Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Godmanchester > Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park > Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 54 Reviews
                7/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Royston rovers 1 review from this member

 Had a fantastic 3 night stay at Huntingdon Boat Haven. Very friendly and helpful owners. We were on the caravan field and had electric hook up. Best thought out shower cubicles I've encountered so far - plenty of room to change, lots of hooks to hang clothes and towels on and a chair too!
Toilets and showers were clean and never too busy. Site as a whole was well maintained, as was the dog-walk field adjacent to the site. Beautiful location overlooking the river and meadows. Easy walks into both Huntingdon and Godmanchester and good reasonably priced food at the nearby pub (Black Bull?).
I had worried that the traffic noise from the A14 would disturb us, but actually we didn't notice it after a while - it was a constant background noise which masked any noise from other campers. Would recommend a visit to Houghton Mill which is nearby - very interesting. All in all a very good weekend. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

 Great little site, mainly for couples as no facilities on site but plenty close by. Toilet block kept clean & tidy. The tent area would be wonderful in Sunny weather as it overlooks the river, shame it wasn't during our visit.
Black Bull lived up to previous reviews and only a couple of minutes to walk! loads of places to visit nearby. Only word of warning - take earplugs A14 is unbelievable for traffic. Would be happy to return or recommend it to friends 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lis11 2 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site very friendly owners. Showers and toilets kept clean and tidy handwash and soft loo roll are provided. 5 min walk to the nearest pub Black Bull which does lovely home cooked meals which are very reasonably priced.
The site is only a few minutes walk away from Huntingdon town centre which has a variety of shops eating places and pubs. The Three Tuns in Huntingdon town centre is the only one we tried we were made to feel very welcome and for those of you who can't live without it, (like my husband!) the three tuns also has sky sports!

I would definitely recommend this campsite. The only downsides are the traffic noise from the A14 and the toilet / shower block is a fair walk from the tent field. All in all a lovely friendly site set in beautiful surroundings 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hmv4u 57 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights on the way to Norfolk, nice spot over looking the river but I'd suggest earplugs for the traffic noise if a light sleeper. Marina is lovely and a walk into Godmanchester is nice. Funny enough I thought the toilet block could do with some TLC but perhaps its had it since then! otherwise first rate. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howtons 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend break spent at this lovely, peaceful campsite. The site is in a very nice location, right on the River Ouse and it was pleasant to watch the boats go by whilst drinking your morning coffee. The site is small, but that added to the attraction as far as I'm concerned. As it was small it had a friendly community spirit - with most of our fellow campers being happy to pass the time of day with you - there was the odd exception, but you can't please them all can you!

The campsite itself is very well kept and the facilities were excellent. I never had to queue for a shower or a loo and everything was provided - down to nice liquid handsoap in the loos, washing up liquid, sponges and plentiful hot water in the washing up area. The showers are operated by tokens which cost 25p a go - didn't have a problem with that as the shower was lovely, hot and lasted for 5 minutes, ample! There were a few nice touches I thought too - piped music in the toilet / shower block, hairdryer and proper loo roll. On top of all this it was very clean and well maintained.

The site does have electric hook-up facilities, but we don't bother with electric when camping - we think it's nice to do without tellies for a spell and it does the kids (and us!) good. Nice also to spend time enjoying the outdoors, talking and enjoying each other's company for a change. We have very busy lives and it's great to escape the rat race for a while - this was definitely the place to do that!

There were only two small downsides for us. First of all the location. This has been mentioned by all the other reviewers - the campsite is more or less on top of the very busy A14. It was noisy but it was amazing how quickly we got used to the sound of the road (sort of became normal background noise) and it didn't stop us sleeping well or relaxing totally for a couple of days. Secondly, we had two 9 year old boys with us and there was absolutely nowhere for them to kick a football about or have a bit of a run around. But the campsite is small and we knew that before we got there. They busied themselves drawing etc, so it was fine.

We ate out at the Black Bull up the road on our first evening as we only just managed to pitch our tents before the heavens opened. It took about 5 mins to walk there, so very convenient. Very nice meal and family friendly too. The meals were a bit slow coming, but we forgave the wait when we got our freshly cooked dinner. It was a rare treat to have proper hand cut, chunky chips and fresh vegetables. All reasonably priced too.

We hired a boat from a boatyard in Huntingdon (easy to walk to) on our 1st day - this was absolutely brilliant and I would highly recommend it. It only cost £18 for an hour's cruising (although they did take a deposit of £100, which was fully refunded when we brought their boat back in one piece). It is such a nice area and looked even prettier from the river.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this campsite to anyone and will definitely be returning again in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sartheteach 5 reviews from this member

 What a fab site! We were greeted by a very friendly and relaxed site which was very peaceful. There was a bit of road noise but it wasnt bad at all. We usually stay on adult only sites as we like peace and I was a bit worried when we booked but it was lovely - we managed to sleep until 10.30!
Weve booked for next weekend it was so enjoyable. Huntingdon is great and only a short walk away - we highly recommend it 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kontiki98 1 review from this member

 A lovely spot for a relaxing weekend. Made to feel extremely welcome and great to sit by the river with our bottle of wine. Traffic noise but bearable. Easy walk to Huntingdon with shops and eating spots. Visited the Peterborough Motorhome show and came home with empty pockets as we've traded in our Kontiki.

Thanks very much 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annamarie.wade 2 reviews from this member

 What a joy to stay at such a well kept and clean campsite.

This is an ideal place to visit if you are a family with young children.

It was a little noisy from the nearby road, but this was obviously unavoidable.

Would definitely visit again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigvaughan 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for a weekend at very short notice.  Very surprised to find that we managed to get in at very short notice as it is a great site,  although we did have the last pitch.  The owners were very nice and helpful and made you feel very welcome.  pitch was located by the river and was lovely.  was able to watch the boats go by.  It is in an ideal location for walking into Huntingdon and Godmanchester.  We only live 20 miles away and didn't realise how nice it actually was!  Definately recommend and go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cunninglean 1 review from this member

 As mentioned by other reviewers this is a well positioned site being close to the river and within easy walking distance of both Huntingdon and Godmanchester town centres. We only had time to walk into Huntingdon but immediately found several good looking restaurants. The only down side is the closeness of the A14 dual carriageway. We found that, although loud, the fairly constant noise wasn't too much of a problem (in fact it can help mask any noise from other campers!).
The site is mostly caravans and the small tent field we were directed to was on the other side of the marina in an elevated position close to the river (but with enough trees that you don't feel too exposed). The grass was very nice (looked as though it had recently been re-turfed) and electric hook up was provided. You are not allowed to drive onto the tent field but this is no hardship since there are parking bays on the edge of it which can be used for loading and unloading. The Proprietor asked us to move the car to the main car park a short distance away once we had finished unloading (although other campers didn't bother and just parked there).
Overall a good site and we would have no hesitation about visiting again. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Godmanchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement