Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Highland Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort Augustus > Loch Ness Highland Resort Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tamaraw 2 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here on the way home and was not impressed!

Firstly, there are no signs for Cumberlands on the main road! It would be helpful if the site was properly signposted and/or some mention was made on the website that it's attached to Stravaiger's Lodge.

The lady who got us checked in at reception was friendly enough - when I asked how close our allocated pitch was to the toilet block (I was travelling with someone with limited mobility) she moved us to (and these were her exact words) 'pitch 28 or 29 - whichever one you think is best'.

We initially chose pitch 29 (a grass pitch with EHU) as it was the closest to the toilets, only to be chased off by the man who rides around in the golf buggy! He didn't want our campervan on the grass (fair enough, but we were told to pick our pitch) and then made a point of watching my every manoeuvre while I moved. Not amused and did not appreciate being made to feel as if I was breaking the rules.

The regular 'patrols' by the guy in the golf buggy are a tad excessive in my opinion.

The pitches are level and a good size but the campsite is essentially just a big field and totally lacks atmosphere.

The toilet block was clean.

We paid £3 for wifi that didn't work - reception was awful and made it completely worthless.

The site is handy for walking into Fort Augustus and there are a few ok-ish restaurants nearby.

It's a nice site but overpriced.  


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter.a2 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night on this site. Pitches are large with water and electric.

No water waste disposal at pitches only one point near entrance to site and is the same hole in the ground (literally a piped hole in the ground)as chemical toilet disposal.

Very unhygienic in my opinion. The village, five minutes walk is very, very expensive and clearly designed to extract as much money as possible from tourists.

It is interesting watching the boats navigate the locks but in my opinion not worth the cost of staying on this site.

I would not return 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 We received a warm and friendly reception upon arrival. The caravan area is behind Stravaigers Lodge.

The first field behind the lodge is for campers without cars and the second field is for caravans, motorhomes and tents with a car. The pich was gravel and quite big.

We had our own water tap on our pitch. There is no shop on site but it is only a 5 minute walk into Fort Augustus.

The toilet and shower block is immaculate. The showers are huge and clean and there is underground heating. The best showers we have come across so far (and this is our 29th site on a round UK tour).

Fort Augustus has lots of shops, pubs and restaurants. The Caledonian canal with its locks are quite a tourist attraction.

It is fascinating to watch when they open the locks to let the boats through.

There is quite a nice walk along the canal towpath to Kytra Lock. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mum-+-dad-on-tour 2 reviews from this member

 One can see that money has been spent on this two year old site. We had not pre booked and arrived mid afternoon. The young lady at reception was not very helpful and was not interested in making us welcome.

The tents are on the large grass area in the centre with the hard standings around the outside. The toilet/shower facilities are located at the entrance and were not cleaned in the time there!

My wife felt a little vulnerable walking to and from the facilities block. With a modern tiled floor, (slippery when wet) and when having a shower, the shower water was throughout the cubicle and coming through from the cubicle next door, as a result, there was nowhere dry to get dressed!

We didn't see any play area for children.

There was one man riding around in his golf buggy checking each pitch as people left. My wife and I enjoyed our morning coffee watching him drive around from one vacated pitch to the next with out getting out of his buggy.

Nice location and a lot of money spent, but the owners need to stay a night in a tent or caravan them selves to realise the short comings of this site. Attention to detail just not there! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fi22 7 reviews from this member

 This site is basically a field, there's no warm atmosphere here like you get on other sites. When we arrived we were made to sound stupid when we pointed out the sign at the entrance has the wrong name on it.

The woman on reception was dour. She was quite happy to take our money though! there's a man who constantly drives round on a golf buggy, it made us feel like we were being checking up on

The toilets were clean as were the showers but not enough pressure in them to work sufficiently, no signs that we could see for where to put your rubbish but found a bin when we were leaving.

I think most people just use this site as a stop off point then head elsewhere as most people that had arrived the day after us had packed up and moved on on the day we left.

We were intending staying here for a week and touring the area but after 2 days we left, would I stay here again? no 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rover61 3 reviews from this member

 This site is only two years old and I have visited quite a few times. The site is nicely laid out and there is plenty of room on pitches, which are very generous. It was quite away to the toilet block from where I was pitched but that is only a small moan.

The site is well maintained and the toilet blocks are clean. Television isn't bad but the site has got TV points but there for freesat and you require satellite cable as opposed to the normal TV Ariel.

It is a nice walk into Fort Augustus we I could sit all day watching the locks opening and closing on the Caledonian Canel.

There are several nice pubs who serves good mails and they are dog friendly in the bars.

If you are looking for a quiet peaceful time a quiet site close to the local amenities then this site is for you, we love it already and will be returning in the very near future. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan + Don + Molly 28 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit to this site and nothing is very different to the first time. The sign is still wrong on the entrance (At least we knew this time and didn't have to turn the caravan around on the lane!)

The facilities are no different although there are now more hardstanding piches. The reception is a bit like an after thought and we had to search out someone to book us in.

There was a rally on the next field but they weren't noisy. It could be a real gem this place but as others have mentioned its the little things that count.

The toilet emptying point is on the entrance drive - a fair distance from the pitches - you wouldn't want to carry it there. There is one large wheelie bin by the entrance and no dog bins.

We felt a bit uncomfortable there this year as there seemed to be a lot of people hanging around reception, litle lighting at night and no security. Perhaps proper wardens who know about caravans and motorhomes would help.

As I said it could be fabulous as there are very few good sites in this area. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jokevin2 3 reviews from this member

 Site spacious and clean. Washing facilities also clean with plentiful hot water although sometimes queuing for showers and w.C's.

Very close to the village. Local supermarket and petrol garage in village (not late opening)food seemed to be stopped served at 9pm. Pubs very friendly and serving nice food.

Attractions in form of various cruises of loch ness. You can also watch the boats pass through the caledonian canal early morning.Apart from the annoying midges (head nets available from local garages etc. Pick one up on way ! ) a very enjoyable site 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, in a lovely location, with just a few problems which can be ironed out in time, seeing as it is new.

On the plus side: the site comprises one large level field with EHU aound the very edges, hard standing around the circular road, and general tent camping in the middle and everywhere else. This simple arrangement is great for kids, because they can see all the other campers and quickly run up to other children to play, within sight of the parents.

All around are views of the hills and mountains.

It is only a short walk away from Fort Augustus, with shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants, plus a few interesting and easy walks. You can take a boat cruise on Loch Ness from here, or just simply gaze at the view up the huge body of water from the shore beside the many layered system of canal locks.

I really loved this site, apart from the niggles.

On the negative side:

The signage is wrong. They still haven't Cumberland Campsite on the sign at the entrance, in spite of them telling a previous reviewer that it would be sorted soon. We went several miles out of our way looking for the place because of this, and we saw other motorhomes doing the same.

The customer service could be improved. We were charged for EHU on arrival, even though I said we didn't want it, and I had to go back to get a refund. Three members of the family faced me and argued with me about it,because my husband had mistakenly asked for it on the phone when booking.

The check out time is eleven. Most campsites have it at twelve - so why does this place have to be different? AND the toilet/shower block is closed and actually locked between 11 and half past, so if you are desperate for the loo, you are stuffed.

(When I went up to the block, I found a fleece top on the muddy ground outside the door and picked it up. The cleaner came to the door and said she had thrown it there because someone had left it in the gents). 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AudsleyI 12 reviews from this member

 This site is only in its first year of operation with things like EHU and certain facilities coming “on stream” as the year has progressed. When we set out on our tour of Scotland we were unsure if the site would have EHU for our tent, but on arrival found that this had just been installed.

The site is part of the same business that runs the Stravaigers’s Lodge Hostel, as stated previously, and the camping fields are situated beyond the main lodge buildings. The clientèle were mainly vans and small backpacking tents that did not stay long and were obviously just travelling through. We were one of the only people to stay more than a few days.

The facilities consist of a main toilet and shower block that looks like it will house other facilities like washing machines and fridge and freezer at some point in the future. There are three (free) showers and three wash basins in each unit. Pot washing sinks are outside but under a canopy roof. As all this is brand new it is, needless to say, in excellent condition but there are areas around the block where grass needs planting to make good the ground where all the earth moving machinery has been at work.

The main camping field is on the flat and has a hard core track that runs in an oval shape round the middle of the field. EHU pitches and water points run around the outside of this field. There are some hard standing pitches for vans. We experienced the site in the worst of weather unfortunately (torrential rain and strong gale force winds), and with very few campers given the field size, it left a bit of a bleak impression. After a couple of days rain some areas started to become waterlogged, but did drain quickly once the rain eased of for a few hours. There are no kid’s facilities here.

We got hit hard by gales that blew the day before our departure. Upon arrival in rainy, but wind free conditions, I had pitched the tent simply to align up to the EHU and point outwards to the middle of the field. Broken poles later I now realise that paying attention to the direction of the average prevailing winds will be important here.

The site is situated a stone’s throw away from Fort Augustus and it was a real joy to be able to walk to this lovely place for a drink and meal. The site is ideally situated for Loch Ness, Inverness and surrounding area.

This site just needs a bit more time for it to get going. A few more facilities (that look like are already “work in progress”) and a bit of attention to detail: more refuse points with recycling if possible, better visibility of the water points and better signage, grassing over the areas where building work and pipe / cable laying has taken place. I’m sure that all this will be addressed soon and the site will become a good one and much visited considering where it is. And, when all’s said and done, I think the weather dampened (literally) my spirits a bit here, which was no fault of the site. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Highland Resort?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort Augustus      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement