Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tan Y Bryn Glamping And Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Llandudno Junction > Tan Y Bryn Glamping And Touring Park > Reviews

Tan Y Bryn Glamping And Touring Park
Bryn Pydew Road
Llandudno Junction
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL31 9JZ
Tel: 07879 446413
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 122 Reviews
                9/10 from 122 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  122 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wyke 1 review from this member

 We chose Tan-y Bryn, Totally at random. From the internet. When we Rang to book a plot, we spoke to David, who explained all about the site, and even said that if we got lost, he would come to find us. This put us at ease, immediately.

When we found the site, we had no trouble at all, getting in, and then went to register.

We could not have been made to feel more welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

All the things you expect to find, on a small site where spotless, Ok, I suppose that when the site is full, there may be a bit of waiting time for the loo, but this could happen any where.

We where impressed by this site, and would we go again ? we certainly will.  


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Airbus 321 2 reviews from this member

 Well our second visit to Tan y Bryn and as said before never fails to please. Great hosts, great site. We said on our last review (April 2013) that we will be back and we did and so glad we did. We will be back yet again as this is just the best place we have ever stayed. This should be promoted from the hill tops and the road leading there as some have said is not as bad as one might think, however if you want sublime peace and tranquillity and be greeted and looked after by lovely people then there has to sometimes be a small price to pay and the effortless challenge of getting there is well worth the journey.

Thanks again Dave and Karen, 'cause we are sure like us, you make a lot of people very happy.

Look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Chris and Karen. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wilko124 39 reviews from this member

 Went to this site as there was not many in this area got a warm welcome from owner. Originally booked for 3 nights but changed our minds when we got there. We wont be going again.

17 for 2 adults and 2 dogs. Facilities were basic. The toilet was cleanish when I went but hubby went in mens and the toilet had not been cleaned by the person in before as there was no toilet brush.

No hot water to wash your hands and had a towel for wiping your hands not very hygienic

Didn't use the showers so cant comment 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SimsDerbyshire 1 review from this member

 Super little campsite. Very welcoming hosts, who made you feel very welcome.

The facilities were kept very clean, and even though there was only one toilet each for the ladies and gents, I never had to queue. The large fridge freezer in the kitchen area was very welcome, as it was very warm when we stayed, so we were able to keep food/drinks chilled.

Three camping field were open, the best views are from the lower fields but you need to choose your site carefully as the fields are on a bit of a slope.

Would have no hesitation in recommending 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tigerlily74 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a two day camping trip in glorious weather at this lovely campsite. The owner was a very friendly, laid back host and the campsite was immaculate. It was quiet so the fact that there's only one toilet/shower room was not a problem-might be in high season. Amazing views of Great Orme and only 10 mins from Llandudno. A previous reviewer called it 'a gem of a site' and I would wholeheartedly agree. Brilliant for children to run around in the bottom field. There are no entertainment facilities like a play area but our two young children had a lovely time there, and you could see the bathroom from our pitch so they could develop some independence. There is a road at the top of the drive so very young children would need watching. Get google maps app and it will get you through the narrow winding road no problem. Will definitely return ASAP! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Pegg 7 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely quiet site with great views. Small site with 6/7 hard standings, slight pitches on hard standings except one. The owners are really friendly with nothing too much trouble for them. Should also mention there is a large camping field. There is 1 toilet for men, 1 for women and a large shower area, also pot washing facilities, all are basic but clean. There are loads of local walks around and plenty of shops, pubs and eateries nearby.

If you want a nice quiet easy going site with countryside surroundings, can't recommend this site enough. Do please take note it is easier coming via jun 20 from A55. Enjoy your stay folks 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Airbus 321 2 reviews from this member

 We were recommended to visit Tan y Bryn with our touring caravan by our friends who had camped there twice before. I have to say that everything they had praised the site for was exactly correct.

The views are stunning, the location is superb and the peacefulness is just sublime. It has to be said that the road leading to the site is somewhat a challenge especially pulling a caravan but don't be put off, it is more than doable even for us taking a caravan away for the very first time. Make sure though that you go to the site through Mochdre as the other road from the other side is very difficult in parts even just driving a car.

If you leave the A55 at J20 or J21 and head for Mochdre there is a turning left/right depending which way you are coming from at the end of the row of shops.

The owners are just brill, you are treated as though you have been going there years and the standard of cleanliness throughout is first class.

It is very difficult to find anything to criticise but I think if the site was full and especially with many camping the one loo for each sex could produce a bottle neck of crossed legged campers. Even locating the hand wash basin outside the cubicle could avail the toilet to more people whilst others are washing hands.

Being so close to Llandudno and Conway and a host of beaches makes this site so appealing in a variety of pursuits. There is also a small local park within walking distance for those with little ones and a small chapel for Sunday worship.

We were told that the local pub serves very good food, (even though we did not try it personally). We did find though very good value for money at the Brewers Fayre, two very close by, the Bengal Dynasty Indian in Llandudno, The Chinese in Mochdre and the 'Frydays' Fish and Chip shop in Penrhyn Bay, all of which we can highly recommend.

All in all we had a fabulous week and cant wait for the next opportunity to go back and at 15 per night including electric, awning, two people and our border collie what more could you wish for except the gorgeous eggs from the farm hens.

Thanks, sorry to have to tell you, WE WILL BE BACK! 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Paulmold 92 reviews from this member

 As said in previous reviews, the roads to this site are very narrow. Do not attempt to go any other way than the C&CC book tells you to, you will not get through the village with a caravan or large motorhome and the road is 1 in 4 in places. Having said that, what a delight it is when you get there. We were met by the warden who said to pitch where we wanted as we were the only visitors and to book in once settled. This we duly did and then met the other warden who had been busy painting the ladies toilet. Both toilets were spotless and the shower room (more of a wet-room) could put many a commercial site to shame. It is meter operated at 1 for 15 minutes but it's big enough to take the whole family in.

There are two fields, one with 7 hard-standings, all with hook-up and the other field for tents. The views from every pitch were super.

The site has been operating as a campsite since 1948, David's parents having bought it in 1947.

At 14 per night inc Hook-up this is good value. So convenient for Colwyn Bay, Llandudno, Conwy. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: I like camping 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at Tan y Bryn. The roads leading up to the campsite are narrow and can be difficult in places, if you visit please be careful driving.

The campsite is clean, peaceful, very well kept. David and Karen, the owners, were always around to help and the campsite had a safe, friendly atmosphere.

As already mentioned by previous reviewers, there was only one toilet per gender. This was not much of a problem, though I would like an extra toilet at this campsite. And there is only one shower room, this was not a problem for us as we never had to wait for a shower due to using it early morning and also because it is coin operated which may deter people from hogging the shower. Both the toilets and the shower room were immaculately clean.

Due to the Tan y Bryn's location, it is peaceful whilst being in a good position to reach the attractions. We had a day out in Conwy, visiting the medieval castle, walking along the town walls, Plas Mawr the Elizabethan house was brilliant (it was like stepping back in time), we also had a quick look at the smallest house in Britain. It is also easy to reach Llandudno from Tan y bryn. Snowdonia was only about 40 mins away.

There is an Asda supermarket with petrol station about 10 mins away, also Pizza Hut and a cinema.

We loved staying at Tan y Bryn. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alumbloom 1 review from this member

 9th August was a beautiful sunny day - much needed after the spate of awful weather we'd had. After TomTom had guided us through some rather narrow, winding and steep roads, we arrived at the gates to Tan Y Bryn, .

As we pulled up outside the farmhouse, a cheerful looking man in blue overalls appeared, as if out of nowhere, strode over to us, eagerly extended his hand and welcomed us. We immediately felt at home. His name was David, and with his wife Karen, they are the very warm and friendly owners of Tan Y Bryn. I won't say that they're the owners of the 'camp site' because this place is very much their home and you immediately feel a level of respect and honor at having the opportunity to share in this idyllic slice of North wales.

David took us to the farmhouse kitchen to meet Karen and to check-in. Karen was very friendly and gave us a guided tour of the amenities. In the compact farmhouse yard there are a number of small outbuildings converted into: a walk-in wet room shower, a women's toilet, a men's toilet, and a kitchen complete with sink with hot water and a fridge/freezer. There is also a double elec socket free for campers to use hair dryers, etc. There is a small meter charge of 1. 00 per 15 minutes use of the shower. The shower, toilets and kitchen area were kept fresh and clean at all times.

Following our check-in and tour, we were presented with the two fields for camping. The first smaller field was level, the second on a slope but with beautiful views of great orme and penrhyn bay. Our three kids had great fun with a pair of binoculars, scanning the sea, the orme and the houses dotted about the hills. We chose the second gently sloping field because we wanted to enjoy the views and there were plenty of level-ish sites around the edges.

There aren't any amenities for children and I believe that ball games are prohibited on site. The emphasis here is very much on peace and tranquillity, which suits the environment perfectly and will leave you feeling refreshed and content. That's right, you won't find any wild parties, loud music or drunks here. Strictly no noise after 11pm. Magic!

That's it! We were settled in and boy did we feel at peace. This was our very first camp as a family and our first time pitching our tent. It took us 3 hours to get set-up, so after a tea break we jumped into the car and headed into Llandudno town centre, which is only about 10 minutes drive from Tan Y Bryn.

It was dark when we returned to the site and we were met with the most amazing views from our tent. The tiny lights from the houses in the hills were glittering and the lights from a cruise boat on the sea were enjoyed over a glass of wine. Paradise!

The following day, I found myself in a bit of trouble. I'd enquired as to where I could obtain some firewood but I was told there was a strict no open fires policy on site from March- November, but charcoal BBQs were okay. I was quite disappointed by this because I'd promised the children that we could enjoy a camp fire. I use a firepit regularly at home and am quite sound with regards to fire safety. Anyway, we decided to procure some garden candles instead and simply burn some charcoal later in order to keep us warm outdoors. This is where the trouble began. When I was informed that there were to be no open fires, I assumed this meant no contained log fires on the grass. When I lit our garden candles that evening, we were greeted by a very concerned David carrying a bucket of water across the field. Needless to say, there had been a misunderstanding and we extinguished our candles and made do with the glow and warmth from our BBQ charcoal. So - word of advice: if you'd like to sit outdoors during the evening, make sure you take some decent lanterns :)

Tan Y Bryn is a small working farm. There are sheep, hens and ducks, all of which delight with their various chatter at various times of the day. We loved listening to a pair of cockerels first thing in the morning. It was nice to be woken by nature, to be reminded what lay outdoors, and to be given a short, sharp, but delightful kick-start to the day.

Just as we were met by a cheerful, friendly David in the yard on our arrival, he gave us a fond wave from the yard when we left on Sunday.

Confession: I wasn't going to write this review because we want to keep Tan Y Bryn a secret, but we'd love to ensure that David and Karen get all the success that they deserve.

Very Highly Recommended!

P. S - I forgot to try the fresh eggs. Go on - treat yourself! 


Previous     122 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tan Y Bryn Glamping And Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tan Y Bryn Glamping And Touring Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tan Y Bryn Glamping And Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llandudno Junction      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3941 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement