Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flozypots 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a lovely weekend stay we went last year and enjoyed it so we decided to go back for a weekend before the schools finished for the summer thinking that it would be a bit quieter, we were wrong as everyone must have had the same idea. We got a pitch right near the lake just perfect. The site as a shop that sells most things. There are ladies and gents toilets which are clean and fresh the showers are near the reception and plenty of washing uo and veg prep sinks. There are great views of the surrounding fells which were fantastic to see as every day was perfectly clear. The only downside was that as the weather was so nice the site was so full there was tents and campervans every where it felt like you didn't have any privacy. L think its so popular as it is right next to the lake so is great for boat launching. Also the site now hires out tipis. You can also hire bikes for the energetic . It is also dog friendly which my dog loved as she could go into the lake. Would definitely go back but when its a bit more quieter 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Two WheelCamper 9 reviews from this member

 First thing to say is that site is in a lovely position, you are literally right on the lakeside. We visited at the end of July in a motorhome, watch the entrance as you pull in, it is fine if people park sensibly around the shop and reception, but they failed to do so while we were there, making it tight or impossible getting in and out.

Despite it's size, if you were in a tent the site itself was utterly jam packed, the owners are clearly out to squash in as many people as possible regardless of such minor matters as fire hazards or consideration for your fellow camper. Given that this wasn't a cheap site, I was surprised at this to be honest. Probably because it was so busy, it was also untidy, the bins needed to be emptied and there was litter on the lakeside and the site.

There is a nice lakeside walk into Pooley Bridge, again it was unkept and strewn with litter which was a real shame as it could be a very pleasant stroll with great views.

The toilets and showers were fine, clean but a little worse for wear in places, but with plenty of hot water. There is a shop on site with pleasant and helpful staff which stocks most things and hires boats and bikes too.

We had a motorhome so spacing was OK for us, our pitch was number 14, furthest from the road and on the end as well so we had more room than most. The kids play area is nice and well maintained and there are lots of washing up stations.

I would not visit again, despite the fantastic location, the overcrowding was just too much for me. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RICHARD.A 9 reviews from this member

 We booked this site after reading previous reviews. The site was clean and tidy although the ground on the pitches has quite a lot of stones. The shop is small but sufficient and the toilets and showers were clean although with only eight showers for men and the same for women and only having two small toilet blocks it would be a problem during high season. I had read on the reviews that there was a food van on site however on arrival found that it only opens at weekends during mid season and only opens in the week during high season.

The site was very peaceful and the views were great and you can walk to nearby Pooley Bridge in about twenty minutes which has three pubs which offer food but if you want a takeaway or supermarket you have to travel to Penrith which is about a ten minute drive away. Penrith is a nice place to visit and offers a range of places to eat and I must recommend the Angel Lane Chippie for great fish and chips, we also had an Indian takeaway from the Indian Plaza on Middle gate which was very nice and reasonably priced.

The area is great if your a walker or a cyclist but if you want anything more than good exercise or great views the area doesn't offer much more. However still enjoyed a very nice few days and would recommend the site for a base to walk and cycle in the area. Have to add a slight warning however that there is a problem with quite a lot of insects midges etc, but this can be alleviated by purchasing the anti midge candles from the camp shop or Pooley Bridge which keep the insects away from your tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic location, Lakeside on 12v or very close on 240v. If you have Dogs then superb as they can run and play in safety and the wonderful walk to Pooley Bridge has areas they can run wild in and swim, all away from Sheep and people.

There is a Dog walk area although not shown on the Map (next to the boat repair ramp) which is very good but infested with Rabbits which the Dogs loved. Even this is waterside.

Good little shop on site with the usual, bike loans plus Kayaks and boats for hire so lots to do for sure.

Toilets were all clean with good showers, all a bit tired in places with missing hooks/shelves etc now needing some tlc to get back to how they were.

For tents it seems to be a free for all position wise.

Truly great location for adults/kids and Dogs and we will re visit for sure. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linny32 2 reviews from this member

 Me and my wife were here for our first full week away in a tent ever, great site, great location with stunning views of lake ulswater and the surrounding area.

On site facility's where great with nice clean showers and plenty of hot water, nice children's play area.

On site shop had everything you need should you forget anything or run out of supplies.

Pooley bridge is just a short walk along the side of the lake ( about a 20 min stroll ) lovely village with 3 pubs 2 tea rooms and a post office the sells everything you can think of

Will definitely be returning at some point again this year, loved this site and its location  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoyle 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite, with stunning views. We camped in the smaller 'Garth' end of the campsite, with electric hook up. Unfortunately our electric lead was too short, but the very helpful staff provided us with an extension lead.

The only down side of this end of the campsite was the limited external space. If you require space for children to play you would be better in the family field. All that said, the campsite and staff were excellent, and all the facilities were clean and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sam4bill 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to this campsite, absolutely fabulous. Very tranquil relaxing, and the the weather got better towards the end of the week, amazing. The Ullswater steamer journey worth it, will be returning in Aug and hoping to do more walks, fingers crossed we drop on better weather. :) The short walk to the Pooley bridge in is lovely, kids loved walking in the field, looking for creatures, the pooley bridge pub is amazing, staff food atmosphere. Looking forward to returning :) Couldn't understand why caravans are not allowed on site, but then when we got there, the entrance is small and would be tricky for caravans. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SusanMcLaughlin 2 reviews from this member

 I went to this campsite with a number of friends and couldn't have been more delighted. The reception office was always very busy but it was a bank holiday weekend and to be expected and the staff were friendly nonetheless. When we arrived we were directed to a particular field and allowed to pitch wherever we wanted to. There was abundant space right next to Ullswater, although most of it was slightly hilly. There was pitches that were more flat but these were not next to the lake. The facilities were fantastic, with the shop stocking basics, and rooms for both washing up and laundry that were clean, modern and spacious. Toilets and showers were fine, with my only negative being that it was a decent walk from where we were pitched to the nearest portaloo. As this is a vast campsite it would have been convenient to be closer to toilets. There are many activities available in the vicinity, including the rental of sppedboats, rowboats and canoes, as well as regular cruises to the Northern Shores of Ullswater. Highly recommended campsite. A bit more expensive than some but well worth the money! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wild_sam@msn.com 2 reviews from this member

 Oh what can I say? I have mixed feelings about this place so I will start from the beginning. It was a bank holiday and we booked Sunday through till Tuesday, and on arrival on Sunday we were gobsmacked at just how busy it was. I mean, I did expect it to be busy but driving in and seeing scores of campers made my heart sink. After a nice quick and easy visit to reception where I had to try to remember all the instructions and directions we were allocated to the second field. After driving around a few times the spots we could choose from were either on a hill. Or behind two sets of three large groups. You know the ones that come with huge tents and gazebos and pitch facing in on each other. We tucked behind them and glumly pitched our tent. It felt somewhat like a festival in all honesty. We hadn't even seen the lake! Well that evening was interesting. With the no noise after 11pm rule being flaunted by the aforementioned neighbours (surprise).

HOWEVER, and this is a big however, come Monday morning, as expected. All the go outdoors campers vanished and what was left was spectacular. Back to Lakeland normality. A phenomenally beautiful campsite location. The facilities were clean and more than adequate, if not a bit of a walk away. But who cares with stunning views like that to walk with. It truly is a breathtaking place to camp. It's safe to say we fell in love.

The only issue we have with the site itself, is that there is no security barrier stopping every Tom dick and Harry coming through. So for example we arrived back after our day out itching to sit outside with our BBQ and take in the stunning environment only to find a huge camper van had decided to plonk itself right in front of us spoiling the view we had, despite the whole shoreline being relatively tent free. The owners were nowhere to be seen. When they arrived back they stayed for a few hours then packed up and drove off. They were day trippers using the site for its location. Meanwhile spoiling it for us who had paid to be here. I was quietly livid (at least they had a lovely decal on the side of their van of a sailing boat so we could pretend we were looking out to the lake!)

We will be returning to this well run lovely site, but I would certainly advise you to not come on a bank holiday or a high season weekend if you want to appreciate the site for all it's worth. But I suppose that's the case everywhere. We arrived disappointed but left totally in love with the place. I couldn't imagine anywhere better. The staff were lovely, the shop excellent and the facilities clean. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynseysean 5 reviews from this member

 EXCELLENT campsite. My personal favourite.

Facilities are fantastic. Plenty of showers (even with heated floors), plenty of dishwashing facilities and plenty of toilets. All facilities are very clean.

The park is the best I have come across, with a lot to do for all ages. Great walks from the site in all directions especially along the Lake to Pooley Bridge, which is a gorgeous little village with enough pubs and shops to keep you going and not too much to spoil it.

Easy access from the site to the Lake for Kayaking etc.

It is a working farm and the Cows can be loud so you may not want to put your tent too close, or get ear plugs. But this does NOT put us off.

They have their own shop and burgar van. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement