Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bureside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Bureside Holiday Park Reviews

Bureside Holiday Park
Boundary Farm
Oby
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3BW
Tel: 07587771314  or  07587771317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 31/10/2020 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 31/10/2020 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Whitelocks 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site many times and will be returning many times more. The site is very spacious with good size pitches and plenty of space for the kids play.
The toilet/shower block is a little dated but kept very clean and tidy at all times. We have never had to wait for the showers and there is plenty of hot water. The owners are very friendly and are always pleased to help and give advice. The kids love the outside pool and it only cost £1 per child per day so they can go in and out as they please.

The surrounding area is very peaceful and quiet with some super walks along the river. The river is also good for any budding fishermen.

Overall as a family with 2 children this site is ideal and great value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gilly123 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely relaxing stay at Bureside.

The site is well maintained and they keep the grass pitches well mown. Although we did not have any rain while we were there, the site appears to be well drained. The pitches are spacious, and you can pitch either lengthways or sideways and there is plenty of room.

The toilet and shower block is not the most modern I have been in, but it is kept clean and the water is always hot and the showers are free. There are 12 loo's and about as many sinks and 3 showers and although we arrived at the end of half term week and the camp was quite busy for a few days, there was never any queues for showers or anything like that, in fact I hardly ever saw anybody else in the block while I was there. My only criticism is that there is just 1 hook in the shower cubicles for your clothes and towel and absolutely nowhere to put your things while you are taking your shower, so you have to juggle with the shower gel the shampoo and the conditioner bottles and your flannel.

There is a lovely swimming pool max 1.5m deep which is as warm if not warmer than any I have been in whilst abroad, and it only costs £1 for a whole days ticket. There is also Pool, Snooker and Table Tennis.

There is immediate access to the Broads via The Boundary Dyke to the river Bure, and there are riverside walks in both directions. You can walk to the village of Thurne via the river walk or by the shorter permitted path 10mins. There is a Pub in Thurne which does meals,and has amusements for kids and there are two shops and Church.

The caravan site has a slipway if you want to take your own boat, and it also has a fishing lake with Carp for which you pay a fee. I understand that there is fishing from the banks of the river for the normal Rod licence.

There are swings , a slide and a sandpit for the kids and plenty of room for games. They also breed Welsh ponies, and while we were there there were several foals.

The nearest small supermarket Budgen is at Acle 3 miles and Tesco at Stalham 8miles. In between there is a shop not to be missed for bargains, Lathams, at Potter Heigham.

Great Yarmouth is about 8 miles for further shopping and a traditional seaside town.

The coast is all fine sand and dunes and there are some nice little places to go if you have your picnic with you.

The loveliest broads village I thought was Horning, which is well worth a visit. You can hire a boat on the broads for a day or half day or sometimes by the hour. Go to the smaller boatyards for the cheapest deals. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janlg 6 reviews from this member

 This is more like it - a holiday to remember, wonderful site, not totally modern in the toilet/shower facilities, but adequate and clean. The pitches are large and have plenty of space, definitely not on top of each other even when full. The river Bure is only about a 300m walk great for fishing, and they also have their own private lake for the more assertive Fisherpersons (adults only), the walks along the river and country side are in abundance. Very rural and quite. Do not go if you like a lot of things going on ie. Amusements and Bars.

Fantastic base, to go on the Broads with a boat, the seaside, in particular Winterton on Sea,this one I would recommend. And not a long drive to Cromer. Even though the weather was mixed it did not spoil our totally relaxing 2 weeks there. Thank you 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Norfolk family 8 reviews from this member

 We had a weekend here and booked to go back even before we left. The site is large and pitch sizes were large too. It is in a very rural location and therefore very quite and dark at night. The walks nearby either across fields or along the river were lovely with plenty of wildlife to see.
The play area for kids consisted of a slide, swings and sand pit and that was enough to keep my two busy (Only downside I am still finding sand everywhere). The wash blocks were basic but clean and you could actually adjust the temperature of the shower, a godsend with kids. The narrow lane down to the site was tricky, I wouldnt want to meet another caravan coming the other way. Overall a lovely site and one I will be going back to for many years. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hayley7 2 reviews from this member

 We personally love this site. We have been here both in a tent and a caravan. The site is well placed for touring and walking and the pub is a ten-minute walk by track over fields. Not wanting to give too much away on my opinion, as we don't want all and sundry to come! We like it because it is a nice friendly, quiet family site with lots of space between your tents and caravans. Yes it does have an outside pool that you have to pay for but as stated above at least it limits the numbers.
If you’re looking for an all singing all dancing, club and supermarket on site etc etc then it is the wrong site for you! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trevor61 1 review from this member

 After the publicity surrounding Southwold and it’s charms in recent years and the closure of the North Dene’s Caravan & Camping site in Lowestoft, we’ve been searching for somewhere new to spend our long weekends, I think we found it here. Living within an hours drive of all the above it is always nice to find somewhere peaceful to escape to when the need arises and Bureside Holiday Park offers all that we require. A peaceful, pleasant location with clean facilities and pleasant walks.
The campsite itself is quite basic offering the bare minimum of facilities which to be honest is all that we look for in a campsite, it has a small play area at one end of the site for kids, a reasonably sized outdoor swimming pool that we never used on our visit but I’m sure well use it on another visit and a small staithe for those that bring along their own boats.

Our dog loved the walks along the river and through the fields, the kids (2) enjoyed the tranquillity of the location as did my wife. The pitches are huge compared to some and although it was reasonably quiet on this stay I get the impression that it would never feel ‘packed’ like some campsites do even in peak season. There are plenty of watertaps and fire buckets etc throughout the site, the only real problem I could see is that the walk to the toilets/showers might be a bit far if you were at the bottom of the second field but then you are camping after all! I would also think its a bit ‘exciting’ towing into the site but once in there is plenty of room to manoeuvre.
My only gripe was the weather, we went here over Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend and it rained! I ordered sunshine but I guess my order never arrived in time, still we had a relaxing weekend, the tent didn’t flood and I’m hoping they’ll have a space for us over August Bank Holiday Weekend.
 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GDay 2 reviews from this member

 I have been to Bureside for the last ten years and have seen a lot of changes over that time. The site was shut last year due to ill health but I am happy to say they are up and running again this year.
I would like to correct the posts made on here from 2003.
You do not need a key anymore for shower block.
The site is well worth a visit if your into fishing as it has a private lake full of nice carp. It's a stones throw away from the local pub this alone has a kids area/good food/shop/amusments.
All in all the camp is great for peace and quite but also great for kids of all ages.
Also one thing no one has said is it has it,s own snooker room.
Happy camping to you all 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dixc 7 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this site, very narrow approach lanes to site if towing. Site always seems to have choice of pitch. Peaceful & remote which is a plus, well maintained in all areas.
Some private statics on site but not a problem. Good riverside walks but a bit of a drive if you want a day out. 


Reviewer: Pfarmer79 1 review from this member

 July 2005
This was my first visit to this lovely little campsite and certainly wont be my last.
The shower blocks are basic but kept very clean all through the day and there is no longer a charge of 20p (as seen in previous reviews) for showers. The site is very spacious and we had the pick of the fields for pitching our tent, though it did get busier towards the end of our week.
The outdoor swimming pool can be used at a charge of £1 per day and is lovely and warm though it can feel a bit cramped when the children get in.
We were right by the river which is ideal for fishing as its not far to carry your kit. The owners drive around the site daily checking the tents and caravans which means you can leave your fishing kit and chairs and things outside your tents.
The only downside is they do not have a shop, but do sell the basics, milk, crisps etc in the reception.
 


Reviewer: battle 4 reviews from this member

 July 2004
A large site but not busy for this time of year. A long walk to the loo if you are in the field without electric hook up. The key for the loo's was a pain and the toilets could do with lights on, soap and something to dry your hands on. What was good is that the pitches were well spaced. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bureside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bureside Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bureside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bureside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020