Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 98 Reviews
                10/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brian + Deb 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 nights at this site and agree with everything that has been said, it is a wonderful site. The shower rooms are of such a high standard they would not look out of place in a hotel.

Everyone seems to be catered for and there was a wide selection of people on site, mostly tents with an assortment of ages. The pool/TV room is a great asset if the weather is not too favourable, fortunately we had amazing weather so that was a bonus.

The views from the site and in the surrounding area are fabulous. We walked to the RSBP reserve and along the estuary to Wigtown harbour on the recommendation of the owner and we were not disappointed.

The owners are really friendly and extremely helpful. A fab site, you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrneillees 7 reviews from this member

Wow what a site!

Just got back from a weekend with our walking group. First camp in Scotland (and this site), but won't be the last!

The welcome was very warm, the site was flat and well laid out, the toilets and showers were spotless and looked brand new. There were indoor washing up sinks, a tumble dryer, freezer, games room and numbered pitches with EHU.

We have rarely visited a site of this quality, and I haven't even mentioned the location and views, nothing short of breathtaking. At night the sky was like a planetarium and the silence was deafening until birdsong from first light.

I cannot sing this site's praises enough! I hope it goes from strength to strength, but not too much so!

Thanks so much, I'll be back!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Steve+Ali 20 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Lovely people, that never stop working, be-it cleaning the already spotless toilet and shower facilities, or cutting the grass, or emptying the many bins around the site, these guys were always working. A very well kept site 10 out of 10. The only thing in need of improvement would be the driveway needing resurfacing, but we can't fault the site at all.

Great play areas for children and a separate one for basketball. Games room with pool table, tv and a comprehensive range of books.

One of the best sites we've stayed on.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

I can only echo what others have said before: what a lovely site! ‘Winkie’ below has covered nearly everything, I’d add that there is a swing/slide set at the very bottom of the site, in a non-EHU tent area.

At the top of the site, there’s a concrete area with basketball hoop, swingball and lots of balls out for use. Next to this is the covered sandpit with toys. There’s a family shower room (push button fixed head) with baby change table for disabled or families with kids under 5 years – always very warm and clean. The laundry sink can fit a (small) baby in!

We were on pitch 1 (next to the sandpit!), which I wouldn’t recommend for tenters – a LOT of stones. Spoke to tenters on pitch 6 and they said there were no problems elsewhere (this was their 5th year).

So much to do in the area we couldn’t fit it all into 4 days! We spent a couple of hours on the Galloway House beach (it IS a slight trek from the carpark for little legs, so take a buggy for toddlers). Caught several shrimps, baby fish and a crab at low tide.

The Cream O Galloway ice-cream farm is a whole day’s outing. We went on a wet morning and actually ran out of time to do everything before tea! Marvellous for children of any age – too much to mention (see their website!). We did the factory ‘tour’ (you get to look through a window) with the 10 flavour tasting – really good.

If it wasn’t a 6 hour drive we’d be back again this weekend. Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimrawcliffe 1 review from this member

What a lovely site

The pitches we used were great, the owners were really helpful and friendly when we arrived, encouraged us to pull over one of their picnic benches between our two pitches and checked we were ok. They always seemed to be doing something on the site, emptying bins, constantly cleaning the toilets etc (they always seemed spotless) the kids really appreciated the playground(as did all the kids on site) and the option to go in and play a game of pool in the evening was extremely well received.

There are not a great deal of 'things to do' in the area, but that didn't bother us much as we're quite happy to have a low pressure holiday with the occasional walking trip or visit to the beach (not too far and not too bad).

We loved this site and hope to go back at about the same time next year.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Foyfamily 7 reviews from this member

By far the best site we have been to! If you are visiting the area you would be absolutely nuts to go anywhere else after reading all the great reviews, they aint wrong! And one of the cheapest sites also!

Get fresh eggs on the farm road in ,from the wonderful couple with the delightful pony! Excellent new play area for kids our two loved it,pool table in tv room, games area at side of toilet block, cows, sheep etc in adjacent fields (take carrots for the horse she loves them).

Good dog walking/ cycling in the nearby forest. Loads of towns and beaches about. Lots to see and do. Wished we had stayed for two weeks not one and we would have if we hadn't already paid a deposit on next site!

Only fault was the toilet block floor is very slippy when wet and both my kids fell on it. They only did it once mind you!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkey1957 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from a week at this site. Great place for exploring the Solway Firth. Lovely clean wash rooms and toilets. The pitch was nice and large with wonderful views down to the sea and the distant hills.

If you want piece and quit though avoid the school holidays as there are lots of young families on site. Overall a wonderful site and very reasonably priced also. Would not hesitate to return here again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burns 3 reviews from this member

We eventually made it to this site after a previous attempt was halted due to a family matter.

We were certainly glad that we made it as it is one of the best sites we have been to.

Lesley and Ralph were very helpful and we were surprised to see that they were always out and about working away on the site.

The surrounding area offered plenty to do and see while the site was relaxing and peaceful. It actually felt very comfortable and we could have stayed there a lot longer if time permitted(we did actually stay an extra 2 nights).

The kids loved the park and games room. It was a change for them to disappear for so long.

We are definitely planning on a return visit next year and the kids will be looking for the crazy horse in the field behind the site.

We can only agree with the other reviewers regarding the toilets/showers and other facilities - brilliant.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline T 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for just one night on a short break from our home in Glasgow. We found it to be a super site, well maintained and spotless. (Lesley was cleaning the toilets at 11pm so they were clean for the morning - what dedication! And Ralph is constantly emptying the bins and checking the site to make sure its clean and tidy.)

We had a warm welcome onto the site by Lesley and she showed us around to make sure we knew where everything was. Our boys enjoyed using the games room and found a rope swing in the nearby forest too! We had a great pitch with lovely views.

Were very lucky with the weather too! Visited nearby Garlieston and had a lovely walk along the shore to Rigg Bay and through Galloway House Gardens. Its a lovely part of the country and the campsite just made it perfect.

Would have been good if you could buy milk and basic provisions on site but its not far at all by car to the local village. Hope to return in the not too distant future!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 day visit to Drumroamin. What a fantastic site!

Great flat pitches with a lot of room. Electric pitches around the perimeter of the field, (non electric in the middle). Small park for the children to play in and a games room with sofas, TV, Pool table to occupy them later on.

Toilets / Kitchen facilities very good. 3 Showers in mens & womans, but rarely was anyone in them.

Great location with Garlistone, Isle of Whithorn, Newton Stewart etc all near by. Good Fish & Chips in Whithorn. No shops within walking distance, so just get supplies when you are out and about.

We visited Culzean Castle (quite a drive up the coast (45 miles), but well worth it for NT members). Also visited Portpatrick, Port Logan (go to the pond!) and Mull of Galloway another day. All great to see and visit.

We were lucky with the weather, but the day before we arrived it had rained all day, but pitches were dry, so drain well.

Site very clean. Bins emptied twice daily.

Definitely go back for longer next time.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019