Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bungle Bear72 10 reviews from this member

Last camping trip of the year so decided on the Yorkshire coast and what a lovely site. Can imagine it gets busy in the summer months so book early if you want an EHU pitch. There are plenty of showers some with hand basins in them as well so you don't have to waste time queuing to clean your teeth, loads of toilets and also wash hand basins. Their are a few separate cubicles with shaving sockets for the gents also. Can't comment on the ladies but in the same building so I imagine they are the same without the shaving cubicles. 2 family bathrooms and a good size laundry room are also accommodated for in the same building.

A decent sized play area for kids, and the views from the site are amazing.

A good on site shop although stocks were being run down for closed season, selling everything that you would need whilst camping including daily papers.

The surrounding area has plenty to offer also with Scarborough being only a 10 minute drive away and Filey 5. Both having supermarkets in them. The Moors are a stones throw also.

Saw the afore mentioned foxes but then you would expect that where there are people and food.

All in all an excellent stay.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sally Dave + Katie 5 reviews from this member

Splendid camp site with wonderful amenities. Lovely pool, clean, modern shower block, well stocked shop, fish n chip shop (fish was superb, thick white flakes and excellent batter) and all services to the pitch. Bus stop outside camp site to Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington. Access to coast path for a lovely walk to Filey or Scarborough. Good to not be inundated with 6 pages of rules as is the case with lots of sites these days. My only critique is my own preference for fully enclosed loos and showers

We have two dogs and no kids but there were plenty of large open spaces for kids and a large dog walking field

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leesdna 4 reviews from this member

This is by far the very best campsite I have ever been on right from the friendly helpful staff to the amazing views from the beautiful cliff top location. This site is perfect. We have stayed here several times over the last few years and this site is never a disappointment it has something to please everyone.

Crows nest has a lovely relaxing feel and the amenities are always spotlessly clean and very good they have thought of everything I love the little dressing rooms where we can have a wash and dress in privacy also the showers are well designed and there are hairdryers and electricity sockets available at no extra cost. The useful laundry area has washing machines and dryers, a seating area and a hot drinks machine and is reasonably priced. There is a fantastic fish and chip shop and a well stocked shop on site the pub is really good and has live music at a weekend. You are allowed to take dogs in the conservatory area where you can enjoy a drink with your dogs and still watch the entertainment. For the kiddies there is a lovely play area which my granddaughter enjoyed, also a swimming pool and small amusement area. The views from the cliff top are stunning. This site is very well looked after and has a really nice laid back feeling to it. I have visited other sites this year in Cornwall and crows nest is by far the best for me it really feels like coming home. We have just enjoyed a fantastic weekend camping at crows nest and cant wait to return. Thank you Crows Nest

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 25 reviews from this member

Back again after a brief 3 night trip in September 2012. This time staying for 5 nights.

Once again the site is not busy. This is definitely a site that is at its best out of season judging from the reviews submitted by folk who visited in July or August.

Toilet/showering block is almost always empty when I visit and is cleaned regularly. Some showers are temperamental, requiring you to push the button every 5-10 seconds. Most though require a button push every 30 seconds or so which is not a problem. Plenty of hot water and showers powerful. Decent space to hang clothes and place your wash bag etc.

Site typically breezy. A few people lost their tent in fairly strong breezes and gusts.

Most of the tent site slopes. The EHU pitches at run along the fence towards the cliff edge slope quite badly. Only one or two out of the 8-9 EHU pitches could be classed as flat. Ground quite bumpy as well due to previous campers pitching on wet muddy ground.

WIFI works well. Perhaps because its not peak season? It cuts out occasionally but as a general rule it's quite fast and reliable. We tried to buy it via PayPal but that didn't work properly. Best to buy it from the site reception.

Staff friendly and helpful but you're very much left alone. No hard rule book or endless signs everywhere.

Foxes. Word of advice, if you haven't got a SIG or ZIG then watch out! A couple of very tame and hungry foxes roam the tent area at night. They were jumping up on the sides of our tent and chewing at guylines. Also seemed to wake quite a few folk staying in tents without a SIG by trying to sneak in.

In all, very happy to have come back here. Filey is a nice wee town (the hardware shops Dixons - not the chain - seeks everything and is worth a visit for odds and sods useful for camping). Filey beach is huge, although there is a beach nearer to the site at Cayton Bay (steep hill down to it though). Scarborough 15 minutes away by car.

Site is quiet. Possible to hear distant tractors and some distant roads, but if you can hear these above the breeze then you're obviously listening very hard.

Good value too - 2 adults, 2 dogs, EHU, 2 cars, large tent 8m by 4m = £18 per night. Yes WIFi is a but pricey but if you add it on to your fees it would still only mean £22 per night which isn't bad.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petetina 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for 1week. We found the staff on reception very polite. They had no problem with me asking to change my allocated pitch to a different one, then for me to change my mind back to the original one. Women.

Toilets and showers were excellent, plenty of them available. And cleaned 2 or 3 times daily.

Free hair dryer and plug points in shower block. Lots of people charging mobile phones.

I would recommend a curtain on the 2 family room doors, witnessed a woman dressing in front of the door before she quickly realised she could be seen.

The shop was fully stocked and reasonably priced.

The bar was nice and tidy with friendly staff.

Chip shop was good and not too expensive.

Play area was great. Kids enjoyed it

Site was very clean.

Nice walk from the top of the site along the cliff tops.

I didn't use the swimming pool or the wifi, so can't really comment on them.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely go again

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wobbler24 6 reviews from this member

We (2 x Adults) Spent 2 nights on this park with our motorhome. Pitch was right next to the pub & shop which worried me a little, however there was no noise or disturbance. The only downside was we were also right next to the bin area and some visitors were recycling their glass bottles at 8am and the tractor was moving bins around early also. This apart, the site was full when we arrived (Bank Holiday Monday) and was spotless clean. The bar was ok and the shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. The toilets/Shower were also clean and tidy. You can get a bus from the bottom of the road into Scarborough/Filey with a good regular service. We played golf on the course joining the park but were a little disappointed that we had to walk right round to the neighbouring campsite to access this, Surely a small path through would be more logical for players? I would go back to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babs250 1 review from this member

When we arrived at the site check in was quick and easy. The chap on reception was friendly and helpful. We stayed on the serviced pitches during our 10 night stay, the pitches were great close to the toilet block which was excellent the cleaner was in at 2 o'clock in the morning when I had to go. Tv reception was great

The pool was good and at the £2. 00 a day and you could go back when you wanted in that day. The shop was well stocked and the prices were what you would expect to pay at any other holiday site, there is a tesco in filey and a Morrison's not to far away. We thought the prices in the bar were ok for 2 pints of lager 1pint of cider and 2 cokes. The takeaway were very nice and good value. It could do with a cafe or maybe start and do barmeals. All the staff at the site were very friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed to be a bother to them. The site does get busy on a weekend but that is to be expected at this time of year. The only concern we had was that the cars stuck to the speed limint of 10mph going past the statics but when they got to the dog walking field they speeded up it is an accident waiting to happen and some campers seemed to have a problem with understanding a one way system

We would definitely stay here again Thank you Crows Nest for a excellent holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NewbycamperTD 1 review from this member

Visited this site for two nights on our first solo family camping trip. As a reluctant camper with two small children I look for clean toilets and showers and a play area suitable. The toilet block was fine and there was two family rooms which looked ok. The play area was suitable for both my five year old and my two year old.

Pitched in the tent field up near the fence, unfortunately in quite windy conditions which prevailed throughout our stay. Further down towards the play area may have been better although our neighbour commented that it could be quite noisy down there late at night. Shop was fine and they helped change our gas cannister when it ran out although pricey. Bit of a walk to shop/reception/swimming for those with tents.

Used the pool one afternoon. Under three's are free but for one session £2 per person seems a but steep and no lockers, small changing room too.

Shop was well stocked -windbreaks were selling well! Reception staff a bit and miss- encountered one fairly friendly person but also a rather unfriendly person also.

On the site itself no traffic could be heard and close to both Scarborough and Filey.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petekay 1 review from this member

Pool was ok for price but there was only one shower and changing room which wasn't ideal. The chip shop was really nice, although there could have been a café to provide breakfast. The pub was great, the entertainment for kids was brilliant. This is the first camping trip as we usually go in a caravan. The site was very good value for money £58 for 4 adults and 2 children for two nights. The staff and site were very helpful and very child friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mzplcg 3 reviews from this member

OK, some good and some not so good.

Firstly this site is wonderfully located with some truly stunning sea views. Easy for Scarborough, Filey and other seaside towns like Bridlington.

Site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Site bar is nice enough and again, reasonably priced. There is a swimming pool which is not bad at £2 per person per day although it is a little tired looking and has only 2 changing rooms.

There is also a Fish & Chip shop on site which is just wonderful. The food is of a very high standard.

So, the actual facilities then. Statics are well maintained and tidy which is nice to see.

Dog walk is good for those with canine companions.

There are loads of tent pitching spots if camping is your thing. Lots of choice and roomy pitches.

The touring pitches are OK but nothing more than that, OK. We had a fully serviced pitch but separation and privacy are poor. Well below the standards required for the 2 main clubs. The water pressure is also very poor at peak times which is more than a little irritating.

Shower blocks are newish and in good condition, but there are just not enough of them. What is there would be fine if it didn't have to cope with quite so many campers. Even an hour after cleaning they are filthy again, not something I find appealing. The facts are that tents have no sanitation and require a lot more in terms of washblocks than caravans do. These simply cannot cope with the volume of people in peak season although it should be said that people don't have to make such a mess. I'm sure they wouldn't do the same at home.

The roads around the statics are tarmac but the rest are loose stone, something to be aware of if you walk with a stick etc.

There is Wi-Fi here but to be frank it's patchy at best and very slow at peak periods. And it's not cheap either at £20 per week PER DEVICE ! Yes, one token is limited to one device so if you've a smartphone and an IPAD you need 2 tokens. Utter robbery.

Would I return? Well yes, probably. Not in peak season though because the infrastructure (washblocks, drainage, fresh water supples etc) simply aren't up to what is being asked of them, and I'd buy a 3G dongle rather than pay for the wi-fi. Overall it's a fairly decent site but it's fairly clear that it is being overloaded at peak times.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5638 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019