Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Cashel Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01360 870234
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: 01/04/2022 to 17/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 103 Reviews
                8/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazycoop 1 review from this member

 We travelled 365 miles to this site in extremely wet weather but first impressions were good. We found the staff to be very helpful. We were surprised that you could pitch anywhere to the left of the play area. With no marked out standard pitches.

The area for standard pitching was a bit water logged but we were pre warned and this is only to be expected with the variable summer weather!

We pitched near to the shop which was stocked with basics to keep you going. We found all areas to be clean and loved the fact that I could get my two girls showered in a family shower room. Laundry room was also a god send.

Childrens playa rea basic but to be quite honest there is so much exploring to do that it doesn`t create too much of a problem.

We visited Rowardennan because of Ben Lomond walk also lovely walks at the Cashel Forest Centre one min up the road from camp site. Loch absolutely stunning in any weather and despite the months rainfall falling in the week we were here we were outside doing something all the time.

We took a canoe but you can hire them and there are also ferry trips.

Very busy site, very friendly people, staff always there for info and help.

Would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheObriens 3 reviews from this member

 The most important aspect of a great holiday is the friendliness of the staff. This made our short break a cut above the rest.

On pulling up at Cachel, the scenery in front of us was breathtaking, and then were told we could park up anywhere along the Loch edge! It was fantastic. We had sunshine, and got quite a suntan!

The Oaktree pub, 3 miles down the road, was lovely, where we enjoyed haggis and a cream tea in the middle of our bike ride! We have electric assisted bikes - but my battery failed after 6 miles, so it was a hilly walk/ride back again!

All facilities were clean, safe and secure. We will definitely be returning - its our favourite place so far! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hibbsa 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay here at the end of our 2 week tour of Scotland.

Lovely location as we were pitched right on the lochside, the views were amazing and the weather was kind to us but unfortunately due to the dreaded midgies it was impossible to sit outside, even with every repellent known to man to hand!

The staff were friendly and the facilities clean with nice hot showers. Good play area for the children. As stated earlier the weather was ok when we were there but would imagine it could quickly get very muddy as many areas seemed quite boggy even after a dry spell.

We loved this site but it did appear a little neglected around the pitches, the grass needed mowing and generally tiding up.

However saying that we would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauline reed 2 reviews from this member

 Fairly good campsite. I think they could improve on the toilet facilities as the floors were constantly flooded and slippery. We were eaten alive by our midgie friends while putting up and dismantling the tent but otherwise they were not to bad.

There had been heavy rain and the central part for pitching tents was very boggy especially as it's not very level and the dips were just huge puddles.

We camped beside the burn which is kinda loud at night when your trying to sleep but that was our own oversight. There vacant level spots next to empty hard standing which could have been used but lay empty.

The children's play area is beside a toilet disposal and we had to call out to small children not to touch. There could be a gate to restrict access to adults only!

The location is fabulous. Would recommend it for a short stay. Lookout for the chap at the shop with the shaved head. He completely ignores you when you walk in. Nothing personal mind! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 This site is in a gorgeous location with direct access to the shoreline of Loch Lomond. Its lovely sitting on or walking along the 'beach'. Our children were very happy with this too.

There is a very good, enclosed playpark and a little wildlife corner which is a very nice touch.

All pitches have a lovely outlook.

We have been to a lot of campsites and the toilets and showers here are in my top 3. Very new looking.

Balmaha is a nice village. There is a park, forest walks, boats, ducks, ice cream shop and a pub which I think is

Very popular.

We got to more or less choose our pitch.

Great site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stellamaris 12 reviews from this member

 This site is lovely, does not matter where you choose to pitch on site, yes you choose, every pitch has some sort of view of the loch. Grounds are kept well and facilities amazing.

Site was busy however there was no feeling of over crowding.

All in all, fab site. One word of warning on the road to the park approx 6 miles before there is one almighty steep Sharp bend, first gear job.

Be warned, however when you arrive at the site its all worth it. Small shop on site other than that its a long drive to the town. So don't forget to stock up.

Will be back to this haven. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Natster 1 review from this member

 Just back from the Cashel campsite & have to say it was brilliant.

We arrived on the Friday night around 8. 30pm and with reception closed phoned the number for arrivals posted on reception door & we were shortly greeted by a gentelman who let us know where we could pitch up.

Campsite wasn't too busy & there is a little stream where tents can be pitched next too & the toilets are only a short distance away from tent pitch as well as very good washing facilities for dishes etc. Toilets were clean enough and had ample shower facilities. The pitching grounds for tents are good & all allow you to have views of the loch which is stunning.

Small shop on site selling groceries (doesn't stock ciggies or alcohol) and is also the reception area. Staff friendly throughout visit & helpful if you need any information on the area.

At night people are all quiet and settled by around 11pm giving you the chance to get a good nights rest.

Nearby (3miles) is rowardennan hotel offering good food and drink & there are lots of lowland forest walks that can be walked outside of campsite.

Would say a good campsite for couples & families as well as those wanting to stop off from walking west highland way.

We are definitely going back! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andiamo 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights. The views and walks from the site are excellent. It would be hard to find a more scenic and peaceful spot to camp. There is almost no road noise at night, and not much during the day.

All areas of the site are kept very clean and there were plenty of showers and toilets with ample hot water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Some little extras I thought were expensive. The hairdryer in the ladies ate up 20p pieces very quickly and it cost 1.00 to freeze two freezer blocks.

We would recommend this site to our friends and would go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ontheroadtonowhere 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived 1st April for a 3 night stay and received a really warm welcome.

We had a really good pitch right on the side of the loch, the weather was a bit glum and really windy but we ordered some freshly baked bread rolls from the reception ( well worth trying! ) and settled down for the night.

When we woke the next morning the weather was sunny and calm and we couldn't believe how great the view was, the place was breathtaking.

The shower blocks were always warm and spotlessly clean. There is not much to do in the area unless your into walking, which we did with the dog, but you don't really feel that you need to do anything because the place is amazing.

It is the perfect place to relax. Needless to say we didn't want to leave. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lumatrix 5 reviews from this member

 This site is without exception the best I have ever seen. (I admit to being a bit biased being a Scot and loving this country.) Nonetheless this site is perfect. Unbelievable scenery from the pitches. Great, clean warm double shower blocks. Immaculate site kept so by dedicated, generous and very friendly staff - thanks folks we appreciate you though we sadly cannot name you here - but you know who you are. We're the couple in the Bright Blue Ford ambulance conversion.

There are a lot of rules on the site and my wife and I love them. Although there is a good playground and the Bonny Bonny Banks for the kids, they are not allowed to run riot and the peace and beauty of Loch Lomond can be appreciated at your ease. Rowardennan is on the EAST shore of the LOCH which is where the road ends so traffic is slight. The approach to the loch on the East is VERY tight with a right angle turn followed by a 1/6 slope so engage 1st gear here and very large rigs would have to be very careful. The site has 3 different types of pitch with electric hook ups for most and superior pitches provided with picnic benches and seats and usually a loch shore pitch too. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cashel Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement