Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Henlow Bridge Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Bedfordshire > Henlow Village > Henlow Bridge Lakes Reviews

Henlow Bridge Lakes
Bridge End Road
Henlow
Henlow Village
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
SG16 6LN
Tel: 01462 812645
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200 pitches. 6 Lodges. 6 Cabins. 3 Pods
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Landy-Trax 15 reviews from this member

We spent a weekend here with a group of friends. On arrival we were impressed with the site in general but as we progressed through to our pitch we seemed to pass through the nice bit to the cheap seats where the roadway turned into churned mud. This aside, the pitches were a good size.

The toilets and showers are in a portacabin and on the morning we tried to use the showers they were cold so gave up and used our van instead the next day. There is road noise from a very busy road nearby and noise from the mainline into London. When leaving the site the exit takes you out past the Arlesey Station.

The shop is well stocked and the fishing looked good.

On review overall, this is a noisy site and not ideal for a quiet break away.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Keithccs 2 reviews from this member

This site is excellent. It did not bother us but some may be concerned by road/rail noise on some pitches.

We have a large RV 35' long and accessed the site with a squeeze, though when leaving Chris kindly opened the back gate to ease things further.

Great lakes for fishing, strolling, sitting, or photography like me!

Facilities are very good also.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soggous 11 reviews from this member

Booked three tent pitches for my son's birthday party. We only live 15 mins away from this site, we chose it for convenience to home. Booking was done by phone and email, staff were very helpful and accommodating to our needs. We had day visitors coming one day and guests coming for one night only, etc.

Had to pay 20 cash deposit on arrival for a key to open the 5-bar gate that secures the site at night. We also hired a fire pit for the weekend for 25 (included firelighters and a tub of logs, and delivery to the site).

Entrance to the site is via electronic gate, I believe most guests who stay in the main part of the campsite have a key fob to operate this gate but we were not fortunate to receive said fob so had to keep getting in and out of our car to request the gate be opened. Bit of a hassle.

We were located on one of the five rally fields (Maple), which we had to ourselves, great for playing ball games and just spreading out. Other large parties were located in other fields around the site, so despite being spread out and not near anyone else, the campsite was very busy.

Generous tent pitch, EHU pitches were much larger than non-electric ones.

There was a 'new' toilet and shower block for the use of the rally field campers, this comprised portacabins with ladies and gents loos (3 for ladies and 1 for men plus urinal; I understand from the men we stayed with that 1 toilet is not enough. ) Four or five showers (with chair, sink, hooks and curtain; plenty of room to move), and a dishwashing room. Showers were clean on Saturday morning (push button operation) but on Sunday morning they were appalling, grass everywhere. The toilet roll and paper towels also ran out on Saturday evening, not good enough with so many people on site. More attention needs to be paid to keeping the block clean and stocked when so many campers were on site.

There was a large playground, which my kids and their friends spent hours playing on, we hardly saw them! Also fishing lakes if you fancy trying fishing. The site offer tractor rides around the site too, great for kids, not so great for campers when the tractor passes by the tent. ('and on our left is a birthday party. ')

At night there was a lot of noise from the 'inner roundel', where a large party was taking place. We enjoyed the music, and it shut off at 11 pm every night, so wasn't a problem. Other people might not like that though. Road noise is a downside though (A507 constant noise), and the Great Eastern railway runs alongside the site, although I didn't notice the noise from that so much. Also some plane noise from Henlow airfield, again, not really a problem (no flying at night).

Positives of A507 and train line are location, London and Cambridge are easily accessed by rail, and Milton Keynes via the A507. Local towns worth a visit are Hitchin, Letchworth, Baldock; Shuttleworth is nearby, and there's great walking along the Hicca Way, which goes around the site.

All in all, a great local site, but busy and a bit on the expensive side, but good for a last-minute weekend away or party weekend with friends. Just take your own loo roll, and ear plugs.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robt1972 2 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site and the team there are very welcoming.

You can hear the train line nearby, but to be honest it wasn't really a problem and wasn't very loud.

Great for children with a brilliant play area for them and great for fishers. Took my children for the first time and they loved it.

Will definitely be returning again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campbellpj 1 review from this member

We booked into this site at the last minute when our intended site was turned into a mudbath by a week of constant rain. Very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facilities, the standard of upkeep of the whole site and, particularly, by the helpfulness of the staff.

Facilities:

The designated pitches were a good size and well-drained

Toilets and showers were very clean

The shop was well stocked

The children's' playground was a big hit with all three of our children and their friends

It would be very difficult to fault anything about this site except for its proximity to the road and railway but I only really noticed them when I consciously though about them. I suspect that anyone used to an urban environment would barely notice them.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thehartsters 2 reviews from this member

Our group of 25 people had an amazing bank holiday weekend last week, obviously much helped by the weather, but the Campfire and outdoor disco and drinks tent was a great highlight, as was the free tractor ride.

They have great customer services, are all very friendly and they even put on an extra tractor ride to fit us all into one ride and we loved the Bango ducks on the way. My son said it was his best birthday ever!

The playgrounds were brilliant, something for all ages and nicely sectioned off into areas so you can manage the little ones more easily.

The main shower room was lovely and warm, although for the hottest showers you want to be in early (I went in at 10am and it was just warm by then) or leave it till the afternoon when the boilers have warmed up again.

Separate baby change facility.

Free Wifi.

We didn't use the fishing lake. It's not cordoned off so you need to keep an eye on toddlers.

There was a bit of noise from the main road and railways but you don't notice too much.

Surrounding area was great for walks and running. And the walk to Henlow Village and the Five Bells pub (great food, customer service and playground) was a lovely 20 minute stroll with the buggies, there was just one gate that caught us out that we had to lift the buggy over as we came back a slightly different route.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane and Pete 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Henlow bridge over the Easter bank holiday. It was our first time here, we found the site most accommodating and the staff very pleasant. There was a slight problem with the electric supply on the Saturday night as it was so cold, I think everyone had their heaters on and it burnt a phase out. The staff worked throughout the night to keep it going and sorted out a temporary hook up for the rest of our stay. The toilets and showers were clean, although I didn't like the showers too much as they were on a push button, which didn't give you much time before having the press it again. I admit that I used the disabled one a couple of times as it was an electric shower. Overall, a lovely site, with nice walks around the river. I will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gotahat 2 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite as it was relatively near to our home and as an avid camper we had just purchased a Conway Cruiser we thought that we should have a practice putting the camper and awning up, and also to see how our two 1 year old Labradors would take to camping. The pitch was a good size with electric and a water tap next to the pitch. Only stayed one night here.

We did get it all erected and found a few bits and pieces we needed.

We have driven passed the site often and It always seemed very busy.

Entrance to the site was with swipe card

We were met by very polite staff who were keen to answer any questions I had.

Toilet and shower block was clean and warm. There is also a laundry room and wash up area but we didn't use these facilities. Large play area for the children.

We had a busy time but would return maybe with the grandchildren who would love the playground.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexilew 2 reviews from this member

A truly wonderful site with great staff. We arrived in pouring rain just before one of the worst gales of the season.

The owner was very helpful and totally unfazed by the weather,

The site is incredibly well drained (which was just as well due to the horrendous rainstorms we have been having!) and them toilet block was kept clean despite the conditions.

We were on hard standing with EHU and water to the pitch. The amenities block was close by and was heated which was a bonus. Showers were free and roomy.

Shop sells all sorts of useful bits and pieces for camping, caravanning and fishing. The food side had all the basics too at very reasonable prices.

Originally we planned to stay 3 nights but were so impressed that we stayed on for an additional 2 nights.

An easy site to find and one where we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GasGuzzler2005 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our second visit and can't praise this site high enough.

The facilities are modern and very, very clean and well maintained. My wife love's the launderette. :)

The staff are very friendly and helpful in every way.

The touring pitches are a good size and the electric card meter is a brilliant idea, as you only pay for what you use.

There is a large fenced play area with lots of climbing frames, play houses, slides and swing's etc. All in excellent condition.

This is lovely site to visit for fishing or a relaxed family break.

We are already looking forward to our next stay.

Just want to say a BIG thank you to all the staff for their time and effort it is much appreciated.

Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Henlow Village      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019