Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Brussell 1 review from this member

Used this site as a base for the Harry potter experience and Legoland. What a little gem. It was a really tidy site the toilets were always very clean. It had a nice little park for littler ones and we had a lovely walk along the Thames. Nice little laundry and access to a freezer and fridge which was very handy as the weather was very hot. Will definitely be returning next year. Would also like to comment on the Warden there who was very friendly and very helpful.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CazCam 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 6 night stay and found Amerden to be a really friendly place to stay. The wardens and the owner were very helpful, the toilets are kept spotlessly clean.

The showers are just the right temperature and water pressure was good. There are 2 freezers to use for your ice blocks and 2 fridges to use - both free of charge, You can also use the power sockets in the cabin to charge phones etc.

Our children loved the short walk to Bray lock to watch the boats and the fantastic play area just along the river path. Yes you are near the M4 motorway but you get used to the noise and we had no problems sleeping at night. We are hoping to return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Newdale 1 review from this member

We visited Amerden when we went to watch the Olympic rowing at Eton Dorney back in August.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the site managers who were very friendly and helpful and helped us move the caravan into position which was very kind.

The shower/toilet block was immaculate and always kept very clean and was also heated.

We thought the proximity to the M4 might be an issue but it was actually a benefit. The whooshing sound of the traffic was actually quite relaxing so we could not hear any noise from adjacent campers. We slept soundly.

While we were there we also visited Bray and Windsor which were just a short car journey away so the location was ideal.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JaymeNWUK 2 reviews from this member

A cracking little site with only one down side. It's the noise, with the M4 at the bottom of the site and the flight path from Heathrow above it is noisy. Having said that after a couple of nights I slept well and had no real problems with it.

The toilet facilities are kept immaculately clean and we never had to queue for the showers or toilets.

The site warden and his wife are very friendly and helpful with any little problems, as well as having a great knowledge of the surrounding area.

Nearby there are great traffic free cycle paths that take you to Eton, Windsor, and Maidenhead. Also it is a great base for a visit to Legoland, Thorpe Park or Chessington. We used the swimming pool in Maidenhead and it was fantastic with loads of kids stuff, slides, inflatables and a hot tub for the adults.

Definitely worth a stay at this site if you are planning to take the kids to any of the theme parks.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NelsonJ 2 reviews from this member

Had a fantastic 3 night break at the site. Very clean and tidy, the wardens were brilliant and kept checking the ground due to the recent bad rain, but it didn't have any impact on our stay. The site was extremely clean and tidy at all times.

Our pitch was great and very big, especially as our tent is 8m x 5m!

Kids loved the play area. Within easy reach of the Thames for walks, Legoland and Windsor.

You are near the M4 and Heathrow airport, but you get used to the noise.

Would certainly stay there again

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ganders 1 review from this member

We went to stay in this delightful site during the Olympics as it was just a short walk to the Eton dorney rowing lake. Initial impressions of the site was excellent well maintained and a very helpful warden.

The pitch we were given was plentiful considering the time we stopped. No squashing them in here. The kitchen was clean and well resourced with a microwave, fridge and freezer for campers use.

The site is extremely secure in the middle of nowhere feel even though it only a stones throw away from slough and maidenhead. Lots of lovely walks along the Thames entertained us thoroughly.

There is a code require for the toilets and entrance to the site I thought the code on the toilet was a bit excessive, especially when my wife woke me up in the middle of the night as the code would not work.

I would rate the site a s excellent, just the background hum of the motorway could be heard so those wanting extreme silence may not like this site. The kids also loved the play area and everyone seemed child friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gidecus 1 review from this member

We were looking for a site within an hour of home so that caravan sceptic friends could come and visit us whilst we were away for the weekend. This site fitted the bill more than perfectly. Kept spotlessly clean and tidy the site was great, although full it never felt over crowded or too busy.

There were lots of trees with the pitches spread throughout them which was really lovely. Although we could see the flyover of the motorway from our pitch and could hear it, it certainly didn't affect our pleasure on staying there although we were in a caravan so I don't know what it would be like staying in a tent - There are earplugs for sale in the reception for a minimal amount.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful and helped with the relaxed atmosphere.

The play area is aimed at children younger then our two boys (8 & 11) but worked well as a meeting place for the children that were staying there. There is a really great play area within 5 mintes walking distance that works for all age children.

The site is also very close to the river so we went for a long walk along there staying at the lock watching the boats move through which the boys (and dog) enjoyed too.

The only downside that I can think of is that although there are plenty of pegs in the shower cubicle it could do with a stool for things like glasses and watch - that's the only negative I can think off!

I would certainly recommend this site - we're very likely to go back for another short break.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pedders1 4 reviews from this member

Just spent a cold Jubilee week at this wonderful camp site. Its in a great location for visiting London and the theme parks - Legoland, Thorpe Park and Chessington.

We were lucky to have our pick of pitches and were located next to the play area which our kids enjoyed. We were also close to the toilets which were nice & clean. They also have a camp kitchen with microwave, fridge and freezer which we found very useful.

Its a small very friendly site next to the Thames, lots of nice walks.

Its only downside is being next to the motorway, this didn't actually bother us, I found the hum of traffic helped to get me to sleep! It was the birds twittering at 4am that woke me up!

We will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tashahudds 2 reviews from this member

Our first visit. Wow, we loved it here. Beautiful well kept and secure family run site. Stayed 4 nights in a motorhome.

The wardens were very helpful. Clean modern shower block and even a microwave for tenters.

Great little playground, safe enough to let the kids play unsupervised. My 5 and 7 year olds thought it was fantastic.

Close to Legoland and many other attractions. Will definitely return again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

We visited Amerden for a 4 night stay from Easter Saturday as a base to visit Legoland. The approach was easy, being only a few minutes drive from the motorway although the very last part was down a single track Ė luckily nothing was coming when we arrived or departed. Itís only a small site anyway so that cuts down the likelihood of issues.

The owners were very welcoming and the site doesnít really have set pitches which helps to keep the grass in good condition as the warden can ask people to site in different areas of the notional pitch areas.

It has a nice feel to it as units are not just lined up in regimented rows. As previously mentioned, the motorway is literally at the bottom end of the site but the low hum of traffic was much less of a disturbance than noise we have encountered on some more rural site we have stayed on Ė donít let it put you off.

The facilities were spotlessly clean, well heated and had constant hot water. The showers were the push button type with fixed shower heads but each push lasted around 20 seconds so this was not particularly inconvenient.

There is a camp kitchen with microwave, fridges and freezer for customer use which is very thoughtful, especially for tent campers.

The small play area was much appreciated by our 8 year old but he preferred the exceptional playground by the nearby village hall which was only a short and very pleasant walk away along the river.

As mentioned by others, Amerden is great for visiting Legoland which took around 15 minutes each way so we were able to visit 3 times. We bought Annual Passes with our Tesco Clubcard vouchers which cost us £22 of vouchers each.

As well as unlimited entry into the park for a year from the date of purchase, they entitle you to discounts of 20% in the park restaurants and 10% in all the shops as well as free parking.

Because we were able to go lots of times, we were able to gauge queues and got on everything we wanted to over the course of 1 full day and 2 afternoons with very little waiting.

The rides were much quieter in the afternoons and we were able to ride over and over again. We also went into Windsor and went on a boat trip along the River Thames which we all enjoyed.

We enjoyed our stay at Amerden so much that we would have extended our stay had our stay-at-home teenagers not texted that they were running low on food!

Only the traffic noise prevented a 10 star rating. We are sure that we will visit again over the next year while our Legoland passes remain valid.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019