Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lumpy26 2 reviews from this member

 I have just stayed here for one night booked through the caravan club, whilst I have used this site several times over the previous years as somewhere to stop to get a good nights sleep, I will question doing so again. If you just want a pitch it's fine, but don't even think about a pint of the cold stuff, it was a whopping 5 a pint, this is way above other sites, if you want a croc Monsieur to celebrate then its another 6 for a cheese toastie, now I understand that they have to make a profit but this year it seems excessive. We stayed at lots of other sites over our holiday and nobody charged anything like this, maybe they feel they have to cash in on the Calais site being closed but be warned, boycott these excessive charges and they may get the message. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coachman65 9 reviews from this member

 We have used this site now 3 times when visiting France as a stop over, excellent facilities, plenty of space on the pitches, we stayed for one night on way into France & 2 nights on exit from France, some pitches are a bit uneven & need chocks to level caravan etc. We used what they called a comfort pitch, with water & drainage on site, the only drawback with the drainage was that water won't run uphill to the drain, the other drawback was that for a 5 star? site, they only had 6 amp electric, so you had to be careful what you used otherwise you had to wait for someone to come & reset the tripped out fuse (luckily we only did this once & was able to reset it ourselves as door to fuse box was unlocked)all in all I would highly recommend this site, but be careful what electrical equipment you use 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maggie5 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site a few years back, so decided again to stay the night before we went through the tunnel - which is about 30 minutes away. Excellent site, well kept with pitches not too crowded together, some were a little sloped so you may need chocks. Restaurant very good, if pricey, and snack bar offers take away as well as eat-in smaller meals. Toilets clean, and there is a heated block for disabled showers, wash basins and toilets. Town can be reached with a short walk and there are several supermarkets, including a Carrefour the other end of the D231, going out of town. Chemical toilet disposal by toilet block near reception. Swimming pool, lots of kid's play equipment as well as adult 'work out' equipment. Advise booking as it does get full. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Little Red 2 reviews from this member

 A fabulous site - we stay here all the time en-route to the rest of France as its just 10 mins from the tunnel, although with the great facilities it has, it really deserves a longer stay. Beautifully kept, always immaculate with the feeling of a parkland - loads of mature trees. Although it has loads of facilities for families and we are a couple who prefer a quieter site, we never have a problem as there are always quiet corners and the staff are very helpful if you say you prefer a quiet spot. Great restaurant (it also has a take away if you prefer 'and chips' type food) with very reasonable prices and delicious French food. Pitches are a little pricey in high season (but aren't most places. ), but we always go out of season and use our ACSI card, so very good value for us. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

 Picked this site as it is so close to the port for an overnight before an early morning ferry on the way home. Very friendly and helpful welcome in excellent english. The good sized pitches have very well kept hedges around them. The facilities all in good order clean and the shower block heated which was great as it was 1. 7C outside when I went to use them.

We were pleased to find that the bar was open and the food of a good quality.

A very good site which is ideally located.

We will definitely use it again. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tooncampers 2 reviews from this member

 It saddens me to have to leave a bad review but this was the worst site I have stayed at. We did an overnight stop here on our way home and wished we hadn't. The site was very muddy and slippy. The pitches were on an angle. We weren't told what type of pitch we were on when we arrived some are 6 amp some are 10. The toilet blocks were absolutely filthy and freezing cold. There were no plugs for the sinks in the washing up area. Worst of all there were no signs up at all for the location of the chemical disposal. I walked around for 10 minutes in the rain looking for it, I never found it! I would not stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it. It was the most expensive site we stayed at on our holiday in France 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Captgeoff 22 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant 2 night stay in this well kept site. Used ACSI card so 16 per night. Facilities were very good and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

A short stroll into the ville and there is a museum of the Vikings arrival up to Henry viii, well worth a visit if interested in history 6 per adult.

We did eat at the Gourmand Restaurant on site but was disappointed with the meal, probably wrong choice rather than any fault of the chef.

Would stay again as only 8 miles from Calais so ideal stopover. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RenaultBetty 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Bien Assise for one night before catching the ferry home & really enjoyed our experience. It was a busy site, but with lots of trees/ hedges so it didn't feel as we were crammed in, as these offered privacy.

It was 34 for 2 adults in our camper with hook-up, which wasn't the cheapest place we stayed, but the facilities & convenience for the ferry made it completely worth it.

The shower/ toilet facilities were really clean & were checked regularly. There was also an on site shop selling wine, bread, milk & some tinned goods, which was great as we couldn't face any more driving even if it was to the local supermarket!

The play area & pool also looked busy & well- used.

There was also a popular outdoor gym which everybody was enjoying.

The bar offered takeaway food & 'pub' style food like ham, egg & chips etc, & although we didn't eat there plenty of visitors were & seemed happy. As it was our last night, we ate at the on site 'La Ferme Gourmande'. It was very busy & booking is strongly recommended as we saw people having to be turned away as they hadn't booked in advance. We spent 20 each on one of the set menus & were very happy with the service & lovely food!

Previously travelling to Europe we've stopped over in Dover then pushed on through France, but after our stay at Bien Assise we'd definitely consider a slightly longer journey to stay at this lovely site & use it as our starting point. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catlover174 20 reviews from this member

 This is the second time this year we have visited this site as it is in a great location close to Calais and not too far from Dunkerque.

Unfortunately this time we didn't enjoy our stay as much as the first. The pitch we were given was right at the back of the site, and was very sloping so difficult to get our caravan level. It was also quite exposed and windy at that end of the site, and a bit of a trek to the facilities and the bar/pool etc.

We decided to stay for 2 nights to spend our last day in France relaxing before the journey home. However this was spoilt by maintenance men strolling onto our pitch and proceeding to cut hedges very loudly for the next hour or so. They stopped for lunch but then came back again to finish off the job. Again they just walked onto our pitch and I found one of them right outside the window just as I was getting changed! We mentioned our disappontment at this intrusion of our privacy and peace to reception but the staff were unsympathetic and almost rude. Very disappointing.

The facilities overall on this site are very good. There are plenty of showers and toilets to cope with the large number of pitches, all very clean and well-maintained. The pool is pleasant although a bit cold and probably not really big enough for the size of the site. The kids enjoyed the small waterslide. There is a games room, but many of the machines did not seem to be working. We enjoyed a game of mini-golf for a small charge, and a tennis court is also available at extra cost. There are a couple of kids playgrounds and an area for basketball.

There is a gourmet restaurant on site but we didn't use it on this occasion. Instead we made the mistake of buying food from the bar restaurant. This has to be one of the worst meals I have ever had and grossly overpriced. Every single meal we were served was reheated junk, clearly straight out of a packet. I ordered 'pork kebabs' that turned out to be bits of processed sausage meat on a stick and cost 10 Euros! If you really have to eat at the bar I would suggest you buy a takeaway and eat it in your tent/caravan. That way you can get the same junk at a much lower price!

Overall this site is useful and comfortable for a night or two with good facilities, but I would suggest you choose your pitch carefully and avoid eating the food at the bar! I'm not sure we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Nicksy 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent site for stop-overs from the ferry in a peaceful location. Stopped here for one night on arrival in France, and one neight before going home. Reception staff very friendly, site was very clean.

Pool is small but ideal for a splash to cool off after a long journey - but it closes at 6pm!

Bar - pleasant and snacks are good. I didn't try pizzas but they looked lovely. Steak hache was excellent.

Shower facilities were also good.

Carrefour about 1. 5 miles away to fill up on fuel - it's card payment and looked tight for vehicles towing a caravan so fill up before you hook up the van.

I will definitely use this site or stopovers again. There appeared to be numerous campers staying a fortnight and seemed equally happy. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel La Bien Assise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel La Bien Assise have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel La Bien Assise?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel La Bien Assise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements