Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alanawayfromhome 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Seal Shore on the second half of our holiday on Arran.

It is truly a great site in a fantastic rural location, the sunsets over Pladda with Ailsa Craig in the background had to be seen to be believed.

Site is well looked after with good facilities and lots of hot water for the showers. Owner was welcoming and friendly.

Although it was busy when we were there it was very peaceful and quite laid back - and once again these views.

Client group was a good mix of tents, caravans, campervans and motorhomes. Some of the folk we spoke to are regular visitors coming back every year.

We had a hard standing pitch with ECU and the price was on a par with most other sites we've stayed on, including some club sites so in our opinion it represents good value especially given its stunning location (did I mention the views?).

We weren't bothered by midges at all in total contrast to the north end so the midge net and skin so soft were fortunately redundant.

The beach, especially with the tide out is superb dog walking territory.

One of the highlights was watching a family of otters swimming just off shore.

Constructive criticism - very minor - but it could do with a sign visible to folk coming from the North of the island.

Arran is a beautiful island and the Seal Shore site complements it brilliantly. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MicknSho 2 reviews from this member

 First of all, this is a fantastic site, situation wise. Although if you're in a motorhome, or even worse, towing a caravan, be aware the roads are not the easiest to navigate!

Do-able, but be careful.

It is set back from a 'beach' with a direct view over to Ailsa Craig and Pladda lighthouse. We've put beach in inverted commas due to the nearest bit being rocky.

To the left after a few yards however, there is a lovely sandy area, good enough for those with children to build sandcastles, and those without to lay or sit and relax comfortably.

To the right, past the nearby hotel, there is a long stretch of shoreline which lasts the whole village length; this is part rocks, part pebbles, and part sand - the areas of sand are more than adequate to do as previously stated.

Both directions are good for dog-walking.

The site itself;- is on a slight slope, downwards from the back to the shore. It didn't affect us, being in a tent, but we're aware caravan and camper vans need to be level so this is something you need to be made aware of. It is only a slight slope, unnoticeable by human eye, but enough to affect the gas and water levels in a van.

We stayed on pitch 7, alongside parents in a motorhome on pitch 8. These are both electric hook-up pitches and we would thoroughly recommend these as they are the furthest forward of the bigger pitches, with the best view. The only thing you are likely to get in front of you on these are the one/two man tents, whereas everywhere else you will have other tents/vans or folk walking in front of you en route to the showers etc. Not necessarily a problem, but we're trying to give you a full review with options.

There is a noise curfew at 10pm, which we enjoyed.

The facilities;- I (the husband) found them more than adequate. My wife found them a little dated. But the toilets and showers do exactly what they are designed to do. They are cleaned daily and the showers had constant hot water.

One 'fault' we did find was the washing up facilities (two sinks) are situated directly in the middle of the gents and ladies' facilities. That is, in the same block, in the doorway. So sometimes you are trying to wash up whilst folk are going past you in both directions, either on their way to or having done their business, whatever that may be.

There is a washing machine, charged (quite steeply we thought, but more on charges later) at 3 per wash. It takes an hour to finish the cycle, and there is only one - so if you're there at peak times and most folk are long stayers, this could cause a queue. Again, not a major problem, but needs pointing out.

There are supply facilities in the check-in reception area - stocked enough to keep you going 'til you get to the bigger shops.

There is also a day room with TV. Good if you're with kids and it's raining. Or to keep away from the midges (which, despite another review, ARE about in abundance with the right weather conditions)

Charges:- very expensive in our view. Comparing it to our favourite site in Norfolk, this is double the cost - and although the view is fantastic, it's not worth double the price!

The tariff structure is confusing, and not only for us!(we're convinced we got charged more than we should have)

Everything seems to be charged extra here (i. E. , nothing is 'inclusive')

If you're used to expensive sites, then that's fine - but if you like a cheap holiday, this may not be for you.

Management;- from what we made out, this is run by father and daughter. We found the daughter friendly, the father not so.

We are aware the owner has raving reviews by others but we can only review as we found. Maybe we caught him on a bad week. He appeared quite grumpy and unapproachable to us.

Out and about; we didn't use the next door hotel (due to bad reviews!) but it does have a great situation and a what looks a lovely conservatory and patio area.

We can highly recommend The Lagg Hotel for food - guaranteed non-disappointment! This is in Kilmory, around twenty minutes away by car, and 24 return in a taxi.

Ten minutes (in a car) in the other direction is Whiting Bay, and ten further on from there is Lamlash. Another 10 brings you to Brodick. The first two are small seaside villages, with smaller shops, tea shops and crafty gift shops.

With Brodick you get the feel of a typical seaside harbour town (in a nice way. It has two co-op stores and lots of little gift type shops as well as the visitor centres.

The island is cycled around in a day, and driven around in a couple of hours - although you'll need longer to stop at all the bits worth stopping at!

All in all, we love Arran, and more importantly, Seal Shore. We enjoyed our week there, and would go back at some point in the future.

And if you can put up with the little gripes we've mentioned, you'll love it too! 
Management response: Dear MicknSho,

Thankyou for your review in relation to your stay at our site in June 2014. In response, I would like to kindly address the various observations that you made as follows:

You refer to the 'beach' in inverted commas - The beach is at the mercy of mother nature, and like the shore lines of any beach, does alter at times due to the tides.

In relation to the washing up facilities - there are indeed two sinks between the gents and ladies facilities, but there are also two further sinks located in the laundry area.

Also housed within the laundry area, is the washing machine that you mention in your review. The machine, like any other, has several wash cycles to choose from. Customers are advised on using the machine, that there is a family wash cycle that takes 29 minutes to complete. The charge of 3 for a wash has not changed in the last 5 years.

On the stillest of days, with a bit of damp, you will get some midges. Luckily, as the campsite is located next to the beach, the sea breeze will normally keep them away. Midges love low trees and running water, and thank goodness we do not have either of these!

You mention the tariff structure within your review. I would like to point out that you were actually under charged by 18 during your stay. All tariff prices are clearly displayed on our web site. There is no charge for showers, use of the fridges, freezers, microwave, kettle, ice packs, phone charging, battery charging or work shop tools.

In relation to my being grumpy - I am sorry if I came across as this to you, we certainly all go out of our way to make sure that your stay with us is enjoyable and that you find us approachable and friendly. I quite like being called grumpy, as at least I am not a Victor Meldrew!

Kind Regards,

The Grumpy Old Man!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenb89 1 review from this member

 I've never come across a campsite with such a great location as seal shore. It's superbly located at the south end of the isle of arran, sitting on the waters edge. The locals tell me it's the only campsite in arran that doesn't have midges !

The facilities are more than I expected. Clean, hot showers, plenty of toilets and there's a day room to get away from your tent!

Now this brings me to the owner, he was an absolute gentleman. Sometimes in life you can be so lucky as to meet someone as wonderful as him. If you don't stay here for its great location and facilities, stay here because the owner independently spends the entire off season building up a village in Africa as and when finances are available. I thanked him when I was there but there's not enough space in this comments section to pass on my utter admiration and gratitude. You're a wonderful man, thank you for everything you do and I just feel so blessed to have met you. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Honest Al 3 reviews from this member

 Amazing campsite with totally amazing views and beach access, good size pitches and easy access, however.

The Toilet block left a lot to be desired to say the very least. In the 3 days we stayed there they were not cleaned , the men's block was particularly bad, the urinal either had a leak or was just left to overflow, either way no one bothered to clean up the urine that flowed across the floor making it impossible to use any of the other toilet cubicles without walking through urine. :(

The smell was that bad that it was not nice to even use the sinks to wash. The smell passed into the pot washing area and into the ladies wash area.

We felt the attitude was one of because of the views and lack of campsite competition in the area standards were allowed to become very slack which is quite sad as besides this seal shore is an amazing site.

The site really needs a good clean and by that it could do with a DEEP clean and keeping on top of. Such a shame. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnmidwales 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Seal Shore camping for a long weekend, we had a wonderful time and experience being our first time staying on the Isle of Arran. We were right on the water with a beautiful view, the small coastal road across a field was hardly used, and at night it was very quite and peaceful.

The camp site has a small shop on site which sells a variety of items and the management were more than happy to get an item for you if it was not in stock. The toilet block was clean with separate male and female showers which were cleaned every day we where there including Sunday. The utility block also provided a separate area for washing up which was more than adequate to meet our needs. There was also a separate refrigeration room for guests without electricity to keep perishables cold.

There where plenty of small BBQs available although on the Sunday the Management and staff put on a great charity BBQ for everyone who was staying.

All in all a great place with a friendly helpful atmosphere providing outstanding views of the Arran coast and easy access to the rest of the island. When we return to Arran then we will definitely stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pat Kalbasa 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 6 nights at the Seal Shore campsite in Arran.

The facilities on this site are first class, a very well stocked camp site shop, which is run by a very pleasant lady. The showers are excellent with a constant supply of hot water, toilet blocks are cleaned throughout the day and are always immaculate. BBQ trays are available at no cost.

Whilst we were staying there a charity fund raising BBQ was held, the food served was wonderful, most of the campers on the site participated in the event and had a wonderfully enjoyable afternoon.

We have already made my reservation for 2014 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Beach bod 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights, fantastic location, with great views and easy access to the beach. Weather was poor but we still enjoyed beach walks from which we observed the wildlife- otters and seals, good birdlife and wildflowers.

Down points, the site appeared tired and neglected the toilet and shower blocks were not that clean, and the smell from the male toilets infiltrated the whole block and this included the very minimal two washing up sink area. You were invited to use the very dirty worn out mop to mop out the shower after you had used it, something I was not enticed to do during my stay.

The Kildonan Hotel a short distance from site offered a friendly service and good food.

Would only visit again due to the location. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2011cvjc 2 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say what a fantastic site !

The owners are so welcoming and helpful.

They even took my son and myself out sea fishing this year which was an experience we will never forget ! Amazing !

They sells the lobster & crab on the site and mackerel is free for a small donation to the Gambian charity fund. And very cheap !

The beach is lovely with beautiful clear water and fires are allowed on the beach this year we roasted marshmallows which the children loved.

There are beautiful walks within easy access of the site and a good bus service available.

The site is spotless. Plenty of hot water, microwave, fridge freezer & washing facilities.

Charging is available at the office for a small donation to their charity fund, which is to help build schools for young children in The Gambia were Maurice goes out each winter.

The site and beach is really safe for children my son age 7 made so many friends and we didn't see him most days as he was exploring the beach.

We have already booked for next year and can't wait to return to such a special place !

I have no negatives about seal shore just a magical place with amazing hospitality !

We have already booked to return next year :) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wendy Rose Cubie 2 reviews from this member

 An absolute gem of a campsite! When we were driving down to Seal Shore we saw the view and both said 'hope it's down there' as it looked stunning. OK so we arrived when the sun was shining which always makes a good site look even better!

Really friendly reception and shown to our allocated pitch (hard standing for the wheels) with well cut grass either side of our pitch. The view looking out at Pladda lighthouse and the sea was just beautiful. The toilets and showers were always clean. We preferred the separate showers which were at the side of the reception/shop although there was no difference in the quality of the facilities. The water was always hot (the temperature could be regulated in each shower).

We did not need to use the shop so did not browse but it appeared to be well stocked. I thought it was a lovely touch that the site offered to charge mobile phones, IPads etc in exchange for a modest donation to their chosen charity.

We did use the Kildonan Hotel a couple of times and found the staff friendly and helpful when we were there.

We visited at the start of the Scottish holidays so there were quite a few children on site who all seemed to love it, particularly the beach. There were also several dog owners on site which did not cause any problems. (Just making this comment as we are now child free and currently do not have a dog)

There is a very regular bus service from just up the road from the site (we didn't use it) which makes other areas in Arran accesible for people who do not have their own transport or motorhomers like us who prefer not to unhook when on site.

Only two negative comments to make:

1) Mobile reception is only ok for Vodaphone (there's alway the pay phone if you really need to be in touch and if people urgently needed to contact you then they can leave a message with reception)

2)We didn't stay over the weekend so missed Maurice (the owner) going on his fishing trip and bringing back fresh mackerel, lobster and crab!

However that's just us knowing that we missed out!

Back to all the positive stuff. We have booked to go again next year and have made sure that we will be there over a weekend!

This site is highly recommended and our negative comments really are 'negligible'. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Patsyanne 1 review from this member

 I have camped on Arran once before and this site is certainly better. It is a small site so book in advance The site is well maintained and right on the shore. Toilets and showers were clean. Fridge freezer and microwave all available. Small shop on site.

Site only takes tents up to 6 berth if your planning a large gathering.

The view from the site is absolutely stunning overlooking the Pladda lighthouse.

The Hotel next door has nice child friendly bar and again lovely setting. Unfortunately food in the hotel was not great. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement