Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 72 Reviews
                7/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lorna Bixley 7 reviews from this member

 Southwold is a beautiful town and the surrounding countryside is unique.

The camp site is situated near the harbour and is a favourite holiday site for an old-fashioned family seaside holiday. No electric hook-up facilities, but that is not a problem.

Unfortunately the toilet and shower blocks were a disgrace. Some showers did not work at all, and most of the showers produced only a weak flow of water. There were numerous complaints made by many campers, especially those with small children. The toilets were smelly, run-down and not regularly check and cleaned. The washing up facilities were OK. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msbean13 6 reviews from this member

 Very crowded campsite, poor facilities. Southwold is beautiful has a good selection of attractions and a great icecream parlour/cafe but would not stay on this site.

The site is situated in walking distance of the peer and beach. Good local villages to visit.

Little privacy as the tents were all placed in a tiny field, with many families squashed together. Set up more for static caravans giving it a holiday camp appearance. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daysieblue 2 reviews from this member

 Have just got home from a lovely weekend in Southwold. We were two adults and three children, and a good time was had by all. What struck us was how friendly all the other campers were, this site certainly does attract nice people! Several mentioned the only let down was the condition of the toilets and showers, but they were fine, although a bit camp soiled, by which I mean the floors were quite grassy/muddy most of the time.

We were perfectly happy to let our 3 wander around on their own (ages 7&8) and their bikes were completely invaluable. In fact, we all had them, and it was by far the easiest way to get into town, car parking can be a bit of a nightmare!

Southwold itself is a delightfully quaint little town, our 3 children loved the beach, and we also went crabbing along the harbour which was great fun.

All in all, we will be going back, in fact we noticed many people booking next year's pitch as they left! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gytha 3 reviews from this member

 This site is ideally positioned just outside Southwold town, near the harbour and just over the road from the beach. Southwold is lovely and the beach is great. Best fish and Chips at the hut on the harbour. Visit the crazy slot machines on the pier.

There are no electric hook-ups at the site but not too much of a problem, the staff were helpful and friendly.

Good value at 15 p/night for a pitch including 2 adults (kids 1.10 extra).Charge 80p for each freezer blocks in their freezer - seemed a bit excessive but maybe that's just me!

They get booked up very early so you'll need to book well in advance for summer camping.

We stayed for the weekend and had a lovely time. The only downside is the cleanliness (or lack of) of the toilet block. We were nearest the newer block in the second field and the floor in there was always filthy (you expect mud if it's rainy but was dry all weekend). There is a mop and bucket so you can clean up after yourself but when we used it the water in the bucket was so disgusting it made the floor worse! No wonder noone else bothered.

The showers are free and had plenty of hot water, only running cold last thing in the evening but there was a mushroom growing half way up the wall in the one I used! There was a young lad painting walls in the ladies all Sunday morning which seemed a bit odd - don't they do these things in the winter?

My husband thought the mens was disgusting, apparently there's an overwhelming stench of ammonia but then he discovered the other toilet block (low white building) which is apparently much better.

So great location, good site, reasonably priced ,just could do with cleaning the toilet blocks more often (maybe a decent door mat or something would help?) and ventilating the mens! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelasteel1 1 review from this member

 We visited Southwold on a windy weekend at the start of June, 4 adults and mother-in-law.

The site was clean and tidy, two shower blocks, both with free hot water, although a couple of us had rather chilly showers on a couple of occasions.

Not much for sale in site reception, but the site had a mobile shop which visited the site every morning. Also as it's only 10mins walk from the lovely village centre, with 2 little supermarkets, groceries weren't a problem.

The site is ideal for those who enjoy beach fishing, as we do, due to close location to the beach. Unfortunately the fish weren't biting this weekend!

I agree with another reviewer about the price of beer - you need to take a full wallet if you want to really enjoy yourself! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bradford 1 review from this member

 Spent yet another fab weekend in Southwold, the loos and showers are ok but during school holidays and sunny weekends they are a bit of a mess and the hot water wasn't working in the ladies showers. No playground on site but who needs one when you have a fabulous sandy beach over the road from the camp site and crabing in the harbour just around the corner.
The town is so pretty and interesting with well kept houses and lovely little shops to browse around in. The pier has a fabulous work of art in the clocktower and makes everyone laugh, with good shops (a bit pricy) and an alternative amusement arcade it worth the stroll.
Small fair on village green May 1/2 term and circus at the back of the town in summer. Pubs all seem very busy but not much going on after 9 in the evening. Will go back time and again as always. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MMS3 3 reviews from this member

 The good bits. Location is excellent. Site is flat, a bit lumpy (campers beware!) and because of the rabbits. Plenty of rabbit poo! Plots are a good size and have now been well marked out.

Plenty of places to buy fresh fish and also one for fish and chips along by the harbour. Southwold is a nice enough little town if a bit over priced. Walberswick is worth a look.

As for the bad bits. Toilets filthy - mopped out once (well the mud on the floor was pushed around!) but never actually cleaned. Only managed a hot shower once in the 3 days we were there. Broken toilet - no attempt made to mark it as 'out of order' so the smell got pretty nasty. Ran out of toilet paper in both ladies and gents. Staff not particularly helpful to us.

The pond on the camp site is full of rubbish, shame really as it could be a great little feature  


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Temperley 1 review from this member

 My husband, one year old son and I spent a night at this site last weekend and were thoroughly impressed.

Although no electric hook up, the facilities were clean and a lot of people on the site were impressed with just how hot the showers were!

The staff at reception were friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect and is about 10 minutes walk from the centre on Southwold. Wonderful views. Great shops, cafes, pubs, pier and beach.

A lovely walk in the morning, running parallel to the coastline and suitable for buggies. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Toady503 16 reviews from this member

 Went to the campsite for Easter. We often go to Southwold but the campsite seems to have gone down hill from last year. The toilet block was not in use on the camping field, they never got cleaned all weekend and showers were cold. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlie horse 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned home from spending 2 nights here and was very disappointed.

There was no hot water or electricity in the toilet and shower block nearest to where we were camping, so we had to walk to the other side of the site where although there was electricity there was no hot water either! One of our party managed a luke warm shower, but the rest of us had to freeze or remain stinky.

The toilets and showers were dirty, they weren't cleaned the time we were there, despite it being Easter Weekend so very busy.

If it weren't for the location of the campsite to the centre of Southwold I would never stay here again. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement