Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cartmel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Cartmel Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cartmel Park
Wells House Farm
Cartmel
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Touring Closed From 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennyg 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in beautiful surroundings almost in the centre of Cartmel village. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet site, like us!

The facilities are great, with plenty of toilets, showers and two sinks for washing up, and the site itself is immaculate. There are two fields, both flat, and well hidden from the static caravan field.

The village children's playground is next to the gated entrance to the site, and is secure and great to keep the little ones entertained, especially as the adjoining field has sheep in it!

You can walk into the village centre within minutes, and there are four lovely pubs. We tried the Cavendish Arms and the Royal Oak, both very child friendly, even into the evening, and the latter served fab food!

We had a wonderful stay, and will definitely return again! 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pat ward 1 review from this member

 Only one problem with this site that is finding it, so one tip find the spar shop in Cartmel and ask for directions, once there you have arrived at utopia. The owners are proud of the site they are welcoming and very helpful, the site is spotlessly clean and quiet, the shower blocks are superb, the site is very sheltered and reasonably level with a limited amount of electric hook ups. Cartmel itself is only 5 mins walk away with 4 very friendly pubs and a selection of gift shops. My husband and I have just celebrated ou 60th birthdays what a way to start camping again, this season may be coming to an end but having found this site the spring of 2009 cannot come quickly enough as we will spend at least 3 weeks here next year. Finally one massive thanks to the owners for creating and maintaining this superb site, as for marks out of 10 we have got to give it 10+ 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim01298 5 reviews from this member

 Return visit to this lovely site, owners very helpful and friendly, even lending us a towel when we arrived on our motorbikes in the pouring rain. The rain was torrential but the fields drain very well. Everything kept clean and tidy, a fantastic site, 5 mins walk from shops, excellent pubs, footpaths and there is a childrens play area just off site.

Will return next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wmjp 3 reviews from this member

 This was not our first visit to this wonderful site. We had advised the owners that we would be arriving early on the Friday which was not a problem to them, simply advising us to avoid pitching near the hook ups which are available for those who need their creature comforts.
Good start to the weekend. We use the site as a base to go walking. On this occasion it was to walk up Dow Crag near Coniston. The facilites on the site whilst not large are absolutely spotless. There are two showers in the Gents. Both owners deserve praise for their efforts in maintaining a high standard of cleanliness in both toilet blocks which cannot be easy in the busy summer months. Showers are free (which is rare nowadays).
All the grassed areas within the site are well maintained. We don't believe that there is a single bad pitch on this site. The location of the site in the picturesque village of Cartmel is a bonus. You have a choice of four hostelries from which to choose. A visit to the Old Post Office before leaving on the Sunday is an absolute must to stock up Sticky Toffee pudding. We look forward to returning to the site very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry+John 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first attempt at tenting and after having such a great time we will definitely be doing it again.
The campsite is made up of three fields, first one for the statics, and the next two were for tents.
Met the friendly owner on arrival and she told us to take our pick of the tent plots. Even though 'he who does the driving' decided that the best place to pitch would be the furthest corner in the top field, it wasn't really that far back to the loos.

Plenty of ladies toilets and wash basins, and even though there's only two showers, they were immaculate and free and I didnt have to queue once. Hair drier costs 20p but it lasted for ages. Hubby said the fella's were alright too. Tidy outside washing area with 2 sinks, and handy tap points.

Plenty of well behaved dogs on site, which are allowed in at least 2 of the pubs in the town. They may be allowed in the others but we didn't see any in the other 2 pubs or the posh wine bar. Sadly the Indian restaurant which I had promised hubby is no longer there. Prefered the food in the Royal Oak, you got more for your money, all three pubs we tried charged between £4 & £5 for a pint of lager and half a cider. Town is 5 mins walk from campsite, plenty of little shops to buy gifts from and a Spar not too far away too. Went to Muncaster Castle while we were there, about 45 mins away in Ravenglass-£10 per adult gives you access to the spacious grounds, castle and the best 'Owl Ark' ever! Well worth the money. Cafes(£15 for two burgers, chips and salad-big platefulls too)and gift shops on site and a plant shop too.

Despite raining all through Friday night, the field drained well and there was no need for my wellies! Had a great time and would recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tyson1960 11 reviews from this member

 Just experienced our first ever night under canvas on a very quiet and clean site. Weather not the best with heavy rain, but all in all a very nice site with good clean shower block and toilets. Very close to village centre and there is a path leading from the entrance gates into village which skirts away from the main road.
We had been recommended this site by some friends and they were right it's a little gem.
We tried the Kings Arms in the village for our evening meal, and would strongly recommend the Cod and Chips. All of the pubs allow well behaved dogs in them.  


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dundeebob 1 review from this member

 Just back from a wet and windy week here. The campsite is very quiet and peaceful (the Priory clock chimes the hours day and night !) and well maintained. 2 large fields (quite flat) sheltered by trees and hedges - a few of the pitches have power hookups. The toilet block is clean with plenty of hot water. A slight criticism is that there are only 2 showers in each block. This was not a problem for us as the site was quiet but it may be an issue if the site was busier. The couple running the site where pleasant and helpful - the gentleman helped jump start my car after I managed to flatten the battery.
Cartmel village is very pretty and only a couple of minutes walk away. There is a Spar convenience supermarket, 4 pubs all serving food and both an Indian and a French restaurant. I thought the pubs were a bit pricey for food (I'm a tight Scotsman) and the Commodore in nearby Grange-over-Sands was better value.
The area is close to the lakes - Bowness on Windermere is about 45mins away by car. Nearby Holker Hall is well worth a visit - about 5 mins drive or a very pleasant walk of about half an hour.
There is not much for children either on the site or in the village. The small playpark might keep the little ones occupied for a while but that's about it.
This is a nice quiet site and I would recommend it as a base for the South Lake District and area but not sure if you have children with you. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkjanesam 5 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on the last weekend in May.

Very nice site, very quiet though so if you're looking for a lively site then go somewhere else!

The toilets were kept very clean and there was more than enough hot water for showers and washing up.

The owner did come round on the first evening to make sure we were alright. She was very pleasant and stopped for a quick natter. From the conversations I had with her I got the impression that she liked a nice quiet site and was not too keen on too many children or groups going together.

There is a small play area for children just outside the campsite but as it is off site then I would not let small children go unaccompanied.

There is also a Spar shop at the end of the lane but be warned it does close at 8.30, so if you're going to run out of something make sure you do it before then!

All in all, a nice quiet site, ideal as a base for a trips around the South Lakes. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davycon 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weeks stay at this site. The shower blocks are immaculately clean with free hot water. The site comprises of well kept fields surrounded by hedges with beautiful views of woods and meadows. Cartmel priory overlooks the site, completing an idealistic setting.
We found the Lady and gentleman who run the site to be friendly and welcoming without being intrusive.

The village has three pubs all serving excellent beer and food. There is a beck with ducks galore to keep Little ones entertained. The priory is a magnificent piece of architecture, very well maintained inside and out. It is one of those rare places which fill you with a feeling of it's history, possibly because of the amount of descriptive writings within the building and on the grave stones out side.

We took our teenage daughter and her Friend. (Kevin & Perry) They found plenty to do in the area to keep them almost out of mischief.
Cartmel itself is a great base for exploring. With lots of places of interest within easy reach.

I am sure we will return many times in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tee1 13 reviews from this member

 I agree with the previous post. The site was very well maintained and it was obvious that the owners take a lot of time and effort to keep it that way. I also agree on the comment about the actual signs to the site, the private sign was a little confusing. We had a lovely peaceful stay here but I don't know that I would recommend anyone to stay here if they have older children. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020