Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beeches Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow > Beeches Farm Campsite > Reviews

Beeches Farm Campsite
Miss Graces Lane
Tidenham Chase
Chepstow
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP16 7JR
Tel: 07791 540016
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 10/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gepocock 1 review from this member

 I love this site, the road to it is very basic and deteriorates, and I understand that the sat nav does not work. However, it is worth the trip.

The views are fantastic, and Dawn the farmer is great. She is not 'arsy' about things that others make a deal of a fuss about.

Each pitch has a hearth to make a fire (although we did not have the weather). The toilet block is clean and tidy, showers are paid for, washing up sometimes has a queue.

There is not much to do for kids and my grandchildren did get bored. Would recommend a small park, nothing fancy. Cannot fault this campsite apart from that.

I have been here many times and will again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr-andrew 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely camp site with breathtaking views out over the valley. We found it to be fairly family oriented, most of the other groups being large family and friend groups with lots of children.

The shower blocks are well kept, and always impeccably clean - albeit a bit on the the small side - I am not sure how well they would cope if they got very full.

The management very courteous and helpful.

The campsite is also about a 45min walk from some fantastic crags for those who are into a bit of climbing. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julie1146 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site quite difficult to find - for some reason the sat nav just would not have it - whatever happened to maps! We might have given up when Miss Grace Lane ran out of tarmac but a local just told us to keep going.

When we arrived the owner couldn't have been more helpful, very relaxed and told us to find any spot we wanted.

It is a working farm but we didn't find any noise or smell at all. There were quite a few dogs running around though.

The facilities were clean but the showers were a pain, 20p for three minutes and you had to hold the button in for water, only getting about 2 seconds before it stopped.

We were offered fire wood as there are pits for open fires - everyone else seemed to be taking this option.

The views were fantastic. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Miller606060 1 review from this member

 Have visited several times over the last few years and had lovely weekends with friends and family. Sitting around the camp fire and watching the stars, drinking a bottle of red is a fab way to wind down.

We walk through the woods to Tintern for ice creams then moan all the way back, but its good exercise.

The only downside that I can think of is how popular the site has become, but hey hoe. The local town has all the amenities one can wish for (not mentioning the big supermarket). 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blue Babe 1 review from this member

 My Daughter and I decided to take my granddaughter camping for a quiet girly get-away for a few days. I found this site by accident on-line and as it was quite close to home, it would be perfect for our experimental trip. 1st time out for their tent. 1st camp for baby. Not too far away if things went wrong or we forgot something drastic :-)

Found it OK, but it is a long way off the beaten track. Arrived on Wednesday to a huge space and only 2 other units on-site. Parked well out on our own so baby wouldn't annoy either of them. Spent 2 very chilled out days lounging around the campsite by day and watching the spectacular sunset over the valley by night. I had to come home on Friday, but my son-in-law was home from his trip and decided to join the girls for the weekend. He had been told how peaceful we'd found it.

By the time I left at midday Friday, a few others had arrived. Apparently by Saturday morning it very busy with a scout troup or something similar on site and loads of walkers. My Daughter and Son-in-law had a fab weekend anyway and although it was busy, they didn't feel at all crowded. They enjoyed walking down to Tintern and gathering wood for a campfire.

They are planning a get-away again this year, but they plan to go during the week when it's quieter. It'll be somewhere safe for our toddler to explore under their watchful eyes. We'll definitely be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmacapper 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a long way from the road so definitely cannot walk to anywhere from here. Despite this the owner was very laid back - you can camp where you like and pay at the end of your stay.

Was really quiet until early morning when the noise of a working farm gets going. Toilet block very basic and needed cleaning as the bins were overflowing.

This site did what it said on the tin- a rustic camp for campers who wish to go back to nature. Wonderful views from the field. Found an amazing place to eat at St Breidons called the George and had fab reasonably priced food.

Would recommend hiring a bike from pedalabikeaway near Coleford as we had a fun half day cycling in the Forest of Dean on an easy route which was 10miles! No shops within walking distance and your car will need a wash after all the dust that is left on your car but a decent value for money camp site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CaroCurnock 4 reviews from this member

 I have visited this site several times and always find it truly beautiful. The beauty comes in lots of different guises.

The views are stunning and I felt very lucky to be sitting having breakfast staring out across Tintern valley. Dawn, the campsite owner is always friendly and ready to help if she can. This campsite is a working farm and because of that it has a unique atmosphere. Whilst I was staying we saw a calf being born, little piglets in their pen and chickens wondering freely in the farmyard. Even so, well behaved dogs can stay off the lead if they are well behaved and remain with their owners. This is a rare treat indeed for dogs. The farm has two dogs Aussie and Zulu and they came around most evenings with Rose who asked if everyone was okay. Nice touch. Fires are allowed and Ian does an amazing job delivering bags of wood to campers each afternoon.

The toilet block is basic but clean and if, or when the hot water runs out take the opportunity to go back to your tent and have a nice cuppa or a glass of wine. And when you go back the water has re-heated and you can then do whatever you need to do.

The major word that sums up this campsite is 'HAPPY' People sing and if you are lucky, you might get to hear the occasional musical instrument. Children play in the old fashioned way, adults laugh and dogs frolic, everyone is having fun and seem relaxed. Everyone is happy and it is wonderful.

At Beeches Farm you get a warm welcome, a feeling of freedom and a real touch of wild camping. I love it and will be back time and again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nellie72 16 reviews from this member

 To use the showers you needed to keep your shoes on & they're awful. Freezing cold, you have to keep the button pressed in permanently (which is downright off as the timer starts counting down as soon as you put your 20p into the machine)

The idea of campfires is lovely, until you drive over the scattered remnants of one on your way out & end up with a puncture from a nail.

Wish owner was more proactive about collecting site fees than whizzing around on a quad selling bags of wood every hour.

FAR more than 10 units on site last weekend, saw tents pitched so close that the fly sheets were touching. Absolutely no need to be that close as there's masses and masses of space.

If you've got children who prefer to be outside, running, jumping & climbing treees then the site is PERFECT.If as adults you don't mind slumming the sanitation.

Don't bother washing your car before you set off, it'll be minging once its gone up & down the driveway a few times! BUT the lovely long driveway does mean there's absolutely no traffic noise at all, which is this day and age is something to be cherished.

The views however are stunning & the walk to Tintern is definitely worth doing. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Qsbuilder 21 reviews from this member

 This site is most suitable for campers who enjoy pitching anywhere and lighting fires when and where they want, and for children who enjoy screaming and shouting.

For most mature caravanners, I don't think it will appeal, especially if you have no onboard facilities. Nellie72's comments are totally accurate, except that I wouldn't have wanted to use the one men's communal shower that was working even when wearing my shoes.

The long lane that leads to the site has several hidden yet severe speed humps, and after some rain the entrance to the field becomes a mud bath. The EHU's are all on two pillars, so extension leads would be needed if you want some space between you and your neighbours.

I won't be returning to this site 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clozzer 6 reviews from this member

 Another visit to this lovely site. Loads of children there for my son to play with. Lovely to see the piglets too! Made a campfire with our own wood but they also provide bags of wood for just 2.50 if you want it.

Only negative comment I would make is that the toilets did not seem to have been very well cleaned over the 2 days we were at the site. There were flies in the loos and items were hanging out of the sanitary bins. Also the showers (for which you pay 20p for 3 mins) were quite cold.

Other than this I still highly recommend the site- gorgeous place! 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Beeches Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beeches Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Beeches Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chepstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2510 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement