Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smileydad 8 reviews from this member

I stayed for 2 nights in a tent with EHU for 1 night.

On arrival I was showed to my pitch and pitched near a couple of unoccupied caravans (i think these were permanent fixtures). There were tents, camper vans and tourers on site.

The shower/WC facilities ere clean and well stocked - showers were great and loads of hot water. - thought a stool or similar to put things on would be nice. Having said this, there were hooks available

Wash up sinks wer next to the showers, and under cover.

This is an adult only site, and very peaceful with beautiful views of the stars at night (the sky is huuuuge!)

I would stay again - very happy with my stay here - totally relaxing.

There is no on site shop.

There is a fridge and freezer available for campers' use

Supermarket within about 10 mins, lovely little towns in an easy drive or cycle ride

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoleen 35 reviews from this member

Spent a great weekend here. On arrival we met Vanessa & Steve and paid our 51 for 3 nights

Then Steve sited our 'van for us us. The pitches are very level and spacious.

The shower/toilet block is basic but very clean and there is plenty of hot water and the showers are great with no push buttons! Being adult only it is very quiet and peaceful.

As you leave the site just cross the road and up a few steps you are on the river bank with fabulous views, although it's very flat for walking and cycling.

If you are going into Littleport for supplies I suggest you take the car as it is a fair walk back carrying shopping! There is a Co-op and a McColls, a butchers and other small shops.

We didn't try any of the local hostelries as the weather was so good we barbecued.

We had a ride into Ely, it's only a few minutes drive away, which is a lovely place with free parking and there was a market on at the time with some lovely fresh produce to be had.

Although we got some photos of the cathedral we never went in we just wandered around the grounds.

Although it is a 3 1/2 drive from home we will definitely return

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CAROLINE64 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site if your looking for adult only,

Its the first time we have been on one and have decided to try and book adult only in the future.

We arrived late after a 3- 4 hour journey and was met by Vanessa the owner who booked us in and we paid are fee of 43. 50 for 3nights for tent and hook up ( bargain ) she then hopped on her bike to show us to our pitches ( very large )

The site is a mix of static for rent and privately owned,

The site is small, very well maintained with well cut grass, bordered by tall trees, bin sections that are surrounded with flower beds, a shed with fridge and freezer for your use and a shed set a side for fish bait, 2 washing up areas with plenty of hot water,

The shower and toilet blocks are very clean and modern the ladies has 6 toilets and 5 sinks with large mirror, hand dryer and just 2 showers ( free ) the site was busy but we didn't have to wait for showers,

The cubicles of the showers are large with clean shower curtains, shelf to put items on and plenty of hooks for towels, Plenty of hot water and best of all its not the kind that you have to keep pressing the button also adjustable shower head and temperature,

The site is near a road and railway but not that noisy, walking distance to the pub is 5 mins and you could walk in to the village of Little port to nearest shops ( we didn't walk went by car )

Would we recommend and use again then the answer is yes a great weekend,

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philliard 4 reviews from this member

Well kept site. Toilets very clean, washing up area, fishing bait fridge and of course fishing in the River which is other side of busy road, fridge for campers, grass cut like billiard table, Large pitches.

Owners very helpful. Good dog walks and look at pigs had 7 day old piglets when we walked by. Would go back if in area. Pub 5 mins walk good Sunday lunch, nice staff.

You can cycle to Ely flat area (Cathedral a must). Try the Guided walk round Kings Lynn(ask at tourist office)

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchum44 10 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here over the Jubilee weekend, fantastic site,

Massive pitch on well kept grass, good clean facilities, fridge and freezer in little shed free to use for ice packs etc,

Tourist info shed, full of info on local attractions, books, takeaway menus and DVDs, pub within 5 minutes walk along the side of the river,

Littleport is a pretty village with several shops/takeaways 10 mins on foot, train station with links to London,

Kings Lynn and the towns inbetween about 20 mins on foot, would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Essell 2 reviews from this member

Although we had booked the owner was surprised by our arrival as she could find no record of the booking and we were given a very cold reception. This was followed by very exact instructions on how to park our van. When my husband pointed out that we would have to ramp we were given dire warnings about damaging the grass. We observed other people being given the same guidance.

The amenities block had the normal range of facilities except it had no heating and it was distinctly chilly. Apparently gas serve heaters are put in during the winter, we just wonder how cold it has to be to warrant these being used. Clearly other people found the block cold as there were banning notices about using your own heaters.

The owners seemed obsessed with the site landscape and there was barely a blade of grass out of place. Shame about the site as it is located next to a very nice town and a riverside pub all within walking distance. The site had plenty of water taps and rubbish disposal but no facilities for grey water disposal for motor homes. Nice location shame about the atmosphere.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Struth 19 reviews from this member

Have just spent a very pleasant long weekend at this lovely little site. Easy to find and on arrival was made most welcome, but because of the inclement weather, Steve using his 4x4, took our van onto our pitch to avoid churning up the grass, which was very understandable. The facilities were kept spotlessly clean at all times. There is some road noise but nothing to worry about, and we didn't even notice the trains going by. We enjoyed a little walk to see the piggies up the lane, they are very friendly and enjoy a scratch behind the ears. We can certainly recommend this site to others and we will definitely be returning to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zippstar 3 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, dog friendly and of course no kids which to us is a bonus. The owners were very nice, the lady guided us to our pitch on her bike which was different but very effective! Toilets were always clean, although cold - but it was March! Perhaps a 30 min walk to Littleport over the bridge, although the pub next to it that seems to get rave reviews was never open when we were there. Lovely walks by the river though, very good for dog owners too because once over the bridge we could let our dog off the lead with no problems.

Littleport is nice, try the Chinese lady's fish n chip/Chinese takeaway (the name escapes me) as it was lovely. Likewise with the bigger kebab shop round the corner. We also found a dog friendly pub about 6miles away, just down near the river, but again time has erased the names, sorry.

The only things I'd recommend taking into consideration if youre staying here are:

Toilets are cold, so if you're going in a colder season I'd advise wrapping up warm.

The owners let their dogs run loose, and whilst they are friendly, if your dog isn't then keep a beady eye on them if they are tied up outside, as the rules are that your dog must be tied up.

Same applies to their free range chickens, one actually somehow got onto my OHs car bonnet lol

We had a few power outages using the electric hook up, when we put the oven on alongside the kettle mainly. So just bear in mind ampages when using the hook up.

Overall, a great campsite, will definitely return if we're in that neck of the woods again!

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annabelle7 1 review from this member

We spent two peaceful nights at this site. The owner made us very welcome and was very helpful. We chose this site because it was adult only, (no children at all), it has no club house, perfect. The site was very clean tidy and comfortable. The site was quiet as you would expect at this time of the year. The site is quite close to a small town with a supermarket and take aways. We enjoyed our brief stay here and although we did not have enough time to explore the area we intend to book again soon and take time to explore.

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wandering Stars 10 reviews from this member

We have just stayed at this site for 2 nights and have booked to return next month. We were welcomed by owner Steve who was very friendly and helpful. Our hardstanding pitch was right by the entrance to the site and therefore quite near the road but we were not bothered by traffic noise at all. Just across the road is the River Great Ouse which is great for fishermen. There is a track near the site leading off across the flat countryside which is ideal for dog walking, also gives a chance to take a look at Steve's free range pigs.

Only a short walk (10 minutes maximum) is the town of Littleport. This is quite a pleasant town with a range of independent shops and a bank and Co-op supermarket. Most notable is the large number of takeaway food outlets. Apparently you can get your curry delivered to the site - we might try that next time!

Ely is only 4-5 miles away and is a great place to visit, full of interesting buildings and history. The energetic could probably cycle there or there is a train station at Littleport with trains to Ely, Cambridge etc.

This is a neat and well looked after site and the charges are very reasonable. It is for adults only. The internet service is provided by Caravan Connect and is very fast and reliable.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3617 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019