Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennine View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Pennine View Caravan Park Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angler43 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Pennine View for the first time this weekend. It is a small, friendly and extremely well kept site. The toilet block was splotlessly clean with ample facilities (two showers in both mens and the womens) with private washing facilites and piped music. A pleasant 10/15 minute stroll into Kirby Stephen where you will find everything you need. There is a pub within 100 yards of the site entrance where we had an excellent meal. We will definitely be visiting Pennine View again. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buttwilk 9 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at this site many times and have found it great. People that run it are really friendly and work hard. Showers and toilets are really clean and hot. We have made many friends since we first used it and will be using it for many years to come 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley + Steve 10 reviews from this member

 Nice site, basic facilities (toilets, showers- 2 in ladies) but kept really clean, hot water, nice hand soap, hair dryer 20p or plug your own in. Toilets heated with advantage of a radio playing. Nice big hardstanding pitches and a small tent field, small play area.

Quite a walk in Kirkby Stephen 10-15 mins partly down hill, but a lovely town with all you need. We had a Chinese take away from Panda Takeaway (we wont go there again).

We had a lovely ride on the train from Kirkby Stephen Station about a mile and half away, through to Skipton the scenery was lovely and well worth the £13.60 fare.

Beautiful area, lovely site, well worth another visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevexess 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site over August bank holiday, the site was very busy, full in fact. It is a very well kept site, good size pitches mostly hard standing, easy access onto and around the site.

Toilet block is a little dated but exceptionally well kept,plenty of room in the showers, hot water every time. Very clean.

The only thing in my opinion that lets this site down is the lack of facilities, there are just not enough showers, loos & washing up facilities for the number of pitches. If this site were on the continent it would be a 1 star, as a couple of washing up sinks & a couple of showers means a lot of queueing at busy times.

Great pub just opposite the entrance to the site, 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony allen 3 reviews from this member

 This site is very tidy ,well laid out. It is about 3/4 mile outside Kirkby Stephen and has a pub 100 yds away! The owners were very helpful and the pitches are flat and a good size. The showers are great, not new, but pressurised hot water, not electric.
The site is quiet and is sheltered as it is in an old railway yard suurounded by trees. 
I would recommend this site and it is in a good central position for the Lakes / Northumberland. Kirkby Stephen has a few pubs, a few cafes, a couple of bistro-type restaurants (The Mulberry Bush does a good feed and is owned by a nice bloke!) There are a few antique shops and an unusual shop called the Church Gallery, on two floors, which sells everything: art, postcards, ceramics and is well worth a visit.  ENJOY! 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Riverdene53 6 reviews from this member

 July 2005
This site is excellent - it`s peaceful great for kids. Spotlessly clean 20mins from M6 Tebay services so great for touring Durham, Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. No noise after 10 owner on site so this is guaranteed. One of the best and not too commercial. Close to Kirby Stephen for food, pub over road from site, coast to coast chippy in town is fab 


Reviewer: Kilmory26 5 reviews from this member

 July 2005
We visited this site for a weekend in July. The site is small and clean with a mixture of hard standing, grass or half and half pitches - all of which are large.

We were placed opposite the tent field, which having been a tent owner up until this season, I personally would have been unhappy with. It was very full, the pitches are not clearly marked and this area is next to the road so more noise. The view from here is the caravan storage area.

The toilet block is fairly clean although the showers are in demand at busy times.

There are fabulous walks from the site. Although the site has no dog walk, don't let this put you off. There are several lovely walks with dog bins directly from the site. The views are great and there is even a stream with mini water falls for them to swim in. Take your walking shoes if you intend to explore, as some of the walks are a little more adventurous.

There is no shop on site but the village is walking distance away. It was very hot when we went and there were many flies. Take the insect repellent!

Our stay was spoiled by inconsiderate others and we can't blame the site for that. If we were to go again, we would ask for a pitch to the left of reception, far away from the road and tent field. It was much quieter down that end - more what we were looking for.  


Reviewer: Riverdene53 6 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This is a first class site- owners are always very helpful. Level with some hardstanding. Great route from M6. Toilets spotless, showers heated. Kirby Stephen is only a short walk. A beautiful part of Cumbria - the lLkes and Yorkshire dales are only a short drive away  


Reviewer: Sandmartin 5 reviews from this member

 August 2004
We visited this site on our first trip out touring, just hope its not spoiled us for other sites, it is a really nice, well kept very friendly and helpful owners. Washroom, showers are free and immaculate with piped music and heated.
Beautiful surrounding areas to visit walking or driving. Go you wont be dissapointed. 


Reviewer: Tony.cliff 12 reviews from this member

 August 2004
This is a pleasant, well run site close enough to the local ameneties for most people to walk. There are several walks from the site with spectacular views and on fairly easy terrain. Believe it or not there are several parrots... yes parrots that fly over the site and can be seen daily. It is a site where lots of people return time and again. Toilet and shower blocks are clean and well maintained. A good pub is very close to the site entrance. You would be well advised to book as it is a very popular place. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennine View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennine View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennine View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4535 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement