Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Edinburgh Road
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1TU
Tel: 01368 865956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rmoocoo 3 reviews from this member

 Friday and Saturday night stay in the large tent area.

The pitch was flat and level and most had facility for electrical hook up.

The pitches are arranged in a 'U' shape around the edge of the field with a border of mature trees on all sides (which any kids on the site love to explore)

The campsite was very busy during our stay and although the toilets only contain 2 WC's and 2 Showers I never had to queue. Toilets were basic and more or less clean enough although heavy use means they were never going to be spotless.

The site is well located for local facilities, large Asda in Dunbar, chip shop, couple of pubs which serve food etc. Also near the East Links Farm adventure park (pricey but great for kids).

I noticed that family's with children tended to be concentrated within the park in one area so the location we stayed was boisterous with kids just being kids, but other parts were more calm.

Everything settled down on both nights by 10.30 -11.00 so no reason to miss any sleep from noise within the campsite.

One thing to note though - one of the other reviews mentions being disturbed by a party on the beach, on Saturday I woke up around 3.30am and could just hear in the distance the 'boom boom' of dance music, it didn't stop me going back to sleep but I then awoke again at 5.00am and it was still going!. Didn't really bother me as it was quite a distance off but on a still and calm night it might just become an issue. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liamjess 1 review from this member

 Just returned after spending 2 nights in a tent with my 5 year old son on the Bellhaven site. It was his first time camping and I picked this site as it was only an hours drive home in case everything went pearshaped, in any case he loved it.

My sons first camping experience was enhanced by the lady on reception (Mary), she always came round the counter to show genuine interest on how he was enjoying his camping trip, even when we called in to say goodbye when we left, she was extremely busy on the telephone but still interrupted her call to interact with my son and say bye bye.

This might not mean much to some people but its these details in customer care that mean everything to me and more especially my son.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mky337 22 reviews from this member

 Big site although not that busy when were were there. Ok location, quite near a road so you can hear some traffic noise. Nicely laid out pitches, none that far from a rather small toilet block. Only 2 showers and WCs in the gents, I imagine the same in the ladies and it was a bit cramped in there. Friendly and helpful staff though. About a 25 minute walk into Dunbar, although don't expect a huge choice of restaurants. There was an Italian which was good.

One major downside, although not the fault of the site at all, but I think there was an all night beach party of something nearby, which didn't make for much sleep. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clangoddard 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site within walking distance to Dunbar town centre. Dunbar has a great choice for eating out and a good selection of small shops, leisure centre and walled harbour.

The site is very well kept and set out, with a selection of statics and tourers. The site is very close to a large clean beach, and there is a local children's adventure park a short drive away.

Facilities on site are clean and well kept. The staff are very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. The price is very reasonable. I would recommend this site and I would not hesitate to use it again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ggandj23 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the may bank holiday, what a great site. Well sheltered from the wind. A short walk through the park to the beach and only a 5min bus ride into Dunbar.

We had a hard standing service pitch a short drive across the grass from the site road. A little cramped for space between units though.

The toilet/shower block was clean and tidy and well presented. Even though there are only two showers we had no problem in using them when we needed.

Receptionist was very helpful and provided us with good advice, on where to take our 1 year old daughter on a cold sunday, there is a cafe in Dunbar which serves a great coffee whilst our little one played in the soft play area. There didn't seem to be much for children to do on the site, but the site is next to East Mains farm adventure park which is said to be very good for children. We didn't go as our little one is too young

The pub grub in the West Barns Inn was good and they also serve a very good pint after a long walk along the beach with the dogs.

There is a well stocked village shop close by.

We will definitely go back, as I would like to play one of the many golf courses in the area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redguscat 15 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a two night stay at this site in August. We were a group of women and children in small tents - the site were flexible and we found the prices reasonable. We didn't find the tent area too boggy, although it was August and had been dry for a few days before our visit.

Nice clean facilities, not too far from the beach either. We'll definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laceby 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights on this site everything was perfect clean toilet blocks, we were given a pitch on hard standing but it was very good plenty of room,also plenty of walks for the dog beach within walking distance, good eating places nearby in Belhaven and Dunbar about 12 miles from Edinburgh which is a lovely city

Site has a shop and tourist centre

Would visit again 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mrs E P 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights at Belhaven Bay / John Muir country Park. We have a small camper with an awning and took a grass pitch (number 22) in the touring site. Pitch was great - sheltered by trees, large, level, and dry. Very near the little play park which our 6 year old twins loved. All the kids played in the park and the dens they had made in the bushes.
There was a large grass area in the middle so you didn't feel you were on top of folk. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly and helpful.
The toilet block was clean we were worried it only had two showers, but we always got one when we wanted so it was fine. It's got a babies changing room / disabled shower and toilet. It has laundry facilities 3 wash 2 dryer, and iron and board and a microwave. Plenty of taps about and areas for waste waster disposal and waste toilet stuff. Everything seems well organised and well signed.

If you have a dog they will love the walks from here. You can access the beach from the back of the site (10mins walk) right out of the gate, walk along the wall until you come to some steps over the wall. If you walk along and tide is out you can access the beach over the metal bridge. If you don't go over the bridge and carry on walking it takes you around the headland past the golf course Remember to walk right on the edge to avoid the golf balls. The golf club has a public bar with a good pint of Belhaven, kids can go in the lounge. Very quite the night we went.

If you go left out of the gate and walk along the river you can go over the bridge and access the John Muir country park (which is the beach area the sand dunes, woods and salt marshes. By following the sign to the John Muir way. If you carry on along the river you will come out at the village shop, turn right you will come to the the pub at west barns. The people were very friendly and great with the kids, they have a pub garden which was adequate, my kids liked the toys in the pub and we had a pint.

We tried the fish and chip shop (the central) in dunbar for lunch and we really enjoyed it other than that we cooked for ourselves. If you want to shop, want onsite attractions for the kids then this is not the site for you. But if you want a place to base yourself to sit and relax with walks on your doorstep this is a great place. East lothian has lots to offer, but you would need to drive.

Tantallon castle, museum of flight, archery at Fenton Barns near the museum, Dunbar itself, North Berwick with the birdlife centre (primary kids)the boat out the Bass rock (only a small boat doesn't go in choppy weather, great trip though. Edinburgh has a park and ride on the way in or you can get the train from Dunbar, St Abbs very pretty harbour for lunch along coldingham bay and the cliff walks.

The only negative point I heard about on the site is the tent pitch can get a bit boggy, but there were lots of people there for the whole weekend. So not sure about that, where we were was fine, a bit soggy in the middle of the field though, but our pitch was great. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 Nice layout of site. Touring area, tent area and playpark suitable and safe for young children. Showers are new for this year - extremely spacious and nice. Toilets too,they are very clean and very warm. Nice walk/cycle round site and pond to beach.East links Farm park is next to the site and there is a very good, child friendly leisure pool in Dunbar.
Wildlife noticeable on site, birds(large and small), rabbits and some large snails on beach walk! Good picnic areas on site and at beach.

We were in a caravan but noticed the laundry room may be useful for people in tents as there was a microwave and somewhere to dry shoes, hang coats etc. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 We stayed here Friday Night 12th to Sunday morning 14th June 2009. Have been here before a couple of times. Since last year the showers and toilets have been refurbished, though there are still only 2 showers and 4 toilets for the caravans, motorhomes and tents. The hairdryer and showers are free, you don't need a key for the shower/toilet block.

There are more hard standing pitches been put in. I think they may have sorted out the drainage problem as well, as last year when it rained the site became waterlogged and you were walking through large puddles. It rained for a time on Saturday but there no puddles. The hardstanding part of the pitch is big enough only for your caravan, and has slabs round 3 sides to walk on. I doubt whether you would get an awning and a car next to the caravan, though I noticed some of the pitches were a little bigger so maybe if you have an awning you are allocated these pitches.

There are 2 caravan fields, one without EHU. Another field for tents but some tents also at back of caravan field. There are also 2 fields of static caravans. Picnic benches are dotted around the caravan and tent sites. Large pond at back of the site with ducks etc in it, also lots of bunnies running around the site. My dog spent her weekend trying to catch them, they were arrogant little things.

Beach just behind the site. No shop on site, reception just sells ice cream juice and chocolate. A shop is less than a ten minute walk from site at West Barnes selling papers groceries etc opens early. Dunbar is about a mile and a half the other way. There is a great chippie in Dunbar, Central Fish Restaurant, its down a side street, West Port just off the main shopping street.

Recycling on site but this was located near reception, a longer walk than just taking your rubbish to behind the toilet block, which I'm ashamed to say I did for 2 days. ( I do normally recycle, honest) Only one negative about this site, I feel its expensive. It cost us 22.50 for a hardstanding pitch with EHU (No fully serviced pitches on site) It also cost 2.50 a night for the dog.  


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2561 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement