Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen98 26 reviews from this member

 On arriving at the campsite the reception staff were very friendly and directed us to our 2 adjacent pitches. Unfortunately when we got there we discovered that a caravan and awning was already in one of the pitches. The staff were very helpful though and found us 2 other adjacent pitches instead.

We were lucky with these new pitches as they were quite private with hedges on 2 sides and a PGL climbing wall (not used while we were there) on another.

The washing up facilities nearest to our pitch (near the lower touring field) were good with plenty of hot water. The ladies showers however varied between cold and cold-then-hot-then-cold-again. But after a couple of days we discovered that the showers in the block next to the playpark were not only more spacious, but also hot.

To get to the shop, pools, bars and beach is a walk across the road and through the statics site, but not too far. The indoor pool has one pool of 1m deep with a water slide and a paddling pool as well.

The water slide was a big hit with our group, but unfortunately was only open on one of our 3 visits to the pool, and Guest Services could not tell us when it would be open.

The couple of playparks on site are basic, but the children seemed to enjoy them. The mini golf was good, you just hand in your membership card, which you are given on arrival, to the Nab Bar and they give you clubs and balls for free.

The weather was lovely on our week and the beach was beautiful. The walk down is a bit steep, but it is a concrete surface. I saw people going down with pushchairs, but it must have been hard work getting them back up. The Tupenny Cafe on the beach is lovely, with homemade cakes, ice creams and gifts.

We also tried Geo-caching on site which was 2 for an hour. There are supposed to be 3 boxes to find, but we could only find 2 of them.

A good day out was when we went to Carisbrooke Castle. You can walk around the walls and up the tower, and if you have children then make sure you go in the gatehouse as it has dressing up clothes and a cannon that 'fires'. There is also has a little museum and donkeys as well. On our drive back we went over Brading Down which has stunning views and a great ice cream van selling proper ice cream.

So far so good, but now the downsides. We did go in half term so it was busy, but it still seemed very noisy until quite late at night. Although our pitches were great, lots of others seemed to be quite tightly packed with access roads on 2 sides.

The toilets often didn't have loo roll, which you might expect in a busy period, but then it took a long time for it to be replaced. Some of the other campers didn't clean up after themselves, for example leaving food in a washing up sink (which isn't the campsite's fault) but then it was still there a day later.

This site does do very cheap deals including the ferry (we paid 155 for the week) and they offer a 5% discount off this year's price for the following year if you re-book before you leave.

We loved the Isle of Wight and Whitecliff beach and will almost certainly visit again, but even with the cheap deals we might look for a smaller, quieter site next year instead. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adandemsmom 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week here.

Good points:

1. Good location, near a good beach.

2. Cheap.

3. Close to supermarkets and other visitor attractions.

Bad points:

1. No rules enforced which meant it was quite noisy at times and some very unruly children. Wardens are on site but they did not/would not deal with this. No staff presence at all.

2. Poor booking system - it took several calls to get the ferry crossings right, we were allocated pitches at the other end of the site from the others in our party.

3. Showers not that clean, esp. Given that the site was full, they weren't cleaned very well/often.

4. The bins were overflowing and with the heat the smell was very bad.

5. The rubble roads are a nightmare to walk on.

6. Some very small pitches - double check before you book!

8. Swimming pool looked very tired and outdated. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 7 day holiday at this site, not the best place I've been, but then again, not the worst.

We booked with friends some 8 months ago, a few weeks ago we were asked did we want to upgrade to a 'Super' pitch for 35.00, this we did. Unfortunately, if the pitch we got was a superpitch they have a lot to learn.

When we arrived at reception we were greeted by a very unkept lady, not a good first impression but give her her due the booking in process was quick. We were shown to our pitches which were turn right at the reception and ours were the last two on the right, certainly not superpitches as stated, getting onto them was an ordeal in itself the road was so dusty and hilly and our friends have a twin axle, eventually we managed it.

The pitches are large though. The site was quiet at night no rowdy teenagers etc. We didn't use the shower facilities as 5 showers in the ladies for the whole site seemed ridiculous wasn't prepared to queue for ages to use them so used our own facilities. There was 10 female toilets also, which were ok but nothing special, very basic really.

We had a Sunday lunch in the Nab bar which was adequate but nothing to write home about. The outdoor swimming pool was supervised very well indeed, no pass, no entry. Can't comment on the indoor pool as we didn't use it. The entertainment for both adults and children in the Culver Club, again was ok, but nothing special. The shop was extortionate, would advise to give it a wide berth.

Out and about, we had a meal in the Propeller Inn which you can see from the site, that was very nice and also we visited the old Village Inn in Bembridge which was lovely. There is also a Co-op in the village with a cash machine. There is a Morrison's a couple of miles away with a petrol station.

All in all, I would go back to the Isle of Wight, but not to this site, not until they start giving value for money. As my husband said, everything seemed to be done as cheaply and basic as possible and the staff, especially the women, need to tidy themselves up a bit, not a good impression of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DJ32 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this site after a weeks touring holiday. The site is very tired looking and everywhere needs a good overhaul. The entrance for tourers is not made clear and this can make life difficult if you head into the statics with a big van in tow.The access to the beach is a long walk from the touring site and is a steep descent when you get there, not useful for disabled people.

Shop has basics but expensive.

Club has good range of drinks and food availability, however it was very expensive, we paid 9 for a glass of wine, pint of beer and diet coke. A small portion of chips was 1.45.

The outdoor pool was filthy, it looked like it had not been cleaned after the winter, we took one look and walked away. The surrounding area is georgous and the site is in a prime position for sundown, ryde and shanklin. We took cycles but the roads around the nearby countryside were lethal, everyone seemed to speed which made it dangerous. ( no fault of the camps)

The touring fields were poorly laid out and people seemed to set up where they like. The ground wad very uneven and levellers are a must. The wardens seemed polite enough but did not seem to want to go out of their way to help you.

The toilet and shower blocks in the bottom touring field were constantly filthy and always out of loo paper. I never once saw the cleaner mop the floor, the weather was excellent whilst we were there so I dread to imagine what they would be like if the weather was bad. The window which was between 2 showers broke early in the week, this was not mended during our stay and therefore rendered 2 showers unusable, this proved difficult and made for long queues. I showered at about 3pm when I could as this time was not so busy. This is ok if you are back from your day out of course.

The ferry was arranged as a package with the site, this proved to be a big headache. Our ferry times were changed 3 times. Some fellow campers were given ferry times of 6.30pm when required to vacate their pitch at 11am. This is not useful when towing a caravan. Others had return ferry times of 7.15am.

The propeller inn down the road serves great food and reasonably priced. Wednesday is curry night, choice of 3 curries for 6.50 each. 5 mins walk from the bottom camp field.

Overall, we were not impressed with this site, it really does need some TLC. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Robpristine 1 review from this member

 Ok where do I start, this is my first time reviewing a site.

We booked the site in february, we were holidaying with some friends who had booked the glamping bell tents, a week before departure the site contacted our friends to tell them that they had double booked and that they had double booked and that there wasn't a bell tent available. The site offered them a free camping pitch so we took along our spare tent for them, we were told we would have pitches next to each other so we were looking forward to our trip.

After a long drive we arrived on site to be told that we were not next to each other, we were in fact in totally different fields. We were very upset by this as the whole point of the holiday was sharing the experience with our friends and our kids being able to play together. Eventually they found our friends a pitch in the same field, without the electric hook up we had paid for. It was a complete nightmare.

The site itself was also a bit of a let down, it looks very tired. It needs some money spent on it. The pool is dirty, the toilets were cleaned on a regular basis but they need more staff as the poor old lady couldn't keep up with the amount of cleaning that is required. She was actually cleaning the men's urinals once while people were trying to have a pee.

Our friends were lucky enough to have been offered a free holiday next year due to all the problems we had. I don't think we will be joining them.

The isle of white is beautiful and we will visit again but we will stay somewhere else. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MYXh6UaS1otT0S 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second time I have visited last time was 4 years ago in a tent.

The site does look a bit dated. It could do with better levelling and roads updating. It needs a dog walking area and if its got one it needs enforced not just walking them everywhere. The water points suffered from poor water pressure one tap on and the rest didn't work. It would also be nice if the facilities on camp stuck to the published timings (pool, shop, entertainment).

The small shop on the touring site is shut at the minute as it is getting updated. There is also building work going on at the minute on the touring side.

The shop has a good stock of the essentials and the staff are polite. There is a nice little pool with a slide. Kids need to be over 1.1M and there is a baby paddling pool. Staff at both receptions are very helpful. The entertainment in the evening is good for the kids and the bar is good and well stocked. There is also a small soft play area next to the pool for the kids.

The nab bar serves good food all day and drinks it has a small putting green outside and a play area for the kids. The bar also has an outside area where you can sit and watch the kids play. There is a outside pool next to the bar but it was under maintenance when we where there. There is also two small cafes down at the beach the resort one was closed but the other was open. There are no toilets at the beach and it is a steep walk to the beach.

Bembridge is only 1.5 Miles away where there is a coop shop with a cash point. Sandown is 5 miles away where there is the Zoo and dinosaur isle and a lot more.

There is also a small take away shop next to the entertainment block which opens in the evening and is reasonably priced and food is good. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Becall 12 reviews from this member

 We actually stayed in a chalet which was a bit old and tired looking inside, but it was ok for a weekend away, although it rained a lot and the wind blew and rain did come in the front door, we coped. We did not use the site facilities so cannot comment on them.

We loved the area with Bembridge runway in clear view, culver down is great with views all round the area. Bembridge had a co-op and various other little shops.

We saw all of the Island driving around the coast and we loved it.

In all we would return to Whitecliff, it is an old site one of the oldest on the Island but is has a charm of it's own because of this. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa hodgkinson 2 reviews from this member

 I was pretty worried when I booked this site for our summer holiday back in April as once I'd booked I'd then gone on to read the reviews, i can say that they weren't good and I was a little concerned.

We decided to go anyway and see for ourselves. I'm so glad we did. It wasn't the perfect holiday as weather the first week wasn't good and my son managed to break his arm on the first night there but these I can't blame on the site.

The pitch we had was spacious, we weren't all crammed in. They didn't seem over busy but there was a steady turnover through out the 12 nights we were there.

There was a new play area, it didn't seem to have a lot there but my 6 year old seemed happy with it.

There were 2 shower and toilet blocks near us and they both seemed clean enough,they were cleaned every morning as witnessed but as weather was bad they did get dirty floors quite quickly (you would need to be cleaning them constantly to keep them really clean)

The showers were lovely and warm and toilet paper always available.So what more do you want. There were plenty of sinks available for washing up,also washing machines and tumble dryers.The staff were there if you needed them otherwise they left you alone, they were very helpful when we wanted to extend our stay and sorted out our ferry crossing too.

We went to the culver club every night as our daughter loved the children's entertainment. As adults we enjoyed The Nab bar, staff were friendly and the food was good and it had a nice relaxing atmosphere.

The indoor swimming pool was good enough, we never used the outside one. It is all a little dated and could do with a good refurb through out the whole site, but I think they are trying to improve it all slowly, so it'll be interesting next time we go to see how it's improved.

The site is close to bus stops if needed. Great positioning for Ryde and Sandown and the little villages inbetween. About half hour away from the centre town of Newport (which should be avoided at peak times, can get quite snarled up).

All in all a great holiday,wasn't disappointed with the site and would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frankiedog 14 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because of the facilities it had to offer - mainly for the children. This was sold to us with glossy advertising at the NEC show. It was not a cheap holiday. Sadly the touring site did not live up to expectation.

First of all the directions given from the site from Fishbourne are not suitable for towing a caravan, My sister with their caravan followed the instructions through some really tight roads and had some scary moments, luckily we missed the turning and went a longer (but slightly more suitable route)

On approach to the site it is not very clear that the camping site is the 2nd left behind the bend so we ended up driving up to the statics (another tight moment with the caravan in tow!)

Check in area would be tight if more than about 2 vans were to arrive at one time unless you drove on the grass. The lady that checked us in was pleasant and directed us to our pitch where my sister and her family were already setting up.

As far as our pitch is concerned, all I can say is thank goodness we have a motormover as the access grass track was very narrow so there is no way my husband could reverse park the van, we had to pass next doors caravan and car (parked on the pitch boundary) negotiate the lamp post, whilst avoiding the large bank in front of us (hence the reason my husband could not reverse park), and the pitched dropped backwards !

Our caravan was chocked up so much at the back I could almost walk under it! The pitch was the smallest caravan pitch I have ever stayed on, by the time our awning was up, the car parked, there was no more outside space around to sit out.

It drove me mad all week with people squeezing through our pitch as a shortcut to the toilets / shop etc. My sisters pitch was slightly bigger so we took chairs around there when the weather was fit.

We were unlucky with the weather (not sites fault!) but the whole idea of relaxing whilst the children went off to enjoy the entertainment went out the window when it was noted that the road that had to be crossed to the main site was dangerous as it is on a bend and traffic flew down very fast.

My brother in law took them swimming a couple of times, and that was the total use to us of children's facilities. We all went one evening to the club, the entertainment was ok, however we thought the drinks were expensive.

I understand we were there at a very busy time(Aug bank hol), however both my husband and I could not face the showers on site, they had standing muddy water in the small cubicals, and just looked dirty, yet again we (and my sisters family) did not use the facility that we had paid for and showered in our caravan.

Security was somewhat erratic, mostly there was not much sign of any, then one night (again Sat) we were told if we did not have passes with us we would be refused entry back in!I

If you do not have children you might find it a bit much with all the ball games etc so close to the caravans as there is only a small playpark on site.

Whitecliff Bay is in a excellent location for exploring the Island. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sbkelly 5 reviews from this member

 We had fantastic weather during the 1st week of June which made everything right.

The site was clean, well organised and not over-regulated. By that I just mean relaxed and laid back.

The staff were friendly and helpful if you needed their help and left you alone if you didn't.

The facilities in the shower / toilet / washing block area were more than adequate and were also clean and tidy.

My one and only criticism of the site is that if your pitch is right up the top of the terraced field, (which has wonderful views down over and across the airfield etc), then it is quite some trek to the toilets, particularly during the night.

Other than that we found the week's visit a memorable one, with Ryde, Ventnor and Newport all within easy reach and Yaverland providing a quiet, easily accessible and clean beach. The access to the beach at the rear of the site is difficult.

We will definitely visit again next year. The ferry inclusive deals are real value for money. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


26870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement