Bakewell is nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diamond lynz 1 review from this member

This is quite a large site with some areas dedicated to statics, as well as a touring caravan are, a mixed tent and caravan area and several lovely flat sections for tents. These are arranged in levels which has obviously been well planned out. Pegging down was easy too.

Yes, I agree the roads in and out are narrow but no problem getting in or out really.

The kids enjoyed the small play park and my older son played football on a dedicated ball field even if if did slope to the back and sides!

The shop sold basic essentials.

The toilet block was clean and a mop and bucket with disinfectant was there to mop out the shower once you had finished. Queuing wasn't a problem even at half term. Toilets were clean although no baby change facility.

The pub was a bit disappointing. We thought about having a meal but it was so small and tables were full and menu choice was very limited so we went into Bakewell and had a lovely meal there.

The location was good and I would recommend this site and we would return!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elgin1 5 reviews from this member

I had much better expectations for this site but should have taken more notice of the review by 'Maddiejoe'.

The long approach road takes you past pristine static caravan areas but as you approach the reception area you have potholed roads and a general 'unkempt' feel to the pitches and side roads. It felt like a 'gypsy' camp. The showers were cramped, and there are no disabled facilities. The bar is grotty and the shop poorly stocked. You couldn't remove the drain cover to empty the motorhome grey waste

A local in the village pub commented that this wasn't the best site in the area but it could be. I suspect the profits are being ploughed into developing the static areas - Hey Ho. I'll not go back.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Cooke 13 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site within walking distance of Bakewell [uphill coming back]. Facilities [shower and loos] were excellent. Helpful staff on arrival showed us which pitch to go to, we also saw them helping another couple having trouble with their caravan so obviously geared up for customer assistance. Site was also kept neat all around. A good children's area behind main block. Easy access from main road. We would certainly use again if visiting the area an ideal base for seeing Chatsworth, Bakewell and Matlock etc

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul n linda 11 reviews from this member

What a lovely site this is. Me, my wife and dog went here in march. The weather was a bit nippy but the peace and quiet of the site plus the scenic views more than made up for it. Very well laid out and maintained with plenty of room for caravan, awning and car on a hard standing pitch.

The toilets wash and shower rooms were excellent and spotless as were the washing up and food preparation areas too. A big dog walk in an enclosed field so they can be let off the lead for a run around.

Bakewell town itself is a really nice pleasant town to visit with dog friendly pubs as well. The wheatsheaf pub also doin nice and very reasonably priced food.

All in all a lovely site with idyllic surroundings well worth the visit. The site staff extremely helpful and chatty too. We will definitely use this site again A+++.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TB DERBY 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first stay at greenhills. We found everyone in reception very welcoming and very friendly and helpful showing us where all the facilities were and when they were open, then took us to see our pitch. Found toilet/shower very clean and had everything you needed (could do with being a little warmer). Used the pub a few times, good selection on offer at what you would expect to pay on a site. Friendly staff found in any facilities we used, shop good too. Nice play areas. Two dog walking areas, one on a lead, the other was a good sized paddock, well fenced so our dog enjoyed good run round. Plenty of dog waste bins provided. The only thing we thought could do with looking at was access to shower blocks, anyone can walk in, some sort of card or security pad to gain access, but we found everything else good. Close to bakewell /buxton

We will be definitely coming back soon. Hope this helps you choose greenhills

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maninvan 10 reviews from this member

Just had a stay at Greenhills for the Halloween themed weekend, first impressions were the signs to oblige to which seem to be every where, most of them common sense, but some seem to really wind me up! The staff at reception including the owner were helpful and directed me to the pitch.

The site is spotless, clean and tidy with a reasonable dog walking area. The shower block is not the best, some form of heating, but with the door not shutting properly, never got warm and with it dropping below zero that weekend would have helped make it be a bit more comfortable. As mentioned it was a Halloween themed weekend and a hog roast was set up and was four pounds and nice and tasty! The turn out from adults as well as children was impressive! Also a raffle was done but I didn't hear any numbers called. The on site shop and pub are expensive 2 pints and a can of coke at 8 quid is too much.

All in all though the views from the site are superb and Bakewell is a 1 mile walk and such a lovely town to visit and many attractions nearby Chatsworth House for example. The site has a play area for children which is excellent as my daughter would tell you, It is a good site but I may not return to be honest, but did have an enjoyable weekend and the themed weekend sealed the deal. End of the day make your own opinion when you go and I don't think you will be too disappointed.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maddiejoe 9 reviews from this member

This was our first time staying in this part of the Peak District and found the Bakewell area a good base for visiting Chatsworth, Matlock and Buxton. Chesterfield is worth a visit and found a fab curry house, Delhi 41, in the north of the town.

However this campsite really was a let down considering how much is charged a night. I'm sorry that I don't agree with some of the comments of previous campers. Although the site was quite tidy, the wet weather had taken its toll. I can accept muddy fields, but not narrow, muddy, potholed access roads. They are very badly maintained. There are also huge potholes all around the communal areas near the reception and the washing up sinks. Luckily I had wellingtons, and yes I know its camping - which I have been doing for nearly 40 years, so I know what to expect, but we were on a touring site, not in the fields, so expected better, you could not escape the mud.

The toilet area was tarmac, so a bit better and paving stones into the portable cabins, (although the lack of a step into the portacabins meant a little one had to be lifted in and out) But, there is no disabled bathroom or shower, or a family bathroom on site, although there is a disabled toilet. There are a large number of toilets and sinks but only one hand dryer, in the ladies, I don't know about the men's. The showers are really really tiny. I am just over 5ft and weigh 10 stone and I found them difficult to move about in. It was impossibly difficult to try and shower with a small child - there was nowhere to sit and dry a child let alone an adult. The water (which was always warm enough) lasted just 8 to 12 seconds between presses of the button.

There was no heating at all in the toilet block other than the night of the Halloween party and the weather was cold all week.

The portable cabin showers were no bigger, but at least there was a seat, but no heating and the showers themselves seem to have very poor drainage, so the dirt and dregs of previous occupants was often sitting in the tray.

I would not stay at this site again, nor would I recommend it to anyone, disabled, or with small children without your own bathing facilities and possibly in the middle of dry weather. Unless of course, the showers were at least half as big again and some sort of heating in the block and better roadways. Which is a shame, because I wanted to stay on a family run site. The children's play area was big enough for children up to 12 and plenty of open spaces, but they were all too muddy to play in.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MiniJG 2 reviews from this member

Spent 5 lovely days here in unexpected late summer sunny weather. Had the most beautiful views from our tent in all directions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and well maintained. There was the added bonus of a club house on site open all day when we were there. Also a small but well stocked shop.

The location is perfect for exploring nearby bakewell and other lovely villages. Don't forget to go to chatsworth house! Would definitely recommend this site for couples and families.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019