Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nunnington Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > West Wittering > Nunnington Farm Camping Site > Reviews

Nunnington Farm Camping Site
Rockwood Road
West Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8LZ
Tel: 01243 514013
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kcd1993 2 reviews from this member

 We chose Nunnington Farm from the previous reviews on this website (our first choice fully pre-booked all summer) and were not disappointed. We phoned ahead on the morning of our arrival and, despite getting stuck in traffic on the A3 which made us arrive much later than planned, at 2.30 in the afternoon they managed to accommodate us in an electric pitch for two adults and two children, one car and one tent.

The pitches are well marked out and we thought a good distance from each other (we have stayed at sites where there are no markings and pitching where you want often leaves you very close to your neighbours). We were right at the end of a row in the tent field, which was good as we had trees for neighbours but the downside of which was the birdsong at 4am every morning and the sound of wildlife foraging in the hedgerows late at night.

The site is spotlessly clean and well maintained. There are concrete road ways, and drivers take care to avoid pedestrians and cyclists whilst moving round the site. There are separate toilet and shower blocks plus an extra one with both toilets and showers in. The ladies' blocks have large butlers sinks for bathing young children - which is a definite plus when you have a two and a five year old that don't like showers. The bins are emptied at least once a day. There are two separate sink areas plus washers and dryers which use tokens costing 3 and 2 each respectively. Also has an ironing board if you remember to brink your travel iron. We stayed 7 nights and I used all the facilities often - they were always clean and fully stocked. Toilets provide paper and soap plus working hand dryers. Well signposted and labelled waste outlets plus separate drinking water taps. They also kindly provided supplies of bricks for raising disposable bbqs and an ice pack swap service for a 4 deposit plus 30p per pack.

The owners are available (you see them out and around the site) but mostly unobtrusive. Order on the site is well observed and we rarely experienced noise after 10.30pm during our stay - the odd loud teenagers in nearby tents but nothing to make us angry.

Added bonuses include (all within easy walking distance) a petting zoo on site - with donkeys, pigs, cows, chickens etc. There is also a playing field in the site itself for football etc plus a children's play park at the end of the access road. Also just at the entrance are a few well stocked shops, with instore bakery for lovely morning pastries, a butchers, a cafe and bistro restaurant, a surf shop and a couple of nearby pubs serving food. The nearest pub (House on the Home?) has a very large beer garden and children's play area - bliss enjoying a nice cold beer or glass of wine while the kids tire themselves out on the climbing frame.

The stunning West Wittering beach is only a 15-20 minute walk away. It's a private estate so beware parking charges for full days and weekends are high - about 5-7 when we stayed - but you can avoid this if you are prepared to walk from the camp site. Go and watch the kite surfers while the sun sets - beautiful. Take care during the day as the wind can blow the lovely soft sand in your face and over your clothes/towels!

Keep walking for 20 mins or so further along the beach (westwards) and you'll find, past the windy peninsular and where it starts to get more sheltered again, a purpose built crab fishing spot - great for the kids. Take a crab fishing line, a bucket and some bacon!? Keep walking along the guided footpaths and it brings you back out at the village shops and near the camp site!

Further afield is Chichester, a lovely market town (check out the car boot on Sundays) with all the usual amenities. At the roundabout leaving West Wittering and heading for Chichester you will find a Tesco Extra store.

A very pleasant 7 night stay we had at Nunnington Farm and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pearsonville 4 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site. Pitch available with electric and site almost full. Facilities are brilliant, showers best we've used at a camp site and no problems with queuing, plenty to go around.

Shops nearby, nice pub within walking distance-'The Old House at Home'. Good for a lovely meal, large garden with play area.

West Wittering is a beautiful beach, car parking good but go on bikes if you can as traffic can get very busy. Also on and off the Witterings area itself.

Looking forward to next visit.

Only problem lots of wasps.

The site don't have credit/debit card facilities so take cash or cheque book.

Supermarkets at East Witterings. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keith Reeves 3 reviews from this member

 Some of the campsites in this area are difficult or impossible to book in advance. We tried Wicks Farm first which didn't have full availability for all of the week, so we moved onto Nunnington Farm.

They had plenty of space, especially for the first few days leading up to the school holidays. However, limited pitches were available in late morning as you don't have to vacate until 3pm (useful if you want to make the most of your last day).

At reception they did helpfully suggest that if we returned later (having booked in) we'd have more choice. On reaching the separate tent field there were a few sites to choose from so we were quite happy to get set up straight away.

The site is level and well maintained, with ample pitches marked out on the grass. Planting a few trees or shrubs in the fire breaks would give the site a more pleasant feel, as would adding a few tubs of flowers, but that's a minor criticism. The owners are a little formal in wanting a certain car-tent-car-tent arrangement but it does avoid being cheek by jowl with your neighbours' tent.

The toilet/shower blocks were only all open when the site was full or nearly full, however, they were always more than adequate for the numbers present. Again, they were well decorated and regularly maintained - I haven't come across many sites that are better. There was always plenty of hot water in the (free) showers and no annoying buttons to keep pressing to maintain the flow of water!

We didn't use the playing field (getting a bit too old for that) but the kids at the site seemed to like it. The alliterative animals were clearly a hit with small visitors.

There is no shop at the site, but given that it's probably a five minute walk to get from the furthest corner of the site to the local Londis or newsagents and back again, there's not really any point in them having one.

The excellent beach is within walking distance (if you aren't being lazy and don't have too much to carry) and it's not far to a host of attractions, pubs, Chichester, beautiful villages and fantastic wildlife sites on the coast or inland.

We would happily return to the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Berty bassett 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights at Nunnington Farm. This camp site is ideal if you have small children.We have a 12 year old and 5 year old. Not to much for the 12 year old but he did make a few new friends, as kids tend to do

We arrived around 1pm on the Friday of May Day bank holiday went to reception and checked in. The lady was very nice explained the camp site rules and directed us to the tent field where we could choose our pitch anywhere we wanted. We were next to the playing field which emptied of all children as if by magic at the time stated in the rules at 9PM. Even though there was a lot of children on the site there was no noise

The toilets are very clean as is the whole site. Only 1 gripe. Waste water disposal not easy to find.Its on the out side of the toilet blocks and you have to lift the waste container up over the bricks. We will definitely go back more than once this season. Fantastic and the animal petting farm is a plus. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leyburn28 7 reviews from this member

 This site had fantastic showers,toilet facilities and wash up area. Nice level site but quite close pitches. Cannot book and do not accept debit cards so take cheque book or cash! Bins emptied regularly and hook ups nice and close to pitches.Field for children to play ball games and animals to see.The beach was a level walk of about 20 minutes but parking expensive.

Our 12 and 14 year olds used games field quite a lot,finding others to play games with.Overall a good site if you have children but my husband felt our 3 night were enough for him! Being able to stay until late afternoon a real bonus as we went to beach before packing away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycamper55 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a great short break at Nunnington Farm.

This was our first camping trip,and with 2 small children in toe,we wanted to pick the right site.The reviews of this place were great so our expectations were quite high.We were not disappointed!

We were lucky enough to get a pitch that backs onto the kids' play field which is separated from the tent area with bollards (not a hedge, as I was expecting!).This was great as it meant you could watch your children while enjoying a glass of wine from your tent!

The showers and loos were always pretty clean with loads of hot water and I never saw a queue for the washing up either.

Whilst the 9pm deadline for the kids to get off the field was good,this did mean they often ended up congregating around the shower and toilet block, which may irritate those pitched in that area.

The owners seam pretty strict about noise/curfews/where you pitch etc and this may seam off-putting to start with but infact, it is this that makes the place a success.

The little farm area looked good,and whilst this was one of the reasons we picked this site,we didn't actually make it there!

The general stores opposite the entrance to the farm was great.A notice up states they can even deliver papers,milk or bread to your pitch-for free!(we didn't do this though).They will also do cash-back which was handy for us as you can only pay for the campsite with cash or cheque (probably standard but,being newbies,we weren't aware or equpped with cash!)

Beach absolutely gorgeous.Make sure you get any bucketsor spades etc back in the village as the beach doesn't sell anything like that (that we find).

We will def be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heatherc351 1 review from this member

 Family of 4 (children aged 6 & 8) just back from our 1st ever camping trip. Chose the campsite because we come down to the beach at West Wittering on day trips throughout the year, and wanted to stay longer.

Main thing I was worried about was the toilets and shower blocks, but they were sparkling clean and all working as they should be. The campsite was full (we stayed 2 nights), mostly families. Good open field for children to play on up to 9pm (strictly enforced), and this is next to council playfields with a playground for under 8s, plus a small adventure trail. Playground can be accessed if you squeeze round end of high fence, or is a short walk along path leading into village.

Beach was about 20 mins walk, good footpath, but probably a bit of a trek if you had buggies, children under 5. Large car park costs 5 in week, 7 at weekends.

We love the area, and loved the campsite and will definitely come back.

Only thing we didn't like was the Pizza Pasta Pub which is a short car journey away, towards Chichester. Service was unbelievably slow, and there only seemed to be one competent waitress who was the one taking all the flak. Some families were waiting over an hour.  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HiDeHi! 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from 5 days in West Wittering, and 4 nights staying at Nunnington Farm, I think this campsite deserved a review.

Firstly the good points:

The site as very well run and easy and quick to check-in. There were quite a few pitches left but these soon filled up. The facilities are very good. The showers and toilets are spotless and always had plenty of hot water. The pitches were clearly marked and there is plenty of room. The rubbish is collected regularly. There's also a handy dog-walking field nearby.

Noise-wise, in the evening it was pretty good and you couldn't really hear much past 10pm.

The location is pretty good. Beach is only a mile away and it's lovely especially when the tide is out. It's also dog-friendly in certain areas. There area a few shops near the site (one of which sells freshly baked croissants every morning!). There's also a good restuarant next door, The Beach House and a few pubs around.

Now for the bad bits:

Apparently there is a children's play area at one end. I'm not sure this was ever used as most seem to play in and around the tents. Now, normally this wouldn't be a problem. But at 6.00am, it's taking the Michael. But then I guess most campsites have their fair share of Mr and Mrs Thick who let their kids do this. Strangely enough it's the same people that have no concept of their own volume. Although we're not just talking about one family here - several over the 5 days.

The owners seemed decent enough. Although you get the feeling they're a bit fed-up with running a campsite and dealing with campers all day. Maybe we just saw them after they'd had a barney or something, who knows.

Parking for the beach is steep at 5. And then to add insult, they hike the price to 7 at the weekend to cash in even more. The result is many cars parking on the main road, causing far too many opportunities for accidents with people crossing between cars.

Summary:

This is a well-run, extremely clean site, and you can clearly see why is it packed out every weekend. Some people are spoiling it for others with early morning noise, but I'm not sure much can be done about this. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prayersaint 1 review from this member

 Summary: Lives up to the good reviews; but still worth reading them carefully. If you have any problems or disappointments on site contact the owners/managers straightaway, as they are keen to resolve them rather than see them posted on Internet sites.

Full Review:

Having been advised that the site was typically full by 4 p.M. On Summer Fridays we arrived just after lunch, and only had to wait about an hour for someone to vacate a pitch with a hookup. (A non hookup pitch would have been available immediately).

The pitch was in my opinion in good condition considering the time in the season and an acceptable size. There was just room for our large tent and car next to it. If pitch layout is important to you you can see the organised 'streets' of pitches on Google maps, although that aerial photo must have been taken well out of season as the site looks empty in it!

The site was popular with families with children. There is a playing field for them but the children love playing with the outside water tap (but I am not sure if they are supposed to and I would rather they didn't!) and riding around on the roads on their bicycles and push scooters. Children were often left unsupervised but caused us no problems. There is a 5 mph speed limit on site which we really tried to observe since it would be easy to knock a child over.

This is clearly a dog-friendly site and we only had one evening when someone let their dog go where it wanted. Everyone else obeyed the strict rule of keeping their dogs on a leash at all times and dogs were generally quiet. I was amused to see one large dog standing over the chemical disposal point being soaped and rinsed by his handler.

The showers and toilets were very clean and I noticed no instances of abuse. The sinks were reasonably clean too. I think cleanliness must be a point of pride with the owners; the cleaning was superb and unobtrusive although it must be frequent. The tractor collecting the bin bags was perhaps a bit noisier but welcome, considering there was a minor problem for some people with the odd wasp.

The site is about 5 minutes walk from some shops and 20 minutes from West Wittering beach (saving 2-7 parking fee). At East Wittering, a short drive away, there are many more shops including a Tesco Extra, Coop, Boots, Bank, Chippie etc. Chichester, 15 mins drive on a good run, has some swish shops and other facilities but parking can be pricey.

An automatic gate shuts at 11 p.M. But there is an external car park.

Considering how many people can be on site the ambience was generally fine. Noise died down around 10-11 p.M. And as mentioned above, if you have an issue you are not sure how to tackle, then the owners/managers, who live in a house next to the site, are most willing to help and otherwise are discreet. Ask them early rather than let anything spoil or curtail your holiday.

N.B. People this year don't have to leave until 6 p.M. I am told it may change to 3 p.M. Next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eeyorsplace 1 review from this member

 Just returned from Nunnington farm with my other half and 4 kids. The weather was against us and the rubbish tent we bought from ebay was broken and but 5 other campers helped us get a roof over our heads for the night in the pouring rain. The next day we discovered a fantastic site, the showers were clean and very hot and plenty of toilets too. The kids went to see the animals down the track and we found out about a tent shop a few miles away - DW camping. They were brilliant - cheap and knew their stuff, we bought another tent!

The car park for the beach is now 7 which is a bit pricey but it was right on the beach. The beach is fab but when windy everything is covered in sand so take a shelter!

There are a few beach shops and the guy in the surf shack was lovely. There are plenty of shops around, tesco 24 is also a few miles away. The indian takeaway was one of the nicest I have had in East Wittering village.

The ice pack system was good, pay 2 deposit and 30p to get a fresh one but only either end of the day so don't miss it!

It is a very clean and tidy site, bins always empty and never far from a tent, very friendly, very flat, and really good value for money.

Now the downside. There is not a massive amount to do locally, the pitches are quite small and very close together, we could hear everything from snoring to zips being done up (but it is camping not a hotel!) The good bits far outweigh the bad bits, and we will be going back next month. We arrived in rain on a Friday night and it was already almost full so have a back up plan, there are a few more sites in the area which don't seem to be listed here. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nunnington Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nunnington Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Nunnington Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near West Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement