Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Riverside Campsite Malham Cove > Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Majo 6 reviews from this member

 Really impressed with the site, and the owner(despite what I'd read elsewhere).

Owner was friendly and chatty, site was spotlessly clean and facilities were good. The site was quiet despite it being the Easter holidays.

Lots of wildlife around including male duck who 'adopted' us for the duration of our stay!

Idyllic location close to Malham Cove and several cafes and pubs within 5 mins walk. Cafe in village served great full English from 9. 30am and both pubs were family friendly.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wkijki 3 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site many times over the last 20 years just returned after weekend of sunshine. Tents only it has lovely views with a short 5 min walk to the pub. Small shop in the village but doesn't stock much. Cars are not allowed on one half of the field due to the stream. Recently refurbished toilets. Has pot wash area and showers. These are a bit pricey at 1 for 5/6 mins. No electric hook ups. Owners are friendly and down to earth. Lots of rules but this adds clarity to what's expected. Site is usually quiet though can get very busy in the summer/bankhols. Walks around the dales can be started and finished hear. Bus service available in the summer. If you want a basic camping experience in lovely surroundings this is a good choice. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hewitts55 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as part of our Way of the Roses cycle. (women and teenagers cycling - men and motorhomes providing accommodation and logistical support)

Misled into booking this site by its appearance on Way of the Roses Website. In fact not really very convenient for that being at least 5 awkward and difficult cycling and motorhome miles off the route.

Absolutely beautiful location v close to Malham Cove and Tarn. Well maintained and pretty camping field. Clean and comfortable loos

Unusual unisex showers which cannot be used after dark.

Outrageous charge for shower token (we were charged 1 for 6 mins)  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mardypunk 2 reviews from this member

 My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Riverside Campsite in Malham. The campsite is in a great location with beautiful views of Malham Cove and just a 10 minute stroll to the village. The toilet block at the campsite is much improved with new tiling, flooring, loos, sinks and a big mirror. The shower block looks a bit dated inside but the big shower cubicles with separate changing area were very practical and the shower was individually controlled so you could adjust the temperature. All the facilities were spotless at all times and there was always soap in the loos! Mrs Moon was lovely and Mr Moon is a no nonsense kind of man but very polite and friendly when you spoke to him. This is my 4th (and definitely best) visit to the campsite and I would certainly stay again and recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LOUIEB 5 reviews from this member

 Camped here for 2 days and all was well until we decided to light our BBQ and use wood, we were told by the farmer no fires allowed, we pointed out that we wanted to cook on the BBQ but he told us we weren't allowed.

We were not impressed with this because if we hadn't brought a gas stove we wouldn't have been able to cook our food and would have had to go to the village pub for food.

Nothing wrong with the village pub for food as it is nice but we came camping for the outdoor experience and because it is a budget getaway.

Anyway the campsite is close to village, a 5 min walk but can be noisy because it is still a working farm, apart from these 2 niggles the facilities are ok, a bit old fashioned but fine for a few days camping. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluedee 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 2 nights stay and was apprehensive about what to expect from some of the previous reviews. This was our first camping trip for the family consisting of 2 adults, 2 children (14 & 10) and our dog. We live 30 mins drive from Malham and didn't want to go far on our first trip.

Booking was fine and was given a price over the phone of 24 per night. I was asked if we had been before I said not but knew where it was. The owner also informed me they were going to be busy.

On arrival I chuckled at all the signs around the campsite after reading about them. We found them informative and made our checking in point easy to find. We didn't need to ask any questions they were all answered for us!

We were given the option of pitching either in the field where there were no cars allowed or in the one where they were. We opted to take our car on.

The campsite consists of a pot wash area with two sinks and plenty of hot water. We had to queue just the once but didn't mind. The ladies toilets were clean and always had plenty of loo roll the mens was the same. There were two showers that can be busy in the morning but taking the option of an evening shower caused no fuss. Even though our teenage daughter went both mornings without a problem. They cost 1 a time and you get about 7 mins, plenty of time and were easy to work. The floor can get slippy so take your flip flops! The farmer is an early riser, but this is a working farm.

Even though the weather was beautiful and the sign on the gate of the campsite said full, we still had lots of space and didn't feel too cramped. The noise level was not bad, only a few stopping up late to chat but they did keep noise to a minimum. The small river that runs through the camp attracted some ducks, they kept our dog amused the whole trip as he watched their every move. The children also thought this was lovely feature.

The small town of Malham unfortunately will not restock your supplies if needed. But the surrounding area makes up for that. We went on a 8 mile walk and every view was just amazing. Getting up the cove steps is a challenge but worth the climb. Get a map and explore the area.

Overall this campsite was ideal for our first camping trip. Malham Cove is a big incentive to stay here, walking the dog towards the cove as the sun set was perfect. The family loved staying here and will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SS2010 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for three nights in April 2011. We paid 15 per night for two people, one tent and one car. Quiet / relaxing site in a prime location near Malham Cove (appros 5 mins walk). Five minutes walk the other way takes you into the village of Malham (2 pubs / 1 cafe, 1 B+B (serving cheaper snaks and meals) and a small 'sweet shop'. No where to buy food (including milk / bread) although the farm shop in the next village (10 min drive) had some suitable groceries (although at farm shop prices). Advise you to bring everything with you unless you plan to eat out a lot (expensive). Nowhere to buy camping supplies like gas canisters, maybe the owners could supply some basic camping items (food/non-food) even if 'the shop' was open just a couple of hours a day.

All in all a good clean campsite including showers/toilets/washing up area. Owner provides plenty of (quilted!) toilet roll and there were even fresh flowers in the toilets. Hot water was always available in the toilets/washing up areas.

The only things we felt were not so good were that you have to pay separately for the showers (1 per token which lasts approx 5-7 mins). You have to buy these from the owner (can get them throughout the day). Maybe it would be easier if you could buy the tokens yourself within the shower room or even put money straight into the showers(that's only because one of us felt guilty at having to knock on the farm house door to ask to buy tokens). Both owners didn't seem to mind this though and were happy to help.

One other thought was that there were lots of signs everywhere which is a bit off putting (ie Despite being politely hand written, they looked 'authoritative' and wear you down a bit). We would visit the campsite again because of its prime location. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LordStanley 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed two nights over Easter weekend and had a lovely time. The owners were friendly when we arrived and that was all we saw of them all weekend (except seeing them cleaning or going about farm business). Facilities were basic but generally clean and enough of them to go round. Yes they could be swankier but this is a camp site not a hotel.

The field is well kept and plenty of level pitches, even for big tents.

Although the site was full and no more bookings were being taken it was not cramped. We'd pitched rather close to our neighbours expecting it to be much busier.

Yes, there are lots of notices around but I don't really see what the fuss is. At least everything is clear and there is no ambiguity about what you should or should not do. At least all the signs are polite and are generally there for a reason (apart from maybe the one instructing DoE students to use the washing up bowls?!)

The site was in a lovely spot, a nice mix of families and hikers and climbers, not too noisy in the evening and quiet at night. It was within walking distance of Malham village (cafe, 2 pubs, small shop) and Malham Cove.

The little stream running through the site was very popular with our 4 year old boy :-)

This was our first visit here and was second choice for this weekend when option 1 refused us on size of our tent, we didn't regret it for a minute and will most certainly being going back.

We paid 16 per night for 2 adults, 1 child, 1 baby, car and tent, which we thought was a bargain. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynekeitha 1 review from this member

 Nice basic old style, back to basics campsite. Bit on the expensive site for basic but clean facilities. Fantastic location with all the walking you want from the campsite, car didn't move once we got there. Two minutes walk into village with two hiking/dog friendly pubs and a cafe that does a fantastic breakfast, even catering for Gluten intolerence ( a lot of big restaurants don't )

Only down side is they don't seem to record bookings, we had phoned a week before but on arrival were not booked onto site luckily it wasn't full. Also the numerous signs posted around are a bit off putting. We did obey the no fires only BBQs off the ground sign but had a angry visit from the Farmer telling us to put out the BBQ that was on legs.

Apart from this would stay again for location. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zuzia 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip as a lone female and was delighted on arrival at the site. The location is fantastic, it had rained for weeks but the ground was not at all waterlogged. The owners were friendly and welcoming.

The toilet block and washing facilities were very basic. I did not use the showers so can't comment on those. The toilet washing facilities and utensil sinks had plentiful hot water.

The surrounding area has fantastic walks and I did not need to use my car at all during my stay. The centre of the village is a short walk away with cafes and pubs (the hikers bar at the Buck Inn was lovely). Shopping facilities are very limited. I forgot to bring matches to light my stove with and nowhere in the village sold them. Luckily a friendly neighbour in the next tent lent me a lighter!

I stayed on a Thursday night and the weather turned nasty overnight so I did not stay long the following morning but I only rang to book 2 hours prior to arriving and there was plenty room. I believe the site does get busy at weekends. The site was quiet and although it was the school holidays, children on the site did not make noise after dark and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. I would recommend this site for it's picturesque location and proper camping experience! 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite Malham Cove?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57034 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement