Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arcticfox2096 3 reviews from this member

 Seeing as the last review of last year is mine, I thought I'd add the first of this years. I made a last minute decision to go away for the weekend but thought I'd give this place a try and see if any improvements had been made since my last visit.

Sadly, the toilets are just as bad if not worse than last year, I guess the long winter didn't help but a lick of paint wouldn't hurt. My one and only visit to the toilets found the floor of the cubicles wet, I can only hope it was water but this meant my boot laces got soaked. The water plus peoples muddy boots meant went and muddy laces, just by going to the toilet. I also don't really like sitting on a toilet with a gap in the door so people can see in. I ended up walking to the public toilets up the road at the car park after that.

At least there weren't as many loud people there this weekend, maybe still too cold for them. There were a few groups there but they were quite quiet and considerate so sleep wasn't an issue.

The price to stay here goes up by 50p per person and 50p per car from April. Not the camps fault but you cant even get a signal on o2 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arcticfox2096 3 reviews from this member

 I enjoy walking the Yorkshire 3 peaks and have stayed in this campsite on a number of occasions so my review isn't just about 1 bad or good experience. If you want to stay on a campsite near to the start of the 3 peaks walk, this seems to be the only choice. However, I now prefer to camp elsewhere and drive the 5 miles to the start, meaning I also have to drive back but this means going through Settle and the chip shop.

Anyway, people say that you only pay a few quid a night so you shouldn't really moan but other places cost the same and are far more pleasant.

If you are doing the 3 peaks, you really want a good night sleep but at the weekends this place seems to attract a lot of youths who are just there to have a BBQ, drink and generally be loud till all hours, which isn't really fair on others. The owner doesn't seem to interfere, maybe he wants to be 'one of the lads' or maybe he needs the money. This money should be used to demolish the toilet block and erect something a bit more modern.

Toilets are very basic and the floor always seems to be wet, I'm hoping it's water and there is only one shower, which costs you 1 to use. Bearing in mind how busy this site can get, it's a pain having to queue for a shower after a long walk. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: E2e-walker 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Holme Farm 1/9/10 en route from Lands End to John O'Groats. By this stage I had walked 771 miles in 2 months and experienced many of the highs and lows of camping in UK (I am from Melbourne).

Holme Farm was THE stand out experience for my entire 3. 5 month journey. Chris the owner was friendly and accommodating. When I walked in he sat me down in the incredible marquee and gave me a chunk of pie and a huge mug of tea. Later that evening his off-sider Barry fussed around drying my washing. In the morning Barry made toast and a mug of tea while I was packing my gear, then it was warm friendly farewells as I resumed my journey.

I read some reviews where people complained about the showers. This made me so cross I joined this website in order to write a reply.

The facilities are basic, but so is the price. I thought the entire camp ground was a treasure in its unique and beautiful setting.

Obviously those complaining are expert in sleeping under the stars (most likely 5 of them).

Keep up the good work Chris & co. Hope to stay with you again one day, thanks. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fat x squaddie 1 review from this member

 Stayed 2 nights at this campsite and apart from getting eaten alive by a few mozzies me and the 2 lads I was with had a great time, Chris the bloke who owns the site was spot on and couldn't help you enough, set off 6am to do the 3 peaks but found it hard going, the crown pub was a fine place to chill out later on. The campsite is basic but well maintained by the family and I shall defo be back next year. Well done to all concerned. By the way didn't manage to finish the 3 peaks as all my love of lager and kebabs finally took its toll. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonno66 1 review from this member

 I have visited this site twice whilst walking the Pennine Way and twice whilst walking the 3 Peaks and it has proved to be ALL I needed each time. Although the toilet block looks a little ropey it is always clean and functional and the shower is heaven at the end of a good days walk. If you crave a row of shower cubicles, laundry facilities, polished tiled floors and rows of pristine royal doulton then you will be disappointed. But you will never be wanting for a lovelier view, value for money or hospitality. Go midweek and this campsite is fantastic. Enjoy the 2 pubs and possibly the best walkers cafe in England (The Pen-y-Ghent cafe). I will, happily, be visiting again soon. Ignore the critisism Chris, keep up the good work; you are packpackers mecca. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbaggio 13 reviews from this member

 2 nights 20-22 Aug 2010.

Lovely area but was disappointed with the campsite. Not easy to find as there were no signs near the campsite

The showers and toilets were basic and smelly and for the size of the campsite needed more facilities. Showers were not free. There is a 1 charge to use the showers. Liquid soap is provided. Washing area is provided which was fine.

Separate parking for your car which meant trekking backwards and forwards to set up our tent. Never been on a campsite before where this has been the case.

Was also noisy at night so couldn't get much sleep.

Perfect location to start a walk to one of the 3 peaks. If you are in a car go on the Ingleton Trail. Fantastic scenic walk that will take approx 5 hours, but its well worth it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnyclaret1973 31 reviews from this member

 This is a busy site. However, you get what you pay for. Its at the heart of the Yorkshire dales, great for the start of the 3 peaks has pubs and a cafe nearby. The site itself is relatively flat all over. The shower / toilet block could do with an upgrade but that just adds to the character of the site! Generally people staying here are doing so for the 3 peaks so the noise usually stops around midnight as they get ready for the next days walk!

I would not hesitate in recommending this site. I will be going again soon. And, the owner, Chris, is a true gentleman. Enjoy 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Faultrated 1 review from this member

 Great place to stay! Basic but so is the price!

We had loads of choice where to pitch ours tents. While the suggested pitches are a little small our big tent covered two and wasn't a problem. Toilet block is a bit behind but did as required.

The friendly atmosphere was as but did wear a little thin at 4am in morning but to be fair by that time we'd seen off a bottle of JW.

Go but don't take children thinking there will be entertained. But adults wanting to be in middle of Yorkshire countryside it cannot be beat.

Take fly repellent for the morning!

For me 7.5 out of 10 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheffield_Chris 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome from the owner. Unfortunately, he has a penchant for playing cod folk and cod country music rather loudly throughout the day and unless you pitch in the furthest segment of the field, you will be subjected to this until late.

The owner and some mates were making a complete din around midnight stopping us from sleeping. On being asked if it would be possible to reduce the noise a little, the response from the owner and friends was a foul-mouthed tirade, followed by them continuing to shout very loudly about the audacity of someone to request that they be allowed to get to sleep. Which is not unreasonable given that this is the function of the place.

The toilets (housed in an unpleasant concrete shelter-type affair) were not particularly pleasant in the morning. While the owner did leave his party and wander over to them periodically, I could see no evidence of any cleaning being done. The toilet paper was quite nice though.

There was just a single drinking water tap that I could see. A handful of bins spread around the site were inadequate for the number of pitches and I spent some time picking up rubbish that had fallen out of them when they overflowed. Why I did this, given the attitude of the people in the marquee, I'm not entirely sure.

Had a 'no vacancies' sign up when there were clearly lots of empty pitches there. Signage generally comprised messages handwritten (with often appalling spelling) on trays and nailed to trees.

It is unfortunate that this is the only campsite in horton. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluearmy36 1 review from this member

 We stayed in this campsite for 2 nights to do the 3 peaks challenge. The first night we got very little sleep due to the noise made by other campers. The second night was slightly better.

This campsite would be fine for groups and families with older children but I would not recommend it for families with younger children and serious walkers.

The owner is polite but does not seem concerned about the noise made. The toilets are fairly grim but I've seen worse.

All in all,not a bad campsite but you cannot guarantee getting a full night's sleep. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59698 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement